That culchie lad who does basketball commentary is horrific.
    lol he really is

lets discuss Michelle Smith.
      I'd say she was a goer.

Freaks Phelps, Lochte, Ye Shiwen(?) and Bolt ain't got nothing on the superfreak Frankel rocking up at Goodwood later!

Originally posted by 40something View Post
          Two things:

1. She was clean at those games
          2. Sure didn't she only pull back for a bronze in her last race?
          She didnt test positive for any illegal substances during the games. What she was taking wasnt made illegal until '97. Winning in sports and testing clean is more about effective cycling of peds than anything else.

Sailing points system is strange, it seems to give the least reward possible for winning races.

Win 8 of your scoring 10 races and finish 40th in the other two and you end up way behind someone who finishes 6th in every race.

That culchie lad who does basketball commentary is horrific.
              Is it Timmy McCarthy? Was coached by him back in the day and he banned dunking because it was disrespectful...lol.

Just reading a bit about Michelle Smith after seeing her on Reeling in the Years last night. Seems her samples from the Olympics are still clean from whatever she was up to. It was only a couple of years later she gave the dodgy sample.
                Seems like a long shot she wasn't on something at the time, but seriously, wtf? Why on earth wouldn't she just stay clean after winning all those medals? She probably would've gotten away with it if she just stayed clean or retired. Seems pretty stupid.

Is it Timmy McCarthy? Was coached by him back in the day and he banned dunking because it was disrespectful...lol.
                  Heh, didn't catch his name but assume so. He's the lad that does the occasion basketball game on RTE.

Just reading a bit about Michelle Smith after seeing her on Reeling in the Years last night. Seems her samples from the Olympics are still clean from whatever she was up to. It was only a couple of years later she gave the dodgy sample.
                    Seems like a long shot she wasn't on something at the time, but seriously, wtf? Why on earth wouldn't she just stay clean after winning all those medals? She probably would've gotten away with it if she just stayed clean or retired. Seems pretty stupid.
                    I'd imagine the Worlds & Sydney were on her list before retirement. Cant exactly drop off outside top 10 & come back to another 4 medals at next Olympics.

Ahhh, the late nights up having a few beers cheering on a ginger drugged-up mermaid.

I'd imagine the Worlds & Sydney were on her list before retirement. Cant exactly drop off outside top 10 & come back to another 4 medals at next Olympics.

Ahhh, the late nights up having a few beers cheering on a ginger drugged-up mermaid.
                      Feck it, just retire a (slightly suspicious) legend with three golds and be remembered as Ireland's greatest Olympic athlete, rather than continuing on and having your reputation ruined.

Originally posted by 40something View Post
                        Apropos the sailing, at the Youth World Championships a couple of weeks ago in Dun Laoghaire (open to under 19s nominated by their respective countries) an Irish Sailor got a sliver in the Laser class.

Hooray I hear you say.

However, the runaway leader of the class going into the last race was an American. At the start of the last race the New Zealand sailor (who was not in the running for a medal and who happens to have an aversion to cocky American kids) "covered" the American sailor up the first windward leg, keeping the American on his windward side giving the New Zealand sailor the right of way. The NZ sailor sailed the American to Howth and by the time he tacked away to leave the American free the rest of the Fleet finished the race.

Consequently the American scored a second last place pushing him to 4th overall and out of the medals.

Within Murphy's class, it is not beyond the GB, Belgian and Dutch sailors to each take a turn of "covering" Murphy out of a race which would effectively destroy her chance of a medal.

Await the fat lady's tune.
                        Would they not in turn be destroying their own medal chances?

Anyone here ever set up or been involved in a white collar boxing fundraiser? Are there many regulations to setting ones up? Any opinions on other good fundraising events?

Originally posted by thedini View Post
                            not if they took turns doing it and maybe found some friends who are out of contention to help them out.

Today looks like having the slackest winds yet.
                            Looking forward to today's legs the coverage is excellent and there are enough numbers and stats to keep it fascinating

Heh, didn't catch his name but assume so. He's the lad that does the occasion basketball game on RTE.
                              Yeah that's him. Him and Ger Canning make a lolbad commentary team on basketball.

Originally posted by thedini View Post
                                If each of them only did it once they could use that race as their discard.

@40something, has there ever been a call within sailing for a positive scoring format, e.g., a 25-20-15-12-10-8-5-4-3-2-1 thing like in F1.
                                At the moment victories don't seem to get rewarded to the same extent that low placings get punished.

Anyone here ever set up or been involved in a white collar boxing fundraiser? Are there many regulations to setting ones up? Any opinions on other good fundraising events?
                                  PM westlife, think he's involved in these.

Originally posted by pokerman
                                    agreed
                                    Hi pokerman, are you a spam account for ipocket poker?

Apparently they still haven't tested the b samples frm the Atlanta games with the newer tests.

Even before she tested positive for peds later there was literally zero doubt that she was filthy when she won hose medals, had to laugh when she was included in that public poll a few years ago for "greatest Irish woman ever" she's a disgrace.

Brits should picks up their first gold(s) in this morning/afternoons rowing action. Sir Steve thinks the womans pair are certs to win and their 1/5 odds would suggest similar. No pressure!

Interesting that one of the two girls only took up rowing for the first time 4 years ago! She was always involved with sport but that's some feat all the same.

I've set up a couple of them, you need an ambulance on site and a doctor which costs circa €1k, apart from that regulation wise there isn't much else whichever club our getting to do the training camp will provide ring, gear, ref and event insurance. give me a shout if you need that stuff sorted I'll put you in touch with our gym.

not if they took turns doing it and maybe found some friends who are out of contention to help them out.

Today looks like having the slackest winds yet.

Looking forward to today's legs the coverage is excellent and there are enough numbers and stats to keep it fascinating
                                            This from whoever is updating Murphys FB, seems strong enough

Out here on Murphy Mound again. Breeze looks to be a steady 20 knots gusting 25 (Lots of wind). Annalise is starting at 12 O'Clock on the west course. This is one of the most exposed courses and I'm not sure if they'll put tv crews out with the current sea state. Regardless I'll try to keep as upto date as possible here.

The most under rated QB in the NFL. Hard to know where he stands against Brees, Manning, Rogers and Brady but he can still deliver without all their weapons and one of the worst O lines in the NFL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5whZMbe3Ra8

The most under rated QB in the NFL. Hard to know where he stands against Brees, Manning, Rogers and Brady but he can still deliver without all their weapons and one of the worst O lines in the NFL

It's not, he's below them

what are you basing that on? Superbowls won? Clutch performances? Look what the GB backup QB threw for last year when rogers was out showing that if you have a good team around you its not too difficult to put up big numbers. Every year Big ben is in the top 5 most sacked QB's in the NFL

Yes poor pocket presence = lots of sacks = not a top qb.

Brees was a consistently good qb when he was still with the chargers, Colts were rubbish without Manning last season and Brady = patriots for several years when they were unbeatable.

Ben is a tier below

That's cos he's slow.

I look forward to trolling you when the season kicks off. And you forgot to put Tebow in the list of great QB's, it's alright tho I'm sure he forgives you

That's cos he's slow.

I look forward to trolling you when the season kicks off. And you forgot to put Tebow in the list of great QB's, it's alright tho I'm sure he forgives you
                                                        While he is undoubtedly slow I feel it his lack of instinct and vision to sense the sack coming and get rid of the ball that lets him down.

First team GBR gold coming up hopefully

That's cos he's slow.

Tebow will probably play tight end or FB this year

While he is undoubtedly slow I feel it his lack of instinct and vision to sense the sack coming and get rid of the ball that lets him down.
                                                            lol at this. He has to avoid more sacks than any QB in the NFL - really look how shit the O-line is. Hopefully thats shored up a bit this year and even still he has won 2/3 superbowls he's been to. Not bad for a slow QB with no instincts

If you are looking for advice for your fantasy draft dont take him.

Destroying it. WP girls

If you are looking for advice for your fantasy draft dont take him.
                                                                  why would I take a QB that plays in a 50/50 run/pass system when the real points for fantasy football are for pass yards and throwing touchdowns?

Is this god business by RTE or not in terms of viewing figures? I hate TV3's coverage of GAA

RTE have explained why they will not be showing either of the All-Ireland football quarter-finals this Sunday. Cork v Kildare, Croke Park, 2pm & Donegal v Kerry, Croke Park, 4pm

In what is believed to be a first in – certainly in a number of years – the state broadcaster has released a statement in relation to this weekend’s bumper schedule of GAA action, adding that figures in RTE chose the Dublin and Laois fixture as the pick of the weekend’s games.

According to the Irish Examiner, figures within both TV3 and Croke Park were surprised when RTE decided to select the Dub’s clash with neighbours Laois on Saturday evening over the Donegal and Kerry game on the Sunday, which has been labelled by many as the most enticing of the four quarter-finals.

As per their contractual agreement with the GAA, RTE have the first three choices from the six All-Ireland football and hurling quarter-finals, with TV3 given the fifth and sixth picks respectively.

However, having opted to broadcast both of the All-Ireland quarter-finals in Thurles last Sunday, RTE were then entitled to select what they perceived to be the best of the four football games, of which they deemed the Saturday evening fixture to be so.

Naturally, TV3 were surprised yet elated at the decision, with the fellow broadcaster choosing to show both the Donegal v Kerry and Cork v Kildare games, leaving RTE with no option but to choose the final quarter-final pairing between Mayo and Down to complete their agreement.

“As per the broadcasting rights contract with the GAA, a number of quarter-final fixture choices are available to television broadcasters at this stage of the Championships,” the statement from RTE read.

“Following the draw on Saturday night, RTE along with other broadcasters exercised the options available to them under the contract. RTE chose the options which permit us to broadcast Dublin v Laois and Mayo v Down games this coming weekend.”

“These matches will both take place on Saturday and so while there will be no live games on RTE Television this Sunday, The Sunday Game night time programme will continue to be broadcast on RTE Two, featuring highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s GAA action,” it added.

Has an arm no doubt but does not read the defensive line well and as a result gets sacked more.

As people know he is slow and likes to throw he will of course get more pressure but if I know this so should he.

why would I take a QB that plays in a 50/50 run/pass system when the real points for fantasy football are for pass yards and throwing touchdowns?
                                                                        I don't know why would you bring Ben up as a top QB. Your mind is clearly a mystery.

Archery sudden death is sick. One arrow- closest to the centre.

Defending Ukrainain champ gets brought to sudden death by a Chinese kid who hits a solid 9. Champ steps up and fires in a clinical 10 in high wind to advance- CLUTCH
                                                                          BIG HEART

ROFLBURGERS

I don't know why would you bring Ben up as a top QB. Your mind is clearly a mystery.
                                                                              First pre season game in 5 days im excited

Is this god business by RTE or not in terms of viewing figures? I hate TV3's coverage of GAA
                                                                                It was probably really marginal.
                                                                                Preventing TV3 getting the increased viewing audience that a Dublin games brings was probably a higher priority than any belief that it was the best game of the 4.

Farcical btw that RTE, with choices 1,2,3,6 of the six quarter finals, had to decide whether to use the two hurling quarter finals as two of those picks before the lineup of the football quarter finals was even known.

Also interesting that the GAA decide the dates and times of the games, and the TV stations have to work around that. RTE/TV3 really need to employ someone from Sky or Canal+ to show them how to properly negotiate a TV contract.

Am I missing something or have the EPL scrapped Sunday fixtures? http://www.premierleague.com/en-gb/n...ures-day.html/ only has Sunday listings for the last 2 game weeks of the year. I'm very upset by this, having games to get out of bed out for made hangover Sundays a lot more enjoyable.

Annalise Murphy leads race 5 of the laser by 25m

Crisis averted The EPL site was just too lazy to split weekend games up into their respective days. Sunday football lives on:

Am I missing something or have the EPL scrapped Sunday fixtures? http://www.premierleague.com/en-gb/n...ures-day.html/ only has Sunday listings for the last 2 game weeks of the year. I'm very upset by this, having games to get out of bed out for made hangover Sundays a lot more enjoyable.
                                                                                        No that's just a 'game week' schedule. They'll be spread across the weekend as normal.

Nah, Sky get to choose which matches they get on a Sunday. That's just a provisional fixture list.

Annalise Murphy leads race 5 of the laser by 25m
                                                                                            Disregard. misinformation!

correct info, she's been moving up through the field and is now 4th

Get your shit together ffs.

ARG, AUS, MEX, LTU, SWE, IRL - mark 2

Kev according to the app she's in 9th at mark 2. Who is feeding you your info?

Radials - GBR leads around the right-hand mark looking upwind, CHN and USA follow then Evi van Acker BEL, then ARG, SWE, ITA, LTU, IRL...

correct info, she's been moving up through the field and is now 4th
                                                                                                        According to the live site she's been 8th and 9th at the first three markers with the British Chinese and American pre race favourite in the first three spots
                                                                                                        about halfway now

9 MURPHY Annalise
                                                                                                        +0:16
                                                                                                        (8)
                                                                                                        +0:31
                                                                                                        (9)1
                                                                                                        +0:33

heres the race on main site

Find out who took home gold, silver and bronze in 2012. Official results of the sailing Laser Radial - One Person Dinghy women event at the London Summer Olympics.

Can't see too much fairness in the way the sailing scoring is done either tbh. Sailor with the least cumulative time like the tour de France or even something like F1 scoring where's there points given from first to tenth would makes more sense imo. Like the don't think the Irish girls complete dominance is reflected in the current system.

up two places to 7th as the English girl slips to 4th

up to 7th now..

Sixth now according to red button coverage and "rocketing through the field" apparently

The eight badminton players at the centre of allegations of throwing matches in
                                                                                                                    the women's doubles have been disqualified from the Olympics, Press Association
                                                                                                                    Sport understands

Gwan you good thing! Get into the top 5 would be great. You want to save the discard in case there's a disaster in a particular race. Great funking sport this. Funking the finish position for Murphy and for all the other key competitors as well!

Radials - into the bottom mark, and it's still desperately tight in the front group - the three early leaders spent too much time on each other and they allowed another three boats into the game - IRL, BEL and LTU.

6th now, that website is excellent