Originally posted by badugi View Post
    How long do you have to cash in a betting docket?
    In the shops they'll usually say 6 months bla bla bla, but if you send it off to headquarters you'll get your money. Happened to me a while back.
    Last edited by thedini; 07-04-11, 16:24.

lol, the girl that sold that 500k refused euromillions ticket is considering legal action against Tesco.

She claims the ticket should be hers because she's the one that made the mistake and she 'intended' to buy it but wasn't able to.

Tesco are rightfully claiming the money as theirs, since the ticket is effectively an unsold product.

She says, 'I meant to buy it, I even drew a smiley face on it, if nobody came in to ask for a €9 ticket I was going to buy it'.

Yeah, but you didn't you dozy bint, GTFO, I hope she's fired and loses a fortune on legal fees.
        Its a sad story of gross dereliction of duty on the part of SHD/Rigger to inform us of the correct play in this situation
        Unfortunately (and against my personal preference) drawing a smiley face on something does not give one legal ownership of said item.

The woman in question may have some recourse under the 'Finders keepers, losers weepers' enactment.

She should have signed the ticket.

Great Weather today, almost time for tight tops and no coats.

Aintree mingers...

... i don't fancy yours much

Lollerpool mingers (mostly)

^photo finish, can not choose.
                  Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 07-04-11, 17:01.

The 4 lads downstairs enjoyed their film I guess, and my colleague saved the poor girl from what definitely would've been an absolute nightmare!
                    Or a standard enough porn script.

Huh? Surely PP have a bigger edge in the Deal Or No Deal game for example than they would have had in the Chelsea Utd match last night?
                      I know nothing about Deal or No Deal or Championship manager.

But in general the more obscure the betting market then the greater the customers potential edge.

Like they employ multiple people full time to come up with their Premier League markets, so its close to impossible for there to ever be an actual mistake in a market. Oh yes you'll stick pick winners obviously and say what a great price it was, but it was actually the bang-on correct price.

Whereas for example their Bulgarian Football markets don't have enough turnover to justify a fulltime staff member so theres probably one guy doing this market along with the rest of the Eastern European markets. Potential for an edge is consequently higher.

Bring it to more obscure levels beyond football; first round of tennis tournaments, snooker qualifying matches between 96th 104th in the world, whatever two-bit golf tournaments are taking place in parallel to the Masters, downhill ski-ing, Big Brother XFactor stuff and it gets even better.

The more obscure you can get it then the greater your chances of finding a mistake because the chances are you are up against one market compiler who made the market in about 10 minutes flat. It's even better if you can get a market so obscure that the exchanges aren't even bothering with it, so the bookies don't have a guide.

Basically its a general tru-ism that the more obscure an event the better for a potential edge. You just have to work at it.

old post bump

then they are fools.
                        Security Essentials is a fantastic antivirus program that protects you from all sorts of malware, updates automatically, and is incredibly easy to use.
                        avira,avast,avg all over decent protection, avg just is a huge resource hog which is why i didnt recommend it.
                        Safe browsing habits (not using IE, having an adblocker,not installing 1000's of toolbars, etc)
                        will stop you picking up most threats.
                        Have a few programs that were recommended here over time, Glary Utilities, Super Anti Spyware , etc. I'm running AGV.

Is there any need for these or such programs if you run Security Essentials + Malwarebytes?
                        Do these cover ad blocking or what would you recommend?

I know nothing about Deal or No Deal or Championship manager.

But in general the more obscure the betting market then the greater the customers potential edge.

Like they employ multiple people full time to come up with their Premier League markets, so its close to impossible for there to ever be an actual mistake in a market. Oh yes you'll stick pick winners obviously and say what a great price it was, but it was actually the bang-on correct price.

Whereas say their Bulgarian Football markets don't have enough turnover to justify a fulltime staff member so theres probably one guy doing this market along with the rest of the Eastern European markets. Potential for an edge is consequently higher.

Bring it to more obscure levels beyond football; first round of tennis tournaments, snooker qualifying matches between 96th 104th in the world, whatever two-bit golf tournaments are taking place in parallel to the Masters, downhill ski-ing, Big Brother XFactor stuff and it gets even better.

The more obscure you can get it then the greater your chances of finding a mistake because the chances are you are up against one market compiler who made the market in about 10 minutes flat. It's even better if you can get a market so obscure that the exchanges aren't even bothering with it, so the bookies don't have a guide.

Basically its a general tru-ism that the more obscure an event the better for a potential edge.
                        I should tell Paddy Power they need me to correctly run their lotto odds based on how hot the numbers are running.

Well, this has been an eye-opening thread.

Some parents are gas creatures.

That is about the 10th soccer forum thread she has started about her kid. Getting a bit weird at this stage.

good place to watch the racing tomorrow...??? close proximity to bookies, good guinness, decent food, doesnt have to be michelin obv

That is about the 10th soccer forum thread she has started about her kid. Getting a bit weird at this stage.
                                  She's obviously never seen this

Will be a big help I feel

Solks has posted in the golf thread. Don't think he's back though

Originally posted by healwayscallsmedonkey View Post
                                        good place to watch the racing tomorrow...??? close proximity to bookies, good guinness, decent food, doesnt have to be michelin obv
                                        Slattery's on Capel street is a nice spot. Good grub and within a stones throw of a Ladbrokes, Boyles and celtics.

Have read all her other threads, she seems a bit slow.

Anyone got any experience with ZMA as a supplement? Any use? Any noticeable benefits or just expensive pee's?

Slattery's on Capel street is a nice spot. Good grub and within a stones throw of a Ladbrokes, Boyles and celtics.
                                                thanks will prob head there tomorro

She's obviously never seen this

Will be a big help I feel
                                                  It's no sandlot kids.

D2: The Mighty Ducks is the best sports movie ever made. And I don't mean kids sports movie or heart warming Disney underdog sports movie, I mean sports movie.

Originally posted by Zosma View Post
                                                      It's no sandlot kids.
                                                      true, but for what it lacks in gadgetry (man the Sandlot kids were clever), it makes up for with its social commentary. The Whizzkid illegal Mexican Kid getting rewarded for his skills.

Couldn't make that stuff up!

Have read all her other threads, she seems a bit slow.
                                                        Someone needs to direct her to STFU, Parents

This census shit is a drag, tempted to add in my own questions.

slightly rapeable*

*[the girl from the garda tape]

FWIW this was not the woman which the Garda comments were directed towards. She was not holding the camera in the tape, she's the voice in the background at the start.

Oh, Sepp, you wonderful man.

slightly rapeable*

waits for someone to say... "I'd r**e her but i wouldnt admit it!!"

Yo Zod whats games on tonight in the Voodoo???? gettin itchin betting figure's here!

Danny durden style multi quotefest....

how can a woman pin a man down and stick a floppy mickey in her
                                                                    Genuine massive lol at this, nearly sharted.
                                                                    was coming back up to Dublin after being at training so I started listening to the Adrian Kennedy show....
                                                                    I once worked with a guy who was paid by FM104 (along with a few of his mates) to regularly take calls under different pseudonyms and take some controversial line to stir things up. Sometimes there were two or three of them on at once pretending to be arguing with one another. I'm guessing most of that shite is staged.

Originally posted by stoneystonerson View Post
                                                                    best way to cook ham

just boil the ham take it out 30mins before it is due to be ready, score the fat into diamonds make a nice glaze (honey,mustard powder and whiskey is yumyum) spread it all over the ham, put it into oven for the last 30mins of cooking basting it every 10 mins or so.
                                                                    Dude, such tippage now has a home, post this there too man. Same with the other few ham tips that followed.

Thats some great weight loss Moneymaker.
                                                                    Just a note of caution from someone who has got down from 16st to a suitable 12st at least 4 times (you see what I mean).
                                                                    Maybe only buy Armani when you're 12 stone, then you'll have no incentive to pile on the pounds.
                                                                    slightly rapeable*

[/IMG]

Hitch, I think I love you, between this and the Chinese cocaine titties post, platinum stuff. wp.

http://www.thejournal.ie/corrib-prot...17137-May2011/

FWIW this was not the woman which the Garda comments were directed towards. She was not holding the camera in the tape, she's the voice in the background at the start.
                                                                      I really don't get why she would want or expect any right to anonymity when they are out blocking roads and climbing on tractors in a public place trying to prevent people doing their lawful business
                                                                      I'm still completely confused why they would go all that way to protest and then make it really easy for the Guards to move them on by getting arrested for refusing to identify themselves.

I really don't get why she would want or expect any right to anonymity when they are out blocking roads and climbing on tractors in a public place trying to prevent people doing their lawful business
                                                                        I'm still completely confused why they would go all that way to protest and then make it really easy for the Guards to move them on by getting arrested for refusing to identify themselves.
                                                                        Because they're idiotic morons

The woman who spoke at the press conference today is known to Gardai. She did not refuse to offer personal details to the Gardai at the time anyway.

You believe it is okay for the Gards to release names and addresses to the media? For people who were released from custody without charge? Nice.

Part of the point of the press conference today was that - given the media had been offered personal details - it was best for a statement from the one of the two who already has a public profile for various environmental activist stuff in the country and is searchable on the net, etc.

I'm not even surprised that people here don't have a problem with names and addresses being proffered to the media. Another pretty amazing gaffe by the Gards to be honest.

The woman who spoke at the press conference today is known to Gardai. She did not refuse to offer personal details to the Gardai at the time anyway.

You believe it is okay for the Gards to release names and addresses to the media? For people who were released from custody without charge? Nice.

Part of the point of the press conference today was that - given the media had been offered personal details - it was best for a statement from the one of the two who already has a public profile for various environmental activist stuff in the country and is searchable on the net, etc.

I'm not even surprised that people here don't have a problem with names and addresses being proffered to the media. Another pretty amazing gaffe by the Gards to be honest.
                                                                            Didn't read anywhere that said they had evidence of the Guards leaking addresses. Just some random woman's word.

Lloyd is coming from a particular angle, just as others are coming from their own angle.

I have no idea why but Lloyd's take on this is really tilting to me and I know it shouldn't be really. While quite a lot of it makes sense (I still fundamentally disagree with his overall position) it just seems to be annoying.

I dont get why shell to sea are calling press conferences, it has nothing to do with the campaign, unless of course, they're trying to point score against the gardaí.

Am I the only one who is sick of the shell to sea/garda conversation?

Michelle, what you need us to bring down for the party?

Dark rum or white rum? And did you want Bushmills or Jameson?

Hey, lets talk about this
                                                                                    Last edited by Emmet; 07-04-11, 20:30.

dublin for the weekend, if anyones about for beers fri/sat night gimme a shout. I believe theres an erdinger event in Porterhouse, possible free beers...

What an evening for training, spring is the new summer. Shower, grub and masters coverage.

Just been watching the documentary 'In the Shadow of the Moon' http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0925248/

Really incredible what they were capable of more than 40 years ago. Can any of us imagine how wonderful the computers they were using were?

So fucking excited about this. Denny Crane, I know you're the same!

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekzglkLEJFI&feature=player_embedded[/ame]

Ugh, horrible when you read a part of a story, nod and go "yes, someone finally gets it!", then read on and realise that they've completely gotten it wrong.

Read the bolded bit first, then continue.

This is Corrib Related if you want to skip it btw
                                                                                              It was like watching an episode of 'Life on Mars' in which a present day Manchester cop woke up from a coma to find himself on the job in 1973. Except this was no time-travel TV show with satirical undertones -- this is Ireland in 2011.

In the BBC series, the modern detective was horrified by the casual sexism he encountered among colleagues, not just toward suspects but toward all women, police officers included. Audiences smiled, encouraged to believe the knuckle-draggers were as outdated as their oversized shirt collars.

But the laughter rings hollow after listening to that chest-thumping jungle display, the Mayo rape tape.

Two female activists were arrested during a protest against the controversial Corrib gas pipeline. One of them had been filming the protest, and when gardai seized her video camera they accidentally left it running. The guards' conversation en route to the station was recorded, but no real images can be seen.

That tape is now on the internet, where such things generally wind up. I have listened to it carefully a number of times, and initially I was inclined to shrug -- political correctness can make mountains out of molehills.

The women were not present in the patrol car, the gardai were not intimidating them -- they were letting off steam among one another after a tense episode.

During the brief section under scrutiny, one of them bantered: "Give me your name and address or I'll rape you", a refrain taken up by another guard. Ho ho ho.

It was macho posturing, and I have overheard equally offensive conversations by the water cooler in offices without even the fig leaf of stress to explain them. A breed of gallows humour exists in frontline professions, where members desensitise themselves against demanding situations with edgy jokes that don't stand up to scrutiny. I'm thinking of the medical profession here.

But the more I replayed the exchange en route to Belmullet garda station last week, the more I became conscious of the circumstances. It has to be placed in context. When a guard buttons on that blue uniform, he or she loses the right to make tasteless jokes.

We can't dismiss it as all lads together and no harm done. Granted, it matters that the comments were not made to the women but about them; there was never any question of threat. However, we need to insist on the highest standards for gardai because public trust is placed in them.

Freedom to protest is a human right. We must respect it. Yet the women exercising their right were dehumanised by the gardai -- objectified via their pathetic rape jokes.

It is somewhat reassuring to see the Garda Ombudsman move quickly, on his own judgment, to launch an investigation. A superintendent from outside the county has also been appointed to head an internal inquiry.

But I'm stunned that the three weren't immediately suspended without pay while the matter is examined. The public needs to see this incident taken seriously. These men are guardians of the peace who appear to have fallen down on the job. One of the trio is a sergeant, an officer deemed worthy of promotion -- a decision that surely raises eyebrows today.

At the same time, we have to be careful not to demonise the guards. The job carries an enormous amount of responsibility and most guards behave in a professional and diligent manner. I wonder how the female colleagues of these gardai feel about working with them? And how about their decent colleagues, what's their reaction?

Apart from the rape tape, the trio treated the women in accordance with the law. They didn't seem to use excessive force, there would have been no reason to take this further if not for the spotlit element of their conversation.

But that exchange reveals troglodyte attitudes at odds with their duty as servants of the people -- a fundamental disrespect toward women that dishonours their uniform and casts a shadow on their role as upholders of the law. The three guards have not broken the law. They have damaged the confidence between public and gardai -- arguably a more serious infraction.

Many men never joke about rape, they wouldn't dream of it, so it's unsettling that even three guards from among the Garda Siochana's ranks might think it funny.

More disturbing again is the reminder that rape jokes are still part of popular culture, along with ambivalence toward sexual violence.

Let's not forget what happened in Listowel a year-and-a-half ago, when a 22-year-old woman sat nervously in a courtroom waiting for the judge to sentence Danny Foley, convicted of sexually assaulting her. A line of 50 people formed to offer handshakes and support to Foley. Among them was her attacker's parish priest, who supplied the court with a character reference claiming Foley "always had the height of respect for women". Yet another example of how we don't treat sex crimes seriously.

Nobody who listens to the rape tape can seriously believe the two women were at risk, and we can hear from it how the guards are quite reluctant to arrest Shell To Sea protesters. We must be careful not to overreact or become hysterical. But the best, the very best, you can say about this incident is that it was inappropriate -- to use that all-purpose euphemism of the modern age.

There is no escaping the fact that these women were in a vulnerable situation, and gardai on duty made light of committing an act of violence toward them. Just as there is no escaping the fact that women have to report rape to the guards, and may be less likely to do so now.

Rape isn't about sexual desire -- it's about power and subjugation. Bearing that in mind, what do rape jokes from guards tell us about some mindsets in our police service?

- Martina Devlin

Boom, faith in humanity restored!

Originally posted by k_mac
                                                                                              The bottom line is that these Gardaí have broken no laws and probably no rules either. To punish them for a joke would be a gross miscarraige of justice and contrary to our constitution. Being a Garda doesn't mean you lose your civil liberties. Even the most violent of terrorists keep these. Whatever you think about their words you are in fact looking for someone to be punished for making a bad joke and I think it is sickening that two people can be so vilified for something like this.

I won't be judging them on what they said. Everyone has there own way of dealing with things. One of the Gardaí had basically been accused of being a rapist by the woman in question and he was making light of this. When a Garda has a false accusation made against them it is very hard to take in, I can only imagine what it must be like for someone to insinuate you are a rapist. He chose to deal with it by making a joke of it.

Lets get something straight here. There was no victim in this incident. The insincere and self-serving press release by the protester made me ill. To put herself on the same standing as a real victim in order to further her cause is more revolting than any joke. The comparison by a politician of this to a country under military rule is an insult to people who live in constant fear of murder and rape in this country. No doubt this whole incident will have a negative effect on real victims that will have to be prepared and the Gardaí involved will have to play their part in helping to repair this damage and I'm sure they will not object to that.

Lets get onto the technical things. They were on a break, in a place they had a right to expect privacy and they were illegally recorded. If Gardaí could use evidence like this we would have a completely different country. It works both ways.

If there is anyone here who can honestly say they have never laughed at or told an inappropriate joke I would very much like to hear from you because you clearly never went to a public school in Ireland.
                                                                                              Last edited by Emmet; 07-04-11, 20:52.

You believe it is okay for the Gards to release names and addresses to the media? For people who were released from custody without charge?
                                                                                                Did I say that I did?
                                                                                                I don't know what the rules are about disclosure are in this kind of case but I'll give you odds about the Guards having broken them.
                                                                                                Why would the media need the Guards to release their names when they were clearly out in a public place that is well covered by surveillance and photographers. I'm fairly sure it wouldn't take any savvy journalist 10 minutes to track them down.

Michelle, what you need us to bring down for the party?

Dark rum or white rum? And did you want Bushmills or Jameson?
                                                                                                  Sauvignan blanc x6
                                                                                                  WKDx12
                                                                                                  Jack danielsx2
                                                                                                  absolute vodkax2
                                                                                                  Mixers

Machete x 1
                                                                                                  Flick knife X1
                                                                                                  sawn off shotgun X1

Pair of roller blades with knee protectors and helmet........ size 11

thanks see ya around 3

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Nf68nsx6b4"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Nf68nsx6b4[/ame]

Jesus is there no football/rugby/horse racing/wrestling/curling/beach vollyball/ tiddlywinks/ that could please be discussed here. Gardanotrapeatallgate is really tilting me beyond belief.

the shell to sea people are losing whatever shreds of credibility they have making statements like "the guards are acting like an occupying army" and police brutality.
                                                                                                        The most i've heard of is people getting a few bruises.
                                                                                                        Can we ship them over to Bolivia or venezuela or even Los Angeles and see what the make of the Gardai then?
                                                                                                        So Fkn tilting, especially as there are things about the awarding of the license to shell that should not sit right with people. T

I also may be somewhat tilted as what I suspected to be a blown head gasket turned out to be a cracked piston.

And it was a black bike(thought black ones were supposed to be bullitproof)

Did I say that I did?
                                                                                                            I don't know what the rules are about disclosure are in this kind of case but I'll give you odds about the Guards having broken them.
                                                                                                            Why would the media need the Guards to release their names when they were clearly out in a public place that is well covered by surveillance and photographers. I'm fairly sure it wouldn't take any savvy journalist 10 minutes to track them down.
                                                                                                            The woman who spoke today's name was clearly mentioned on the tape, and has a profile for various activist organisations in the country.

Good luck to a journalist tracking the other woman down though.

Its a bit mad that its the major topic of conversation in a week when the Republicans are out murdering again.

Everyone condones that though. Scum who ever did it and I'm sure everyone agrees about that. Although Rapegate seems to have divded people. And boy do people love it when they can tell their fellow man when they are wrong, even over something so trivial compared to a young man losing his life.

Just because they call themselves republicans doesn't make them republicans.

The woman who spoke today's name was clearly mentioned on the tape, and has a profile for various activist organisations in the country.

Good luck to a journalist tracking the other woman down though.
                                                                                                                    It was me u like my new accent. On serious note how was i the one who alway got in trouble in school??

Ah, the RD3(HH) Hated (Loved) Philip Lane has blessed us with links to 3 documents for the Incoming Finance Minister.

Just about to sink my teeth into them, several parts blacked out obviously, we could play the game from Have I Got News for You with them?

Its a bit mad that its the major topic of conversation in a week when the Grand National meeting and the Masters are on
                                                                                                                        fyp

Everyone condones that though. Scum who ever did it and I'm sure everyone agrees about that. Although Rapegate seems to have divded people. And boy do people love it when they can tell their fellow man when they are wrong, even over something so trivial compared to a young man losing his life.
                                                                                                                          Condones is not the right word here I don't think. (/hope)