Don't know where it was 50's? 33's was 1st show..6's with PP. Someone probably has a couple of hundred e.w on it. Wouldn't take much to shrink the odds
    In the steamer section it was listed as best original odds of 50s.

t'was 50s alright,then 33s,50,33,50 so on http://www.oddschecker.com/horse-rac...-diamond/today

lordans only booking there tonight,(first time for trainer).all time stats show 2 wins & 8 places from 23 starts on the flat.with ballinrobe showing 1 win & 3 places from 6 starts,.o briens horse the only other one being backed,not sure what to make of it.

There a half a dozen likely suspects, I'll get the full gossip in the morning but I have a feeling that it could be the biggest name on the shortlist that was behind it.

heard BC too yea

story's getting plenty of legs if anything,turning up on sites in australia & south africa as well as ireland & the uk.

Originally posted by Coolmore
                @coolmorestud
                St Nicholas Abbey suffered a serious career ending injury at Ballydoyle this morning, vets are currently attending to him.

Originally posted by kpnuts View Post
                  heard BC too yea
                  Thats not who I had in mind as being towards the top of the list, doesn't sound like his style and the trained at 'another premises in the neighbourhood' part doesn't fit afaik Doesn't really fit with the current number one suspect either.

They're saying that when she was brought in she wasn't able to tell them what colour the horse is

The lad who brought it to the races and who was also interviewed by the stewards was, at least until recently working as travelling head lad for Kevin Prendergast.
                  But to be honest the whole operation sounds a bit too sloppy for an operator like Kevin to be behind and on a quiet night like last night you could have any of dozens of capable and discrete lads like Fabian available for a small fee.

Informed gossip is thin on the ground uninformed chatter as usual abounds

Is it not common enough practice where someone training a few horses but hasn't got his full training Certs in place will run a horse in under someone else's name ? I've certainly heard it a few times.

What seems to have happened here was somebody disgruntled or vendictive reported it.

Is it not common enough practice where someone training a few horses but hasn't got his full training Certs in place will run a horse in under someone else's name ? I've certainly heard it a few times.

What seems to have happened here was somebody disgruntled or vendictive reported it.
                      When that happens it would normally be at least housed in the yard its running from.

Latest story I'm told on this is that the horse is owned by a neighbour of mine, lets call him Dodgy McDodge. My informant who would have been very close to this guy in the past knows no more about what they were doing than that he owns the horse.

Now after that I'm moving into pure speculation but there is a former amatuer jockey with a training license who is better known for buying and selling horses in the immediate neighbourhood who has landed a couple of touches for this owner. He's thought of as a shrewd judge and as a former regular work rider in Ballydoyle (my earlier coolmore post is just a very odd coincidence btw!) he should know how to spot a good one.

On the surface you'd think that he would be able to get an horse like that one flying under the radar and at a decent price given his general record as a trainer then again this is not the type of horse he usually turns up with, he's much more likely to be seen bringing one up from point to points. Given the owner any sort of messiness would be possible and doomed to failure IMO. I mean what sort of a gamble is it these days where they are running around offices at ten o'clock in the morning trying to get a few hundred on
                      Last edited by Strewelpeter; 23-07-13, 14:09.

When that happens it would normally be at least housed in the yard its running from.

Latest story I'm told on this is that the horse is owned by a neighbour of mine, lets call him Dodgy McDodge. My informant who would have been very close to this guy in the past knows no more about what they were doing than that he owns the horse.

Now after that I'm moving into pure speculation but there is a former amatuer jockey with a training license who is better known for buying and selling horses in the immediate neighbourhood who has landed a couple of touches for this owner. He's thought of as a shrewd judge and as a former regular work rider in Ballydoyle (my earlier coolmore post is just a very odd coincidence btw!) he should know how to spot a good one.

On the surface you'd think that he would be able to get an horse like that one flying under the radar and at a decent price given his general record as a trainer then again this is not the type of horse he usually turns up with, he's much more likely to be seen bringing one up from point to points. Given the owner any sort of messiness would be possible and doomed to failure IMO. I mean what sort of a gamble is it these days where they are running around offices at ten o'clock in the morning trying to get a few hundred on
                        reminds me of this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83hC0TFxHhg a little) The good auld days of a proper sting "job". Saw the full movie of this back in the 80's. Great story
                        D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

st Ignatius in the 3:30 plz

I would be very surprised if that amateur jockey is involved - not his style or the style of the family at all.
                            Indeed, also if he was doing it you'd expect it to be done a lot better.

Is the word on the street as to the owner? I'd expect my info to be good and it fits but there is a lot idle speculation going around.

BTW some people might be delighted with all the extra attention that this particularly well named race is getting

Important to have a talented jockey to get one home......... more important to have a really talented jockey when trying to keep one for Galway.... http://www.attheraces.com/VideoConso..._07_23_01_1725
                                D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

Thats the owner confirmed and would account for the messiness and incompetence of the execution of the whole thing.
                                  I guess its possible that just about anyone could have been readying it on the Curragh. Burke will take the hit for it I suppose.

Originally posted by westlife View Post
                                    Important to have a talented jockey to get one home......... more important to have a really talented jockey when trying to keep one for Galway.... http://www.attheraces.com/VideoConso..._07_23_01_1725
                                    Be massively under priced next time out... Everyone that watched that race will have noticed that ride.... Esp after the ban jockey got and fact it was highlighted on ATR a few times since then.

Thats the owner confirmed and would account for the messiness and incompetence of the execution of the whole thing.
                                      I guess its possible that just about anyone could have been readying it on the Curragh. Burke will take the hit for it I suppose.
                                      Yeah Strewel prob end up that way. From what I have heard they weren't trying to gain an advantage from running it in Dunphys name. Let's say the "groom" had his training license the morning odds for a horse trained by F Burke would surely have been about the same.
                                      Should have had dunphy better briefed but again I don't think they were expecting to arouse suspicion. Fact is Kildare is a small place and somebody obviously didn't want to see the gamble coming off.

I see fallon pops to lingfield to ride 2 for simon Dow in the last 2 races. Both have been out of form on turf but have good aw form. Might be worth 2 singles and an ew double

Fallon doesn't ride these now

5.35 Lingfield - Carlarajah 7/2

Shite

Heading up to Leopardstown tonight.

Anyone fancy anything there?

I thought conversational was unlucky at the curragh at the weekend. They are still giving the ground as gf but I would like to see what its like after first race. He has 10 stone so wouldn't want it to get soft.
                                                  If it did go very soft la Colina would have a squeak at big odds

Exogenesis is the 2nd. 9/4

suppose you could do worse than giving Carenza a small e/w punt in the 6.50,the bare form line this year of 0 9 wouldn't get the juices flowing but is very lightly raced,& has dropped to a rating of 55 & with conor kings (7ex) booked for the first time to fire in to the mix,throw in the first time cheek piece could run well.king has rode horses for marnane just 16 times over the last year with 4 wins & 3 places & is 9 wins and 6 places over the distance from 43 starts which is not too shabby,a little nibble in the market this morning.worth a small e/w for beer money.other than that would think mars would want to be winning the g3 if its worth a pop @ 8/13 to ye.

Originally posted by westlife View Post
                                                        Very nice of the presenters to tell us AFTER the race just finishes the the fav Fast, 3.55 windsor, had bolted going to the start.... WP
                                                        Beats a 1/4 shot today that didnt settle going to post 7/1 in a 3 horse race and nibbled into 4s.

In my opinion Eddie Harty's Neustra Alegria and the O'Brady's Zafarqand are real good market value. Both are c. 7's ... small runner fields in these handicaps (6.50 & 8.30).

Anyone know if the ground has officially changed or will they just announce it after the first race?
                                                          To accumulate enduring wealth, do not lend to grasshoppers.

Originally posted by robinblinds View Post
                                                            In my opinion Eddie Harty's Neustra Alegria and the O'Brady's Zafarqand are real good market value. Both are c. 7's ... small runner fields in these handicaps (6.50 & 8.30).

Anyone know if the ground has officially changed or will they just announce it after the first race?
                                                            Confirmed change after 1st race. Now Good, good to yielding final 2f of home straight.
                                                            To accumulate enduring wealth, do not lend to grasshoppers.

Exogenesis is the 2nd. 9/4
                                                              Lol what an unfortunate typo. Would hope it was obvious it should have read 'in' and not is, if not apologies to Eoghan

Job done anyway well played

Thanks amberleaf!! First race we got here for great start!!!!

Here with Eoghan and we both got on so cheers amberleaf!

Wow huge price on Heirloom now.

Burning Blaze is worth a small pop e/w in the 3.55 newmarket,spencer rides wind fire in the first at ascot and then gives up bookings in the 2.40 & the 3.15.burning blaze was withdrawn last time in a much more competitive race over the same course and distance last time,12s to 8s with some english firms and can be got @ 11/1 with pp.

Chroussa in the first at Ascot looks a decent price at 10/1. Second in her 2 maidens. "Perhaps" went on to be second in a Grp 3 and "Tapestry" beat her FTO and looks a decent sort(both hold some big entries). Form looks strong at this stage(been 2 y/o's).

good/bad idea to start a thread for galway?

Originally posted by amberleaf View Post
                                                                              Burning Blaze is worth a small pop e/w in the 3.55 newmarket,spencer rides wind fire in the first at ascot and then gives up bookings in the 2.40 & the 3.15.burning blaze was withdrawn last time in a much more competitive race over the same course and distance last time,12s to 8s with some english firms and can be got @ 11/1 with pp.
                                                                              Hugh Taylor picking your brain Amber

bogart 3.30 york

Hugh Taylor picking your brain Amber
                                                                                  be jabus hes some man to make clean shite out of a price 9/1 before he posts,11/2 half hour later.

Think Very Nice Name will be the biggest threat to Cirrus in the big one, form from Dubai is really strong especially in the Sheema classic where he had to deal with a almost impossible draw and traveled a far greater distance than St Nic who won. Big ew play for me.

Originally posted by amberleaf View Post
                                                                                      good/bad idea to start a thread for galway?
                                                                                      keep it here IMO

think conor king could be a chap to keep an eye on during the week,notice that weld has booked him for the first time today,given that he's never ridden at the track before (afaik) shows his Potential and faith he's has with him.He rode out his 7lbs last friday but still looks great value for the 5lb claim.interesting to see how he gets on today with his 2 bookings.

The mullins horse may give your fella a run for it?

Originally posted by Bono View Post
                                                                                            The mullins horse may give your fella a run for it?
                                                                                            The race was over when you posted this and the Mullins horse had won. Not sure what the fuck you are at tbh

Jasus the race is over. Missed him.

Well i made a mistake and missed the off. The info above mad me do a little more research and when i saw the ground was very good and decided the mullins horse was wirth a punt. Sorry for the late post..

Typical of Bono tbh.

Cunt that he is.

RULE OF THUMB: ONE should never back a J P McManus horse when it is not the favorite and, even if it is the favorite, make sure you have homework done and that thre ground, form, jockey, weight, opponents and distance are in its favour and that it is not a false favorite.

You may thank Bono in future for those statistical words of wisdom when you save yourself some money. You can apply the same words of wisdom to gigginstown horses.

Rule of thumb:check that race is not over before u give ur pearls of wisdom.

Fuck that I'm not following Gab anymore this Bono guy seems to be the man in the know.

RULE OF THUMB: ONE should never back a J P McManus horse when it is not the favorite and, even if it is the favorite, make sure you have homework done and that thre ground, form, jockey, weight, opponents and distance are in its favour and that it is not a false favorite.

You may thank Bono in future for those statistical words of wisdom when you save yourself some money. You can apply the same words of wisdom to gigginstown horses.
                                                                                                          Even more important would be to know the off time of a race in which there runs a horse you fancy.

You may thank wicklowp in future.

Not knowing what time the race is off that ur horse is running in=drawing dead

JP will be fuming that you have revealed the secrets to his Gambling success on a public forum. Mickey o'l will probably just sack someone.

I reckon Red Rum has a decent shot at winning at least one grand national

was going to have a cut off Tarfasha but at 4/5 they can keep it,just a few small e/w for me with Global Village in the topaz & knights templar in the 7.45 as well as a bigger e/w bet on producer in the lennox stakes in goodwood.

"R1. Im working on the basis that Diplomat will not run. I dont like the WPM beast on the ground but I do like Elegant Statesman - he should appreciate the ground and the tough finish - c.7/2"

Hi,

This is a very tough call and I was siding with your view but the Willie horse has won on soft ground before on the flat in France and his times are very sweet this year on good ground. So after studying this race for quite some time I would advise the safety of the Paddy Power insurebet to three places whichever way one bets. They are offering a three place insure bet on Shamar @ 5/6 and on elegent stateman @ 11/8. If i were backing elegent stateman I would have to back in that market and take the 11/8 to try and protect my stake if Shamar happens to go on the ground. I see the 7/2 as a little risky for me as we still do not know if the Weld horse will run.

I have no time to study any additional race today but i know your tipping has been top notch.

Regards.

I backed the elegent statesman EW at 7/2 and also took the 11/8 in the 3 place insurebet market on paddy power. I fancy he will be placed.

Meanwhile there's actually some decent racing on over the pond. Goodwood has been getting similar levels of rain and ground currently good to soft. Casper Netscher 12/1 in the Lennox and Harris Tweed 20/1 in the 3:40 are both ew bets.

cavalerio 15.40 really like jacks revenge prob want more ease in the groun

16.15 under the moon

17.25 jedward all goodwood

galway

18.45 tandum