Originally posted by aodea View Post
    While it would be nice to retire he still has massive earning power for a few years so he will keep pushing on.
    I hope not, he's already rich beyond belief

I reckon I could comfortably retire on €1m and maybe even less
      I always had €2m in mind, was delighted when they changed the Lotto min. payout obv.

Originally posted by cooker3 View Post
        The worse thing about that loss by Federer is I don't think he will ever won another slam and considering he doesn't bother with the other tournaments I don't think he will be number 1 again and shall always finish 1 week short of Sampras which would be a huge shame.
        I doubt roger will lose any sleep over that to be honest. It would have been nice of course, but the slam record was way more important.

*it's not July yet.*
          OK Tony -Here is why. It's perfectly understandable I would have thought.
          If I was disciplined I'd have no problems but I'm not. I spend far too much time on the interweb and I need to wean myself off it. 1st here and hopefully the facebook then some other lower key sites. I've frequently chided nephews etc about playing computer games instead of the more physical stuff, I then realised I waste as much time as they do. It's not just the IPB I'm trying to snip it's mostly all the time wasting I've been doing on the net that has stalled projects. So yes I guess the interweb IS a problem for me, it's interfered too much in my life and bang I'm overloaded with too much stuff that is undone. I will always be tempted so I'm giving myself a complete break from here 1st. It's nothing personal to anyone and as you say It's just random shyte I'm spouting but then I find myself drawn into reading other posts , riggers zany observations, Raouls political corner, Stewels battles with real life goonies and now the WW game has the potential to turn me into a complete addict. (great game imo) etc etc etc etc a testament to the success of the site I guess. So in an effort to put some discipline into my real life I'm deinterwebbing myself. Methinks it's fair nuff. And like I said good luck to ye all. I've also got a big year ahead (not ALL good). So in a way the place is a problem (or rather my indiscipline)

So good luck laddies and chimpys and singlewimminwith3kids
          Best of luck with everything Willie, I hope it all goes well. If you get a free day when you want to just unwind and shoot the shit, we'll always be here (presumably ) so do drop in and say hi.

I guess its just one of those things, why did michael Schumacher come back when he has nothing to prove, why do meg rich boxers come out of retierment to make a show of themselves. The way i look at it if my whole life was tennis every day since i was say 6 i would want to go on for as long as possible because nothing in life regardless of money will ever give you back the joy of a nice shot at wimbeldon, Surely davis should have walked away from snooker years ago but he still tries and competes.

Love of the Game.

I hope not, he's already rich beyond belief
              he needs to retire now, to give himself a chance at an out of retirement comeback in 2-3 years when he is bored out of his mind and can't stand the nagging wife, who has changed from an adoring fan and attentive soul to a control freak ressembling his mother.

I always had €2m in mind, was delighted when they changed the Lotto min. payout obv.
                €2m would give me some wriggle room alright, maybe I'll reset my goals

In all seriousness though, if you were mortgage free and had €1m to play around with I think you could have a very comfortable lifestyle without ever working again. You could bump it through partial investment etc, but even without that you should have more than enough to keep you in finery!

I'd agree with you if I had a modicum of self-discipline regarding poker or sportsbetting

Originally posted by Bozzer View Post
                    I doubt roger will lose any sleep over that to be honest. It would have been nice of course, but the slam record was way more important.
                    True but I hated Sampras and I want Federer to destroy every 1 of his records.

Why would you retire just caused you've slipped a bit from WorldNo1/winning lots of Grand Slams - so long as he's in the top 16/32 he should continue. If he maintains top 16 then he would still be winning 80+% of the games he plays.

Personally if I was good at any sport I'd have had the attitude of Agassi or Steve Davis or Tom Watson or Gordon Strachan - keep playing whilst you still enjoy it and are still competitive.

Edit: Gawd, I type so slow, loads of people already made the same points.

I'd agree with you if I had a modicum of self-discipline regarding poker or sportsbetting
                        see my point about partial investment

it's actually fascinating in a way that a grand slam hasn't been for a long time i.e. in terms of genuine potential winners

Soderling, Djokovic, Berdych, Murray all very decent chances

(I'm making the assumption that Nadal's beaten-up body doesn't last today)

Djokovic is my pick, even though he may well be clinically insane
                          Djokovic is a total bottler. He could barely breathe during the Hewitt match. If he faces Nadal, Murray or Soderling in the final he loses imo.

he has won a GS though...

I guess its just one of those things, why did michael Schumacher come back when he has nothing to prove, why do meg rich boxers come out of retierment to make a show of themselves. The way i look at it if my whole life was tennis every day since i was say 6 i would want to go on for as long as possible because nothing in life regardless of money will ever give you back the joy of a nice shot at wimbeldon, Surely davis should have walked away from snooker years ago but he still tries and competes.

Love of the Game.
                              Why would you retire just caused you've slipped a bit from WorldNo1/winning lots of Grand Slams - so long as he's in the top 16/32 he should continue. If he maintains top 16 then he would still be winning 80+% of the games he plays.

Personally if I was good at any sport I'd have had the attitude of Agassi or Steve Davis or Tom Watson or Gordon Strachan - keep playing whilst you still enjoy it and are still competitive.

This I understand and agree with. I don't think money is the main motivator once you get to that level, and I can understand over-riding passion for something dragging you on. At the same time there's a certain level of pride involved.

If you can't cut it anymore, it's not much fun being out there. Not that I'm saying Fed is at that stage, but some people who have come back into / stayed too long in a sport certainly are.

he has won a GS though...
                                Yeah but that's why I didn't say he would lose to Tsonga, the only guy he could possibly beat in the final. He was fortunate in the Aussie Open, he didn't really face a great player on top of his game. He destroyed Fed in the semi but bare in mind Federer has just returned from glandular fever and it's a miracle he even reached the semi. Tsonga can't play a high level consistently. Djokovic is a good player but he is not a great player and more importantly a mentally weak player and will likely find some phantom illness to justify why he loses in the end.

New WW looks good. People pretending to be people

Nope. Not yet.

Closest I can figure is you block buy "rapids".

It then deducts rapids at the following rate.

Name Price / day Storage Traffic / day Manager Licence
                                    RapidSmall 4 Rapids 10 GB 1 GB
                                    RapidMedium 20 Rapids 50 GB 5 GB
                                    RapidBig 78 Rapids 200 GB 20 GB
                                    RapidSupersize 229 Rapids 600 GB 60 GB
                                    RapidBusiness 449 Rapids 1200 GB 120 GB

So if you have a "small day" it deducts 4 rapids. I suspect a normal day would be 20 rapids. If you are likely to go over 5gb download you should save the links in a d/l managed until you get close to the 20gb mark to extract maximum value/rapid. I presume value increases as you move up the scale but haven't done the maths.

4 rapids seems to be the base rate regardless.

I think the 5k rapids for 49.99 is better value than the previous cost of a year and should last 12 months or so depending on usage.

Edit to add: If you have any free or premium rapid points you need to convert them to rapids sooner rather than later. July 6th is the cutoff.
                                    Yeah im still a little confused, im gonna give it a couple of days to see what the story is. For example if i go over the 20gb do i have to buy another share worth of 20gb?

I do a lot of downloading, with some shows being on hiatus at the moment i wouldnt be too heavy on the download but i can easily do 6gb + a day and i have a feeling that could get very pricey on this new plan.

Plus i have 12000 free points but it wont seem to convert them?

I think Federer will only continue as long as he feels he's a genuine contender at (most of) the slams. Can't see him being content at making up the numbers at all.

I agree with the general point that you shouldn't expect a sportsman to pack it in just because they're not as successful anymore. They'll have 40-50 years to kick back when they retire so they may as well still compete if they have the hunger/love for it.

Djokovic is a good player but he is not a great player and more importantly a mentally weak player and will likely find some phantom illness to justify why he loses in the end.
                                        ah yeah he's a complete header alright, still happy to have him vs Soderling in my prop bet though

underestimate my 100% record* in tennis prop bets at your peril

* 1 bet, 1 win

Im actually playing sso bad at cards today going to stop and go back to my Boca Juniors game in football manager.

excellent bit of greenage had in the tennis tyvm

So im going to assign myself 500 euro as a live poker bankrole, im thinking of investing it all in casino chips probably in the voodoo, i know this can be viewed as an unsafe investment as if the company goes bust down the drain goes my money, however i feel it would be a good way to keep myself diciplined and not dip into my bankrole for nights out or what not.

i have played 3 tournaments in the voodoo, finished 4th in one (the 25 euro freezeout) 12th in another (25 freezeout) and 15th as a horse in the 60E end of month, ive played about 8 sessions of cash and made a profit from 6.

what way would you see best to utilise a bankrole of 500? should i start with the smaller tournaments and try and build it up?

or should i focus mainly on the 50c/1 cash tables, sitting down with 50 a session?

This is sort of like a new venture for me as usually i have just walked into a casino with the money in my pocket and have never had any sort of bankrole assigned.

Any tips/advise would be appreciated
                                              Last edited by BrianByrne; 30-06-10, 15:52.
                                              Disaster - Dreamcrusher

excellent bit of greenage had in the tennis tyvm
                                                1.4 points i hope u go?

saw that he went up to 5.1 for a second in the first game, and was as short as 3.00 at one stage... mbn to be gettin paid to go to college and use the money to trade sports on betfair durin college time

Originally posted by BrianByrne View Post
                                                  So im going to assign myself 500 euro as a live poker bankrole, im thinking of investing it all in casino chips probably in the voodoo, i know this can be viewed as an unsafe investment as if the company goes bust down the drain goes my money, however i feel it would be a good way to keep myself diciplined and not dip into my bankrole for nights out or what not.

i have played 2 tournaments in the voodoo, finished 4th in one (the 25 euro freezeout) and 15th as a horse in the 60E end of month, ive played about 8 sessions of cash and made a profit from 6.

what way would you see best to utilise a bankrole of 500? should i start with the smaller tournaments and try and build it up?

or should i focus mainly on the 50c/1 cash tables, sitting down with 50 a session?

This is sort of like a new venture for me as usually i have just walked into a casino with the money in my pocket and have never had any sort of bankrole assigned.

Play online

i will have a seperate role for online, im going to be lodging 150 and grinding the micro stakes.

At the moment just looking for advise on the live side of things.
                                                    Disaster - Dreamcrusher

500 isn't enough of a roll for 50c/1 or even 50c/50c.

Put the 500 online, play 10c/25c with a RB deal and learn that way.

i have played 2 tournaments in the voodoo, finished 4th in one (the 25 euro freezeout) and 15th as a horse in the 60E end of month, ive played about 8 sessions of cash and made a profit from 6.

This is sort of like a new venture for me as usually i have just walked into a casino with the moneyhttp://www.irishpokerboards.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=108322 in my pocket and have never had any sort of bankrole assigned.

ah you remind me of one Phantom_Lord esquire who back in the day wondered should he borrow €400 squids to tackle the fitz with. He was told no but did it anyway. Iv a feeling that regardless of what you are told you will do your own thing anyway. Not having a dig at you by the way just being honest.

anyway Im sure different people will all tell you the same thing that will boil down to one sentence dont do it

- 500 isnt half enough for a live bankroll
                                                        - your winning sample is over a time period that is too small
                                                        - all short stackers go to hell
                                                        - why not stick it online if you must and work out the fundamental flaws in your game?

anyway dont p!ss away money that you presumably worked hard for

I agree with Ace. I feel so dirty.

Also, your idea as outlined is truly awful. Please don't do it. By all means have a bankroll for live cash and manage it carefully but buying casino chips for one casino is a terrible idea. Keep it in cash and be strong willed about your management if you are dead set on going ahead with this.

Im actually playing sso bad at cards today going to stop and go back to my Boca Juniors game in football manager.
                                                            fuck whoever mentioned that game!

Play online
                                                              2nd that. If you are going to play live you will need more than that but can add to it over time. i would in general play cash as tournment variance especially in things like the 25 game in voodoo with skipped levels and mad blind time frames is killer. You need mostly to just look at your 500 as a way to get some experince. i recommend jackpot as games and structures are better. maybe play set games for awhile such as if you play a tuesday you play the fitz dc if you play wednesday you play 40 jackpot game so you are familar with what structure is like etc.

but really cash or maybe just online. all those tournis are just fun nothing more. You will go insane in a month.

i will have a seperate role for online, im going to be lodging 150 and grinding the micro stakes.

At the moment just looking for advise on the live side of things.
                                                                I'm being serious - forget about live poker, 500 is too small a role, the variance will kill you - you'll have donkeys in cash games call your raise oop with 93o flop 2 pair on a A93 board where you have AK and think your miles ahead. These same donekys play tournaments and will break your heart.

Just play online, lodge the €650 ~ $800 - and play 20NLH and grind that up through bonus deals and sign up bonuses. Also don't you work in bray - and live in meath or somewhere - the cost of going to the voodoo to play + meals etc are just extra expenses that you don't have at home.

1.4 points i hope u go?

saw that he went up to 5.1 for a second in the first game, and was as short as 3.00 at one stage... mbn to be gettin paid to go to college and use the money to trade sports on betfair durin college time
                                                                  nah didn't get it that short unfortunately - still a nice profit made though

i have played 3 tournaments in the voodoo, finished 4th in one (the 25 euro freezeout) 12th in another (25 freezeout) and 15th as a horse in the 60E end of month, ive played about 8 sessions of cash and made a profit from 6.

Youve surely been reading here long enough to know this is terrible.

You want to half stack 100nl with a total of 500bb's in your roll. Just know if you do there is a massive chance you will be broke in under a month.

Also roll roll roll roll roll, its poker not a part in a play!!!!
                                                                    Last edited by Starvin Marvin; 30-06-10, 16:04.

I am not sure a million would cut it these days for retirement especially if in your 30's.

It's amazing how discussing football can turn normally sensible intelligent people into blithering delusional loons.

if you're the best 1/2 player in the fitz you probably make about €25 an hour. and i'd say that's a much better and deeper game than the .5/1 game. so the absolute max anyone could make in that is probably less than min wage. coupled with the fact that you'll most likely go broke. and that live poker is a hateful experience at the best of times. There's much better things to be doing with your time.

Yeah im still a little confused, im gonna give it a couple of days to see what the story is. For example if i go over the 20gb do i have to buy another share worth of 20gb?

I do a lot of downloading, with some shows being on hiatus at the moment i wouldnt be too heavy on the download but i can easily do 6gb + a day and i have a feeling that could get very pricey on this new plan.

Plus i have 12000 free points but it wont seem to convert them?
                                                                            The catch with the plan seems to be that once you go over the first one (1gb) you are then "charged" for 5gb.

I'm not sure if it reverts the next day. Will know tomorrow.

The most +ev thing to do would seem to be to use a manager like jdownloader and download in slighty under 5 or 20gb sets each day. Anything over gets carried over to the next day or built up for a quiet day (e.g. sunday).

i never got around to renewing my rs account and get along fine. granted though that i have more tv and music downloaded at this point than i'll ever get though.

Indeed i have Marvin! i just wanna get up the live experience and play more than i am doing now..cant really stretch further than 500, 650 if i scrap the online poker.

in my past couple of sessions i have been joining with about 45 euro and 3-4 hours later leaving with 30-50 profit on average 3/4's of the time after rake/tips.

i understand that over a sample sze of 8 sessions each averaging at 3 hours this is nothing to go by.
                                                                                I guess in a way it would just be a challenge for myself to see how well i could do, but at the same time i dont wanna piss 500 down the drain and online may be the best way to go.
                                                                                Disaster - Dreamcrusher

and that live poker is a hateful experience at the best of times.
                                                                                  Its actually not and i can see why he probably wants to play live, your doin it wrong with the big headphones in and play like a nit, play loose and its great fun

Dont supposse does anyone know can you drink in the stands at wimbeldon or on Henman Hill for that matter?

Indeed i have Marvin! i just wanna get up the live experience and play more than i am doing now..cant really stretch further than 500, 650 if i scrap the online poker.

in my past couple of sessions i have been joining with about 45 euro and 3-4 hours later leaving with 30-50 profit on average 3/4's of the time after rake/tips.

i understand that over a sample sze of 8 sessions each averaging at 3 hours this is nothing to go by.
                                                                                      I guess in a way it would just be a challenge for myself to see how well i could do, but at the same time i dont wanna piss 500 down the drain and online may be the best way to go.
                                                                                      Well one way to look at it is if you would spend 50-60 on a night out then spending it playing cash for a few hours or a tourni is an acceptable use of your money provided your enjoying it as much as a night out. play live have a laugh better than having ten pints and only thing to show for it is a fat girl called joan asking for taxi money the morning after.

you seem a decent follow brian, i'd hate to see live poker kill you

The catch with the plan seems to be that once you go over the first one (1gb) you are then "charged" for 5gb.

I'm not sure if it reverts the next day. Will know tomorrow.

The most +ev thing to do would seem to be to use a manager like jdownloader and download in slighty under 5 or 20gb sets each day. Anything over gets carried over to the next day or built up for a quiet day (e.g. sunday).
                                                                                          Fucking idiots had to go and ruin it all with this mess looks like im gonna be switching providers!

LOL, just bluff shoved my stack into AA555. My T8s was no match

Fucking idiots had to go and ruin it all with this mess looks like im gonna be switching providers!
                                                                                              Im not really sure how it changes anything. Unless there is a massive more online to one of the other providers there is little point moving away from rapidshare.

Ugh, having to listen to Andrew Castle commentate on a Murray match is so painful.
                                                                                                At least John Lloyd isn't the co-commentator I guess.

I understand what you mean and live is 100 times easier than online and some people people prefer it.

Its possible you might not get sucked out on early on and play good and win money so you can afford to take a few hits but if you start off dodgy be aware you might go busto.

Im not really sure how it changes anything. Unless there is a massive more online to one of the other providers there is little point moving away from rapidshare.
                                                                                                    I had been thinking about moving to a different provider for the last 6 months or so, i basically have unlimted download with UPC and a savage connection and one of the other provider seems to offer a bigger share for around the same price of rapidshare, ive been with rapidshare for a couple of years now and as i said i will see how these new points play out for awhile before i make my final decision.

^^^^^ Is completely correct but I can never understand why professional sports people who have litterally earned multiple millions need to be concerned about that.

I reckon I could comfortably retire on €1m and maybe even less, and I know their expectations are higher and they've cut their cloth accordingly, but for someone like Fed who is reported to be worth around $150m already....

How much money can you actually spend in a lifetime?
                                                                                                      Oh the innocence of those without Children

Anybody near Tallaght want some free money?

http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...358#post108358
                                                                                                          doesn't start till 8 though

I had been thinking about moving to a different provider for the last 6 months or so, i basically have unlimted download with UPC and a savage connection and one of the other provider seems to offer a bigger share for around the same price of rapidshare, ive been with rapidshare for a couple of years now and as i said i will see how these new points play out for awhile before i make my final decision.
                                                                                                            From a content availability point of view it is difficult to beat rapidshare.

Rapid share sucks man,why dont you use Usenet.much faster than RS .you can get an unlimited usenet server for about 15euro a month and it always maxes out your internet pipe interms of speed.

From a content availability point of view it is difficult to beat rapidshare.
                                                                                                                Yeah they are very good but sometimes when i have gone to get stuff its not always there and takes awhile for it to become available while its there by a different provider.

Originally posted by Gholimoli View Post
                                                                                                                Rapid share sucks man,why dont you use Usenet.much faster than RS .you can get an unlimited usenet server for about 15euro a month and it always maxes out your internet pipe interms of speed.
                                                                                                                I remember we spoke about this at the table one night, just never really used it but might now, my connection gets maxed out by rapidshare.

Just after moving out of a rented house, and the landlord/estate agent is looking for 350 to deal with cleaning bills (15 quid an hour for x hours or whatever). We left the house in a reasonable state. I thought landlords were legally obliged to clean the house anyway after you leave? We actually left the place looking well FWIW.

I've rented a few times and I've never had anything taken out of the deposit (even if I thought there should have been!)

Any advice on whether we are entitled to our 350 or not?

Jaysus, terrible leave by Tsonga.

Pleasing leave.

Oh the innocence of those without Children
                                                                                                                        Massive assumption there my friend

My son will be 17 next month, so I've a fair inkling of costs associated!

but it's a completely valid point. Decisions around retirement costs and timings etc are obv completely dependant on family situation and the cost of kids is ridiculously high over a period of 20 years or so.
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Iago; 30-06-10, 16:53.

watching that spike lee documentary on kobe, jesus i know fuck all about basketball.