I'm at home sick and some traveller who was trying to pass himself off as a landscaper just knocked on the door: "is your mam or dad there?" I was kinda dumbfounded and just said "what?" Same exchange again and then he said "oh I thought you were a young lad, sure isn't it a complement."

Bizarre.
    Will he clean the gutters as well?

Re Wine:

Be Ignorant
    Buy Ignorant.
    Be Happy.
    Be more well off.
    Be Ignorant + Buy Ignorant does not equal Be Happy when it comes to wine

Noses have been put out of joint in the wine industry, with experiments showing that even experts can't always tell cheap plonk from grand cru. David Derbyshire reports on the chemistry behind the taste

Does so.

The less you know about wine, the better it all tastes.

from a couple of years ago....

Spurs U12's playing in a competition in Poland v Lech Poznan. Home teams Ultras turn up to support the kids, sing for the whole match.....

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandst...ience-analysis

Does so.

The less you know about wine, the better it all tastes.
              Does the same apply to whiskey?

Probably.

Started playing a bit of poker again, on ipoker. Anybody else play?
                  I was wondering have they changes their rakeback in recent times. Seems dodgy. If you are getting 60% rakeback it seems like you are actually only getting 30%. 50% is taken by ipoker, 50% by the skin and then you get your percentage from that? If so that is very sneaky.

Never heard of it. Any good?

What have you eaten today?

Nah it's shit mate. I just read about their new "source based rake" and puked a little.
                        Think I'll move to stars, they have a run it twice feature that I miss from HSP.

I was wondering have they changes their rakeback in recent times. Seems dodgy. If you are getting 60% rakeback it seems like you are actually only getting 30%. 50% is taken by ipoker, 50% by the skin and then you get your percentage from that? If so that is very sneaky.
                          iPoker are basically colouring the money that people lose on the Network.

If you lose money on the network you get assigned half of whatever rake is generated from it (Source Based Rake or SBR).

Below is the calculation used.

(Normal Rake + SB Rake / 2) = Real Player Value rake
                          Sng Fee + SB Sng Fee / 2 ) = Real Player Value Fee
                          MTT Fee are as is.

RPV Rake + Rpv Fee + MTT Fee = New player value

Just attended a meeting with 17 people in attendance including 7 advisers. 2.5 hour meeting cost over 8k in adviser fees alone. Impactful tie set to kill.

Thanks, seems like a good deal for losing players and a bad one for grinders.
                              I probably get less than 50% of what I got a few years ago but probably wont do better than 60% rb x 0.5 on ipoker anyway.

If anybody can find this online I'd be grateful (It would also annoy PSV for added incentive):

the logic of pre-electoral coalition formation - sona golder
                              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 22-04-15, 14:39.

What have you eaten today?
                                I had a chicken fillet baguette innit. Went a bit lah dee dah and had spinach instead of lettuce. It was nice for a change.

Actually thinking of going the other direction despite this, as seem to have some sort of allergy to something thats in red wine. Not sure if that's possible though (to have an allergy to one and not the other)
                                  Definitely possible. Found out to my expense on a wine tasting tour. Decided to get my money's worth by drinking red despite not being too gone on it. Figured I'd get to like it but went all blotchy, itchy and red in the face with eyes streaming.

Another guy on tour said he was allergic to some red wines but not others. Antihistamines cleared it quickly though, so maybe just have those with the wine!

Definitely possible. Found out to my expense on a wine tasting tour. Decided to get my money's worth by drinking red despite not being too gone on it. Figured I'd get to like it but went all blotchy, itchy and red in the face with eyes streaming.

Another guy on tour said he was allergic to some red wines but not others. Antihistamines cleared it quickly though, so maybe just have those with the wine!
                                    Yeah could be loads of stuff. Top candidates would be particular sulphites, tannins or yeasts.

Think I have the actual flu'. Not pleasant. Have only moved between the bed and couch since 8 last night. Have to supervise a 3 hour test in the morning and then listen to final year dissertations all afternoon. Pray for mojo.

Fake executive job.
                                        Pity jbravado isn't still in China, he'd have crushed it. Though possibly may have tried to go too far and fire cunce

Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 22-04-15, 15:12.

No Benzema, Bale, Modric for Real. Atleti worth a bet maybe.

Need Doug and Situations opinions first.

2/1 draw no bet?

Think I have the actual flu'. Not pleasant. Have only moved between the bed and couch since 8 last night. Have to supervise a 3 hour test in the morning and then listen to final year dissertations all afternoon. Pray for mojo.
                                                Stay home? It's nearly exam season. This would be a really bad time to share your flu with your students and colleagues.

That's a fair point actually...Its very very awkward from an admin point of view though.

Just attended a meeting with 17 people in attendance including 7 advisers. 2.5 hour meeting cost over 8k in adviser fees alone. Impactful tie set to kill.
                                                    450 charge out? You're underselling yourself sir

2.5 hr mtg plus 1 hr travel, but I'm only 350 an hour. Bargain imo

The lawyers are a bit more...

I'm also waiting for some tips so I can bet big against them.

This is the only way I can win away from the virtuals innit

I can see examinership working like that to restructure rent and renegotiate employees contracts etc for say the likes of Bewleys where there customer comes in orders a coffee and pays and gets their product there and then.

I cant see too many punters throwing money on the match tonight in a shop and expecting to go back tomorrow to get paid on the off chance the doors would be shut ? Same with the online side. Can a company like this survive after examinership ?
                                                          Once they've gone through Examinership, and assuming they come out the other side intact (i'd be interested to see %'s on that) a company is generally on a very sound footing (i.e all debts written off to generally 10-15%, restructured cost-effective company etc) so i'd have no worry on that front.

I'm interested to see how it works with regard to the fact that it is just the Irish operation entering the process (i.e. does it leave them open to a possible takeover from competitors / interested parties in Ireland?) as a trimmed down, cost effective in place chain might be of interest to some people.
                                                          @Oleras - I don't think it will make that much difference. Whether punters know or not, the business is now absolutely protected for the next few months. Ironically, safer to bet there now than it was this time last week.

By the time the business is ready to come out of Examinership, it will be after a raft of shop closures, rent reductions and staff lay offs. In other words, it will, for the first time in a few years, actually be a a company in profit.

@Dice, the process doesn't make them any more vulnerable to a takeover, unless there is no other way to turn the business into a going concern.

In short, what happens here is that an Examiner (accountants) will produce a business plan that involves returning the business to profit. Included in this will be the extent to which they will stamp on current creditors rights, ignore labour law etc....

Rarely that plan involves bringing in outside investors, ie. some form of takeover. Most often, extra capital if required is invested by current shareholders or finance houses. Those later two will be able to raise the cash essentially on the back of the legal getting rid of debts involved in the examinership.

In most cases, when you have written off debt and the accompanying interest notes, when you have got rid of heavy overhead like staff liability, then the remaining (smaller) business will be one with an ok turnover and an outlook to profit.

I'm also waiting for some tips so I can bet big against them.

This is the only way I can win away from the virtuals innit
                                                            Red Card at Evs, ty

Seriously. By the time you've earned enough money to enjoy it properly, you won't have enough energy and/or health left to enjoy it properly. I need to win the lotto. Any more tips, Rigger?
                                                              I'm really getting disillusioned with work. The financial services industry really drains the life out of you. Sadly I'm too old and too fond of getting paid not a pittance to do anything else.

I think my ideal job would be a train driver. Your own compartment where no one bothers you, do what the signals say, and you get paid pretty well too. The downside would be the prospect of people jumping in front of the train, but there you go. Not much chance of becoming a train driver though.

I neither have the get up and go to want to progress further in my own career or to retrain for anything else.

Professional lottery winner would be brilliant, but I've more chance of becoming a train driver.

I guess sucking it up and just getting on with things is the only viable solution.

Being a train driver must be fucking class

Real need Pep to sort them out

Big save there. Unsure who I want to go through here. Hard not to get behind atletico but kind of want real through now that Barca and Bayern have qualified.

Amazing the way Ronaldo has stepped up to the plate and taken control here.

I always find myself reading 5starpools ruminating posts in a Norman Clegg accent

I want to be a train driver now.

Anyone ever tell you you're the image of the girl from Willie Wonkas Chocolate Factory?

Being a train driver must be fucking class
                                                                              I want to be a train driver now.
                                                                              Not sure it would suit either of ye. Think ye could be going down the wrong track....

I'm here all night folks.

Red Card at Evs, ty
                                                                                Nice one Tony

I'm really getting disillusioned with work. The financial services industry really drains the life out of you. Sadly I'm too old and too fond of getting paid not a pittance to do anything else.

I think my ideal job would be a train driver. Your own compartment where no one bothers you, do what the signals say, and you get paid pretty well too. The downside would be the prospect of people jumping in front of the train, but there you go. Not much chance of becoming a train driver though.

I neither have the get up and go to want to progress further in my own career or to retrain for anything else.

Professional lottery winner would be brilliant, but I've more chance of becoming a train driver.

I guess sucking it up and just getting on with things is the only viable solution.
                                                                                  I know two train drivers. One was the lad who never lost his childhood thing of wanting to drive a train for a living. He jumped in straight after his leaving and hates his job now. Another fell into the job and has been at it for ten years and loves it.

What is it you do exactly, something IT related I presume from memory of your posts?

real are a hateful shower of fucks aren't they?

I wonder what Ronaldo's team mates think of him. He's spent the evening playing shit and whinging at his own team. Best player in the world me arse.

The examinership is one big pile of smoke and mirrors to enable ladbrokes sell off the Irish Retail business to an existing shareholder.
                                                                                          What if a more appealing offer was submitted to the Examiner by an outside interest (i.e. we'll restructure xyz but keep all the jobs in situ). Isn't the Examiner required to consider it on merit?

I know two train drivers. One was the lad who never lost his childhood thing of wanting to drive a train for a living. He jumped in straight after his leaving and hates his job now. Another fell into the job and has been at it for ten years and loves it.

What is it you do exactly, something IT related I presume from memory of your posts?
                                                                                            I used to be in IT but stayed in a job for too long where I got deskilled and then moved into jobs as a BA which I've been at for the last 5 years nearly. Sadly though I have no knowledge of business things and I've been on contract mostly the last few years so have switched around a bit. I'm in a permanent job just recently in the funds services industry and it's a struggle to learn the business end of things as I really have no interest unfortunately and keep making the Homer Simpson type groan in my head whenever anything is explained to me.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 22-04-15, 20:34.

I wonder what Ronaldo's team mates think of him. He's spent the evening playing shit and whinging at his own team. Best player in the world me arse.
                                                                                                And has his own private celebration there. Narcissistic wanker.

Delighted for Chicarito.

If the ball was in play for 30 seconds of that injury time I'd be surprised.

Poxy sending off too.

Henry calling it Ronaldos goal cause he passed it. What a fucking nob.

Aren't you mid-to-late-thirties? You've got 30 years of work left! Man, I'd say its worth a bit of an effort to change into something new. Two incomes in the house, you can take a bit of a break to do a masters or something like that, do something you actually want to do. Not easy obviously as the cv looks a bit odd, but its doable.
                                                                                                          More late than mid sadly. There is no other job that I would want to start from scratch in either really unfortunately, never mind go back to college. I just suffer from a chronic case of apathy and laziness unfortunately, and I'm just having a whinge.

First world problems and all that.

Who in their right mind would hire a Chelsea fan for a train

Raoul, even a sighted squirrel has a bad nut day. Leave Ronnie alone , though he is no.2 in the world jmo Messi da man .

Great semi line up

How do train drivers sneeze ?

ah chop choo, Tyvm, I'm opening for Careca every night

Only 25% of the week is spent in work; so as long as it supports you being happy for the other 75%...
                                                                                                                  Might be 25% for a lecturer.

168 hours in a week.
                                                                                                                  between leaving for work and getting home from work x 5 is around 53 hours typically for me. More than some, less than some.

I used to be in IT but stayed in a job for too long where I got deskilled and then moved into jobs as a BA which I've been at for the last 5 years nearly. Sadly though I have no knowledge of business things and I've been on contract mostly the last few years so have switched around a bit. I'm in a permanent job just recently in the funds services industry and it's a struggle to learn the business end of things as I really have no interest unfortunately and keep making the Homer Simpson type groan in my head whenever anything is explained to me.
                                                                                                                    Not much consolation but I'd imagine a huge % of people would sympathise with this.

Any interest in getting back on the IT train purely as a means to an end, would be easy for you to get back on track and that seems to be the gravy train for the foreseeable future.

Not much consolation but I'd imagine a huge % of people would sympathise with this.

Any interest in getting back on the IT train purely as a means to an end, would be easy for you to get back on track and that seems to be the gravy train for the foreseeable future.
                                                                                                                        Not unless I can drive it

Work is the curse of the drinking classes - Oscar Wildestarpool