all textbooks should be available as PDF. The fact they keep making kids rebuy the same books with slightly altered texts as "new editions" is a disgrace.
    Yep and using iPads is beyond ridic.

A Kindle type yoke is a fraction of the price and handles both bought and otherwise acquired books perfectly, if they do need a tablet and there are plenty of reasons that they might, they should be using an open system like Android.
    Forcing them into the Apple monopoly is so moronically stupid as to defy belief.

Things are changing radically and so fast in education where there is good access to Information Technology. I saw some talk recently about amazing results being reported for maths teaching where they flipped the modus operandi around. Homework is to go home and watch a couple of specific Khan academy lectures and work through the examples he gives then in the classroom time they go over a number of the associated problem sets that would traditionally have been the homework. Kids who are flying can help out the ones who are having a small bit of bother and the Teachers can identify and help the ones who are all at sea.
    Sounds like a great idea to me but of course in Ireland there is a very specific curriculum to be followed and anything that radical would get a teacher into trouble.

Ideally we'd have this stickied in cousins with brief synopsis of each show.

Not volunteering for task!
      Yeah that's a decent idea actually - I'll work on it over the next few days.

all textbooks should be available as PDF. The fact they keep making kids rebuy the same books with slightly altered texts as "new editions" is a disgrace.

Let alone the weight of the fecking school bags, sons bag must be at least 15KG, must weigh it later to find out.

Breaking Bad (Stolen from boards) !Spoilers!

The world has lost a great man, one whose product touched many lives.

I thought Suits was excellent this year, people should give it a watch. Much better than the description of the show would make it seem. You don't have Parks and Recreation on that list i think

A Kindle type yoke is a fraction of the price and handles both bought and otherwise acquired books perfectly, if they do need a tablet and there are plenty of reasons that they might, they should be using an open system like Android.
                Wouldn't even need a kindle, you could do it on one of the cheapo tablets that are out now.

Let alone the weight of the fecking school bags, sons bag must be at least 15KG, must weigh it later to find out.
                  the average schoolbag full of books would break labour laws regarding carrying heavy objects.

Anybody anything to add to this from the new Autumn schedule?
                    Homeland

How to make it in America

Hawaii Five O

Big Love

Falling Skies

Nikita

Happy Endings - only started watching this last night and its not a bad little comedy, Elisha Cuthbert is just ridic hot

There is a few more shows that have started that I haven't gotten to watch yet, Terra Nova/A Gifted Man/Charlies Angels/Unforgettable/Enlightened/The Fades/Franklin and Bash

Anybody anything to add to this from the new Autumn schedule?
                      Rescue me.

Added:
                        Warehouse 13

Wilfred
                        Weeds, latest series was quite enjoyable and asides from the writing and acting which are holding up well some 5 series after it jumped the shark, what it lacked in Nancy nakedness it made up for in Nancy on girl action.

no Lie to Me on that list? great show.

TV Show List

Alphas
                            Archer
                            Arrested Development
                            Band of Brothers
                            Battlestar Galactica
                            Big Love
                            Black Books
                            The Black Donnellys
                            Blue Bloods
                            Bored To Death
                            Boardwalk Empire
                            Breaking Bad
                            Californication
                            Chuck
                            Community
                            The Corner
                            Curb Your Enthusiasm
                            Deadwood
                            Dexter
                            Downton Abbey
                            Eastbound & Down
                            Entourage
                            Falling Skies
                            Family Guy
                            Firefly
                            Friday Night Lights
                            Fringe
                            Frisky Dingo
                            Futurama
                            Game of Thrones
                            Generation Kill
                            Happy Endings
                            Hawaii Five O
                            Homeland
                            House
                            How to Make It in America
                            Hustle
                            It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia
                            Jericho
                            Justified
                            Lie To Me
                            Mad Men
                            The Mighty Boosh
                            Misfits
                            Modern Family
                            Nikita
                            The Office (US)
                            Oz
                            The Pacific
                            Pan Am
                            Parks and Recreation
                            Party Down
                            Rescue Me
                            Rome
                            Sherlock
                            The Simpsons
                            South Park
                            Spartacus
                            The Shield
                            Six Feet Under
                            The Sopranos
                            StrikeBack: Project Dawn
                            Suits
                            Trailer Park Boys
                            Treme
                            The Walking Dead
                            Warehouse 13
                            Weeds
                            The West Wing
                            Wilfred
                            The Wire
                            Workaholics
                            Last edited by Keane; 12-10-11, 10:30.

I thought Suits was excellent this year, people should give it a watch. Much better than the description of the show would make it seem. You don't have Parks and Recreation on that list i think
                              +1 Suits was a great show.

Falling Skies
                                While the premise of the show was brilliant, it's execution was awful.

Cluxton named el capitano for the international rules games. Surely he can't dodge doing interviews or potentially lifting tropheys now!

Downton abbey is pretty good.
                                    Season 1 was a bit thin on the ground plot wise but season 2 is picking up nicely.
                                    TV Show List

Alphas
                                    Archer
                                    Arrested Development
                                    Band of Brothers
                                    Battlestar Galactica
                                    Big Love
                                    Black Books
                                    The Black Donnellys
                                    Blue Bloods
                                    Board To Death
                                    Boardwalk Empire
                                    Breaking Bad
                                    Californication
                                    Chuck
                                    Community
                                    The Corner
                                    Curb Your Enthusiasm
                                    Deadwood
                                    Dexter
                                    Eastbound & Down
                                    Entourage
                                    Falling Skies
                                    Family Guy
                                    Firefly
                                    Friday Night Lights
                                    Fringe
                                    Frisky Dingo
                                    Futurama
                                    Game of Thrones
                                    Generation Kill
                                    Happy Endings
                                    Hawaii Five O
                                    Homeland
                                    House
                                    How to Make It in America
                                    Hustle
                                    It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia
                                    Jericho
                                    Justified
                                    Lie To Me
                                    Mad Men
                                    The Mighty Boosh
                                    Misfits
                                    Nikita
                                    The Office (US)
                                    Oz
                                    The Pacific
                                    Pan Am
                                    Parks and Recreation
                                    Party Down
                                    Rescue Me
                                    Rome
                                    Sherlock
                                    The Simpsons
                                    South Park
                                    Spartacus
                                    The Shield
                                    The Sopranos
                                    StrikeBack: Project Dawn
                                    Suits
                                    Trailer Park Boys
                                    Treme
                                    The Walking Dead
                                    Warehouse 13
                                    Weeds
                                    The West Wing
                                    Wilfred
                                    The Wire
                                    Workaholics

Ideally we'd have this stickied in cousins with brief synopsis of each show.

Not volunteering for task!
                                      You have to now, I know you are a busy father and all, this might give you something to take you away from all the baby stuff

Weeds, latest series was quite enjoyable and asides from the writing and acting which are holding up well some 5 series after it jumped the shark, what it lacked in Nancy nakedness it made up for in Nancy on girl action.
                                      It's not don't watch this Keane I stuck it out for far too long and finally dropped it after Season 6 it got really bad please don't start on this show.

I had gotten that far because I had been invested heavily in it but after Season 3 or 4 it just got to "FFS come on that is just stupid" but I trudged through it hoping that it would get better was funny in a couple of spots but overall it went to shit, no doubt your woman who plays Nancy is crazy hot but the actual character is a fucking idiot!!! Actually a lot of the characters in the show are fucking idiots.

cancelled .
                                        The show itself is not great but Timothy Roth was fucking awesome

Thank god it got cancelled, was ok for a bit but it just went a little funny a long the lines.

While the premise of the show was brilliant, it's execution was awful.
                                          Gonna have to disagree with you on this man, I think I expected a little something more from it because it was Spielbergo but it was a grand little show and I really started to dig it towards the end of it, bring on Season 2.

Wouldn't even need a kindle, you could do it on one of the cheapo tablets that are out now.
                                            like yoke I got recently , dying to try it out but my aunt hasnt sent it yet from scotland!

Forcing them into the Apple monopoly is so moronically stupid as to defy belief.

Things are changing radically and so fast in education where there is good access to Information Technology. I saw some talk recently about amazing results being reported for maths teaching where they flipped the modus operandi around. Homework is to go home and watch a couple of specific Khan academy lectures and work through the examples he gives then in the classroom time they go over a number of the associated problem sets that would traditionally have been the homework. Kids who are flying can help out the ones who are having a small bit of bother and the Teachers can identify and help the ones who are all at sea.
                                              Sounds like a great idea to me but of course in Ireland there is a very specific curriculum to be followed and anything that radical would get a teacher into trouble.
                                              If they get a device it should be able to run office type software, applications and it should have a keyboard, storage and uber connectivity.

There has been a revolution in IT over that last 30 year or so. The education models used at all level in Ireland are hundreds of years old and have for the most part ignored this. Sickness when information transfer is at the core.

Tilting that leaving cert students spend hours on end writing with a pen and paper when they will rarely use a pen and paper \'in the real world\' and most of them never having done a keyboard productivity course while at school.

Keane is shit at doing lists

cancelled .
                                                  The show itself is not great but Timothy Roth was fucking awesome
                                                  aye, knew it got cancelled after season 3 but it's recent enough worth picking up if you haven't already.

The show is a little weak (but thought season 1 and season 3 were entertaining. Tim Roth is just a brilliant actor and could carry anything along with him.

Downton abbey is pretty good.
                                                    Season 1 was a bit thin on the ground plot wise but season 2 is picking up nicely.
                                                    Just saw two of SE02 so far and I thought that the show was much better when Fellows felt free to cut and paste liberally from a whole load of Victorian and Edwardian classics before the accusations of plagiarism came from the haters. Second series hasn't felt as smooth. Then when the writing gets a bit stilted the big problems with it like the anachronistic heartfelt conversations between servants and Upstairs start to look much more apparent.

If they get a device it should be able to run office type software,
                                                      why propogate a homogeny?

uber connectivity would rule out needing a built in keyboard. It would need a wifi connection and that's about it really.

There has been a revolution in IT over that last 30 year or so. The education models used at all level in Ireland are hundreds of years old and have for the most part ignored this. Sickness when information transfer is at the core.
                                                      I'm in wholesale favour of destroying the system and rebuilding.

Tilting that leaving cert students spend hours on end writing with a pen and paper when they will rarely use a pen and paper \'in the real world\' and most of them never having done a keyboard productivity course while at school.
                                                      TBH I don't have too much of an issue with them writing with pen and paper, hopefully they will pick up some of the knowledge when they transcribe from wiki instead of not reading it when they copy/paste.

Potatoes dauphinoise and Meat loaf Nom Nom

Thank god it got cancelled, was ok for a bit but it just went a little funny a long the lines.

Every days you find new ways to disappoint me.

Gonna have to disagree with you on this man, I think I expected a little something more from it because it was Spielbergo but it was a grand little show and I really started to dig it towards the end of it, bring on Season 2.
                                                            It's unreal how many shows you fit in!

Keane is shit at doing lists
                                                            What's wrong with my list?

@ HitcHiker re your tweets about High Frequency Trading.

Talking to a friend last week who is working for a company that sells tools that the big Exchanges use to create metrics that detail how fast bids and offers are posted. The results are used to advertise how ridic fast they are and to diagnose problems for the bots owners. He was telling me that in just looking at bids and offers, they record every single transaction each taking a theoretical maximum of 64Kb. The data they have coming in and out of the NYSE currently is running at 12 Terrabytes per hour when its open.
                                                              Even if half of of the data is overhead that they are putting in that still comes out at a number in the Billions of bids and offers of per hour

How is that even possible?

Was joking, just it's always going to be incomplete with people keep chiming in with new stuff. Good list.

Anyone watched Pan Am yet? Bit fluffy for my liking but have watched the 1st 3 eps. Christina Ricci is a tiny tiny person!

Just saw two of SE02 so far and I thought that the show was much better when Fellows felt free to cut and paste liberally from a whole load of Victorian and Edwardian classics before the accusations of plagiarism came from the haters. Second series hasn't felt as smooth. Then when the writing gets a bit stilted the big problems with it like the anachronistic heartfelt conversations between servants and Upstairs start to look much more apparent.
                                                                  For me, season 1 was a great success style wise but somewhat lacked a bit of substance. Season 2 looks like it was put together very quickly and has had the opposite result. They seem to have come up with decent story lines but the stylishness and class has taken a hit. As for the anachronistic elements, I agree they ve gone too far in the buddy buddy relationships but I think WW1 was a huge catalyst for bringing about changes to the upstairs downstairs culture of old England.

And Maggie smith is just brilliant!!!

Was joking, just it's always going to be incomplete with people keep chiming in with new stuff. Good list.

Anyone watched Pan Am yet? Bit fluffy for my liking but have watched the 1st 3 eps. Christina Ricci is a tiny tiny person!
                                                                    I like it
                                                                    The Berlin ep was especially well made and made some interesting points

I like it
                                                                      The Berlin ep was especially well made and made some interesting points
                                                                      It's good from that perspective alright, think it gets the look and feel of the time very well. Just knowing the hot birds aren't going to get the kit off is offputting

Maggie Smith is the queen of the 'just sucked a lemon' look of horror and social disgust!

I'm enjoying S2 but it isn't as good as S1, not yet anyhow.

Don't find the time to follow enough TV unfortunately, but I finished the latest seasons of Entourage and Curb recently, am watching It's Always Sunny (best comedy out there, no question) and saving the latest season of the US Office for future viewing. Also getting through Party Down S2 and will have to start into Community S2 soon as well, there just isn't enough hours in the week unfortunately, with work, socialising, gaming and pokering all fighting for my attentions! So many great TV series haven't even been started yet...still have Breaking Bad S1 to think about at some point.

Every days you find new ways to disappoint me.

DeadParrot summed it up perfect, would of given up on it had it still been airing.

Just seen a lot of stuff over the years, go on tv show binges. I also wouldn't be as busy as some of the folk around here but there is guys here who have the family/jobs/kids and other stuff who I am sure would catch as much stuff as me.

I wouldn't do a lot of reading (very little actually) as I prefer to catch a movie or watch a tv show instead, also a few other factors coupled in means I have a lot more time to myself, friends have kids other one travels with work a lot, then the others all seem to be in pretty serious relationships so we ain't hanging as much as we use to.

Take the The Shield for example watched Season 1 in one sitting next day popped into town on lunch break from college and bought Season 2/3 and blitzed through it.
                                                                          Last edited by tylerdurden94; 11-10-11, 14:13.

I'm amazed at the amount of quality films that TD hasn't seen cos he's watching shit tv shows

that's just like, your opinion, man.

Yeah it is what it is, for me I have to be in the right mood to watch certain types of films, I hold my hands up with regards movies sometimes I just think "I have gone this long without watching it sure what's another couple of years gonna do"

I have cut out watching a lot of movies that I probably know are going to be shit but I still have the compulsion to watch them, proud of that

I should probably keep a list of movies I should watch because half the time a movie I think about watching pops out of my head and don't remember to watch until somebody like yourself mentions it to me.

The spreadsheets from the Drafts are great - all the work is done for you!

There are so many good Tv shows being made atm that i tend not to keep going with them if they dont get me by 3 or 4 episodes, no point flogging a dead horse imo.

Absolutely Epic Friday night Lights trailer. It only spoils the 1st episode so if you are thinking of watching it, this should tip you over the edge. Anyone who has watched it, this should bring back some good memories.

FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS is the defining network drama of the last 10 years. A fiercely inventive, meaningful show about people with big hearts living in small to...

There are so many good Tv shows being made atm that i tend not to keep going with them if they dont get me by 3 or 4 episodes, no point flogging a dead horse imo.
                                                                                        I am stuck in the 3rd Season of Dexter, pretty crap season. Also watched 1st season of deadwood and know should go and watch the rest but not arsed.

Absolutely Epic Friday night Lights trailer. It only spoils the 1st episode so if you are thinking of watching it, this should tip you over the edge. Anyone who has watched it, this should bring back some good memories.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG37AylK1_s
                                                                                          EPIC is right. Smash Williams baby

trying to send an email with a .pdf file adobe as attachment but keep getting message that its a fail as message to big?

I am stuck in the 3rd Season of Dexter, pretty crap season. Also watched 1st season of deadwood and know should go and watch the rest but not arsed.
                                                                                              New season is pretty good only 2 esp out as of today u could skip the other season not much happens

trying to send an email with a .pdf file adobe as attachment but keep getting message that its a fail as message to big?
                                                                                                how big is the pdf?

any bigger than 3mb then use dropbox or something.

I am stuck in the 3rd Season of Dexter, pretty crap season.
                                                                                                  Is that the season with John Lithgow?

how big is the pdf?

any bigger than 3mb then use dropbox or something.
                                                                                                    i reduced size and did a prt screen and copied onto paint and saved it there

seems to be OK now thanks

btw whats a dropbox?

i reduced size and did a prt screen and copied onto paint and saved it there

seems to be OK now thanks

btw whats a dropbox?
                                                                                                      Dropbox helps you simplify your workflow. So you can spend more time in your flow.

What's that paid side some NFL heads stream here?
                                                                                                        Bloke in work wants it for Rugby (told him he can do it for free)

What's that paid side some NFL heads stream here?
                                                                                                          Bloke in work wants it for Rugby (told him he can do it for free)
                                                                                                          take a tenner off him a month and just send him links to firstrowsports every weekend.

A solicitor falling for a Nigerian oil scam. Just when you thought the reputation of the legal profession couldn't fall any lower.

http://www.google.com/gwt/x?wsc=eb&w...M5TJ1QbK37DnDg

A solicitor falling for a Nigerian oil scam. Just when you thought the reputation of the legal profession couldn't fall any lower.

http://www.google.com/gwt/x?wsc=eb&w...M5TJ1QbK37DnDg
                                                                                                                Meh TL DR In short Nigerians ain't so bad
                                                                                                                LOL, For last weeks Rugby match me and the bro arranged to stay in the mothers gaff in Drimnagh, I was meeting some other friends for a night on the beer watching the ANdoran game and maybe finding somewhere to last until the Rugby in the morning. .So we decided to stroll to the bustop on Crumlin road. We both had lowest denomination of 50 Euros on us. (Apart from 3 Euros the bother had) , we stepped on the bus. What year do you think it is lads, that will only get one of you into town. (lol been a while since either of us bussed it) Sorry lads off the bus, So off the bus and into a cab driven by a Nigerian. I knew he was Nigeran becuase he had the flag in the window and not because he was a cab driver.
                                                                                                                Anyway we told him (for the lols) we only had 3 Euro on us and we were thrown off the bus. He said, you got no money at all? Nope I said stoney broke. How far will 3 Euro take us Sorry my firends you will get nowhere on 3 Euro, I'm studying for my degree my friends. I'm sorry, I can leave you off at Dolphins barn, you get a bus from there We just said we were joking and got the cab in as normal. We'd good criac with him on the way in actually. Fair play to him he would have dropped us to Dolphins barn and the fucker on the 50 bus wouldn't even let us on. If we were Cavan men we could have got his free cab to the barn and got on the 50 bus we were thrown off and paid from there into town. Would have been worth it to see the drivers face . (dacunt) .

Jaysus this place is dead when señor Raoul is living it up Lahndon. Kinda sorry I'm not staying over this evening as some debauchery in the Empire would have been a great laugh.

Season 4 of dexter is brilliant so I would definetly keep going with it. Season 5 is shit though. New season does look promising.

I have 3 episodes of Breaking Bad watching and Im not hooked yet.

you know what these filthy rich financiers are like.

Lol.

I know a few decent Nigerians myself.

If you read the story you'll see it was an irish guy pulling the scam but using Nigeria as the "angle".
                                                                                                                          Meh TL DR In short Nigerians ain't so bad
                                                                                                                          LOL, For last weeks Rugby match me and the bro arranged to stay in the mothers gaff in Drimnagh, I was meeting some other friends for a night on the beer watching the ANdoran game and maybe finding somewhere to last until the Rugby in the morning. .So we decided to stroll to the bustop on Crumlin road. We both had lowest denomination of 50 Euros on us. (Apart from 3 Euros the bother had) , we stepped on the bus. What year do you think it is lads, that will only get one of you into town. (lol been a while since either of us bussed it) Sorry lads off the bus, So off the bus and into a cab driven by a Nigerian. I knew he was Nigeran becuase he had the flag in the window and not because he was a cab driver.
                                                                                                                          Anyway we told him (for the lols) we only had 3 Euro on us and we were thrown off the bus. He said, you got no money at all? Nope I said stoney broke. How far will 3 Euro take us Sorry my firends you will get nowhere on 3 Euro, I'm studying for my degree my friends. I'm sorry, I can leave you off at Dolphins barn, you get a bus from there We just said we were joking and got the cab in as normal. We'd good criac with him on the way in actually. Fair play to him he would have dropped us to Dolphins barn and the fucker on the 50 bus wouldn't even let us on. If we were Cavan men we could have got his free cab to the barn and got on the 50 bus we were thrown off and paid from there into town. Would have been worth it to see the drivers face . (dacunt) .