Originally posted by Howard_Finkel View Post
    You obv just ran well those 1st two games
    LOL im so good at that game it scares me - I pwn souls just for the fun of it. I cant wait till you guys hand me the game by not figuring out my cipher

you think im out of that game - guess again. by the time you realise whats going on il have the game wrapped up

Also, ship ship !!

:. Flight Details
      Your air reservation (PNR) number is: xxxxxx

From: Shannon, , IE to: Perth, , AU Duration: 24h 30min Stops: 2
      #1 Airline: Aer Lingus, Flight #0380
      Departure: Sat, Sep 04 07:30 AM Shannon, , IE(SNN)Arrival: Sat, Sep 04 09:00 AM London-heathrow, , GB(LHR)AIRBUS INDUSTRIE A320-100/200 JET
      #2 Airline: Malaysia Airlines, Flight #0003
      Departure: Sat, Sep 04 12:00 PM London-heathrow, , GB(LHR)Arrival: Sun, Sep 05 07:25 AM Kuala Lumpur, , MY(KUL)BOEING 747-400 JET
      #3 Airline: Malaysia Airlines, Flight #0125
      Departure: Sun, Sep 05 09:40 AM Kuala Lumpur, , MY(KUL)Arrival: Sun, Sep 05 03:00 PM Perth, , AU(PER)BOEING 777-200 JET
      From: Perth, , AU to: Shannon, , IE Duration: 26h 20min Stops: 2
      #1 Airline: Malaysia Airlines, Flight #0126
      Departure: Mon, Sep 13 01:25 AM Perth, , AU(PER)Arrival: Mon, Sep 13 07:05 AM Kuala Lumpur, , MY(KUL)AIRBUS INDUSTRIE A330 JET
      #2 Airline: Malaysia Airlines, Flight #0004
      Departure: Mon, Sep 13 10:05 AM Kuala Lumpur, , MY(KUL)Arrival: Mon, Sep 13 04:15 PM London-heathrow, , GB(LHR)BOEING 747-400 JET
      #3 Airline: Aer Lingus, Flight #0387
      Departure: Mon, Sep 13 07:20 PM London-heathrow, , GB(LHR)Arrival: Mon, Sep 13 08:45 PM Shannon, , IE(SNN)AIRBUS INDUSTRIE A320-100/200 JET
      Am I missing something, or are only going for a week???
      Fail if so

Laptop overheating problem - a cautionary tale

Remember a few weeks back I was saying my laptop was overheating and shutting down?

I discovered what the problem was and cured it. CafeWorld and Zynga games. I was helping the wee boy out with his cafe to start with and had it open in both chrome and IE. The processor goes crazy. Cafeworld suggests keep the application open to get extra buzz ratings etc and all it does is overheat machines.

I wonder who is in cahoots here. I bought one of those laptop cooler fans after I backed up everything and it is working fine now. I never leave the apps open ever and it is cool to the touch now. The keys were burning hot on the left hand side and the right of the mouse pad too.

Just thought I would mention it in case anyone plays these games or have kids who do and leave them running..

If you can't stand the heat, get out of the Cafe.

can some one please tell me what the WW game is?

Originally posted by Gholimoli View Post
                can some one please tell me what the WW game is?
                It is a role playing game where a bunch of sensible (most anyway) posters lose control of themselves for the duration of the game, get caught up in heated arguments and name calling episodes.

We basically all start out not knowing who each other are, the WW know each other and the rest of us don't and we blindly accuse each other, have cannibalistic tendencies (munching Howard_finkel) and try and outplay each other.

It is highly addictive, takes over our life and cause us to neglect our work/family

Want a game Gholi

The El Choo Choo express has pulled in to Fertile Valleys

'in river 3 of its color commands me to rest' - That is MILK!

In river 3 of its color commands me to rest.

Poetry.

Kids must have an internal alarm clock that goes off two hours earlier when they are on school holidays, up since 5.30 and bloody shattered. Nice start to the day when the two lads are re enacting the final scences of Karate Kid 1....must hide disc when i go home

Am I missing something, or are only going for a week???
                        Fail if so
                        Only decided last week, it is my brothers 40th so myself and my other brother are going to surprise him, walk up behind him in a bar and hand him his present, no fail there !

Half way through the year and holding up well. Beating the indexes easily.

Well, the market has gotten a beating but we have done pretty well.

10 Places for my money, starting now for the full year 2010 (Figures in Bold were the prices at the beginning of 2010)

1. Fresenius Medical Care (FME) - 37.50 - up 18.4% to 44.42

2. Aegis Group (AGS) - 1.17 - down 7.8% to 1.08

3. Virgin Media (VMED) - 17.12 - down 0.7% to 17.00

4. Harris and Harris (TINY) - 4.52 - down 6.9% to 4.21

5. MDC Partners (MDCA) - 8.35 - up 32.0% to 11.02

6. Publicis Groupe (PUB) - 28.67 - up 16.6% to 33.42

7. Liberty Global International (LBTYA) - 22.02 - up 20.4% to 26.51

8. Daily Mail and General Trust (DMGT) - 4.19 - up 6.5% to 4.46

9. Marriott International (MAR) - 27.71 - up 12.7% to 31.23

10. British Sky Broadcasting (BSY) - 5.66 - up 24.2% to 7.03

Total Portfolio increase from January 1st 2010 to June 30th 2010 was 15.0%

Compares to a decrease of 5.0% for the DJIA and a decrease of 7.5% for the S&P
                          No Sig To See Here

Originally posted by jackyback View Post
                            Kids must have an internal alarm clock that goes off two hours earlier when they are on school holidays, up since 5.30 and bloody shattered. Nice start to the day when the two lads are re enacting the final scences of Karate Kid 1....must hide disc when i go home
                            I see your 5.30 and raise you 5.00

must start checking out Vegas flights imo

Originally posted by pocketdooz View Post
                              Compares to a decrease of 5.0% for the DJIA and a decrease of 7.5% for the S&P
                              pocketdooz - what's your feel for the market over the next few months?

I see your 5.30 and raise you 5.00

must start checking out Vegas flights imo
                                I can safely say unless i final table the main this will be my last Vegas jaunt for a while, there is only so much child minding the parents will do

Anyone know if day 1d pre registration of the main is full up yet? Site has not registered me yet and i am hearing rumours that day 1d pre registration is now closed. Not good when arriving on the evening of day 1c.

Best of luck in this Fran, will be keeping an eye on the updates while on holidays !!

Only decided last week, it is my brothers 40th so myself and my other brother are going to surprise him, walk up behind him in a bar and hand him his present, no fail there !
                                      Fair enough, I was doing the same (albeit in the other way) for my sisters 21st.
                                      But had to cancel it for visa issues. Where abouts are you heading to?

what do you think of baldy noonan, raoul?

Fair enough, I was doing the same (albeit in the other way) for my sisters 21st.
                                          But had to cancel it for visa issues. Where abouts are you heading to?
                                          Perth, i went out to visit him 3 years ago with the family for 3 weeks so have done the sights, this is just an expensive week on the booze, would have stayed a bit longer but no holidays left from work im afraid, and wifey would not be too happy if i went for 3 weeks again leaving her at home with the young fellow ! We are going to Lanzarote Monday for 2 weeks so that should keep her quiet...lol

what do you think of baldy noonan, raoul?
                                            not much, he's about as suitable a candidate for MoF as Lenihan or Cowen

actually I'm just trying to think back on who our last reasonable MoF was. Probably Ho-Chi Quinn imo which is ironic in itself

Jaysus I went to bed last night and realised I didn't have my wedding ring on. Scrambling around the house at 2 o'clock trying to find the fucker! They are so annoying, how long does it take before you get used to them (for someone that never wore any jewellery, not even a watch)?

wtf are you doing wearing your wedding ring to bed?

yeah, takes a while to get used to it alright

I'm not a fan of jewellery myself including watches, I talked myself out of buying wearing a ring when I got married for it would only take approx 2-5 days before it was lost.

Cracking atmosphere at the screening of The Goonies last night, strange how you can have watched a movie numerous times but yet every now and again be caught out by something you hadnt seen before

Plus there was a few good looking pirate wenches around the place

I like your cunning plan to siteban Lazare.

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lazare

Feck off outa that!!

This is the place I am in fact named after...

There's an effort to avoid what happened last year when everyone arrived on the last day. AFAIK they wont take any more day 1d reg until the other days have caught up in numbers. My information is a few weeks old tho. Maybe if you rang them with your flight details...?

if it wasn't for Christy Dignam acting the pr1ck to everyone he met with the authority to make them superstars that they could have had a real shot.
                                                          Apparantly his ego always got in the way.
                                                          This really did seem to be the case. Used to be talked about a lot when I was playing around Dublin years ago. Some bands wouldn't have a good word to say about them because there were opportunities squandered that others would have given vital body parts for.

I used to get jazz drumming lessons off Alan and he was the nicest bloke you could hope to meet. I admired his loyalty as he wouldn't be drawn on the subject of Christy's messing. Often wondered how they put up with his bollocksology, must've been very frustrating. Testament to the lads that they stuck by him imo, although maybe they thought they
                                                          wouldn't have gone anywhere without him anyways. There's no show without Punch, and all that.

About 4 hours left before i finish up in work, lovely jubbly

Interesting day yesterday in work, which sort of sums this place up.

2 units of the Special Branch turn up at the warehouse asking to check 2 pallets that we received in 3 weeks ago. No-one really knows whats going on but in they come anyway. Turns out that 3 weeks ago, there was a police escort waiting at a completly different warehouse to escort this shipment to where it was meant to go. If somehow managed to leave unnoticed and arrive in our warehouse, get checked in, and get left in the floor.

It took the special branch 3 weeks to track the stock to our place. It was only a couple of ton of bullets/ammunition, sure who'd miss them

Feck off outa that!!

This is the place I am in fact named after...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baie_Lazare
                                                              I don't think so....

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AksY2gX1Dc&feature=related[/ame]

Below is a better version,but it won't embed.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOIXJxg5HTc&feature=related[/ame]

Originally posted by The Tourist View Post
                                                                There's an effort to avoid what happened last year when everyone arrived on the last day. AFAIK they wont take any more day 1d reg until the other days have caught up in numbers. My information is a few weeks old tho. Maybe if you rang them with your flight details...?
                                                                fock

I'm worried I'll lose it if I take it off, even in bed! And I don't think my life would be worth living if I lost it too quickly!! I'm trying to give it at least a month before I lose it

sounds like you should replace it with some sort of body piercing imo

yeah, takes a while to get used to it alright
                                                                      Do you really take your wedding ring off every night going to bed? Most people i know eat, drink, sleep, shower with their weddings rings on. Whats the norm?

Off at nite & down Leeson St

All of the above except showering, take my ring and watch off for that, shouldent really wear it in work but i do.

I only take mine off when I'm playing sport or in the gym.

That doesn't include taking it off and messing with it during the day/night which I probably do at least once a day.

I only wear mine outside the house, stops about 50% of the groupies from throwing themselves at me (it does get tiresome after a while)

Going to Amsterdam in September

Anyone reccomend anywhere to visit/do for a first timer.
                                                                                it really depends on who you are going with and why.
                                                                                Mushrooms and canal boat trips are highly recommended though.

it really depends on who you are going with and why.
                                                                                  Mushrooms and canal boat trips are highly recommended though.

Heineken Tour is actually very good fun, and only a tenner. If you're a cheapskate, go at 1/2pm and wait at the final bar, you will get tonnes of tokens for free beers from all the groups of businessmen who aren't using theirs.

Go café hopping, plenty of variety to be found, Bushman is/was one of my favourites though. Also make sure you try some of the local delicacies, space cake / brownies are where the fun is at, takes about an hour or two to take affect though.

Make sure you go to a sex show, its seedy, and terrible, but at the same time, hilarious, and you'll regret not seeing one. Make sure you volunteer to go on stage too if they need some audience members, you will come off the stage a changed man, believe me.

Rent out bikes, don't use the trams, bikes are like €6 a day to rent, and Amsterdam is flat, its easy to cycle, and is very very bike friendly.

In terms of nightlife, we never really went clubbing / out, as we always tended to flake out in the campsite with an assortment of paraphernalia and toxins each night.

The red light district is surreal, make sure you see it at day and night, two different animals!

Heineken Tour is actually very good fun, and only a tenner. If you're a cheapskate, go at 1/2pm and wait at the final bar, you will get tonnes of tokens for free beers from all the groups of businessmen who aren't using theirs.

Go café hopping, plenty of variety to be found, Bushman is/was one of my favourites though. Also make sure you try some of the local delicacies, space cake / brownies are where the fun is at, takes about an hour or two to take affect though.

Make sure you go to a sex show, its seedy, and terrible, but at the same time, hilarious, and you'll regret not seeing one. Make sure you volunteer to go on stage too if they need some audience members, you will come off the stage a changed man, believe me.

Rent out bikes, don't use the trams, bikes are like €6 a day to rent, and Amsterdam is flat, its easy to cycle, and is very very bike friendly.

In terms of nightlife, we never really went clubbing / out, as we always tended to flake out in the campsite with an assortment of paraphernalia and toxins each night.

The red light district is surreal, make sure you see it at day and night, two different animals!
                                                                                    They stick their mothers in the window during the day it seems...

I only wear mine outside the house, stops about 50% of the groupies from throwing themselves at me (it does get tiresome after a while)
                                                                                      T'would of course.

I presume the other 50% are slow enough getting their wheelchair brakes off that you could beat a hasty retreat?

The Melkweg was always a good club in the Dam, also has a wide range of gigs on all the time. Well worth checking out and all the clubs are generally located in and around that spot. http://www.melkweg.nl

Are commiserations in order Mr. Pink?

lol,no.

Read Howard Marks' autobiography about ten years ago and loved it..

Pulled it off the shelf yesterday to see if it would be worth a second read.

I forgot how brilliant it is. Couldn't put it down, and as much as I loved it ten years ago, I think I appreciate it a lot better this time around.

Some great quotes...

This one could easily be written by Rounders..
                                                                                                Originally posted by Howard Marks
                                                                                                For a period of about two weeks I slept rough outside the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre in Stratford-on-Avon. This meant that I was invariably first in the queue when the box office opened to sell the forty tickets it withheld until the day of performance. I would buy four tickets, the maximum that could be sold to any one person. One ticket was kept for my own use, as I had become quite a genuine Shakespeare fan by then, two would be sold at vastly inflated prices to American tourists, while one would be given, or sold at a very cheap price, to an attractive single female.
                                                                                                She would, of course, be obliged by her ticket to sit next to me during the performance and conversation was easy to start up. I wondered if other people played these kind of games.
                                                                                                Discussing possible new disguises with his friend Dai...

'Why don't you get yourself a pair of glasses?'
                                                                                                'From whom?'
                                                                                                'I think they're called opticians Howard'
                                                                                                'But there's nothing wrong with my eyes Dai, they won't give me a pair'
                                                                                                'You walk into a dentist, he'll say you have bad teeth. You walk into an optician and he'll say you need glasses, that's the way they make money. Anyway, I read the other day that the stuff you keep smoking causes long sight, why don't you smoke a load and go to an optician?'

Dai had probably read one of those absurd scare stories of marijuana causing just about everything from sterility to nymphomania. But there might be something to it, I knew marijuana had some effect on intraocular pressure.
                                                                                                I smoked several joints and had my eyes tested. I needed glasses, and a special pair was made.
                                                                                                They dramatically changed my appearance, but made things rather blurry, except when I was stoned.
                                                                                                After successfully importing a ton of Lebanese hash into Ireland using an IRA contact, they're sitting down watching Garda patrol....

Then it was Garda patrol, the republic of Ireland's equivalent to Crimewatch, the public's chance to grass. A stern faced Irish policeman appeared on the screen.. 'Some household equipment, electric kettles and toasters were stolen from O'Reilly's on Sean McDermot st....'

'Can you believe that Howard? We're sitting on a ton of nordle and the cops are looking for fucking pots and pans'
                                                                                                If you haven't read this book, buy it now, if you have, read it again.

Brilliant.

The further down the street, the wider the age gap got I found.

But basically everything Emmet said MegaSin.

Give one of the many Argentine restaurants a go too. All you can eat Buffalo ribs, ah memories

I thought the norm was to wear it 24/7 as well TBH. Perhaps a straw poll is needed so I can show Mrs05 that I am allowed to take it off some times. I presume when you're out with the lads it's rude to wear it among single folk!!
                                                                                                    sounds like you should replace it with some sort of body piercing imo
                                                                                                    No dice. I offered her some form of tattoo and it wasn't a goer And I'm also completely free of all tattoo's/ piercings.

No dice. I offered her some form of tattoo
                                                                                                      something like "PROPERTY OF MRS STE05" on your forehead?

Originally posted by aodea View Post
                                                                                                        Aslan are awsome.

That is all.
                                                                                                        I also saw them in Leopardstown last night - hadn't seem them since the last Feile in 1994 (or was it 1995?), they were awesome!!!!! Couldn't believe it. 'This Is' is such a great Irish rock song.

Read Howard Marks' autobiography about ten years ago and loved it...
                                                                                                          That is a fantastic read, the shit they got up to was unreal. Love the way the IRA contact kept calling him 'H'ard', and his heart sinks whenever he hears it on the phone.
                                                                                                          Also when he buys the passport at the start and says to himself there's no way he's pronouncing the name 'Neece', from now on he was going to be Mr Nice

Legend.

II presume when you're out with the lads it's rude to wear it among single folk!!
                                                                                                              Jesus, don't even joke about this to your missus!!!

Looks like i might not get out of my job as early as i thought today, yuck. It's LOL funny, but the shift manager has asked for the day off today becasue he's afraid he's going to get a few slaps from some of the lads leaving because that was the rumour. So my boss might have to cover for the gutless swine

batter him good imo

dyin.com/neverdrinkinagain

Originally posted by Bless You View Post
                                                                                                                    That is a fantastic read, the shit they got up to was unreal. Love the way the IRA contact kept calling him 'H'ard', and his heart sinks whenever he hears it on the phone.
                                                                                                                    Also when he buys the passport at the start and says to himself there's no way he's pronouncing the name 'Neece', from now on he was going to be Mr Nice

Legend.
                                                                                                                    lol yeah. The bit with McCann whacking off to animal farm in front of the University lecturers and their wives had me in stitches, 'sitting there with their horrified expressions' and 'my vain attempt to explain to them the world hadn't gone mad.'

I also loved the Pakistanis labelling the consignment to 'Juma Khan', and Jim McCann on the phone to Howard, when Howard tells him this... 'Why the fuck did you use my real name you Welsh prick' lol
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Lazare; 02-07-10, 11:50.

I only ever take my wedding ring off when cutting raw chicken or painting.

I can't understand why anyone would take it off going to bed or showering.

Bit bizarre.

Explain plz Stunty.

dyin.com/neverdrinkinagain

oh and MegaSin.
                                                                                                                          Avoid all the museams on the DamRak (vodaka, sex, weed etc)
                                                                                                                          they are absolutly crap, a waste of your time and costs are ridiculous.
                                                                                                                          +1 on Heiniken tour
                                                                                                                          and if they are open there is a little Waffle Hut on the Damrak beside the skating rink that is amazing when stoned, obviously everything is but this is brilliant.
                                                                                                                          Man, I love amsterdam, 13 times and counting.
                                                                                                                          However, i'm proud of the fact I've never been to a brasser yet.

I have this thing in me head where I don't want to have sex with anyone who doesn't want to have sex with me...subsequently I spent a lot of my formative years in the company of myself