Most significantly the herd of elephants in the corner of the room that is their national debt would become so unmanageable that when Hillary gets in in '16 she would have to default. The terminal decline that the US is already in will accelerate to the point of complete societal breakdown within 20 years.
    technically, you can't default if you can keep printing money (did Zimbabwe default?) but I know what you mean

All Tea Partiers should have their noses rubbed in this btw

Originally posted by Alanfox View Post
      You think?? I kinda feel like it's been going noplace, not a particular fan of the whole mobster thing, it just makes it like any other cop show and Deborah has been absolutely unbearable so far! Last episode was definitely better than the opening few, I just think consider the density of the plot at this stage they could have done so much more. Season 4 and 6 defo best so far though, and I was always kinda sad they killed off Doakes...
      6 was by far the worst season

It's a bit ironic to say something like this with regard to an American Presidential election of all things, but anyone with the slightest inclination to vote for Romney ought to take a bit of time and find themselves a detailed account of Mormon beliefs and history as a sect (it's only ~150 years worth).

In most cases a person's private beliefs shouldn't be held against them when it comes to applying for a job, but much like you'd have to question the credentials of someone who believes disobedient children should be put to death applying for a child welfare position the racism and anti-female leanings inherent in this guy's beliefs cast serious doubts on his ability to do a competent job in the position he's applying for.

btw just reading in the booklet that we got in the door today on the referendum. Apparently they are keeping Article 42.1 unchanged where it says it is a 'duty of parents to provide ... for the religious ... education of their children'. Does that mean that if Keane has kids we can get him publicly flogged if he continues in his pagan ways?
          What I would hope it should mean is that people are responsible for the indoctrination or otherwise of their children and that it should be completely, utterly and unapologetically purged from school curricula, particularly in the case of primary schools.

The Walking Dead has been fantastic so far and have a sneaky suspicion that it will continue like this for the rest of the season, Homeland has been pretty woeful since coming back, good first season but it's drudgery of season 2 so far is painful.

As for Dexter I'm just watching it out of habit at the moment, I've said this many many times before but Debra Morgan is one of the worst characters on tv. One more season after this and then it's all done and dusted!

Now if you do get sick its not like the health service will turn you away you\'ll still get treated but you\'ll just have to wait longer and get shitter service when you get to hospital i.e. you\'ll have to wait to see consultants, wait for tests etc etc. essentially health insurance just speeds up the process.
              I think this is something that is overlooked in the whole health insurance debate.

I ruptured my right Achilles tendon in 2002 playing soccer and a year later did the same to my left. Operation, eight weeks in cast. 8 months to get back to normal.

Both times without health insurance I was fixed up in Jamess with operations, drugs (aahhh morphine), 4 overnights, food, physiotherapy call backs etc. All I had to pay was the emergency room charge and the price of then public room which was feck all at the time (couple of hundred Euro). Tendons grand now. Still play a bit of soccer so the guys in Jamess did a good job.

Ok, there was some waiting and crazy auld lads in the public wards, but I took that in my stride at the time. The morphine (wonderful mistress) helped. Im sure costs have gone up and service has gone down since.

Yet Im not convinced that health insurance for everybody is +EV considering the level of care you will get without it combined with the lightly hood of you needing medical care. I know ones level of risk acceptance is a big factor along with how wealthy they are.

Take children for example. Does health insurance make since for them?
              Well the chances of them getting a terminal illness that requires lots of costly care is very low. Combine that with the care they will get on the public if they need it. Is kids health insurance the equivalent to pissing money away?

Age is the big factor. At what age does it become +EV? Would love to know the answer to this question but to lazy-dumb to work out all the permutations.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 23-10-12, 11:23.

The Walking Dead has been fantastic so far and have a sneaky suspicion that it will continue like this for the rest of the season, Homeland has been pretty woeful since coming back, good first season but it's drudgery of season 2 so far is painful.

As for Dexter I'm just watching it out of habit at the moment, I've said this many many times before but Debra Morgan is one of the worst characters on tv. One more season after this and then it's all done and dusted!

Homeland was been fucking fantastic this season.
                        Claire Danes is fantastic, Her and Damien Lewis have such a great connection when on screen together.
                        The fact that we don't have a long drawn out season of will they/wont they, creeping in on Brody will the get him thing is brilliant.
                        The dynamic has changed, expect torture american style in coming weeks.
                        I usually can see pretty clearly how these shows are going to pan out and they most logical storyline.
                        I'm happy knowing this show will continue to surprise me.
                        Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 15:32.

[spoiler]Homeland was been fucking fantastic this season.
                            Claire Danes is fantastic, Her and Damien Lewis have such a great connection when on screen together.
                            The fact that we don't have a long drawn out season of will they/wont they, creeping in on Brody will the get him thing is brilliant.
                            I usually can see pretty clearly how these shows are going to pan out and they most logical storyline.
                            I'm happy knowing this show will continue to surprise me.[spoiler]

The portrayal of the CIA in this show is hilarious at the moment. Carrie can do whatever the fuck she wants and there are no repercussions to her behavior. The last 20 mins of Homeland have ruined the whole thing for me when I was actually hopeful of something better. They have essentially ensured there is no Season 3 because there is no avenue for that now
                            Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 15:33.

The portrayal of the CIA in this show is hilarious at the moment. Carrie can do whatever the fuck she wants and there are no repercussions to her behavior. The last 20 mins of Homeland have ruined the whole thing for me when I was actually hopeful of something better. They have essentially ensured there is no Season 3 because there is no avenue for that now

I understood it as they cannot really DO anything at the moment due to the nature of the operation.

Ya see, that's what interests me. They cannot keep to the expected norm now in this show.
                              The fact that is mightn't last another season is no reason whatsoever not to enjoy what is sure be excellent tv.
                              Besides....Season 3 confirmed
                              I disagree btw. I'm an inkling in my mind how it could go but it seems a little far fetched atm
                              Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 15:33.

I understood it as they cannot really DO anything at the moment due to the nature of the operation.

Ya see, that's what interests me. They cannot keep to the expected norm now in this show.
                                The fact that is mightn't last another season is no reason whatsoever not to enjoy what is sure be excellent tv.
                                Besides....Season 3 confirmed
                                I disagree btw. I'm an inkling in my mind how it could go but it seems a little far fetched atm

This is annoying with confirmation of next season and why I felt Season 1 was let down at the end. Them announcing Season 2 before showing the last few eps of Season 1 ensured certain things would happen and therefore ruined the scene after the shooting. Now I suppose certain characters will still be around for Season 3.
                                Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 15:34.

Yep, great movie and really stunning Bond girl to boot! Really looking forward to Skyfall.
                                    Casino Royale? really??? So bad. You prob are one of those monkeys who like Taken aswell.

Originally posted by Downtown View Post
                                      Casino Royale? really??? So bad. You prob are one of those monkeys who like Taken aswell.
                                      I will punch your jaw loose for comparing Casino Royale to Taken.

Casino Royale has to be one of if not the worst bond movie made.

I will punch your jaw loose for comparing Casino Royale to Taken.
                                          didnt compare them both <5/10

So much to like in Casino Royale if you can get over the poker scenes.
                                            The last few Brosnan entries were an epic shambles, and Casino Royale put the series back in a good place.

Unfourtunately the slightly lacklustre QoS, and the 4 year gap since then mean that its almost starting over again now.

didnt compare them both <5/10
                                              You said people who liked CR would also like Taken. there is a comparison there.

does anyone remember where and how to download the older versions of championship manager ? pretty sure it was talked about in here ages ago. are they updated at all aswell ?

There's a facebook page:

Championship Manager 01/02. 12,763 likes · 1 talking about this. Games/toys

Should be updated regularly.

You said people who liked CR would also like Taken. there is a comparison there.
                                                    Meh, I take it you like Taken? Each to their own but I would only give it 4/10. Poorly written and acted script, although not the only one to gain a cult following. CR much of the same but with the built in cult following. So yeah comparison in the regard that they are both exceptionally poor movie with big fanboys.

That's a highly dodgy chart. omg they're borrowing more in dollar terms now than they did 100 years ago. Percentage increase in debt vs GDP growth rates or gtfo. Shameful economic trolling of the gullible.
                                                      Meh, it's more the rate of increase I was trying to get across. Ratios fell under Clinton of course.

Casino Royale got 94% on RT, Taken 58%. There is no comparing the two. Beats me how people wouldn't like Casino Royale, it was the best Bond in years and a great film even taking it away from the franchise.

Taken Lovers should watch this imo

Pure quality.

Homeland was been fucking fantastic this season.
                                                            I'm happy knowing this show will continue to surprise me.
                                                            Ah DP you must be stoned or something when watching them it's been woeful in parts!

Haven't spoken to Abu Nasir in ages but miraculously has him on speed dial, lets send a Vice President nominee to go and collect the bomb maker, Carrie kicked out of the CIA and is involved in this that & what not, ex marine buddies putting two & two together "he's changed since he was imprisoned for 8 years" he was working with the other dude and other such nonsense!
                                                            Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 15:34.

I don't really get the love of Bond films tbh.

Yes they do get to punch women but the crappy one liners more than cancel them out.

Not enough action for an action flick since they want to keep the PG rating. Not enough plot and intrigue to be a proper spy film with a web of mystery and ambiguity. QoS is by far the worst offender in the non plot all the way through but have a twist that nobody will care about anyway.

Bond is a hollow character with no real development over the last 40 years or however long it is going. They are now trying to build a deep, brooding and conflicted hero but really he will always just be a boy scout hero in all areas except that he is a dick to the ladies.

I liked bond when I was 12 since it is essentially the adolescent dream but now I require either more or less from my films dependent on my mood. Bond Films I think are now over written for the non events they are, stuck in a dated style/formula and basically just crappy product placement vehicles.

James Bond is a load of a baboons red arse.

Meh, I take it you like Taken? Each to their own but I would only give it 4/10. Poorly written and acted script, although not the only one to gain a cult following. CR much of the same but with the built in cult following. So yeah comparison in the regard that they are both exceptionally poor movie with big fanboys.
                                                                  Think you're missing the point if you're analysing it as if it was intended to be anything other than a mindless, leave your brains at the door action film. For what it is I think it's pretty good.
                                                                  Last edited by The Situation; 23-10-12, 13:36.

James Blunt is more fcukin interesting than James Bond.

Woah. Strong opinion.

I'm on a bus atm. Quite excited.

Ah DP you must be stoned or something when watching them it's been woeful in parts!

Haven't spoken to Abu Nasir in ages but miraculously has him on speed dial,
                                                                        seems pretty likely he'd have a communications channel to his handler, how did they have the codes to the safe, there is just some things you have to put on faith
                                                                        lets send a Vice President nominee to go and collect the bomb maker,
                                                                        That was explained well, he's a sleeper agent, the only contact he had was brody, it was a bit sloppy granted

Carrie kicked out of the CIA and is involved in this that & what not,
                                                                        where you even looking at the show? Carrie recruited yer wan, she only trusted carrie and wouldnt talk to anyone else. After that debrief where she was turned away, she was out again and then Saul, as her mentor, wanted to give her comfort that she was right.

ex marine buddies putting two & two together "he's changed since he was imprisoned for 8 years" he was working with the other dude and other such nonsense!
                                                                        [b]walker was a sniper, snipers work in teams.
                                                                        the two were missing for 8 years together so it's logical to question brody's involvement.
                                                                        The crazy legs dude arc, I felt had somewhere to go while brody was at large, now I'm not sure but I expect something to come out of it

^^^^^
                                                                        answers up there

How I see it going

They'll try to turn him double agent. Which I think will be fantastic tv.
                                                                        He'll get the not for VP
                                                                        Resumption of surveillance
                                                                        Mike and mrs brody
                                                                        Brody kills crazy legs guy
                                                                        VP is a pervert.....just a hunch
                                                                        Brody kills VP

The dynamic has changed a lot with the early developments. I've got faith in this show.
                                                                        Last edited by DeadParrot; 23-10-12, 14:18.

Yes they do get to punch women but the crappy one liners more than cancel them out.

Not enough action for an action flick since they want to keep the PG rating. Not enough plot and intrigue to be a proper spy film with a web of mystery and ambiguity. QoS is by far the worst offender in the non plot all the way through but have a twist that nobody will care about anyway.

Bond is a hollow character with no real development over the last 40 years or however long it is going. They are now trying to build a deep, brooding and conflicted hero but really he will always just be a boy scout hero in all areas except that he is a dick to the ladies.

I liked bond when I was 12 since it is essentially the adolescent dream but now I require either more or less from my films dependent on my mood. Bond Films I think are now over written for the non events they are, stuck in a dated style/formula and basically just crappy product placement vehicles.
                                                                          I like the theory that James Bond is a codename passed on from one agent to the next as each retires (just as the titles of M and Q pinball from agent to agent). The theory explains the agelessness of Bond--note that Daniel Craig's Bond became 11 years younger whereas Judi Dench's M aged by four years.

This also explains how James Bond's personality changes dramatically from actor to actor. For example, in one film you have Timothy Dalton's Bond burning a man alive. Pop in another DVD and you see Roger Moore's Bond is doddering around in a clown costume.
                                                                          The more you look into it, the more it makes sense. George Lazenby's Bond had his wife murdered in the last film he appeared in, so fans could assume that his 007 retired out of grief. Timothy Dalton's Bond went rogue and was kicked out of MI6. Pierce Brosnan's final outing ended with Bond being abandoned by British intelligence. Next movie, there's a new Bond in the tuxedo and the old one is presumably on a beach somewhere collecting a government pension.

from the excellent cracked.com

Ha, yep, I am one of those monkeys I thought Taken was alright, nowhere near as good as Casino Royale but it was entertaining.

I don't understand how people can dislike the body of work that makes up the Bond movies; some weren't great but as a whole, they are so enjoyable.

Made me LOL heartily. Wpwp.

I'm on a bus atm. Quite excited.
                                                                                Ask the driver can you sit at the front, go on it will be mad craic.

The more you look into it, the more it makes sense. George Lazenby's Bond had his wife murdered in the last film he appeared in, so fans could assume that his 007 retired out of grief. Timothy Dalton's Bond went rogue and was kicked out of MI6. Pierce Brosnan's final outing ended with Bond being abandoned by British intelligence. Next movie, there's a new Bond in the tuxedo and the old one is presumably on a beach somewhere collecting a government pension.
                                                                                  Can't have that; Roger Moore's Bond goes to visit Tracey Bonds grave at the start of one of the films, which wouldn't happen under the above theory.

I think all the Bonds are the same character up until Daniel Craig who is a new character.

lol great interview

Can't have that; Roger Moore's Bond goes to visit Tracey Bonds grave at the start of one of the films, which wouldn't happen under the above theory.

I think all the Bonds are the same character up until Daniel Craig who is a new character.
                                                                                      Mr Bond wasn't so tough in 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' when the scientist from Thor had him hanging in his basement

Yes I find it impossible to separate characters from certain films I like to other films they appear in.

Just got the heads up that my photo is ready for collection, going to roll out now to collect it really looking forward to seeing how it turned out.

WTF is Bond doing drinking Hino FFS.
                                                                                          Inspector Gadget > Bond
                                                                                          Dada Dada Do. Who Who.

Ask the driver can you sit at the front, go on it will be mad craic.
                                                                                            I'm upstairs at the front pretending I'm driving.

They really should install fake steering wheels for kids and bored weird people.

Spoiler the homeland talk ffs!

which beast of a car are you driving atm GAB for €660 road tax? Still the beamer?

amazing the advances in engine technology even in the last couple of years, all the 2L tanks I'm looking at are 330 road tax

All pre-2008 2.0L cars are €660.

Just bust the side event and met the lads in the bar, judging by their exuberance I think 1 or 2 is out of the question.
                                                                                                    Concern rising.

So I just paid €660 Car Tax, €618 for Car Insurance & €80 for my speeding fine. Il be living off marmalade sandwiches by the time pay day comes around!! I tried to remove my ex gf from my car insurance and the lady on the phone said to hold off until I could swap in somebody else for her as she was sharing the risk and was probably reducing my policy - I told her I would be back in touch depending on the next few weekends go - she did have a good laugh in fairness to her. I got a 10% discount on the renewal quote just by calling up and saying "ah hear, leave it out".
                                                                                                      Time to mend bridges and stop fucking around buying tvs instead of bling I reckon!! Btw we had a pretty cute Cork girl just started working in google come along to Toastmasters last week. Your hilarious Offaly stories might charm her.....

Originally posted by zuutroy
                                                                                                      All pre-2008 2.0L cars are €660.
                                                                                                      2008 5 series is €225. Time for an upgrade GAB.

So I just paid €660 Car Tax, €618 for Car Insurance & €80 for my speeding fine. Il be living off marmalade sandwiches by the time pay day comes around!!
                                                                                                        Restaurant Name: Shanahans

Location: Stephens Green, Dublin 2

Website: www.shanahans.ie

Price Range: €€€€€€€ or so, alot any

I ordered the Split Pea and Ham soup (€10.50) whilst the missus had Trio of Salmon (€19.80). The soup was good without being exciting and I definitely had better here before and in other places (notably the The Arch in Churchtown). Starters were served with home made bread selection which I am assured was very nice.

Again and rather uncomfortably so the mains arrived in double quick time (or at least it seemed), I will never complain about waiting too long for my main course but this was the complete opposite. For main I had the 24oz T-Bone (€49.00) and the other half had the 12oz Fillet (€48.50). Mains in Shanahans are not served with any sides so we had Whipped Potatoes (€9.25), Onion Strings (€6.50), Creamed Spinach (€8.75) and Creamed Corn (€8.25)l
                                                                                                        You know what marmalade sandwiches are

So I just paid €660 Car Tax, €618 for Car Insurance & €80 for my speeding fine.
                                                                                                          £375 car tax
                                                                                                          £843 car insurance

it's a lean month here too! (never mind dropping ~£500 getting car through MOT last month!)

which beast of a car are you driving atm GAB for €660 road tax? Still the beamer?

amazing the advances in engine technology even in the last couple of years, all the 2L tanks I'm looking at are 330 road tax
                                                                                                            Efficiency is irrelevant in this discussion as it's just an arbitrary govt date of 2008 in relation to the road tax calculation basis. I doubt GABs machine is any different to mine.

shows you how little I know about cars!

now I know anyway...

£375 car tax
                                                                                                                £843 car insurance

it's a lean month here too! (never mind dropping ~£500 getting car through MOT last month!)
                                                                                                                Do you really need a car where you are based in the UK?

That's one hell of a spend. Personally I didn't own a car until I needed one for work as it's just a waste of money if you aren't too inconvenienced using public transport. I'd have thought that you'd have better transport options in the UK then in Dublin/Ireland.

£1200 just to begin with plus maintenance and fuels costs and some element of depreciation. Hard to justify in a job that doesn't pay you a premium for having your own transport I'd have thought.....

Man I'm Ionapaul in disguise aren't I?????

take out a six month road tax and then go 12 months after that keeping your road tax and insurance payouts 6 months apart, it will cost a little bit more the first year but worth it not to get hit by the 2 payouts at the one time.

I'm Ionapaul in disguise aren't I?????
                                                                                                                    not necessarily a bad thing

this depression was made for ionapaul, I reckon he's having the time of his life!

Do you really need a car where you are based in the UK?

That's one hell of a spend. Personally I didn't own a car until I needed one for work as it's just a waste of money if you aren't too inconvenienced using public transport. I'd have thought that you'd have better transport options in the UK then in Dublin/Ireland.

£1200 just to begin with plus maintenance and fuels costs and some element of depreciation. Hard to justify in a job that doesn't pay you a premium for having your own transport I'd have thought.....

Man I'm Ionapaul in disguise aren't I?????
                                                                                                                      Stoke doesn't exactly have public transport...

I think I paid something like £1.08 per mile last year!

It's definitely a luxury, and push came to shove I could do without, but I don't particularly want to.

shows you how little I know about cars!

now I know anyway...
                                                                                                                        You'd notice the big price difference in the second hand car market between a 2007 and a 2008. If you were ever slumming it in the second hand car market that is!!

Btw It's good to know at least one person who knows less about cars than I do. I do have a trusted mechanic who is incredibly reasonable and fastidious so he's my ace in the hole in relation to cars. Big relief to actually work with him as I find the knowledge asymmetry stressful. I just hate those Docfarrell* style shysters getting one over on me.

*Only kidding Doc if you're lurking!!