Ah, you had the AA the time I had 99 on the low flop and turn?
    Kinda.....but a bit more like A 10, ironically, of diamonds.
    You see Billy it's like this, you either smoke or you get smoked. And you got smoked

Originally posted by Reaps View Post
      Kinda.....but a bit more like A 10, ironically, of diamonds.
      I thought you showed AA in that hand? Maybe I am getting mixed up with another one.

Originally posted by Reaps View Post
        2 diamonds on the flop...blank turn and a nice red shiny diamond on the river
        Use the four colour deck next time, its luckier.

I thought you showed AA in that hand? Maybe I am getting mixed up with another one.
          Maybe I'm getting mixed up too. Was it the one where the flop came 6 high, turn was 6 of spades giving a spade flush draw, I check shoved your bet - you folded?

I could be thinking of the totally wrong hand
          You see Billy it's like this, you either smoke or you get smoked. And you got smoked

Went for a meal in the Left Bank in Dundalk on Saturday.
            Disastrous! Booked for 8:30, arrived at 8:25. Head waitress gave us menus and decided that vwe were then invisible.
            Was left sitting at the bar until 9:20 before
            I finally called the girl who gave us the menus over and asked her if she wouldn't mind taking our order at least.
            I'm a very placid bloke, but this was testing my limits. I counted four other couples who arrived after us, had orders taken and were seated while she was ignoring us.

When we finally got seated (9:40pm) there wasn't one word of apology or mention of the delay. If I had said something then it would have come out wrong and would have caused an atmosphere for the night so I left it.

Food was only ok too. Portions were ridic small and nothing was included. Herself ordered the salmon and that's exactly what she got. No salad, no nothing. Service throughout the meal was chronic, we would have been better off in the Roma.

No way was I staying for desert or coffees (and we both love these).
            I left the smallest tip that I ever have and got the hell out of there.
            Never again! Even if there is a work do planned for there, I just won't bother going.

/rant

tl;dr: Avoid at all costs!

I recently quick my job in the helium factory. I refuse to be spoken to in that tone!

Originally posted by Bless You View Post
                  Dundalk
                  I corrected your posting good sir.

Don't get the wooden spoon one?

Am I just slow?

10) Gareth Richards "Wooden spoons are great. You can either use them to prepare food. Or, if you can't be bothered with that, just write a number on one and walk into a pub…"
                      I know nothing kills a joke quicker than having to explain it...... but I need that one explained

Don't get the wooden spoon one?

Am I just slow?
                          table service numbers I'm guessing

2/10 imo

btw you should have left or at least demanded to be seated immediately after 15 minutes. Service like this is inexcusable at any time, even more so in the depths of the Great Recession. Go onto menupages.ie and take your revenge with a blistering review

Pygmalion yesterday.

Half price drinks every Sunday.

Got home at 5am, woke at 9, late for work, and absolutely smashed still.

Ah well

Ah, it wasn't really funny to begin with, but in UK it would be standard when you order food in a pub that they give you a wooden spoon with a number written on it to bring back to the table and stick in some holder so the person bringing your food knows what table to bring the food to.
                                weirdo's

a Clint Eastwood type joke.

A Meathman walked into a bar

Barman Sez. Get the fuck out of here.

A wooden spoon walked into the bar

Barman sez, Is this some kind of stupid joke?

...When we finally got seated (9:40pm) there wasn't one word of apology or mention of the delay. If I had said something then it would have come out wrong and would have caused an atmosphere for the night so I left it.

Food was only ok too. Portions were ridic small and nothing was included. Herself ordered the salmon and that's exactly what she got. No salad, no nothing. Service throughout the meal was chronic, we would have been better off in the Roma.

I left the smallest tip that I ever have and got the hell out of there.
                                    Never again! Even if there is a work do planned for there, I just won't bother going.

/rant

Unless it was a very deliberately ironic 5c that you made sure the whole restaurant heard about, leaving any tip at all was a huge mistake.
                                    I'd be getting in touch with them today and making sure the owner or manager knows what you think and you should send them a link to the review you are posting on tripadvisor or whatever the site for Irish restaurant reviews is.

guy walks into a bar that is empty, nobody in there except the barman.

He orders a beer and a packet of nuts and sits at the bar drinking away. Suddenly he hears a voice say 'nice tie!'. He's startled and looks around but there's no-one there except the barman who is oblivious.

He goes back to his beer and a couple of minutes later hears a voice saying 'nice jacket!'. He looks all around the bar but there's no-one there except the barman who's busy polishing glasses.

He's pretty freaked out by now but decides he'll finish his beer and get the hell out of there. Just as he swigs the last of his beer, he hears a voice saying 'nice shirt!'. He looks over at the barman but he's busy reloading the fridge.

He calls the barman over and asks him if he's been hearing the voice. The barman looks at him as though he's crazy and asks him what the hell he's talking about.

The guy is a bit embarrassed now but tries his best to explain;

'well, I keep hearing these voices and, um, well, they keep saying nice things about my appearance'

the barman immediately nods understanding. "ah yes, that'd be the peanuts sir"

"the peanuts?"

"yes sir, they're complimentary"

I left the smallest tip that I ever have and got the hell out of there.Never again! Even if there is a work do planned for there, I just won't bother going.

/rant

sounds like something ned flanders would do tbh
                                        "i was so darndiddly dodiddly mad that i left the smallest darndiddly tip ever"

also what's with leaving a tip anyhow
                                        my understanding is that the people working there get paid
                                        if iam really pleased with the service i would just put one of them complimentary mints back into the cheekbook thingy as a little treat for the waiter/waiteress.........
                                        like fuck i would

Recently started watching Spartacus. So far its pretty much Gladiator meets 300 with added Porn and whatnot

good show

Question for officey people.

Whats the correct procedure when you're genuinely too drunk to be in work? Are you supposed to ring in sick? Or just come into work drunk and slog through the day?

I didn't have time to think when I woke up, so I just jumped on the bike and got here, but I'm thinking that I probably shouldn't be here.

Whats the correct procedure when you're genuinely too drunk to be in work? Are you supposed to ring in sick? Or just come into work drunk and slog through the day?

I didn't have time to think when I woke up, so I just jumped on the bike and got here, but I'm thinking that I probably shouldn't be here.
                                              Time is of the essence. Has anyone copped that you're drunk? If not, fake a headache and go home.

If they have, slog it out and try not to make any mistakes.

Alternatively, get a copy of the Star and go for a snooze on your bosses desk.

Don't go into work drunk.
                                                If its too late get out without making close personal contact with anyone, you can't fool anyone, sober the fck up and come back without the smell of alcohol coming off you
                                                Last edited by Strewelpeter; 23-08-10, 11:11.

Well you’re in now so just drink coffee or go for a nap on the toilet. Also loads of people in my place have those caffine tablets for whatever reason so ask around for them.

You've almost made lunch...I'd say head out somewhere and get something greasy. You're fatal mistake was not ringing in this morning.

I would have called in sick, today and tomorrow - obv can't just call in on Monday and arrive in work fine on Tuesday.

blame the guy who cant speak english

have Thursday and Friday off so can't really be calling in sick.

I've made it this far, will sober up at lunch. Maybe have an oul spray of something too.

I never had a problem turning up drunk for work in the cinema, but office jobs are different!

Yeah, realise leaving a tip at all was a bit pathetic, but i thought leaving a quid would make the point better than nothing at all. Kind of saying that was the value I put on the service and lets face it, you wouldn't give a quid to a child these days.

Didn't know where to write a review/complaint or whatever but will get on to that today.
                                                          I actually didn't really mind one couple being seated before us as I thought well maybe they're regulars or whatever but it quickly got stupid.

Agree with Raoul & Strewel that, especially in the current climate, this shite shouldn't be let away with. No excuse for pretentious wank like this anymore.

Anyways, lesson learned. Thanks for advice.

Stick it out now. Character building stuff and all that.

Careful Now 1: Being drunk in premises can lead to disciplinary action under the health and safety regs of many companies.

Careful Now 2: Two-thirds of drunken cyclists get off scot-free

have Thursday and Friday off so can't really be calling in sick.

I've made it this far, will sober up at lunch. Maybe have an oul spray of something too.

I never had a problem turning up drunk for work in the cinema, but office jobs are different!
                                                                Try and have a shower somewhere during lunch if at all possible, more than likely you reak of booze and a spray won't really cover it. Maybe a taxi home and back.

You work at an office full of women iirc?. Be extra careful in that hornets nest because its the ones who know you dont want to bed them will be the ones ready to shop you. High time to start treating everyone the same in there.

Had a shower in the office earlier, had one last night getting home too on account of getting drowned in the rain.

I think I might just get away with this.

Haven't spoken to anyone yet either

Try and have a shower somewhere during lunch if at all possible, more than likely you reak of booze and a spray won't really cover it. Maybe a taxi home and back.
                                                                      A taxi home and back. You dont know Emmett too well do you. Emmett gets kicked out of pubs for not drinking and has always shown himself the model of thrifyness so can you really see Emmett shelling out on a taxi home to get a shower especially when he has his bike. And even if he got home i doubt he would have the emersion on willy nilly to have a hot shower or the time to wait fo it to heat up.
                                                                      Cop yourself on man, a scottish shower and a pack of chewing gum will suffice especially for emmett.

Bit of a sick session last night, really fucking starting to annoy the bollox out of me! Get KK aipf against JJ i flop a set he hits the straight, boom gone!

Played some cash, there is a guy who has been playing the last while and i just cant seem to get the better of him in the game, he just seems to have me just by a bit every little time, boards is A8A42 ive got 44 and finally thinking happy days im gonna finally win a hand against him nope he has just flopped quad Aces do a good chunk of cash in that hand, J10 against his KJ on JxxJx board surprised i didnt go broke on that one, middle two pair against his top two pair just shit like that.

Gotta get out of this funk!

move up levels

I would never go into work drink.... again

After a girlie candle party and too many wines the night before, I went into work. Got the train as I knew I would be over the limit for driving (only sensible thing I did) and tried to work, knowing full well I could hardly string two sentences together.

I got taken into the bosses office and sat down. It was my annual salary assessment.. and I got sent home.

The next day my boss asked to see me first thing and stated I was very very stupid to have come in and I should have called in sick as this would have been far better practice than turning up in the hungover/drunken state I came in on.

I got my review a month later though and all was forgiven lol.

If you've got this far, just suck it up the rest of the way. A day to be quiet and drink coffee.

Very long and boring Gaelforce trip report posted in my tri-training log for anyone with nothing to do.
                                                                                "I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes art. You read a book and the writer touches something in you that you would not have brought out of yourself. He makes you discover something interesting in your life. If you are living like an animal, what is the point? What makes the day interesting is that we try to transform it into something that is close to art." - Arsene Wenger

wtf is 'a girlie candle party'?

my imagination is running riot

1st gone off FT. Complete from the sb with 7,8 with one limper and bb to flop. Flop is J,7,8 i check raise limper who ships i snap. Of course he has 9, 10
                                                                                    Blegh!

That easypeasy linux is some piece of software. Uses up about a third of the space of Windows and is incredibly fast. Plus no-hassle, idiot-proof installation.

Cheers. Microsoft Office installed now using Wine.

Can't see myself ever using Windows again except in work. Been playing around with it all weekend and its just a perfect system, and absolutely zero problems. Crazy to think that you can get a laptop for about 100 euro cheaper if you choose linux instead of windows and you end up getting a far better system.
                                                                                    Yeah of the linux os are pretty decent, good luck with the new system.

move up levels
                                                                                    There was a pretty funky No Limit game in the SE last night but i was running pretty bad didnt want to compound the pain by getting sucked out on major style in that game.

you all eat dogs imo
                                                                                      Dogs are clever bastards
                                                                                      They act all friendly and lovable
                                                                                      to hide how delicious they taste

note to self; never, ever under any circumstances, go to Sligo
                                                                                        Can we have that in writing?
                                                                                        Better give it to one of us dog eaters
                                                                                        as the Gaa playing lot cannot read

In fairness the gap in culture between the places mentioned in both reports and Sligo town is similar to the gap between Kim Jong Il's North Korea and South Korea
                                                                                        Well said; btw your turn to feed the livestock!

wtf is 'a girlie candle party'?

my imagination is running riot
                                                                                          Haha, trust someone to think along those lines

It is basically a group of girls who come over to the hosts house. A party organiser is there and she will show fancy candles, vases with flower displays and various decorative household items.

It is an excuse to get pissed and eat party food and spend the partners well earned money!

Look here http://www.facebook.com/pages/Candle...23662744317179

Haha, trust someone to think along those lines

It is basically a group of girls who come over to the hosts house. A party organiser is there and she will show fancy candles, vases with flower displays and various decorative household items.

It is an excuse to get pissed and eat party food and spend the partners well earned money!

Look here http://www.facebook.com/pages/Candle...23662744317179
                                                                                            Women are weird!!

I honestly can't think of a worse way to spend a few hours. I presume that's the aim though...

Women are weird!!

I honestly can't think of a worse way to spend a few hours. I presume that's the aim though...
                                                                                              I have an awful feeling that Mrs F is making an eejit out of us poor inoocent males

when you consider how hungover she was after the event, I think it's a pretty sure thing that more substantial debauchery than a few glasses of Pinot Grigio and fancy candles were involved.

come on Mrs F, give us the scoop. We won't tell Flushdraw!

The Ann Hathaway version of an Ann Summers party

"I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes art. You read a book and the writer touches something in you that you would not have brought out of yourself. He makes you discover something interesting in your life. If you are living like an animal, what is the point? What makes the day interesting is that we try to transform it into something that is close to art." - Arsene Wenger

I have an awful feeling that Mrs F is making an eejit out of us poor inoocent males

when you consider how hungover she was after the event, I think it's a pretty sure thing that more substantial debauchery than a few glasses of Pinot Grigio and fancy candles were involved.

come on Mrs F, give us the scoop. We won't tell Flushdraw!
                                                                                                    After the Managing Directors wife had left... my next door neighbour and I finished off all the rest of the wine that was there. It was a mild night till then as there were a few girls from the job. I drank about 3 bottles of wine plus cider.

What happened next will never be told

(Mr Flushdraw knows the whole story as he heard about it last week in the same friends house haha)

There was a pretty funky No Limit game in the SE last night.
                                                                                                      with the winter soon being upon us, this is good news

who were the ringleaders?

E-Flow moving to speech recognition service for taking payments is possibly the most tilting experience I've had in months.

They've managed to change a relatively painless 2 min call with an agent to 7+mins of speaking and typing into a phone.

obviously any other perverts like me in the house will be pleased with this

if you have the irish sun turn to page 12
                                                                                                          rossana purcell the irish miss universe candidate is pictured in a 2 piece swim suit
                                                                                                          look carefully at the inside top of her left leg where it meets the fanny and out from under the swimsuit you can clearly see a protruding saddle bag.

just thought i would share this with ye

The correct protocol for being in work after drinking session.
                                                                                                            (or maybe it's just me)

Big Fry up with coke at breakfast whilst laughing/talking in a voice that drowns out the conversation in the whole cafeteria. Somehow you get about 2-3 hours when you are flying through the work/emails/projects. Then you crash and burn and the nausea kicks in. You disappear to the jacks and both ends play musical chairs with the toilet for about 60 minutes. You return to the desk and read through the WTF emails from the people you emailed in your perceived 'flying it' time. It is about now the tiredness kicks in and you fall asleep in your hand only to be woken up by either the pull of gravity asd your hand weakens or what is commonly known as a 'snore start'. This is the fright you get when you hear yourself snoring at your desk. If collegues hears this pretend you are clearing your nose or something and return to the toilet and sleep with your head against the paper dispenser. The auto light will click in after about 10 minutes and
                                                                                                            you will be in total darkness until someone else comes into the toilet. This is where I recommend you place a " Please use Jacks downstairs' crude sign on the toilets door so you are undisturbed. When somewhat refreshed take a small walk around the outside of the building and return to your desk where you work 30 minutes overtime and earn Legendary status
                                                                                                            from your office chums. Spend evening on sofa eating chinese food and watching cricket. Sleep will soon follow

Originally posted by Eight-Ball View Post
                                                                                                              obviously any other perverts like me in the house will be pleased with this

if you have the irish sun turn to page 12
                                                                                                              rossana purcell the irish miss universe candidate is pictured in a 2 piece swim suit
                                                                                                              look carefully at the inside top of her left leg where it meets the fanny and out from under the swimsuit you can clearly see a protruding saddle bag.

just thought i would share this with ye
                                                                                                              What are you doing reading that rag!

Make a wildly inappropriate sexual remark to a female co-worker.This will take everyone's focus off your out of office proclivities and insure you're the toast of Christmas parties for years to come.

Huzzah!

remember that Sony bouncing ball ad?
                                                                                                                  Nissan have made a "tribute"
                                                                                                                  [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcceA03RHOU[/ame]

One Belgian ISP user downloads 2.7Terabytes in a month

Personally I'd see that as a challenge (If only I could get a connection that would come anywhere close to being able to handle it).

I was marking a practical exam about 6 months ago when I was still twisted from the night before. Its very subjective anyway so marks were given on how right the answer sounded. Marks were immediately taken away if someone didn't make a good job of spoofing and I had to check if it was right. Bonus marks were given if the spoofing was convincing albeit clearly wrong

Marks were also given on how good the girl looked tbh. the lads and the class ditch pigs had to work a lot harder

I was fired from being a GAA referee before for being drunk.

Just remembered that.

I was marking a practical exam about 6 months ago when I was still twisted from the night before. Its very subjective anyway so marks were given on how right the answer sounded. Marks were immediately taken away if someone didn't make a good job of spoofing and I had to check if it was right. Bonus marks were given if the spoofing was convincing albeit clearly wrong

Marks were also given on how good the girl looked tbh. the lads and the class ditch pigs had to work a lot harder
                                                                                                                          Did you smell the copy paper for essence of perfume for extra bonus points?. Tell the truth.