lol my bad, to be fair I actually hadn't been drinking much since I started the job which makes it funnier!
    only 2 weekdays I went on the proper lash I turned up hungover the next day and they said that, soft cunts! I was late all the time though. The Dole days ain't over!!
    United for the champions league?
    Didn't you post something recently like "time for my morning can of Dutch before work"? Think it was you. I lost a job due to arriving in still drunk from a session and fell asleep at my station. It qualifies as a problem when it starts fucking with your real life shit.

/AA

Originally posted by 72over View Post
      Didn't you post something recently like "time for my morning can of Dutch before work"? Think it was you. I lost a job due to arriving in still drunk from a session and fell asleep at my station. It qualifies as a problem when it starts fucking with your real life shit.

/AA
      Ha yeah, remember the last few days of my ill fated experience as a bank cashier drone. Falling asleep mid counting some knacks cash and smashing my head against the glass panel between us. Wasn't booze but full time pokes related tbf.

I think you were drawing stone cold dead in that job Doug the moment you spunked the 3 months wages or whatever it was in a session the day before you started. That would break even a more rounded persons mental health tbf.

Ha yeah, remember the last few days of my ill fated experience as a bank cashier drone. Falling asleep mid counting some knacks cash and smashing my head against the glass panel between us. Wasn't booze but full time pokes related tbf.

Prob told this before but true story about a mate of mine.

He was working, hungover, in the GPO giving out stamps, dole, etc and there was a big queue at this hatch. This auld dear came up from the back of the q and asked him if he could hurry up as the other qs were moving faster. He replied "why don't you fuck off back to the end of the q" and for one split second he thought she was about to do that, but of course she went down to customer care and asked to speak to his manager.

Manager brought her up the outside while he went down the inside to mates hatch and says "can I talk to you for a second xxx". Sure says my mate I'll just finish with this customer. "sorry xxx I need to talk to you now". Ok says my mate and turns to the woman outside and says "I thought I told you to fuck off "

3 months yellow card (not bad really when you think about it).

Prob told this before but true story about a mate of mine.

He was working, hungover, in the GPO giving out stamps, dole, etc and there was a big queue at this hatch. This auld dear came up from the back of the q and asked him if he could hurry up as the other qs were moving faster. He replied "why don't you fuck off back to the end of the q" and for one split second he thought she was about to do that, but of course she went down to customer care and asked to speak to his manager.

Manager brought her up the outside while he went down the inside to mates hatch and says "can I talk to you for a second xxx". Sure says my mate I'll just finish with this customer. "sorry xxx I need to talk to you now". Ok says my mate and turns to the woman outside and says "I thought I told you to fuck off "

3 months yellow card (not bad really when you think about it).
          I snorted. Wp that man, wtf would he have to do to get the sack!

That Michael Lewis book seems very similar to one i read last year.
            Was a pretty good read actually telling the story of the origins of HFT.
            ONIC77 situs judi slot online gacor hari ini terpercaya mudah maxwin dengan pilihan game slot viral winrate RTP tinggi 97%. Daftar link slot gacor hari ini sekarang!.

Originally posted by Fiery Wasabi View Post
              Managed to get sunburned today. ....gotta love Berlin.
              Also Segways are fucking brilliant.
              Im not sure if you are planning on checking out Potsdam but if you are get off at Babelsberg and eat in the kebab place underneath the train station, literally attached to the station. It will blow your mind . Go up the steps then and exit the other side, cracking little bar below, divey as fuck but brilliant atmosphere and a good mix of chancers. Miss.

Also Park Sancoussi there and Spielbank Potsdam has some nice games. Worth a visit.

lols yup, many a working day spent a zombie from pulling an all-nighter stuck in a cash game in the fitz or online. Only thoughts going through your head throughout the day were the hand histories. Kinda miss the sickness for the game. It had it's moments.

Let it be hereby noted that NoRiverRequired is a Sound Man.

tyvm

30 k potential Sky Customers out there

lol my bad, to be fair I actually hadn't been drinking much since I started the job which makes it funnier!
                      only 2 weekdays I went on the proper lash I turned up hungover the next day and they said that, soft cunts! I was late all the time though. The Dole days ain't over!!
                      United for the champions league?
                      It's probably worth having a think about whether you have an issue with alcohol or not.

Anti - degenerate advice from Hitch/JBrav & 72.

Have I stumbled into some weird parallel IPB universe?

Proper degenerates can all tell the difference between a degenerate and a drunk

Ha, never was good at practicing the advice.

How'd you get on last night? Wish I did my research and headed up an hour early coulda gone to JP's. Got jacket in sports, cashed in chips and jumped into what turned out to be a tourney with 8 players. Said no to a deal 4 handed and bubbled to everyone's delight.

Like the lads stories are nearly always good with humour thrown in.
                              After the dust settles they can pretend to learn from mistakes.
                              Dougs stories lack humour zero remorse for stupidity as well.

Throw in delusions of gambling and its more sad than mad.
                              Man needs help in more ways than one.

Think maybe you need to learn to translate the language of Tinder, so

Dead Granny = doesn't want to go to wedding

Wheelchair = Sex is going to be awkward, dude.

Wheelchair with recent brain surgeries = 'Explain sex to me again?'

Wheelchair with recent unsuccessful brain surgeries and more brain work to come = You come near me you're going to get done trying to ride a vegetable.

It's kind of like russian roulette, instead of a gun and a bullet, you're playing it with your iphone and your d*ck.

Sometimes Tinder throws ya a curve ball.......I had zero intention of having much more than a short conversation with the girl. Now my conscience makes me feel like I have to text back. That then probably only leads things on.

" Ok im going to tell you as I don't wanna lead you on I was in a massive car accident 2 year's ago I am now in a wheelchair at the moment I am not paralysed just have no use of my legs they hope I will get back walking again I still just a normal person expect I need the wheelchair to get around. I had to brain surgeries in XXXX XXXX before Xmas and they really didn't go as well as planned so I have to go back over to XXXX for a 3rd one. I really hope just because I am in a wheelchair doesn't change your opinion of me now I completely understand if you don't wanna write to me again but I just wanna be straight up and honest with you. Hope it doesn't scare you even more. "

Ultra marathon this weekend down in Galway.

2 friends running it and a child's portion of the half marathon for me.

Doug;

Load of Irish lads when around your age who have spent too much time on the dole/college do what you have done when get first-ish job. Too much time spent dossing, first time having any sort of disciplined regime.

1.Get pissed tonight
                                    2.Go for the cure Saturday
                                    3.Knock the drink on the head for a while on Monday
                                    4.Join a gym to fill the time
                                    5.Get back on the job hunting horse

6.Pack in drink&gambling or join a group to get you off the can of dutch for breakfast

OR
                                    Doss around the streets off O'Connell street for 20 minutes today and see your future

Ha, never was good at practicing the advice.

How'd you get on last night? Wish I did my research and headed up an hour early coulda gone to JP's. Got jacket in sports, cashed in chips and jumped into what turned out to be a tourney with 8 players. Said no to a deal 4 handed and bubbled to everyone's delight.
                                      Yeah, JPs always a better bet on Thursdays, as its the only night i get a pass & gernerally gets 55+.

5 weeks in a row on FT & still no win (3rd for €400)

Originally posted by Fearbocht View Post
                                        Like the lads stories are nearly always good with humour thrown in.
                                        After the dust settles they can pretend to learn from mistakes.
                                        Dougs stories lack humour zero remorse for stupidity as well.

Throw in delusions of gambling and its more sad than mad.
                                        Man needs help in more ways than one.
                                        This is key to survival. Otherwise you'd just lose all hope of eventually getting on the straight and narrow. It's surprisingly easy to convince oneself of these lies. Then the madness starts again and the circle is complete.

Yeah, JPs always a better bet on Thursdays, as its the only night i get a pass & gernerally gets 55+.

5 weeks in a row on FT & still no win (3rd for €400)
                                          Not so bad! Next time I go to visit see the oul lad will make it a Thursday and head over for the game.

Its somewhat impressive the speed we're recovering from the crisis. Unemployment from 15% at beginning 2012 to under 11% by end of this year is almost legendary stuff in the staid world of normally slow economic recoveries.

Think there's actually going to be mild, much overdue, tax cuts this year in the form of raising the cut-off points. But then hopefully it speeds up a bit.
                                                How much of that is made up of people doing "work experience" in chippers or stacking shelves?

And emmigration
                                                  One of these days I am either going to quit poker or learn how to play the damn game

Very little people are actually on those courses AFAIK?

Irelands net migration was highest in europe from recent reports anyway.
                                                    Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 04-04-14, 11:51.

This is key to survival. Otherwise you'd just lose all hope of eventually getting on the straight and narrow. It's surprisingly easy to convince oneself of these lies. Then the madness starts again and the circle is complete.

You really should write a book Dave, you could call it "the secret for session heads"

What age are you Mdoug? Asking genuinely, not in a condescending group the fuck up way kinda way.

I think if your still under 28, destruct O behavior still flies IMO. Quite clear that gambling swongs has made the thought of grinding a real 9-5 for you loot wise utterly out of the question.

No advice really, maybe find something you like doing you can get paid for apart from boozing and gamboooling. Groundbreaking obv.
                                                        <28 so it's all cool

Kayroo reporting live from the Ben Gilroy contempt court case is good fun for anyone who likes the general freeman fuckwittery.
                                                          bottom of page.

It's probably worth having a think about whether you have an issue with alcohol or not.
                                                            Ah to be fair I honestly don't think so. I didn't actually drink heavily the night before work(before last week) at all! Then I realised I had literally learned all I had to learn in the job and there were no hurdles to jump and it wasn't very challenging and I got super bored and started hating it!

Only reason I somewhat regret losing the job is solely because it would have looked good on the cv moving up 2 job positions in 15 months or so but I genuinely would prefer to work in a pub than that job. This is much worse for my future employment I will admit but I might enjoy life more that way. Worked a 5 day week in this job and had to get up at 6:30 every day and wouldn't get home until 5:30-6:30 most nights and in a weeks work I made around €60-80 more than the dole aftertaxes. This might be common for everyone who has been working for years but to go from the life that I lived to that was a major jump, I was somewhat surprised I lasted a month!
                                                            I obviously cannot know if this following statement is true: but I do believe if I really loved the job I would have tried a lot harder and not gone on the tear either of those 2 nights. I dunno, sure don't worry about it anymore lads! Be grand
                                                            Last edited by mdoug; 04-04-14, 12:05.

yup! old town , hate new town.

staying in the same place I stayed before for the simple reason a massive Spar shop is more or less attached to it lol

Myself and mia head in early morning for their fresh croissents 1.60 for 4, bargain! breakfast sorted.

Off then for a stroll to the harbour for some fresh fish in the evening, she eats at least 6 cans of tuna a week so want to get her to try some fresh stuff to see what she thinks.

back to apartment for the vino and the laptop , ipad for her. and chill out for the duration. I am so looking forward to it. work is up the fucking walls right now and for the first time in my life the lower back of my head aches most evenings.

To top it off the manager is fucking off when i come back, that is gonna be a nightmare with 2 new reps starting tomorrow ugh! me and 12 of them on my own lol
                                                              I know exactly where that is.
                                                              There's a lovely little cafe just across the road from there with a veranda looking out over the bay.
                                                              My missus is a fan of the VIK hotel just near there.

Going to put together a multi media PC to run XBMC (Over Windows) on my TV so soley for streaming, music, Netflix etc, is this overpowered or just about right? http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=068525 Obviously with RAM and HDD added. Is this the best kind of way to do this? I want it to run a proper desktop OS so I can get a full featured browser for when apps on more morally gray streams aren't supported
                                                                You'll be hard pressed not finding the apps you need for streams tbh.
                                                                Personally I'd go the Pi route. Cheap as chips and works an absolute dream

Ah to be fair I honestly don't think so. I didn't actually drink heavily the night before work(before last week) at all! Then I realised I had literally learned all I had to learn in the job and there were no hurdles to jump and it wasn't very challenging and I got super bored and started hating it!

Only reason I somewhat regret losing the job is solely because it would have looked good on the cv moving up 2 job positions in 15 months or so but I genuinely would prefer to work in a pub than that job. This is much worse for my future employment I will admit but I might enjoy life more that way. Worked a 5 day week in this job and had to get up at 6:30 every day and wouldn't get home until 5:30-6:30 most nights and in a weeks work I made around €60-80 more than the dole aftertaxes. This might be common for everyone who has been working for years but to go from the life that I lived to that was a major jump, I was somewhat surprised I lasted a month!
                                                                  I obviously cannot know if this following statement is true: but I do believe if I really loved the job I would have tried a lot harder and not gone on the tear either of those 2 nights. I dunno, sure don't worry about it anymore lads! Be grand
                                                                  Even minimum wage is 100e more than that, you earned 100 less than minimum wage? The whole point of your job on low wages is to cultivate one where you get high wages, otherwise you will always be on those wages.

A) Doesn't have a drinking problem
                                                                  B) Drinks dutch gold before work

One of these is true.

I've got four and a half hours till the weekend though so let's not be too hard on drinking

Originally posted by I'm not folding... View Post
                                                                      You really should write a book Dave, you could call it "the secret for session heads"
                                                                      Haha, I'd say you'd feature in a fair few chapters! Another job I had that fell to the session...

Didn't so much get sacked from this job as walk out mid-shift never to return. Was shortly after dropping out of college did a stint in Supermacs by the hospital in Galway. I'd been on a base speed binge for 3 days. Was 72 hours straight of intense craic all over the place. Went home from the session to get a few hours kip before work but sleep was obviously never happening. Smoked copious amounts of weed and drank orange juice to try bring myself down but that didn't do much bar make me a bit trippy and paranoid. So, rather than call in sick, I floated into the grind wired to the moon.

Heart started pounding on arrival but managed to make small talk to boss and colleges no bother and get myself to the till(more than likely delusional about all that going well, probably more like Spud's interview in Trainspotting). Can't remember what day it was but it turned into busiest day ever. Think there was some big match on. Was coping ok till the backlog of orders began...

I had about 6 customers waiting on different shit. Nowhere to hide so had to keep taking more orders. One, a mother with her kids wrecking her head. She's looking at me like she wants to kill me. Some granny that wouldn't shut up at me about cooking her fish right. A few young lads that straight off recognised I was out of it and thought this was hilarious. There was also some sound ride that I'm sure understood where I was at mentally and felt for me. It's possible we both fell in love in that moment. Well, me anyway. This was all way too much for me to deal with.

Why would anyone want me serving them food anyway? Scaggy white face, pupils like saucers and sweat pumping from every pore of my body. Think of an alien ghost back from a swim. It all became to be too much of a head fuck and I told the manager I felt sick. She blocked my passage and said "you can't leave now! It'll quiet down shortly". I said to her "I'm not feckin joking here, I'll be quick but I'm gonna get sick". Moved passed her, grabbed my jacket from the staff room and hastily walked out the front door. Ignored everything and didn't look back.

Fun times but I think I only lasted a couple more months of this shit before I had to leave Galway with a melted brain and in need of counseling sessions.

Commuters of the BBV...

How far do you commute (distance, time)? What's the biggest problem with it?

just seen I have a full inbox on boylepoker with a load of friend requests?

I click on them and nowt happens?

I can delete them thats all. How do you accept them?

Also found 100+ names on old buddy tab and clicked on them all and it seems I have sent 100+ friend requests lol

Commuters of the BBV...

45 mins, 41km.
                                                                            Each way.

Urbanised speed zones starting 1+ mile outside urban areas.
                                                                            Un-passable traffic on windy roads.

Commuters of the BBV...

About 35 mins on a bus.

Takes up time that could be spent sleeping

Here is some insight for you. You will only ever be capable of having a job that earns you €60-€80 more per week than the dole if you do not stay there, develop your skills, and climb some sort of a career ladder. This is called life. This is called understanding that you need to invest today for your future career. If you don't invest it is a vicious circle of stupidity evolved from the 'poor me, only 80e more' thought process. This is called growing up. This is called becoming an adult.

Here is a simple test for alcoholism. Tell yourself that you can give up for a month. If you can not do a month dry then your almost certainly poorly founded conclusion is incorrect.

There is more to life that being a cool dude on an internet forum. That doesn't put money in the bank or help secure a future. A few others could let that lesson sink in as well.
                                                                                Can see both points.
                                                                                Noel, you are lucky enough to do a job you love and have been very fortunate.
                                                                                Doug you have no direction and are unlikely to ever have but you seen happy.

No point working for crap money unless you have to and as Doug is single if would be pointless.

Your busy today 340 Aintree, never seen a horse jump those fences as well as he did lay time.

Commuters of the BBV...

24km, 17mins each way. 20 of those km are motorway so never meet traffic. The biggest problem is getting out the front door of the house !

Is there any more secular alternatives to the AA?

Doesn't say much for the SEC that they're only investigating HFT now that a popular book has been published.

Its all quite a blur but I was reminded of one of my arriving into work straight from the night before when I ran into the villain of the piece last night.
                                                                                          He was convinced that it was a good idea to drop acid at around 2am of a Friday night session with work starting at 9.
                                                                                          We ended up arriving at the home of the then Minister of Agriculture at 10 on Saturday to deliver an enormous chest freezer tripping to the point of speechlessness. It being the era it was the Minister had armed Gardai hanging around his home.
                                                                                          We have a very young looking 16 year old kid with us who hasn't a clue whats going on with us but is astonished and delighted that he has been told that today is his day to learn how to drive the van. His delight turns to fear that probably matches ours when he sees the squad car parked outside that he hasn't got a driving licence... in fact he probably had never really driven in public before.

The pantomime that ensued must have been some spectacle for an observer.

The van stuttered to a halt at a spot that was the furthest possible point from the squad car but also from the door, no one had the balls to get back in and move it so we just casually go unload and carry the enormous carton the whole way across the yard.
                                                                                          Who knows if it was a real problem or a limitation of our spatial awareness but the freezer could not be fitted in through the door of the utility room the Ministers wife wanted it to go in. The freezer, a huge yoke probably 2 Meters long was sitting on a pallet that was attached to it by a few little phillips head self tappers and though she wanted it to stay on the pallet we decided it would go in if we could get it off. We've only got a flat head screwdriver so we managed to break the head on the last one. I've no idea how long we are there now but there have been numerous tea breaks and the Guards have been over trying to help and don't seem to get our reluctance to even look them in the eye.
                                                                                          Attempts were made to get it off by turning the pallet while holding the freezer upside down and finally a saw was used to cut the wood around the screw off and it was left with the screw sticking out and scraping her lino but we did manage to make a getaway what felt like about four hours later. No complaints just a lot more puzzled looks as we try to leave and no one gets into the driving seat.

The second call of the day was even worse and the young lad actually thought we were insane, I think it was after 4 we got back from what should have been an hour long run.

Got fired from my job this week because "I have a drinking problem". Fuck them if they can't take a joke. #ftitctaj
                                                                                            Very little people are actually on those courses AFAIK?

Irelands net migration was highest in europe from recent reports anyway.
                                                                                            Midgets? :P

Originally posted by Thefonze View Post
                                                                                            Doug you have no direction and are unlikely to ever have but you seen happy.

No point working for crap money unless you have to and as Doug is single if would be pointless.
                                                                                            Disagree with that bit.
                                                                                            I'm proud of doug for getting that job in the first place. He also looked reet spiffy in his work clobber.

Midgets? :P

Disagree with that bit.
                                                                                              I'm proud of doug for getting that job in the first place. He also looked reet spiffy in his work clobber.
                                                                                              Fair point. Just reflecting to others my bad mood. Your busy later today to win and pints till I fall over :-)

I don't know any blondes opposite me but still think I know who it is. Not sure I understand the chatting her up drunk thing though!!!
                                                                                                First name and il confirm if your correct...not exactly opposite you just other side of the road.

The more you post about your life the clearer it becomes that you're a dense culchie.

It's just a pity it isn't interesting.
                                                                                                I always liked you tbh. That doesnt particularly change. Would I not be more educated than you tho......? You can say street smart but tbh I would like a little more proof than a few posts on an internet forum. Maybe even enlighten me as to your superior intellect?

As for the culchie part....im fairly jealous of life in Bray alright.....

Commuters of the BBV...

1h 5minutes - 45 miles - I tend to take back roads as it actually works out a little quicker and less traffic stress. I feel I can unwind a bit more. That is to Waterford.

I commuted a lot from near Youghal to Waterford which is 73km and about 50 minutes if I recall correctly.

I personally would commute Youghal to Kilkenny for a certain period of time or Waterford Cork but not for a period of over 2 years.

If it is any of the routes that I have used and you want a little bit more of an opinion just ask I suppose.
                                                                                                Last edited by tipp86; 04-04-14, 14:09.

I always liked you tbh. That doesnt particularly change. Would I not be more educated than you tho......? You can say street smart but tbh I would like a little more prove than a few posts on an internet forum. Matybe even enlighten me as to your superior intellect?

I am on chd's side here

I always liked you tbh. That doesnt particularly change. Would I not be more educated than you tho......? You can say street smart but tbh I would like a little more prove than a few posts on an internet forum. Matybe even enlighten me as to your superior intellect?
                                                                                                    He seems to speak the old English a bit better anyway

Originally posted by Thefonze View Post
                                                                                                      Fair point. Just reflecting to others my bad mood. Your busy later today to win and pints till I fall over :-)
                                                                                                      It's cool, I agree with your point and so does riggs really . He has just seen my never say die 6aside attitude and thinks I have that in every day life imo

I am on chd's side here
                                                                                                        I clicked submit before checking what I wrote as I meant to update with a picture.

As for agreeing with CHD...least I have managed to have a job since 16 excluding the poker period and last few years with college. In fact none of my dense culchie friends are unemployed or have ever been really.

What's the deal with the Glenn Fogharty & the Glenn Foghartyisafag accounts?

I clicked submit before checking what I wrote as I meant to update with a picture.

As for agreeing with CHD...least I have managed to have a job since 16 excluding the poker period and last few years with college. In fact none of my dense culchie friends are unemployed or have ever been really.
                                                                                                            Lol

Lol
                                                                                                              No response?

I'm not some 12 year old looking for a fight here. You might have had a job longer than me and all your friends are employed but you sure as hell act a lot less mature than me and that's saying something

http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...384#post789384
                                                                                                                  Saw that. Bit of a weird post unless he knows him well and is actually taking the %. Sent Keith a msg there. Interweb wars happening all over the shop today

edit: Oh right, I was on about the post Frossach just linked below...
                                                                                                                  Last edited by 72over; 04-04-14, 14:34.

http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...384#post789384
                                                                                                                    and this one

Would love to see a triple threat of mdoug, tipp and CHD.

Here is some insight for you. You will only ever be capable of having a job that earns you €60-€80 more per week than the dole if you do not stay there, develop your skills, and climb some sort of a career ladder. This is called life. This is called understanding that you need to invest today for your future career. If you don't invest it is a vicious circle of stupidity evolved from the 'poor me, only 80e more' thought process. This is called growing up. This is called becoming an adult.

Here is a simple test for alcoholism. Tell yourself that you can give up for a month. If you can not do a month dry then your almost certainly poorly founded conclusion is incorrect.

There is more to life that being a cool dude on an internet forum. That doesn't put money in the bank or help secure a future. A few others could let that lesson sink in as well.
                                                                                                                        I am the only person here who can successfully drink and climb the ladder and be a cool dude here... Let that be a lesson to ye

South Park video when Timmy and Jimmy are having fight. Awesome...! Cripple fight