/tl;dr ...which makes it a shame that mdoug couldn't live off these principles and actively engage with the rest of the nightcrew instead of opting out of the game.

See what you did there.... Nice try but not biting. 7 out of 10 for effort though.

I actively avoided the BBV today assuming Lloyd would be one-manning it in the face of the absolutely bizarre debate in the Dail today.

I mean... i'm hardly gonna be accused of being pro-SF but that was the most blatant attempt at keeping a story alive to cause political damage I've ever seen. Such a co-ordinated effort too. The meeting on Friday to reveal the info to the Gardai timed just nicely to push the matters into next week too.

Can't blame SF for having a persecution complex really. Although I personally have no issue with them being hauled over the coals on this one the Government could do a better job of it frankly. It's all a bit too transparent.
      I had to lol at the uproar over this:

He wasn't wrong tbf

one hates to reduce our usual high level discussions to a weather-chat. But its rather bad out there.
          If people hate rain they should fuck of and live elsewhere imo!

one hates to reduce our usual high level discussions to a weather-chat. But its rather bad out there.
            Got soaked, put on spare trousers I grabbed when I saw the rain. Grand now, didn't need my spare shoes or socks.

Pretty sure I saw a lad building an ark on the way into work

Phoenix was saying in their most recent issue about how Indo have really overplayed things with their anti-SF rhetoric. 23 articles on it in one Sindo issue.

Actually they also gave a rather convincing argument in favour of Gerry's handling of the whole Maria Cahill thing (without arguing against Maria). Wish I hadn't thrown it in the bin, as would be worth scanning and putting up here..
                  This is what the Indo does though - the word will come down to 'Get X' and lo and behold, the next issue has 20 different articles slating X.

It works in reverse too. Remember their incessant sucking of Bertie's cock? That worked out well for all concerned. Rag.

Strong rumours that Newlands Cross up and over will be open before this weekend.

Hopefully last night was the last time I'll ever have to wasted there

Innocent tourists will surely associate orange with the sun. Shorts, t-shirt, flip flops...wtf?

A bit offensive to Unionists too.

Phoenix was saying in their most recent issue about how Indo have really overplayed things with their anti-SF rhetoric. 23 articles on it in one Sindo issue.

Actually they also gave a rather convincing argument in favour of Gerry's handling of the whole Maria Cahill thing (without arguing against Maria). Wish I hadn't thrown it in the bin, as would be worth scanning and putting up here.

Now the Phoenix are known for being mildly pro-Republican, so there is that bias on their part, but it was a convincing argument in terms of the timeline of events, actions taken, and placed in the context of the IRA being the effective police.

sweet. how did you get that?
                                  It's available online to subscribers.

.it's like having a career built on the rigorous investigation of the seemingly pointless. (unless you love aluminium and its buddies).
                                    Ah heyor! Just got my first paper as good as accepted in an energy journal, unveiling the wonderous properties of manganese and how it can help split water using sunlight.

The reviewer comments were funny, two guys were pretty positive and the last guy denies that the whole field (40 years, thousands of papers) is real, and thinks it can't work. Editor basically said: ignore the crazy guy, address the other comments and you'll get in.
                                    Need to delay getting it published until next year though, as it falls under a grant that doesn't start until January.

One in the bag for 2015! What journal?

Have one coming up in Energy Policy subject to rigorous revisions involving rewriting the whole paper. Gather that's a decent journal.
                                          Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells. Had targeted Nature Materials until I discovered someone else had done something quite similar, which killed the 'novel' aspect of it. Still, the one I got into has an impact factor near 5.5 so still decent. It was surprisingly easy tbh, I thought I'd be torn a new one because its my first energy paper and assumed there were gaping holes everywhere in it.

Yeah you can access PDFs of all the issues online for free once you're a print subscriber. I never really considered just reading the PDF version tbh. Has the added benefit of no ads.

Also going to be easier to avoid the whole third of it that is trying and failing miserably to be funny.

Bertie's Diary was just about the only part worth reading.

Just watched Left Behind with Nicholas Cage. The must see movie of 2014 with the most unexpected twist at the end. Can't praise it enough.

Sweet Jesus thats 2 hours of my life I'll never get back. The biggest pile of horse shit I have ever seen. I actually can't think of a worse movie at this minute.

Enjoy
                                                      it helps if you picture it this way

Ffs, just to enhance the effect of the beautiful morning, fixed charge 80€ speeding notice in the post! Oh well, fair cop guv I suppose. Anyone know mick wallace's address?

See what you did there.... Nice try but not biting. 7 out of 10 for effort though.
                                                          You've already lost

Stephanie Roche nominated for the Puskas award:

Wouldn't it be mad if some kind of grassroots viral campaign resulted in her winning it?

Lots of weather going on.

It's just incredibly unfunny! No idea why they persist with that part of the mag, given the rest of it is so decent.
                                                                The same part in private eye usually throws up a good few lols, though kind of tired of them padding it out with revelations that x person holds a different opinion on x subject now than he did 10 years ago.
                                                                Last edited by Guest; 13-11-14, 11:21.

Interstellar worth a look? It's that or 71 for me today. Dream weather for an afternoon cinema trip
                                                                  Thought nightcrawler was decent
                                                                  Really want to see leviathan, solid looking flick about corruption in Russia with lots of vodka drinking, not a chance it'll be in a cinema here though

Interstellar worth a look? It's that or 71 for me today. Dream weather for an afternoon cinema trip
                                                                    Thought nightcrawler was decent
                                                                    Really want to see leviathan, solid looking flick about corruption in Russia with lots of vodka drinking, not a chance it'll be in a cinema here though
                                                                    Tis on in the IFI.

Cheers but by here I meant bogland

Is there a way to track a parcel from England once it is handed over to An Post?

@zuutroy, hitch

Is there a way to track a parcel from England once it is handed over to An Post?
                                                                          The parcel force tracking number should work in the annpost tracker however there is no guarantee that an post are the delivery agents. Try GLS also.

Royal Mail said it would be An Post, no luck on their site which is a pretty bad site. Thanks though.

71 is not brilliant, go see interstellar imo

On Tuesday I saw both a Polish film and a Russian film in the IFI. I am still bored.

Eating Chicken Nuggets with a curry flavour dip.

Wasn't convinced it was the best idea but I couldn't have been more wrong.

Eating Chicken Nuggets with a curry flavour dip.

Wasn't convinced it was the best idea but I couldn't have been more wrong.
                                                                                    Breakfast or lunch? Hi.

It will cover both bases m8. Call it Brunch, but Brunch is all I am having.

Hi.

Royal Mail said it would be An Post, no luck on their site which is a pretty bad site. Thanks though.
                                                                                        Assume you tried this link: https://track.anpost.ie/TrackList.aspx

There's no real guarantee of the tracking number transferring across between systems but they are generally much better at that than they used to be.

I mention GLS because they are (or were) owned by parcel force and so pretty much always acted as the delivery agents here. Im not really sure about royal mail tracked (I assume it was sent "small packets" or similar which I dont think is a tracked service?).

What did you order off the postie?

Assume you tried this link: https://track.anpost.ie/TrackList.aspx

There's no real guarantee of the tracking number transferring across between systems but they are generally much better at that than they used to be.

I mention GLS because they are (or were) owned by parcel force and so pretty much always acted as the delivery agents here. Im not really sure about royal mail tracked (I assume it was sent "small packets" or similar which I dont think is a tracked service?).
                                                                                            Yep, tried that. No luck. It left England on Tuesday so I presume I will get it later today or tomorrow, would be nice to know. Tried GLS, no luck with them either. Guess I will have to be patient.

Asked An Post on twitter and they haven't gotten back to me.

Asked Royal Mail and have been exchanging DM's with them about Postman Pat all morning.

That is the difference.

What did you order off the postie?
                                                                                              Loads and loads of Darts stuff.

Dail voted for Mary Lou McDonald to be expelled for asking if there will be legislation pushed through tomorrow about Irish Water financing, is refusing to leave, and now the Ceann Comhairle is refusing to reenter the chamber. Who'll crack first?

Mary Lou wants the Captain of the House to physically remove her. It's a ploy to distract from yesterday (and a fucking good one too - CC was an eejit in falling for it).

If he has any sense the CC will suspend the Dail for the day and FG will spend the rest of the day planning their weekend strategy for keeping the Cahill story alive. Expect the following tomorrow:

1. Doherty goes to Gardai and then gives interview on News at One (radio and TV).

2. Varadkar or perhaps Doherty herself follow up on the Six-One news that night.

3. "New revelations" hit newspapers on Saturday

4. Big Sunday opinion pieces on SF in all the newspapers and Sunday review shows

5. Monday ??? (I have my theories here but I'll aftertime instead)

Mary Lou wants the Captain of the House to physically remove her. It's a ploy to distract from yesterday (and a fucking good one too - CC was an eejit in falling for it).

If he has any sense the CC will suspend the Dail for the day and FG will spend the rest of the day planning their weekend strategy for keeping the Cahill story alive. Expect the following tomorrow:

1. Doherty goes to Gardai and then gives interview on News at One (radio and TV).

2. Varadkar or perhaps Doherty herself follow up on the Six-One news that night.

3. "New revelations" hit newspapers on Saturday

4. Big Sunday opinion pieces on SF in all the newspapers and Sunday review shows

Troika in the house on Wednesday, factor that into your plans.

Not my plans. Troika visit will come on the same day Alan Kelly announces a package of reliefs for Irish Water customers and the story will get little or no attention.

On Tuesday I saw both a Polish film and a Russian film in the IFI. I am still bored.
                                                                                                        There's a reason all those Easterners look perenially pissed-off. Waaaaaaay too much exposure to 'culture'.

Solid distraction ruse by ML. But what is she protesting again?

Gerry Adams, 13th Oct: "yes, I will be paying (water charges)"

Gerry Adams, 5th Nov: "I'm not paying (water charges)"

I suppose it's hard to remember what your position is on minor things like this when you're too busy trying to remember your story about protecting child rapists. When you, er, weren't in the IRA of course.

lol politics

SF up in the polls

Can someone check if the ryanair site is working for them? When I put in my dates and search for flights it doesn't return anything even though it should. It just says undefined. Weird.

working for me, which destination and ill try that?
                                                                                                                    Last edited by eamonhonda; 13-11-14, 14:15.

Strewel the Newlands Fly Over won't be open until next week.

Good thread here for anyone interested

FYI I'm not complaining, just wanting to hear people thoughts on the subject.

My recurring thought as Interstellar progressed was how good South Parks piss take of it is going to be.

While it will probably clean up every visual effects/ cinematography award going the stroreyline itself never really drew me in and thought it was ultimately forgettable. Have said before that Sci fi adventures regularly leave me cold, such far fetched plots are probably the most difficult thing to get right in film, thought Guardians of the Galaxy was a rare exception earlier in the year, that was fairly on the money throughout unlike Nolans latest effort.

working for me, which destination and ill try that?
                                                                                                                          Manchester or Liverpool on 2/3 May. It shows the days and cheapest price for the day but not individual flights. I booked a flight to Manchester earlier today as well. Weird. Using chrome on work computer.