Did Strewelpeter get onto your account?
    I disagree completely. If anything it's heavily influenced by 80's crime thriller movies and old exploitation flicks, but presented at a much slower, almost Taxi Driver-esque pace. It's really not a modern style movie at all, and certainly about as far from a Statham film as you could get. Admittedly it's mainly about it's slick presentation, superb pacing and incredible atmosphere rather than being about a particularly strong narrative, but there's nothing wrong with that and many classic movies would have similar criticisms.
    I liked it and I dont know who Jason Statham is.

edit, ah I have him
    I didn't hate the film but the lavish praise is ridiculous. The characters are wafer thin with no depth. Some films pull off the amount of the amount of music used but they are the exception with generally real reasons for the overuse of a score. When music is used to the extent in which it is in this film I feel its a let down from the director and or actors to create the style or atmosphere they wanted so instead they use music to create this artificially. Its wonderfully stylish at times but completely hallow and devoid of any weight as a film and certainly doesn't lend itself to being described as 'beautiful".

Originally posted by Opr
      I didn't hate the film but the lavish praise is ridiculous. The characters are wafer thin with no depth. Some films pull of the amount off the amount of music used but they are the exception with generally real reasons for the overuse of a score. When music is used to the extent in which it is in this film I feel its a let down from the director and or actors to create the style or atmosphere they wanted so instead they use music to create this artificially. Its wonderfully stylish at times but completely hallow and devoid of any weight as a films that lends itself to being described as 'beautiful".

I thought it was pretty good but 100% agree on the music. Straight away after I watched I turned to who I went to see it with and we were both like 'yeah it was good.... but music was odd for the film'. Gonna watch the screener during the week for a recap

I didn't hate the film but the lavish praise is ridiculous. The characters are wafer thin with no depth. Some films pull off the amount of the amount of music used but they are the exception with generally real reasons for the overuse of a score. When music is used to the extent in which it is in this film I feel its a let down from the director and or actors to create the style or atmosphere they wanted so instead they use music to create this artificially. Its wonderfully stylish at times but completely hallow and devoid of any weight as a film and certainly doesn't lend itself to being described as 'beautiful".

I posted along similar lines last week. Style very much over substance.

I thought the music in Drive added a little something extra to it, found one or two pieces of music that might of been out of place but no they just worked perfectly. Found myself nodding along with some of the beats at times.

Ryan Gosling can act he conveyed such a good screen presence, I liked the throwback to the 80's feel for me it was just an incredibly well put together piece of work.

jesus christ I hate this muppet on Ch4 football, surely the tv station can see how appalling he is. @ BK it seems you need 14 points from the Jets D to win fantasy match this week. I hope Ravens smash em here

as most know I don't get on very well with Neill Kelly. was going to put something in my blog but could just seem like sour grapes, and I'm not 100% I'm being objective ? so going for a BBV rant instead,

FFS someone take that fucking microphone from him in future, it difficult to play poker for 12 hours and the last thing a player wants is constant drivel over a booming PA system. It's not a fucking TD's job to tell us every thing from goal scorers to race results, it's 2011, we have phones that do all that. Also running commentary on chip counts through out the day was something TD's did in the country back in 2005 when no one knew how to TD.

anyone else in Killarney feel the same or is it just me ?
              Don't get me started, some of the floor rulings/decisions this weekend were scandalous. I wasn't intending to write anything about them, but if I get a chance tomorrow I will.

ah go on -

I thought it very strange that there was no 1200-2400 level in the main event, its advertised http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...00&postcount=3 and I'd imagine it was taken out on a whim without Connie's knowledge in an effort to manipulate speeds of exits. Same thing in €300 game - jump form 100-200 to 150-300-25 and 500-1000 level was skipped but 1200-2400 was in.
                Last edited by nicnicnic; 03-10-11, 01:47.

on a positive note The Smoke House in Killarney does the nicest breakfast in the country

I
                    ah go on -

I thought it very strange that there was no 1200-2400 level in the main event, its advertised http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...00&postcount=3 and I'd imagine it was taken out on a whim without Connie's knowledge in an effort to manipulate speeds of exits. Same thing in €300 game 500-1000 level was skipped but 1200-2400 was in.
                    I'll go into more detail tomorrow, but for now:

Raise to 2.6k, guy puts out 1x 5k chip and 1x 100 chip without saying anything and its ruled a call.

Button announces he saw one of SB's cards (I had opened) , floor comes over, is confused as to what to do, then decided to look at the SB's hand, sees it's muck and declares "ah here, play away"

On hand for hand, despite saying over the loudspeaker to keep all hands face down in the event of an all in and call, the td was commentating on a hand whilst I was playing a hand on the next table!

This following one I didn't witness first hand, but a guy raises, thought BB had folded so
                    he mucked but BB still had cards. He tells the TD his hand and it is retrieved from the muck.

Oh, and one break I left with 162k and came back to 157k, following break my stack increased by 5k??!

Can't sleep.
                      Reach for phone.
                      Quietly visit BBV.
                      Open YouTube link by mistake.
                      Nearly wake herself with random sport clip.
                      Have mini heart attack.

I

I'll go into more detail tomorrow, but for now:

Raise to 2.6k, guy puts out 1x 5k chip and 1x 100 chip without saying anything and its ruled a call.

Button announces he saw one of SB's cards (I had opened) , floor comes over, is confused as to what to do, then decided to look at the SB's hand, sees it's muck and declares "ah here, play away"

On hand for hand, despite saying over the loudspeaker to keep all hands face down in the event of an all in and call, the td was commentating on a hand whilst I was playing a hand on the next table!

This following one I didn't witness first hand, but a guy raises, thought BB had folded so
                        he mucked but BB still had cards. He tells the TD his hand and it is retrieved from the muck.

Oh, and one break I left with 162k and came back to 157k, following break my stack increased by 5k??!
                        sounds like winging it random decision making, the hand from the muck and SB are ridiculously bad. Don't know what to say/think about the 5k sounds odd.

At muck on showdown there was obviously different directions giving to the dealers, came up about six times on my tables and it was about 50-50 with dealers insisting winning hand had to be shown to claim pot or not.

Pffft, i'm not a ninja, i'm a samurai. Ninjas jump out of bushes and growl at teenagers like sex pests. Samurai just walk into the middle of trouble like badasses.
                          Seen this?

Can't sleep.
                            Reach for phone.
                            Quietly visit BBV.
                            Open YouTube link by mistake.
                            Nearly wake herself with random sport clip.
                            Have mini heart attack.
                            At least it wasn't a porntube clip

Just saw On twitter collette Murphy 6th in ept London ladies for 1,390£
                              Wp smurf

At least it wasn't a porntube clip
                                That would add an element of danger to my porn enjoyment that I can live without.

Nice sig

Fuck you Joe Flacco you blind muppet. If Bubbleking wins this match up cos of that I'll be pretty sick

4bet shove ak into aa last 81 of the mil nice one!! crippled

Drive was entertaing, that's about it. Certainly not a classic or anything earth shattering. Left the cinema very disappointed from what I had heard about it.

I thought the love story/romantic ruined it. Gosling character was tilting as hell too.

after effin absolut crap vodka at Killarney to sweet home measures of smirnoff and end up with an empty bottle and no reserves

bad alcohol mangement = bad life beat and no choice now but to fold lappie and bed

aint gonna be tempted by the sherry or quarter bottle of gin

rebuild stock tmw and continue the liver grind

good night ...................................hic

after effin absolut crap vodka at Killarney to sweet home measures of smirnoff and end up with an empty bottle and no reserves

bad alcohol mangement = bad life beat and no choice now but to fold lappie and bed

aint gonna be tempted by the sherry or quarter bottle of gin

rebuild stock tmw and continue the liver grind

good night ...................................hic
                                          I applaud and admire your reserve Sir.

May I have you views on this tibble?
                                          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%BBubr%C3%B3wka

Fuck you Joe Flacco you blind muppet. If Bubbleking wins this match up cos of that I'll be pretty sick
                                            And I did

21 points off def even though the jets got destroyed - I think I'll thank flacco for my 4-0 start to the fantasy season

@ Nic

I think you and kelly should do some sort of online show, Where you too try to organise a 1k + game in Ireland in 12 weeks and the two of you have to live together

Would be fricking awsome!!

PS The Hurricane could be your butler!!

This would be a show i would pay money to see
                                              Last edited by pgodkin; 03-10-11, 08:04.

Saw a couple of posts about it last week, but could anyone point me in the direction to some links to show how to use "OneNote"

Tevez meeting with the higher ups today at the financial fair play loophole stadium.

Hope they stick him in the reserves to rot

Also, Fu pgodkin

Sexton starts v Wales if you want to play a game that can beat them well.

ROG starts if you're afraid of us not being able to score tries.

DK is no GOAT, but perhaps a hustler, as I alluded to after the Aus game. He is turning me, hopefully in 4 weeks I'll be eating hats and humbles.

Any news on Best yet?

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                                                      Any news on Best yet?
                                                      still under review by the medical team, no decisions yet

according to the news this morning anyway

never thought we'd be sweating over his fitness eh? Cronin's throwing just doesn't convince, plus he strikes me as being a little undersized.

To beat Wales we need every player at their best. We really need his throws to setup the mauls which will grind the Welsh in the first half and release the backs in the second.

your up ealry for someone who is not working!!

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                                                            To beat Wales we need every player at their best. We really need his throws to setup the mauls which will grind the Welsh in the first half and release the backs in the second.
                                                            I have gone from absolute pessimism to extreme optimism. I think we have more momentum than any team in the competition, proven matchwinners in nearly every spot and I'll be backing Ireland to beat the HC again this Saturday.
                                                            My simple rule of thumb is to ask how many of the opposition would get a run in our starting XV; Philips, Roberts, Williams imo.

your up ealry for someone who is not working!!
                                                              I am working!

the office is closed but I'm now working for our London branch, half my time there and half here

Big 3-0 birthday for Happy Dude today apparently.

Happy birthday old man Riggz.

Just noticed this, tyvm.

I am working!

the office is closed but I'm now working for our London branch, half my time there and half here
                                                                  sick a lot of Vic time for you so!!

What's the story with injuries on the Welsh front, have they got any walking wounded going into Saturday??

I have gone from absolute pessimism to extreme optimism. I think we have more momentum than any team in the competition, proven matchwinners in nearly every spot and I'll be backing Ireland to beat the HC again this Saturday.
                                                                      My simple rule of thumb is to ask how many of the opposition would get a run in our starting XV; Philips, Roberts, Williams imo.
                                                                      Stupid rule, but if it works it works. I think their props might be in with a shout

I must be rubbing off on you!! It's more fun this way if nothing else.

We are marginally better then the Welsh but they won't fear us and they are playing to their potential. A lucky bounce or a reffing decision could mean a lot. A Nervous sweat for 80 minutes will be some start to the weekend, but at least if we do the business then I can enjoy the other three games. If not I'll likely turn the world cup off until the final as I'd be too sick to watch.

I actually started feeling nervous from about lunchtime yesterday for the first time in this World Cup campaign......

Just driving into waterford there and in the space of two roundabouts ( 500m) there was approx 25 gay mitchell posters on the left hand side of the road. That is just ridiculous what is the point of it really?

Apparentely his poster down the country is different to the one in Dublin. We don't have a tractor in the poster up here.

Ye have the one with the begging junkies.

Yep he'd do anything for a few votes, well I say anything, he stopped short of having a blaa in his hand for the Waterford posters citing and I quote "I wouldn't mind doing this in Killkenny or Wexford, the original home of the blaa, besides it's only a fecking bap", quote unqoute, his words not mine.

Is New Zealand -26 v The Argies a pretty good bet. Seems like NZ could do 40+ against them.

Was also looking at Ireland and England to win the WC without NZ @ 10/3 and 5/2 respectively?
                                                                                          perhaps the 1/2 time hcp of nz -13 might be a better way forward,cant see any kiwi team letting them get a foothold in the game

Yep he'd do anything for a few votes, well I say anything, he stopped short of having a blaa in his hand for the Waterford posters citing and I quote "I wouldn'nt mind doing this in Killkenny or Wexford, the original home of the blaa, besides it's oly a fecking bap", quote unqoute, his words not mine.

Outrageous and false.

Commute must be a bit annoying, or are you fine with it?
                                                                                                I'll generally be there for 3 or 4 days at a time (i.e. every second week) so not too bad and it's max. 12 months, probably 6.
                                                                                                The rest of the time, I'm working from home.

Commute isn't too bad; get up at 5, taxi at 5.30, flight leaves at 6.40, be into office for 9 (if flights\trains run to time). It's mainly sitting on your ass which gives me a chance to catch up on some reading. Mrs Duke is on maternity leave which helps.

Finding we're going to be struggling to save from the paycheck, possibly because of spending a fortune on rent.

The unexpected 13.5% required pension contribution not really helping either. ffs. Is that really a 'gold-plated' pension? UK was 6.5% contribution for same pension.

Would spending €1,400 a month on food, living, and bills be considered excessive for two adults and baby? Bills including health insurance are about €400, so that's maybe €1,000 on 'other'. Never really sat down and budgeted before so no idea, but seems a bit more serious now.
                                                                                                  Welcome to Ireland sir and thank you for making your 'contribution'

(those numbers seem fine btw but I haven't a clue really)

Raoul, yesterday was significant for our JPMurtagh bet. Smullen went to France to ride Yellow Rosebud and missed two winners at Tipperary. Murtagh is getting great mounts but needs to convert them. I am still as confident as ever.
                                                                                                    it is your default setting

I note the PP page now references 6 Nov for settlement btw. Did you get clarity on the bet at the time?

There's actually very few races left until the end of season and a decent % of them are on the AW anyway so I'm happy with my 10/11 also. Navan Weds. I did chortle to myself when I checked the results last night.

If Michael Twee wins the presidency it will be in no small part down to the way they have used his hands on the poster.
                                                                                                      Don't know what it is about them but its very effective.

Take a bow

Finding we're going to be struggling to save from the paycheck, possibly because of spending a fortune on rent.

The unexpected 13.5% required pension contribution not really helping either. ffs. Is that really a 'gold-plated' pension? UK was 6.5% contribution for same pension.

Would spending €1,400 a month on food, living, and bills be considered excessive for two adults and baby? Bills including health insurance are about €400, so that's maybe €1,000 on 'other'. Never really sat down and budgeted before so no idea, but seems a bit more serious now.
                                                                                                          lol. You crack me up sometimes Michael you really do.

I was wondering how much you were getting paid to lecture given that you were going very big on the rental side of the equation. Did you really not confirm the net pay position before you started commiting to big expenses?? I'd love to live your life for a week or two as it must be liberating in a lot of ways....

How can you talk about your expectations for the housing market in Ireland without understanding how little the middle income earners in this country actually have to spend.

As for a gold plated pension more like a nod and a wink from a degen gambler to maybe give you something in 35 years time. I wouldn't be relying on it at all.

By the way have you factored in another 10 to 20% pay cut coming your way around the end of next year??

Don't quite understand this but it seems that a UK court has ruled that Bayesian probability will no longer be admitted into evidence unless the underlying statistics are "Firm"
                                                                                                            WTF does firm mean?

Bayes' theorem is a mathematical equation used in court cases to analyse statistical evidence. But a judge has ruled it can no longer be used. Will it result in more miscarriages of justice?

Anyone care to remind me of the possible permutations of the Euro qualifiers?

For good reason, I never sought clarity.
                                                                                                                I'm on with a buddy of Pat's so I hope we don't end up in some weird situation where they are at odds with each other as to which of them thinks they have won it.

Anyone care to remind me of the possible permutations of the Euro qualifiers?
                                                                                                                  2 wins guarantees a playoff.
                                                                                                                  2 wins combined with Slovakia beating Russia guarantees winning the group.

QQ American football fans...was watching an immense college ball game there and the score was 24 13, the losing team grab a touchdown with around 4 minutes left and don't go for the two point conversion. Why? Seems a no brainer, the difference between 19 and 20 is almost irrelevant at that stage, but 20 and 21 and them bring a field goal away from equalising is huge...what's the thinking here? They obv win with a td with eleven seconds left anyway so I guess it all worked out...

Bought tickets for my first Aviva game next Tuesday, would be rather nice if Slovakia do us a favour and the Armenia game becomes a 'win to qualify automatically' occasion played in front of a packed 48,000 expectant crowd.

Suspect it's more likely to be an 'avoid defeat to sneak into the playoffs' situation though, played in the as usual half empty stadium.

Bought tickets for my first Aviva game next Tuesday, would be rather nice if Slovakia do us a favour and the Armenia game becomes a 'win to qualify automatically' occasion played in front of a packed 48,000 expectant crowd.

Suspect it's more likely to be an 'avoid defeat to sneak into the playoffs' situation though, played in the as usual half empty stadium.
                                                                                                                          How much are those tickets?