from one brave man to another

socialising, 1970s style (your man really looks as though he's ready to work his way down the entire line if he has to)

Yep, back of Powerscourt Centre. Some sort of cold meats deli. Looks ancient. Probably just fascinated by their seeming reluctance to actually sell stuff at this stage.
      I've often bought cheese in there, they seem fine

The secret code word is 'Talleggio'

my the 70's was an unattractive era by the looks of that photo's.

Gimmeabreak would doubtless approve:

Is that Kakak walking past ??

Lots of fascinating historical Dublin pics from the City Public Libraries collection here:

you win the internet if you ever met this dude

Strewelpeter or doke are our only possibles but probably weren't allowed up to Dublin in dem days
              That is Strewelpeter

That looks as much a drawing as a photograph.

Eden Quay in the early 1900s:

One from the top of Eyre Square in Galway, no date given:

socialising, 1970s style (your man really looks as though he's ready to work his way down the entire line if he has to)

my the 70's was an unattractive era by the looks of that photo's.

7, 11, 12, 9, 10, 8, 5, 4 (wildcard), 6, 13, 3, 1, 2

This tore my area apart

I do remember Bang Bang as a phenomenon. We used to come into town every Thursday afternoon and I remember people getting excited and pointing him out many of times but I was never on a bus with him and don't remember seeing him doing his thing.

Taken across the road from BCB's home if he was born he was probably in Nappies.

If ye have half hour to spare, this is excellent , very sad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4MnpzG5Sqc

This tore my area apart
                            Father worked in Semperit all his life aswell , straight from college. In fairness the redundancy packages werent bad if you'd be there a while.

That dance hall picture is so great That is exactly what it was like, all the lads would have been huddled up in a corner. Or more likely in a couple of huddles getting ready to start a fight LOL at how ridiculous it was.

Oh and undoubtedly 8 is the only one in that pic that there is any real chance of action with ...maybe 11 if she's drunk.

this young fella has since expanded his business, why only yesterday he dumped a lorryload of wood outside sp's gaff

You haven't changed much in all those years

I do remember Bang Bang as a phenomenon. We used to come into town every Thursday afternoon and I remember people getting excited and pointing him out many of times but I was never on a bus with him and don't remember seeing him doing his thing.
                                    Maybe it was an urban myth that he ever did anything himself. He might have been just a poor paranoid schizophrenic guy struggling with differentiating reality from illusion, and half of Dublin would fire imaginary guns at him where ever he went and fall over dead etc.

back when air transport was glamorous

Maybe it was an urban myth that he ever did anything himself. He might have been just a poor paranoid schizophrenic guy struggling with differentiating reality from illusion, and half of Dublin would fire imaginary guns at him where ever he went and fall over dead etc.
                                        'a character'

that's what we called 'em back in the day

'did ya ever meet JimmyJonJo's brother'

'Oh I did yeah. He's a real........(long pause) character'

Nostalgia Day is it? What's going on

How Not to Sneak into the Match, Lesson 1

its like we woke up and something big happened...

One for myself and Keane (I await Paddy Cullen running backwards in reply):

The Match I would most like to have attended

Everyone is feeling old....big time

Raise

Thought that might have been on early photo of this place off Grafton Street before seeing the name. Anyone ever been here? Looks somewhat fascinating from the outside (despite the poor pic). I've tried to buy stuff there a few times but each time been rebuffed by their seeming reluctance to serve people. Wasn't that the shop was busy, just that they show a healthy distaste for interacting with people who wander in the shop and wait expectantly at the counter. Actually last time was tempted to grab a lump of meat and leg it out of the shop - fckers - but will probably still be back.

LOL, the owner of that shop, Kim, is a good friend of ours and one of the first people we met when we moved to Ireland. She is a lovely lady, a real character, and one of the best cooks i've ever met. Every Xmas she gives us an absolutely delicious whole serano ham which we devour in 2-3 weeks. we don't see her as much as we used to since we moved out of the city centre, but we still regularly go to her shop to pick up cheeses and hams. Her spicy chorizo is second to none in Dublin, and she has a good selection of hams and salamis. Well worth a visit.

One for myself and Keane (I await Paddy Cullen running backwards in reply):

The Match I would most like to have attended

I'd just like to see this again in the next decade

Originally posted by Fullof..It View Post
                                                              Raise

3bet

was reading the Irish Times yesterday and was reminded of this:

they were based down in Ballsbridge for many years. The story goes that the German writer Heinrich Böll was once nearly knocked down by one of their vans and thought the Abwehr had been sent to assassinate him.
                                                                The swastika was hijacked by the nazis and was originally a symbol of good luck.The romans used it decoratively,and Hindus still use the symbol today.

Any Formula 1 bettors here?

Don't be stupid,be a smarty.Come and join the nazi party.

The ORIGINAL performance "Springtime for Hitler" from the movie The Producers by Mel Brooks.

If ye have half hour to spare, this is excellent , very sad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4MnpzG5Sqc
                                                                      Inspiring stuff.

Anyone recommend a decent cheap pair of in-ear headphones?

Hmv have sennheiser ones for 15-20 that are great

Everyone is feeling old....big time

Nearly impossible to eat those without nearly ripping your teeth out.

My favourite bar from that era was one of Mint Crisp in the green and white wrapper, or the maceroon bar in the red and white similar one.

I have a vague rememberance of ha'penny sweets as well.

I cant emphasise just how great of a state it truly is. my favourite place on earth as ghey and dramatic as that sounds. I will be moving back this year if all goes according to plan and honestly cant see myself leaving anytime soon
                                                                              why?

apart from FNL's which sells it to all of us - why is it such a brilliant place?

]
                                                                              Im loving the cool cat in the shade. Looking away as if she doesnt want to dance. Very strategically positioned just after the three eager beavers too. Wp wp

My favourite bar from that era was one of Mint Crisp in the green and white wrapper, or the maceroon bar in the red and white similar one.
                                                                                They're both still available. The macaroon tastes pretty similar to how i remembered it.

Anyone recommend a decent cheap pair of in-ear headphones?
                                                                                  shure are absolutely brilliant!

Old timers day in the bario.

Pulling back the milk crates from outside my Nana's (just down from the Red Parrot pub) and parking up for croke park. Dashing to the local corner shop shields for sweets before seeing louth and laois thump the crap out of each other, or maybe one of the days we were lucky to get to a Kerry semi final (they dont travel well - $hit fans)

Landing back into the family house with a Perki Chick or "One n One" under the arm. Tea on the table, real butter and fresh bread for chip sambos, covered in salt and vinegar and barely enough to go around!

Now your talking;

Pulling back the milk crates from outside my Nana's (just down from the Red Parrot pub) and parking up for croke park. Dashing to the local corner shop shields for sweets before seeing louth and laois thump the crap out of each other, or maybe one of the days we were lucky to get to a Kerry semi final (they dont travel well - $hit fans)

Landing back into the family house with a Perki Chick or "One n One" under the arm. Tea on the table, real butter and fresh bread for chip sambos, covered in salt and vinegar and barely enough to go around!

Now your talking;

Is there any part of this post not meant to needle me?

Sounds a bit like one of Bill Cullen's tales to me.

the bit about the milk crates, perhaps.

P.S. Just had a lovely beef goulash with a side of chips. Top lunch.

Sounds awful, ty for the support!

I'd say you'd massacre a plate of chipper chips or a Zaytoon kebab right now.

I was listening to the news there and they were describing how a lad showed up in court - do they ever give this description when a person is dressed well or is it just reserved for skobes? far more likely to hear - dressed in jeans and a grey hoody than dressed in a 3 piece Armani suit

the people who commit crimes in a 3 piece armani suit end up getting a bail out, the people who don't have a hard time getting bail.

I'd say you'd massacre a plate of chipper chips or a Zaytoon kebab right now.
                                                                                                      I actually think Zaytoon is loloverrated, even when drunk it's not that great.

My first port of call once I've weighed in win or lose will be Tribeca for chicken wings

Haven't had any grains, dairy or booze or products with added sugar (to my knowledge) pretty much since I started. It suits me pretty well as a diet, feeling great.

Next step is obv to start sending you gym / healthy eating links as:

http://bacolicio.us/http://www.westwood.ie/
                                                                                                          That's classic! Eating plenty rashers though

I actually think Zaytoon is loloverrated,
                                                                                                            Look at this terrible opinion.

Just look at it.

people who commit crimes in 3-piece armani suit are usually white collar crime, so unlikely to be a danger to others if released on bail; whereas the average lad who turns up for court dressed in a tracksuit is probably there for drugs + offence against others and is likely to pose an actual threat to others if released on bail.

/ purely basing the above from watching bail decisions on US legal dramas where bail decision is usually related to likelihood to reoffend before case can be heard; but still feel that qualifies me sufficiently in Irish legal decision making
                                                                                                                hush yourself, trying to rationalise my populist statement.

that reminds me, nearly time for Joe.

Would you be more a sausage and batter guy?

But in all seriousness, the above is a very vivid memory of mine

Id say he's be more of a pizza sorta guy

My first port of call once I've weighed in win or lose will be Tribeca for chicken wings

Haven't had any grains, dairy or booze or products with added sugar (to my knowledge) pretty much since I started. It suits me pretty well as a diet, feeling great.
                                                                                                                  Agree re Zaytoons. Never been a garlic sauce fan. Dont enjoy it at all

Winner pays for meal and pints!!! (tribecca a must also - agreed!)

Hitch - i think he should go for the atkins diet, push it over the line quickly

All failing, if im going to lose, you'd better get a very uncomfortable colonic!

why?

apart from FNL's which sells it to all of us - why is it such a brilliant place?
                                                                                                                    I will preface by this saying when there I am an educated white irish guy so my experience is a whole lot better than a mexican immigrant etc

Huge amount of disposable income, if we take the dallas area for example it has 3 cities in the top 10 for employment in the entire USA. Plano being the number 1. State wide they say they could survive on their own without being part of the USA which means lots of great services around.

There is no state tax, house prices are real cheap, 40,000 will get you a small house in the outskirts, my friend got a 5 bedroom place with outdoor salt water pool and jacuzzi in the equivalent of malahide for $220,000.

weather is like san diego's perfect weather 6 months a year, admittedly it is 100+ for 8 weeks in a row during the summer but you get used to that.

easy access to everywhere else, literally in the middle so it is only ever 2 hours away by plane to anywhere else, spirit, southwest and all the other low far airlines fly from there too.

huge variety of pro sports teams in NFL,Hockey, Basketball, Baseball. all real cheap to attend except the cowboys, but university and high school football is just as good as those games.

speaking of universities, austin is one huge college town with the university of texas based there, it is as good to go out in as vegas is imo. beers are much cheaper, can get spirits for $2, beers for $3 in most places.

I tended not to go too south as was hot and had no reason to go past san antonio or houston but little bit further south there are the beaches, mexico etc

women are pretty spectacular in general too, was hanging out at this bar beside a famous hiking/biking trail last week which is now the cool place to go and the dallas girls were making colombian women look average.

people are real friendly, i had 3 christmas dinner invitations when i first moved over despite only being there a week or two and not really knowing or talking to the people.

i could go on but you get the picture

BRAG: I was just about to come on and ask if anyone was going to Jeff Mangum (Neutral Milk Hotel) tonight and then gloat about the great list of upcoming events I have scheduled when I get a message from Aiken Promotions on Twitter to say I've won a pair of tickets to Yann Tiersen tomorrow night - shipship!

BRAG: Also got The Jezebels, Florence and the Machine/Snow Patrol/Temper Trap, Kanye/Jay-Z and Electric Picnic (Sigur Rós - GOAT) lined up.

VARIANCE: Wonder what it's like to be sober at a gig. I bet Mangum's voice will wreck my head.

keane and Semibluff obviously trolling with the Zaytoon comments

Zaytoon vs Iskanders is an interesting matchup.
                                                                                                                          The unrolled kebab with the blunt knives let Zaytoon down a lot imo