Cheers for the invite Zuutroy,I'd love to go.What's the address?

Bring a helmet. That bouncing castle could be hazardous

ha even tho i went against your medical advice and played the match
      Please tell me ye at least won the match?? ya lunatic!!

Hope you are better soon
      Spray Foam Insulation

Cheers for the invite Zuutroy,I'd love to go.What's the address?
        IPB outing on the cards IMO!!

Good luck Tipp. We'll send your widow a ham if the worst happens.

anyone know if you can bring a mobile broadband dongle and laptop to hospital? or its there a "it interferes with the machines" type bollox in place?

I'd be more paranoid about what the doctors and nurses will do to my while I'm asleep.
              dipping a digit is rampant among young surgeons on non-emergency procedures.
              Their are bets made.

OMFG!

Jon Venables (one of the Killers of Jamie Bulger) sentenced to 2 years for possessing Child Pornography! Surely that kind of thing deserves more then 2 years for a convicted child killer! I usually don't go mad about sentences but based on the person involved surely him possessing Child Porn is a breach of any parole or whatever he was on!!

Jon Venables, one of the two killers of the toddler James Bulger, has been sentenced to two years in jail after admitting to downloading and distributing child pornography.

OMFG!

Jon Venables (one of the Killers of Jamie Bulger) sentenced to 2 years for possessing Child Pornography! Surely that kind of thing deserves more then 2 years for a convicted child killer! I usually don't go mad about sentences but based on the person involved surely him possessing Child Porn is a breach of any parole or whatever he was on!!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/ukne...rnography.html
                  The other killer of Jamie Bulger is in prison in ireland.Robert Thompson aka Sean Walsh.

http://www.davidicke.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54336 5th post down

after claiming to be Robert Thompson he retracted and said he wasnt.
                  Last edited by peteypop; 23-07-10, 12:13.

OMFG!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/ukne...rnography.html

LOL I read that like it was a Daily Mail Headline.

I wonder if this crowd will be in trouble

Originally posted by Howard_Finkel View Post
                      Tramore?
                      nah Iv decided to go the wedding Im sick to be missing out but there always next year

Originally posted by Macspower View Post
                        Please tell me ye at least won the match?? ya lunatic!!

Hope you are better soon
                        Ya we did put us through to a QF stuck over 3 points and probably had my best game of the year. I think the fact i had a good excuse if i played shit took the pressure off me

Originally posted by zuroph View Post
                        anyone know if you can bring a mobile broadband dongle and laptop to hospital? or its there a "it interferes with the machines" type bollox in place?
                        Im currently there doing exactly that so i guess the answer is you can. Poor signal means i cant 6 table 50nl tho

Goddamn chuggers all over the Grafton Street area today. Sneaky fucks have developed cunning new tactics to avoid brush-off; mainly pretty young females, no name-tags, no clipboards, no identifying marks at all - thus you can't give the feckers a wide berth.

Chugger (with beaming grin plastered all over her face): Hi I'm Sarah and...

Me (increasing walking pace): No, sorry

Chugger: but you haven't heard what I'm going to say!

Me: I know you want to sell me something I don't want to buy, that's enough

Chugger: I think you're quite rude actually.

Me: not as rude as harrassing the public while they're trying to go about their business. Now get lost.

admit it, has anyone on here ever worked in chugging?

Good luck Tipp. We'll send your widow a ham sandwich if the worst happens.
                            fyp

times are hard, needs must, we are where we are etc etc

I did door to door sales which is pretty much the same thing

Stolen from boards, the new Dublin City Council rent to buy scheme

Originally posted by gurramok
                                As promised, this is the back of the Prospect Hill complex this evening, basically the part where you get the sun if you had windows

To be clear, I'm not 100% sure if this particular block is the one up for sale by DCC.

That said, the front of the block inside(to the right) does look smashing(excuse the pun!), you'd think they would of cleared the back of it before putting any apts in the complex up for sale?

Goddamn chuggers all over the Grafton Street area today. Sneaky fucks have developed cunning new tactics to avoid brush-off; mainly pretty young females, no name-tags, no clipboards, no identifying marks at all - thus you can't give the feckers a wide berth.

Me: not as rude as harrassing the public while they're trying to go about their business. Now get lost.

Only beer.

Originally posted by zuroph View Post
                                    Bro is in Beaumont at the mo and was using his, but reception has gone too bad lately with no connection.

they don't annoy me as much for some reason

I did when I was 14 & 15. I was pretending to be 16 but looked about 18. It was all a raffle bs back then so it was easier, plus it was early days for that sort of thing so people weren't as hardened against it. I was pretty successful at it (i.e. made a decent wage for two summers). It was an education in sales.

Last edited by V for Vendetta; 23-07-10, 13:00.

from my brief excursion into sales I pretty much learned 2 things that you needed to do to be successful

(1) appear sound
                                          (2) be good at talking sh!te

from my brief excursion into sales I pretty much learned 2 things that you needed to do to be successful
                                            50% strike rate imo

[ ] appear sound
                                            [x] be good at talking sh!te

I was at a mall near Boston on Sunday sitting having a coffee, looking out on of those stands that line the centers of the walkways. This particular one sold some miracle skin care products for oul' ones. It was kind of sickening to watch the sales guy; he'd circle the stand waiting for someone of said demographic to approach and then nod hello to them, let them walk by and only then would he say 'Oh sorry, can I ask you a question'. This must be the new less threatening way to hoodwink people into hearing his spiel.
                                              This just went on and on and on for the whole time I was sat there. It must be one of the most depressing jobs in the world tbh. I'd shoot myself rather than get up and do that every day.

5pm

BoI definite pass
                                                AIB, expect a fudge
                                                AIB numbers to include the €7bn to be raised in an issue later this year apparently. lol

they don't annoy me as much for some reason
                                                  I never understood wasting time on someone who wasn't open to the idea or a bleeding heart type. The only reason I'd try it on with someone who wasn't going to buy was so that the soft touch walking along behind them might take pity on me and stop and listen.

I actually used to take pleasure in looking at someone and visibly judging them as not the sort of person who would donate to charity. Sometimes the reverso worked and they'd ask me what I was selling and other times it just felt good.

I was never an excellent sales guy but I worked with a few people who were phenomenal talents and I could never put my finger on what made them so good but it's a skill they seemed to be born with.

Somewhat ironically I rarely getted stopped by chuggers for some reason myself. I guess it's my grumpy head.
                                                  Last edited by V for Vendetta; 23-07-10, 13:08.

I'm on the radio again today, just had a few technical difficulties but it sorted now, so ill be starting at 2.10 I've got some great new tracks by Toby Tobias, Oliver Huntemann, Walls, Joe Goddard, Jorgensen, RadioSlave, Le Noir and Four Tet. Enjoy! http://kitchensync.listen2myradio.com/

Two quick and easy questions that someone will most likely be able to help me with ....

1) If you put money onto a site (e.g. FT) with a credit card (vs. Laser which is how I've always done it), when you withdraw, can you withdraw onto your card (i.e. it pays down your card balance) or do you have to withdraw to a bank account?

2) Is there a RB option for Ladbrokes poker? Anyone use the site? Thinking of trying to grind a 550 ME ticket on there.

No Sig To See Here

Me too, I really enjoyed it as well.

Someone asked on thread a couple of days ago about interesting stories from work. I have a few from my days in door to door sales but they're more "confessions of a door to door salesman" than anything else and far more suited to when I've had a few too many as opposed to ever being committed to writing anywhere

(1) appear sound
                                                            (2) be good at talking sh!te
                                                            I sold directory advertising for 4 years
                                                            It was painful.
                                                            Good money to be had though if you had a brass neck and no scruples.

This imo.

Man I sold stuff to people that in my heart of hearts I knew was sh!t and they'd be much better off without it. You'd then go back and tell everyone how you reeled yourself in a big fish and be congradulated for it. One of the more unsettling aspects of the job looking back

Hello BBVers, the other half will be put on the plane tomorrow in advance of the 'tying the knot' ceremony on August 7th.in Helsinki (watch out Finland the Irish are coming)
                                                                I've a week and a half to enjoy my freedom. (meh we've been together since Dom had a full head of hair)

*my question is in this paragraph somewhere*
                                                                I'm off to the match tommorrow to watch Louth hopefully get legitimately beaten by the Dubs. (no Rugby allowed in this game please) however apre match/pub I'll be looking to play some pokers. Does anyone know if that poker in the pub thing has some cash games going.**(there it is)** I'm thinking that even in my drunk state I can make a few bobs playing cash over there. Failing that it's Leeson Street.(hangs head in shame) been crazy, crazy busy lately need to party likes it's 1999(pre .com crash) this weekend.

Interesting one this morning, guy rings up saying he thinks a Kangeroo has escaped from Dublin Zoo, turns out it was just a large greyhound taking a poo on the street. We deffo drink too much in this country

Congrats on yer 100k milestone Senor Moderators.

Cliff notes on the Munting\Genting thread?.

Oh and BOOOOOooo Meath you shower of unsporting feckers. If the goal was to stand they should have been given at least 5 points for the TRY, (pushed over the line??? LMAO, ******* cheaters IMO).

Welcome back you biased dublin ****

SVDP will be glad to hear Willie has posted again

This imo.

Man I sold stuff to people that in my heart of hearts I knew was sh!t and they'd be much better off without it. You'd then go back and tell everyone how you reeled yourself in a big fish and be congradulated for it. One of the more unsettling aspects of the job looking back
                                                                      lol - are you sure you're a poker player Tony?

Hello BBVers, the other half will be put on the plane tomorrow in advance of the 'tying the knot' ceremony on August 7th.in Helsinki (watch out Finland the Irish are coming)

Good luck with the wedding.

Jobs in poker industry advertised by poker club turn out to be affiliate bonuses.
                                                                        Deja Voodoo imo.

I've a week and a half to enjoy my freedom. (meh we've been together since Dom had a full head of hair)

*my question is in this paragraph somewhere*
                                                                          I'm off to the match tommorrow to watch Louth hopefully get legitimately beaten by the Dubs. (no Rugby allowed in this game please) however apre match/pub I'll be looking to play some pokers. Does anyone know if that poker in the pub thing has some cash games going.**(there it is)** I'm thinking that even in my drunk state I can make a few bobs playing cash over there. Failing that it's Leeson Street.(hangs head in shame) been crazy, crazy busy lately need to party likes it's 1999(pre .com crash) this weekend.

Interesting one this morning, guy rings up saying he thinks a Kangeroo has escaped from Dublin Zoo, turns out it was just a large greyhound taking a poo on the street. We deffo drink too much in this country

Congrats on yer 100k milestone Senor Moderators.

Oh and BOOOOOooo Meath you shower of unsporting feckers. If the goal was to stand they should have been given at least 5 points for the TRY, (pushed over the line??? LMAO, ******* cheaters IMO).
                                                                          Good post, would read again.

Originally posted by pocketdooz View Post
                                                                            Two quick and easy questions that someone will most likely be able to help me with ....

1) If you put money onto a site (e.g. FT) with a credit card (vs. Laser which is how I've always done it), when you withdraw, can you withdraw onto your card (i.e. it pays down your card balance) or do you have to withdraw to a bank account?

2) Is there a RB option for Ladbrokes poker? Anyone use the site? Thinking of trying to grind a 550 ME ticket on there.

yes you can use a credit card to lodge money on ft and you can withdraw into the c/c a/c up to a max of $2500.
                                                                            just one thing the c/c company does not accept this as a payment so allways make the minimum payment on the card or else they will apply late fees.

don't know anything about ladbrokes

I presume it was good then yeah?

Taking the kids to the flicks and it's a toss up between shrek and toystory, I obv want to take them to something i'll enjoy too.
                                                                              I heard shrek was shite, did you go to storm in 3D?
                                                                              A back up of toystory is available now on iTunes, when they want to watch it again and again.

Originally posted by Howard_Finkel View Post
                                                                                SVDP will be glad to hear Willie has posted again
                                                                                I rang them up to donate the money and the guy on the other end of the phone said GTFO. I didn't record the conversation
                                                                                but I could have said borrow, I forget. Either way they had their chance and I've instead decided to try to spin it up in Vegas in Sept when we stop over for 4 days en route to Napa Valley, San Fran etc etc.

Hello BBVers, the other half will be put on the plane tomorrow in advance of the 'tying the knot' ceremony on August 7th.in Helsinki
                                                                                  Best of luck mate, have a great day !!

I rang them up to donate the money and the guy on the other end of the phone said GTFO. I didn't record the conversation
                                                                                    but I could have said borrow, I forget. Either way they had their chance and I've instead decided to try to spin it up in Vegas in Sept when we stop over for 4 days en route to Napa Valley, San Fran etc etc.
                                                                                    watch sideways again before you go

Originally posted by Eight-Ball View Post
                                                                                      yes you can use a credit card to lodge money on ft and you can withdraw into the c/c a/c up to a max of $2500.
                                                                                      just one thing the c/c company does not accept this as a payment so allways make the minimum payment on the card or else they will apply late fees.

don't know anything about ladbrokes
                                                                                      Thanks very much - that helps.

Any thoughts on Ladbrokes from anyone?
                                                                                      No Sig To See Here

Thanks very much - that helps.

Any thoughts on Ladbrokes from anyone?
                                                                                        Meh buy in direct. Life's too short.

Got any interview for a morkeshing internship on Monday and the Genting incident has given me a bit of a suit dilemma. Usually I'd just suck it up and wear the suit but the unnamed suitman from the Voodoo has given me the jitters.

I can think of 3 reasons not to wear the suit: 1) It's marketing so I'll probably be expected to wear a neckerchief or something, 2) I look like an eejit in a suit, 3) One of the questions I had to answer when applying was "What makes you awesome?".

All of which lead me to believe I'll be left in a suit surrounded by a bunch of wankers in torn jeans laughing their holes off at me come Monday.

Originally posted by daire View Post
                                                                                            Got any interview for a morkeshing internship on Monday and the Genting incident has given me a bit of a suit dilemma. Usually I'd just suck it up and wear the suit but the unnamed suitman from the Voodoo has given me the jitters.

I can think of 3 reasons not to wear the suit: 1) It's marketing so I'll probably be expected to wear a neckerchief or something, 2) I look like an eejit in a suit, 3) One of the questions I had to answer when applying was "What makes you awesome?".

All of which lead me to believe I'll be left in a suit surrounded by a bunch of wankers in torn jeans laughing their holes off at me come Monday.

Where something like this and they'll know you are the ONE for the job
                                                                                            "Quitters never win, Winners never quit."

I'm on the radio again today, just had a few technical difficulties but it sorted now, so ill be starting at 2.10 I've got some great new tracks by Toby Tobias, Oliver Huntemann, Walls, Joe Goddard, Jorgensen, RadioSlave, Le Noir and Four Tet. Enjoy! http://kitchensync.listen2myradio.com/
                                                                                              Beautiful. What was the closing track?
                                                                                              eoghanlyons.com

Wear a nice suit and a no tie. You will look better than anyone else there.

eoghanlyons.com

Wear a nice suit and a no tie. You will look better than anyone else there.
                                                                                                    Was gonna just say exactly this. Suit + Open collar (tie in pocket should it be needed)

Thinking of starting the FT Steps on Full Tilt ....

Anyone any thoughts - anyone done well on it?

Opinions at all?

-----

@ HJ - Torres looking like he might be staying now ?
                                                                                                      No Sig To See Here

Pretty much on life tilt after one of the most inexplicable acts of cruelty this afternoon.

Went to one of my relatives house to drop off a 21st birthday card for the cousin. Everything was grand, general small talk you have with people you only usually see at Christmas or weddings/ funerals. Anyway my aunt offers me a biscuit from it's plastic foil which for all the world looks like a custard cream- awesome! Went for the customary dunk in tea and took a bite and it turns out to be the hidious raspberry version of the biscuit- FML

Genuinely considered changing the denomination of the note in the card from €50 to €10 after that nonesense!

Thinking of starting the FT Steps on Full Tilt ....

Anyone any thoughts - anyone done well on it?

Opinions at all?

-----

@ HJ - Torres looking like he might be staying now ?
                                                                                                          do people actually buy the poker books pdfs that u sell even tho u can get them for free on rapidshare and torrent sites.?

Toby Tobias, a good horse from old Jenny Pitmans yard iirc

GL with the marriage Willie!!. Hope all goes well. Dragging the mother all the way over to Finland though, id say she had to bite her tongue there!

btw Finland put me through the absolute ringer yesterday, I was like a rabbid dog trying to google and find the result of the Finland v Canada basketball friendly last nite. Twas the last leg of a treble and i had Finland -1.5pts at 5/6, no livescore and do you could think either country would update their websites!.

Eventually Finland update their website with a paragraph in the native language but even the online translator didnt make much sense until i counted the points to the mad long Finland names which tallied up so i was pleased to count they they whipped those crap hats in the end.

Originally posted by Rekop Dog View Post
                                                                                                                Pretty much on life tilt after one of the most inexplicable acts of cruelty this afternoon.

Went to one of my relatives house to drop off a 21st birthday card for the cousin. Everything was grand, general small talk you have with people you only usually see at Christmas or weddings/ funerals. Anyway my aunt offers me a biscuit from it's plastic foil which for all the world looks like a custard cream- awesome! Went for the customary dunk in tea and took a bite and it turns out to be the hidious raspberry version of the biscuit- FML

Genuinely considered changing the denomination of the note in the card from €50 to €10 after that nonesense!
                                                                                                                We've come a long way since the famine. Sure A girl I know has a minipig as a fecking pet. (all the rage) No way the midget pig would have survived the night when I was growing up, the late father had a thing for pigs feet after a few scoops. It was disgusting, it wasn't till I had my 1st feed of guinness did I finally understand the gluttonous hard on Guinness drinkers have for greasy jelly meaty fatty salty crap. I tried tripe once, ONCE. It's actually called tripe for a reason. Anyway like I said LOL Midget Pig and LOL LATE Father the pig feet guzzling legend. (big Ronnie Drew fan of course)

Btw EPIC post Emmet. (cheers Uraise, ya tricked me there)

"What makes you awesome?".
                                                                                                                  Share your answer to this question with the group please.

Originally posted by peteypop View Post
                                                                                                                    do people actually buy the poker books pdfs that u sell even tho u can get them for free on rapidshare and torrent sites.?
                                                                                                                    Yep, I've sold over 70 'copies' of them in the past two years.

Some people are happy to pay for the convienience.

Don't be a hater !!

No Sig To See Here

GL with the marriage Willie!!. Hope all goes well. Dragging the mother all the way over to Finland though, id say she had to bite her tongue there!

btw Finland put me through the absolute ringer yesterday, I was like a rabbid dog trying to google and find the result of the Finland v Canada basketball friendly last nite. Twas the last leg of a treble and i had Finland -1.5pts at 5/6, no livescore and do you could think either country would update their websites!.

Eventually Finland update their website with a paragraph in the native language but even the online translator didnt make much sense until i counted the points to the mad long Finland names which tallied up so i was pleased to count they they whipped those crap hats in the end.

LOL Cheers, she put her teeth in especially

Yep, I've sold over 70 'copies' of them in the past two years.

Some people are happy to pay for the convienience.

Don't be a hater !!

IMO.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Best of luck with the wedding Willie!!

Enjoy your last 10 days of freedom! and remember to enjoy the day itself it'll absolutely fly by!