Indian guy in the job swears by the Uncle Ben stuff for their Indian range (ldo), says it's better than anything he gets in the specialist cuisine shops.

Don't get a Kindle yoke. Get a cool phone, tablet or netbook and install a free Kindle Reader.

When I say phone I mean Android btw.

Speaking of the wire - top 10 most tragic Deaths - serious nostalgia

3 BB GOING TO FINAL TABLE. FML
            Wish me luck LOL

wtf HH sprite is the nuts

I have Appleophiles in the same category as Mormons, Jehovah Witnesses, Dana Voters and the like. I pity the fools!

Wish me luck LOL
                  GL GL GL

Wish me luck LOL
                    Doubled up. Good ould little 3s. 3 on the flop LOL

S04 Sons of Anarchy heating up big time in the latest episode.

Anyone else think Otto/Juice won't cave in and then tip off SAMCRO?

Anybody know how many eggs your allowed eat per week? Had about 12 this week

well had obviously forgotten about Sprite ldo Surely Sprite is everyone's favourite very expensive slightly flavoured sparkling water?
                                just beaten by this stuff

well had obviously forgotten about Sprite ldo Surely Sprite is everyone's favourite very expensive slightly flavoured sparkling water?
                                  I prefer my expensive sparkling water flavoured with hops and barley !!

Yesterday and today have been a complete fucking nightmare and now I have to move back to playing on a $ site because I'm not rolled for this kind of shit:

An incredible amount of slowrolling going around on stars today for some reason by players with the nuts. Thats all.
                                      NextStopWhoKnows

This is depressing me a bit now like. I dont think id have the same honesty if i was not going to be dealing with the lads face to face.

The mistake was sort of made due to them booking my gf on the trip which i guess they could have refused to do. So them doing me a favour would have cost them 1k.

I guess if i didnt give a shit i could have withdrawn my roll and safeguarded the money.

Who knows the girl who payed out the money could have got grief if i refused to give it back.

Only i could manage to be down 1k before i even labd in Vegas !!
                                        Not having a dig Enda, just making an observation, but you have some bizarre moral code calculater set up in your head.

No problem with drink driving but hand back the free money.

Don't get me wrong I admire the latter but while those views don't seem to be in in direct conflict,for me I'd much rather come out with the reverse of that.
                                        You'd rather take the risk of killing someone in your car than avoiding the 'awkwardness' of sitting on a plane with the PPP lads? Really?

I'm genuinely horrified by that thinking from a lad your age.
                                        Last edited by dannydiamond; 03-11-11, 01:01.

Great piece about John Crossan in today's Guardian.Most harshly treated footballer of all time...lol Tevez is all I can say! Also, FU Derry City 1958!

In the late 1950s the Coleraine Chronicle reported almost exclusively on the affairs of its largely rural readership, who turned to it each week to keep them informed of the latest ploughing competitions, and to discover if any cows had been run over in the area. Sample headlines, genuine ones which I did not make up, include "Trouble over a bale of hay" and "Coleraine's traffic lights – a 'technical' hitch". At one point the sports section headlined a report: "Angler catches nice trout." But in 1959, quite unexpectedly, they found themselves covering the biggest story in British football. It is a story that the likes of Wayne Rooney and his manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, prone to complaining about their particularly harsh treatment at the hands of the footballing authorities, would do well to familiarise themselves with. Because nobody, ever, has been treated more harshly than John Crossan.

In the late 50s Ireland was positively crawling with English scouts. If a teenager so much as executed a stepover or a sliding tackle half a dozen people would be at his next game, with their interest very often leading to a transfer. As the vast majority of young Irish players were amateur, but it was only possible for a club to charge a transfer fee for a professional, if an English club was interested in a player their Irish team would quickly offer them a contract and then immediately sell them on – some 95% of Ulster amateurs at the time had left their clubs within a month of signing for them professionally. This was the position that Crossan, who played as a forward for his hometown team, Derry City, found himself in in 1957.

At the time he was described in the Express as "19-year-old wonder boy of Irish soccer … Ireland's Jimmy Greaves." "Scouts galore have come from England trying to get the lad to turn professional," they wrote. First Sheffield United, then Arsenal, and finally Nottingham Forest all believed they had signed him – he even travelled to the latter two, without agreeing a deal. When Sunderland offered £6,000 – the equivalent of about £105,000 in today's money – Derry made Crossan a proposition. He would sign a professional contract, they would accept the offer and the resulting cash would be divided between them, with club and player each getting £3,000. Although this was against all sorts of rules, mutually beneficial deals of this type were considered standard practice at the time. He made them a counter-offer: they would get £1,000 and he would keep the rest. They did not like it, he would not budge and player and club had an almighty falling-out. In the end the move to England broke down, Crossan was dropped and at the end of the season – amateur commitments lasting only a year at a time – he moved instead to Coleraine, for nothing.

So unhappy were Derry with this development that they reported themselves to the authorities for illegally offering payment to a player, so as to also land Crossan in trouble for having been willing, in theory, to accept it. They also reported that while at Derry he had been paid – again against the rules, given that he was an amateur – £1.50 per match (the equivalent, taking inflation into account, of about £25 in today's money). "If Crossan moves to an English club after signing as a professional for Coleraine we want a thorough investigation," they wrote. Neither Crossan nor Coleraine were informed of the complaint at the time, though it would not be long before they found out.

Coleraine's manager was Kevin Doherty, something of a legend at the club in his own right having made his debut for them as a player in 1938, but most famous as the brother of Peter Doherty. For those more familiar with his Libertines-fronting namesake, Peter Doherty was a tricky and prolific forward who as a player had top-scored in Manchester City's first title-winning side in 1937 and won the first post-war FA Cup with Derby County in 1946. The England captain Billy Wright christened him "Peter the Great" and said he was "one of the outstanding inside-forwards in the world"; many years later, when doing a bit of scouting for Liverpool, it was Doherty who spotted Kevin Keegan playing for Scunthorpe United and recommended him to Bill Shankly. But at that time he was managing Bristol City, who agreed a £7,000 deal to sign Crossan in October 1958, a matter of weeks after his arrival at Coleraine. "It was maybe lined up when I left Derry City," Crossan, now 72 but still working in his sports shop and playing football a couple of times a week, tells me, "but that would have been unknown to me."

Unfortunately Alan Hardaker, the English Football League's notoriously tough secretary, knew of Derry's complaint. The story hit the front pages of British national newspapers after he announced that "Bristol City have been informed that the registration of JA Crossan, of Coleraine, is not accepted, nor will be for any other league club in the future." Peter Doherty protested that "our transfer bid was perfectly on the level", while Coleraine's chairman, Sammy Walker, complained: "This boy has been deprived of his livelihood. He has been victimised." But the president of the English Football League, Joe Richards, replied: "Both the Coleraine club and the Bristol City manager say that this was a straightforward deal. That is not our information. We are not going to be bullied by anybody."

Crossan was forced to return home and await the results of an investigation hurriedly convened by the Irish Football League. He was summoned to Belfast himself a couple of times to give evidence. "Lots of people on the commission had players who had gone to England at about the same time," he tells me. "All the people on the commission, they had no hesitation in talking about how much some of those players had got and when they got it. It was absolutely the done thing. It was an unwritten law."

In January 1959 the commission, formed of representatives of league clubs, friends and colleagues of Derry's own administrators, announced their verdict. Coleraine, for putting the wrong date on a form, were fined £5. Derry were fined £100 for the match fees they illegally paid to Crossan, and a further £155 for offering him a cut of his transfer fee. The individual director who offered the money was not punished at all. And Crossan, guilty of precisely the same offences as Derry only in reverse, and without seeing a penny of the proposed £3,000, was banned from all forms of football, in every country, for ever.

The decision caused uproar. "The case has made young 'Jobby' the most talked-about player in the British Isles," wrote the Coleraine Chronicle. "There is strong public sentiment that the sentence on Crossan is much too severe and should be reviewed with a view to drastic mitigation. Football is John Crossan's life and, metaphorically speaking, the Irish League has brutally 'sentenced the brilliant young player to death'." The Northern Ireland International Premier Supporters' Club wrote "to protest in the strongest possible manner our disgust at the vicious and savage sentence". The Guardian called the ban "sickeningly unfair" and evidence of a "lack of humanity and justice".

As he became something of a cause célèbre in the world of football the then PFA chairman, Jimmy Hill, got involved. "Unless I am mistaken," he wrote, "the cruel situation into which this talented Irish minor has blundered has more than any other single event in the history of soccer illustrated to the public the fundamental illogicalities and restrictive practices which a professional player is forced to accept … One day, when the archaic regulations on which he foundered are finally and irrevocably abolished, I hope that the members of our association will express their everlasting thanks to John Crossan, the unwitting scapegoat of a feudal system."

Crossan appealed against the verdict – "a forlorn hope that they would be honest with themselves," as Crossan describes it now. Derry did not, despite complaining that "the club is very aggrieved at the severity of the Irish League's penalty on them" given that they had actively gone out of their way to report a rule breach, and even more so because the rule breach concerned was "common practice". "We all know that portions of fees have been paid to players," their honorary secretary, Patrick Maxwell, said. "It is time to make the rules realistic."

The Guardian dispatched Clement Freud, at the time working on its sports desk, to cover the story. "Fair-minded people reading of the ban are incredulous that this has been imposed for his failure to get his share of the money," he wrote. "There is a growing conviction that his crime must have been something quite different, disgusting and unmentionable, like sticking pins into the wax image of the league chairman. I can disprove this." These rumours had grown because of the league's refusal to release details of Crossan's offences, even to the player himself. "The letter telling me of my suspension, I never got," he says. "I think it was confiscated by a Coleraine director, because Freud wanted that letter and offered a substantial amount of money for it. I asked a director, and he said: 'I'll hold on to it for a while.' I never did read the commission's decision. All I heard is that I'd told lies. What lies I told, and for what reason, was never made known."

Crossan himself resisted the frequent opportunities to openly criticise the commission, or to name other players who had benefited from similar deals without punishment. "You've got to realise, I was young," he says. "I'd hardly been out of Ireland. And this was heavy publicity, I can tell you. People coming over from England, interviews on the radio. A 17-year-old in the present day might be a lot sharper, but we had a lot more respect for people in those days. You'd be reluctant to criticise an older person, back then. It was part and parcel of that era. I just wanted to be a footballer. I didn't want to be a brickie or a pilot or a policeman. I wanted to be a footballer."

Somewhat bizarrely, the ban, having been handed down by the league, applied only to league football. So after two months out of action Crossan made an emotional return to the team for the North-West Senior Cup final in March 1959, for which he was made captain for the day. "The spectators were delighted by his keenness and skill," reported the Chronicle, "but unfortunately he ran into a leg injury at the 25-minute stage and when he returned after being off for eight minutes he was limping and obviously under handicap." All the same, his new side won. Clubs, meanwhile, started to circle in anticipation of a successful appeal. Bristol City (again), Weymouth, Bath City, Chelmsford City, Sligo Rovers, Cork Hibernians and Ulster United of Toronto all made offers for his services. Each was told by Coleraine that "we do not intend to transfer Crossan until the whole matter is settled", while Crossan told the press that he was "sticking with Coleraine, as Coleraine had stuck by him".

The appeal, heard by the same people who had made the original judgment, was unsuccessful, though this time he would be allowed to play for clubs outside the British Isles. So in August 1959 he moved to Sparta Rotterdam, and that November he made his Northern Ireland debut, against England at Wembley, playing for and against countries where he was a pariah, an arrangement the Guardian likened to "a modern Robin Hood at a housewarming organised by the sheriff of Nottingham". Crossan joined Standard Liège in 1961, playing for the Belgian side in a European Cup semi-final against Real Madrid (having scored twice against Rangers in the quarters). But he continued to fight his ban. "I don't want to be a foreign legion footballer all my life," he told the Express late in 1961 (an article perhaps most remarkable because in the first paragraph it prints his address, 66 Rue des Clarisses, in full). "The league acted very quickly when I was going to Bristol. Now they are not so quick. I applied a year ago for the ban to be lifted. I just wait and hope."

He waited four years in all. Fittingly, a ban created as an act of convenience for league clubs ended as an act of convenience for league clubs. In May 1962, two months after the Irish League had discussed the issue and decided to take no action, England played a friendly in Peru, on their way to the World Cup in Chile. There the Sunderland chairman and England selector, Syd Collings, whose club had a long-standing interest in Crossan, bumped into Harry Cavan, the president of the Irish FA. Collings took Cavan out for a drink, and wondered aloud how the ban could be conveniently ended. With a couple of powerful friends on his side the wheels moved swiftly: in July the Sunderland manager, Alan Brown, flew to Belgium to discuss a deal; that September the Irish League agreed to lift the ban and on 20 October, the very day that it was lifted, he moved to Wearside for £27,500, the start of a successful eight-year spell in England that also took him to Manchester City and Middlesbrough.

Within weeks he was back in the Northern Ireland team, for the first time since that visit to Wembley, and in the ninth minute of a European Championship qualifier against Poland he scored one of the finest goals that Windsor Park has ever seen, a waist-high volley from 25 yards. "It's all like a fairy story," he said. "And what a wonderful ending."

Uncle Bens sauces are shite, chicken tonight sauces are also shite.

If looking for a quick fix while cooking, Erin sauces trump both my a country mile, and this is the 'add milk' powdery stuff!
                                            Last edited by dannydiamond; 03-11-11, 00:56.

went down to one chip in the pub game and somehow managed to cash not huge but every little helps

Uncle Bens sauces are shite, chicken tonight sauces are also shite.

If looking for a quick fix while cooking, Erin sauces trump both my a country mile, and this is the 'add milk' powdery stuff!
                                                I worked for Erin for 12 years, the factory was in thurles over 40 yrs , my mother worked there when it first opened, my three aunts also worked there and my uncle was production manager.

I worked in Finished goods, I was the first women to get the job down there in 30 years, I looked t0 go down there from the floor as the overtime was unreal and the money was huge, they advertised for the job I applied and there was uproar as they said it was no place for a woman what with the heavy lifted and fork lift driving, also in the winter the temp would drop to below 20 , water and ice ran off the walls!

I got the job after alot of "its discrimination" and im as good as any man shite.

We had to pick 250 cases an hour and were on an opus tracking system built into the pallet cars, i worked like a pig wouldnt please them to see me fail, it was the hardest work I have ever done in my life but i loved the challenge, we were brought in once a month and what had picked was read out, every week I was in the top three.

I then went on to pass my forklift (counter balance) test and also drove a warehouser forklift too.

absolutely loved the job, working with all men is so much different to working with a shower of two faced bitches. I was earning in or around 5/600 a week and that was back in 2000, I worked from 6 am sometimes till 8/9pm heavy lifting all day long!

The crack was mighty in that store! Also it was easy to smuggle out a few damaged goods late at night

Campbells now own Erin! the factory is derilict

Genuine Insurance claim by a friend after the floods...

ha, saw this on a friends facebook. I wonder if my friend stole this as she claimed it was her own!

I worked for Erin for 12 years, the factory was in thurles over 40 yrs , my mother worked there when it first opened, my three aunts also worked there and my uncle was production manager.

I worked in Finished goods, I was the first women to get the job down there in 30 years, I looked t0 go down there from the floor as the overtime was unreal and the money was huge, they advertised for the job I applied and there was uproar as they said it was no place for a woman what with the heavy lifted and fork lift driving, also in the winter the temp would drop to below 20 , water and ice ran off the walls!

I got the job after alot of "its discrimination" and im as good as any man shite.

We had to pick 250 cases an hour and were on an opus tracking system built into the pallet cars, i worked like a pig wouldnt please them to see me fail, it was the hardest work I have ever done in my life but i loved the challenge, we were brought in once a month and what had picked was read out, every week I was in the top three.

I then went on to pass my forklift (counter balance) test and also drove a warehouser forklift too.

absolutely loved the job, working with all men is so much different to working with a shower of two faced bitches. I was earning in or around 5/600 a week and that was back in 2000, I worked from 6 am sometimes till 8/9pm heavy lifting all day long!

The crack was mighty in that store! Also it was easy to smuggle out a few damaged goods late at night

Campbells now own Erin! the factory is derilict
                                                    I started a story about working in somewhere very hot, but too tired to see it through. I'll get back to it tomorrow. Not v intteresting but I will anyway.

just watching Coral late night poker, ffs Victoria Corens voice is so tilting!!!

Hector just turned up in Once Upon A Time !!

Another weird pic!!! lol

I started a story about working in somewhere very hot, but too tired to see it through. I'll get back to it tomorrow. Not v intteresting but I will anyway.
                                                            Massage parlour and a certain singer in a band ?

Willie should be back from the states now ?

Another weird pic!!! lol

Devil woman !!!

Another weird pic!!! lol

Neither disk is turning.

Blanket should be warm by now, lost a small fortune tonight on the footie...lets hope when i awake some is made back !!

tis good to chill sometimes

Don't Look Back At Me - - The Flood Video clip from The Flood's 1998 album 'The Ballad Of KB'

Chipsticks are nice.

Not having a dig Enda, just making an observation, but you have some bizarre moral code calculater set up in your head.

No problem with drink driving but hand back the free money.

Don't get me wrong I admire the latter but while those views don't seem to be in in direct conflict,for me I'd much rather come out with the reverse of that.
                                                                        You'd rather take the risk of killing someone in your car than avoiding the 'awkwardness' of sitting on a plane with the PPP lads? Really?

I'm genuinely horrified by that thinking from a lad your age.
                                                                        No problem ever with someone making a comment that is put in a reasonable manner.

I dont really want to drag up the drink driving issue to much. I still feel its ridiculous to suggest the two are interlinked. I really feel this is something that your feelings put together rather than most peoples view.

There is no way on earth that just because someone drink drives it means that they would be dodgy in other matters in life.
                                                                        Last edited by tipp86; 03-11-11, 07:28.

You talk about drink driving like a alco taxi driver.

Just deleted half the post not really going to be around today to engage in debate.

Originally posted by Downtown View Post
                                                                              ha, saw this on a friends facebook. I wonder if my friend stole this as she claimed it was her own!
                                                                              Carol?

9

Carol?
                                                                                  9
                                                                                  Is shite

CHD, mental arithmetic game.

Pick out the number that is the furthest from the average average of the 3 combinations of the 2 numbers.

1 4 9

People who slag Apple for being the big bad boogie man while implying that Google are some sort of power to the people socialist champions would seriously want to get a spoon and sort themselves out with a lobotomy.

Isn't he your boss?

Occupy

Henry Rollin's take on the Occupy movement (for anyone interested in such things...)

Things I don't buy and that also that I look down on people for buying:

- Apple

- Daily Mail

- Non Coca-Cola brands from Coca Cola company

- DVDs

- Dell

- Uncle Bens

Sure there's loads more. Should start keeping a proper list.

Chilean wine

Budweiser

Chilean wine

Budweiser
                                                                                              + Jack Daniels

I don't have any strong opinions about spirits. Would always drink Bombay Sapphire gin by choice.

Will I lose anything on it if I do it? The thing is supposed to be up to date, checked after I sync'd it to itunes.
                                                                                                  Yeah. It will be a clean install of the OS basically. If it's up to date you may actually still have the last download of the OS on your hard drive. Do a search for "*.ipsw" (without the " obviously).

You should be able to download any apps you have paid for at zero cost (provided they are from the same apple ID). Alternatively you should be able to sync them with iTunes first.

Any app data will probably be lost unless it syncs to the cloud.

Managed to watch the last episode on youtube before it was taken down. I think TylerD posted it. Can it be watched anywhere else online or is it repeated? Might just have to keep an eye out on youtube again if not
                                                                                                    Def repeated, think its either Fri/Sat night but could be Sunday too Unbelievable footage.

It's on the iPlayer now. You just need a UK proxy to watch it. I believe there's a few ways to do this listed on Boards. Otherwise, I'm sure it'll be up on the usual torrent sites.

Isn't he your boss?
                                                                                                        lol no

Managed to watch the last episode on youtube before it was taken down. I think TylerD posted it. Can it be watched anywhere else online or is it repeated? Might just have to keep an eye out on youtube again if not
                                                                                                          This website is for sale! icefilms.info is your first and best source for all of the information you’re looking for. From general topics to more of what you would expect to find here, icefilms.info has it all. We hope you find what you are searching for!

available here

Originally posted by V for Vendetta
                                                                                                            Another big part of these decisions is the impact on your future earnings potential. IF I become really sucessful then I'll have to spend a lot less time in the future on work as I will be paid a lot more for the hours that I do work and can therefore scale back and/or have a staff.
                                                                                                            LOL, Sorry but it just doesn't work that way, In most areas and certainly in business the more successful you are the less time you have. Its always a trade off between time and money. Only a very few in very specific areas can can earn 200K a year and also have time to enjoy it.

I found a hd tv rip easily enough last week, I'll have a look later and tell our cousins about it.

Jar of Patak's lasts for ages, tastes good, cheap, and Jamie Oliver even recommends it in his cooking books.
                                                                                                            Pataks used to do a Chilli tomato pickle that was fantastic, can't find it anywhere now.

Isn't he your boss?
                                                                                                            Keane doesn't have a boss Keane is A Boss

What he means to say is we share a boss and therefore an uneasy truce

why chilean wine?

Had half an hour to kill last Friday evening and mosied around the Occupy Dame Street people.

Lots of impassioned speeches and stuff, and a huge amount of voting on what seemed the most minor of stuff.

One youngfella was handed the conch microphone and he was a bit nervous as I think it was his first speech. But he talked about how inclusive it was and how it great it was that it didn't matter who you were. "You can be a student and you're welcome, or a lowly worker, or a single parent, or a communist or a fascist or an OAP or unemployed, everyone is welcome and thats what makes this movement so great".

There quickly followed whispered muttering between the top brass, a nod in the ear of the speaker and he added "I'd just like to clarify that in fact fascists are not actually welcome here, sorry about that".
                                                                                                                  Thought it was lol.

You could say you're a true daughter of Erin.

+ Jack Daniels
                                                                                                                      Oh come on now,I mean really.

Lol AJ, thats straight out of a Monty Python sketch,
                                                                                                                        Some Old lady from the back pipes up "what did the say"
                                                                                                                        Fascists can't come
                                                                                                                        What??? flats in cancun, where's the feck is that?
                                                                                                                        It's in Mexico love,
                                                                                                                        Texaco?? why would I go there, I don't 'ave a car, and petrol's a bleeding rip off

I've no idea what occupy dame st is, but I liked the conch reference