Originally posted by mewso View Post
    I've been asked to come out of retirement and mod the boards poker forum. I have given them a provisional refusal as I don't see it being anything like it was but thought I would ask folks. What do ye think?
    Can't they just get a scarecrow to mod it these days?

fck it, a months enough - off to the pub
        TR when you get back, in particular how you get on with the smokes!!!

Unless you are the big lebowski, then stop with the dudes after college imo

Especially given his father's background, and 'the incident', there is a fair likelihood that he is an anti-semetic holocaust-denying c*** - i don't think he gets to say "it's been four years, forget about it already"... You put yourself in that situation then you are in penance for a long time imo. I'm saying all this as someone who loves the man's films.
          Nah, I think older people giving the younger ones the middle finger is kinda cool. Why should people conform to society's idea as to how a person should act as the years move on, the minute you start that mode of thinking then you are definitely old and most likely before your time. His anti-jew stance does seem a bit inappropriate irrespective of his age. I say that as someone who think his movies were meh, the 1st Lethal weapon was very good though.

Yeah I will probably stick with my decision to refuse. It's not easy to see something you started go elsewhere but I did leave it behind for good reasons that haven't really changed. I just feel it will become what boards want it to be now which is what we avoided for so long. They are trying to keep it going but I predict it will end up like the Unreal forum (seeing as you mention it) with a sticky saying go here ->

Read this aswell:

Consumer Kids just arrived for me yesterday and made for some great reading during the hour(!) that I waited for my food in the bar last night. There's also a lot of crossover with other books that I'm reading at the moment, one of which is "A Mind of Its Own" by Cordelia Fine which focuses on how our brain twists facts so we don't bruise our ego. It looks to be full of interesing points of view and it reads much easier than an academic paper. Will pick up Branded as well when the pile of books runs dry.

I've been asked to come out of retirement and mod the boards poker forum. I have given them a provisional refusal as I don't see it being anything like it was but thought I would ask folks. What do ye think?
                I think it's a great idea
                whistles innocently

Up to you Muso, but I'd offer you one thing to think about before you make up your mind, remember the Live Tourney forum, I can't remember if it was as big back in your day, but it gave Dom, Lloyd and Kev lots of work, me and Laf rarely went near the place, and the chances of Laf going near it is slim... most if not all work in modding Poker these days would be in there and if you're not naturally into that, then bleuch!!

Other than that it's upto yourself really, you started the forum and I'm sure you have deep feelings for the place. I would advise you having a good long chat with Dev/Laf/r3n/Silverfish etc. about the place and what they expect. I'm not sure if you've kept an eye on the mod forum the last few months/ years, but modding is a different beast to what it used to be (no disrespect to the sterling job you do in Unreal ). Us leaving along with all the other resignations might help change it slightly, but more than likely it'll be back to normal in 6 months, but I'd find out what they expect from you beforehand.

PM me if you have anything specific you were wondering about.
                Aye, I suggested that mewso talk to you and the lads (although by 'lads' I actually meant the former Poker Mods, not the entire IPB userbase but all opinions welcome, most are former boardsie poker forum users anyway)

Seriously mewso, have a think, see if you think you could rebuild it, make suggestions for changes etc, I'm open to all suggestions and would gladly put those suggestions to the Admins with you...

/Also, still loving the BBV thread, now that I'm registered I'll probably lurk in here more often

Yeah I will probably stick with my decision to refuse. It's not easy to see something you started go elsewhere but I did leave it behind for good reasons that haven't really changed. I just feel it will become what boards want it to be now which is what we avoided for so long. They are trying to keep it going but I predict it will end up like the Unreal forum (seeing as you mention it) with a sticky saying go here ->
                  I'd have thought you'd feel a part ownership of the community in this place though. So what if its not hosted on boards its still the same community.

IPB is the natural progression of what you helped build. The forum on boards will be a place for people wanting to discover the game who are already on boards and for promoters looking to get newbies into their games.

IPB is the place for all Irish poker players no matter what their experience with online forums etc. Its run by the poker community for the poker community. That is what is needed in the long run.

P.S. i like the sticky idea i wonder if we could get them to do that....

Originally posted by r3nu4l View Post
                    I think it's a great idea
                    whistles innocently

Aye, I suggested that mewso talk to you and the lads (although by 'lads' I actually meant the former Poker Mods, not the entire IPB userbase but all opinions welcome, most are former boardsie poker forum users anyway)

Seriously mewso, have a think, see if you think you could rebuild it, make suggestions for changes etc, I'm open to all suggestions and would gladly put those suggestions to the Admins with you...

/Also, still loving the BBV thread, now that I'm registered I'll probably lurk in here more often
                    What about those Jedwards eh ? ya gotta laugh you really really do.

Quick question while you are online!

Would it matter whether i got the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd edition of that psyc stats book you recommended last night?

Think the third ed is 2005 and first is from 1988, so theres a far bit of time difference. Just wondering if i need to spend the extra on the most recent edition.
                      +1,
                      I went to buy it today, thankfully the first trader wouldn't ship to ireland and i got sidetracked

Originally posted by mewso
                      like the Unreal forum (seeing as you mention it) with a sticky saying go here ->
                      Mewso for mod!!!
                      Don't lurk, post!!

In fairness to you, you've handled what happened better then anyone else on the boards side imo (and I include Dev in that statement). We must get you out for a game at some stage. Bring you over to the darkside entirely!!

Rooney IMO!
                          Rooney is to young IMO. He'd just go mad with the responsibility and take way to much on himself.

He's having his best season ever as a front man that doesn't have to run backwards.

So are we going to do this? nice of EL S to agree to escrow.
                            I'm in and will trust you and anyone else for it at the conclusion
                            Count me in for the 20 ... I'm going to try to get the Bok and the Frog that I'm working with here in too but I doubt that they will risk actual cash
                            [nsfw=chick from the real hustle] [/nsfw]
                            Ugh at the skanky tattoos

Originally posted by The_Chopper View Post
                              Rooney is to young IMO. He'd just go mad with the responsibility and take way to much on himself.

He's having his best season ever as a front man that doesn't have to run backwards.
                              OR it could be due to the extra responsibility being placed on him. I think he's by some distance Englands best player, he'll be the main reason if they succeed or fail, he's going to be captain at some stage, he's proven this season that he can, not only handle the pressure of huge expectations and responsibility, but strives under them. I think he's the definite choice for captain. Just because he's young (and he's not that young really!) doesn't mean he doesn't have buckets of experience, he has over 50 caps already and has been playing at the top level for 7 years. IMO there shouldn't even be a debate.

change strives to thrives and a good post, although Gerrard should really be captain, he dragged Liverpool by the scruff fn the neck in 2005. I suspect he has something in reserve for the WC.

Rooney is just incredible, playing him on the wing last year was astounding.

Wanking material, not marriage.

sheesh

Sitting a few seats beside me is a platoon of French reporters and everytime they come into the room, one of them takes a really wide line trying to get a glimpse of what I'm up to. I caught onto this and set my wallpaper to a crowd of people burning a French flag. I'm not the flavour of the room right at this moment.

"When I chose John Terry as captain, I also selected a vice-captain and also named a third choice. There is no reason to change this decision." - Capello

Rio's 2nd choice so him for captain? who was 3rd?

In fairness to you, you've handled what happened better then anyone else on the boards side imo (and I include Dev in that statement). We must get you out for a game at some stage. Bring you over to the darkside entirely!!
                                        Ha ha, you really don't want me playing poker...as I said to Ste and mewso, Snap I can handle. Maybe a game of 25's if I'm shown how to play it again but Poker...I'm so amateur that even five-year-olds could take me down!*

*Hmm, probably means that now I'll be asked to lots of games...so long as I bring my wallet

Originally posted by AdMMM View Post
                                          Sitting a few seats beside me is a platoon of French reporters and everytime they come into the room, one of them takes a really wide line trying to get a glimpse of what I'm up to. I caught onto this and set my wallpaper to a crowd of people burning a French flag. I'm not the flavour of the room right at this moment.
                                          get them signing up to Irishpokerboards pls.

Having them on board for the IPBSOP would be +EV surely

change strives to thrives and a good post,
                                            Solksjaer the grammar/spelling/thesaurus/dictionary nazi1!!

-EV for the mods though who'll find themselves spending a lot of time on Google Translate trying to make heads and tails of their posts!

Count me in for the 20 ... I'm going to try to get the Bok and the Frog that I'm working with here in too but I doubt that they will risk actual cash

Right so anyone who signs into the private league is in for 20. Can we make it 20 euro so that I can just hand over the cash to the winner (if I need to)?

Originally posted by AdMMM View Post
                                                  -EV for the mods though who'll find themselves spending a lot of time on Google Translate trying to make heads and tails of their posts!
                                                  New Google chrome beta has Google translate built into it (as an addon)

Pretty handy

Solksjaer the grammar/spelling/thesaurus/dictionary nazi1!!
                                                    time for this agian

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8fbrUjjivw"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8fbrUjjivw[/ame]

IDK, I seem to have developed some sort of tattoo fetish over the last few years, I kinda like them nowadays, whereas in the past I'd have been madly against them!! Maybe I should think of changing my IPP *

* Internet Porn Provider

Poor EBJT

Classic Fiver today

TERRY CUT ASIDE BY CAPELLO

England's Brave John Terry has been dropped as captain of England after a 12-minute meeting at Wembley with Fabio Capello today.

"After much thought, I have made the decision that it will be best for me to take the captaincy away from [EBJT]," Capello said in a statement released by the FA this afternoon.

"As a captain with the team, [EBJT] has displayed extremely positive behaviour. However, I have to take into account other considerations and what is best for all of the England squad. What is best for all of the England team has inspired my choice. [EBJT] was notified first."

It appears that Rio Ferdinand may be Capello's choice to replace Terry, with the Italian adding: "When I chose [EBJT] as captain, I also selected a vice-captain and also named a third choice. There is no reason to change this decision.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the FA, particularly Lord David Triesman and Ian Watmore, for allowing me to make this decision in my own time and in the best interest of the team."

The defender met the England manager at Wembley Stadium this afternoon to discuss his role with the national side following the allegations that have surfaced regarding his private life and, specifically, a supposed relationship with the ex-girlfriend of Terry's former Chelsea team-mate Wayne Bridge.

MEANWHILE ON MERSEYSIDE ...

The tedious palaver surrounding the off-field farce starring assorted Chelsea players has got the Fiver pining wistfully for the sepia-tinted days of a few weeks ago, when a daily football email could focus on the tedious palaver surrounding the on-field farce starring assorted Liverpool players. The Fiver likes to focus on the important things in life and dislikes being distracted by thoughts of England's Brave John Terry doing the four-legged boogie vibe that keep infiltrating our head.

The mind of Liverpool midfielder and rhyme-buster>Ryan Babel [http://guardian.chtah.com/a/tBLbEuMAY30QpAe9jDFAwle$VtR/fvr17] has also been clouded of late, but not by preposterous images of a spiky-haired Barking boy sitting down with an elderly Italian to discuss the nitty gritty of his carnal curriculum vitae. "When people talk about players maybe leaving and it then gets into the head of the player they are talking about, it is not easy," said Rafa Benitez, referring to talk linking his Dutch winger with moves to Ajax and Birmingham City during the transfer window.

Liverpool take on Everton at Anfield tomorrow in a match many are billing as the 213th Merseyside derby, where victory for either side will hand their supporters the all important city "bragging rights", a factor Everton loan signing Landycakes Donovan is all too aware of. ""I have actually played at Anfield before for Bayern Munich in [Big Cup]," said Donovan, harking back to a personal performance that was so nightmarishly inept that he'd probably be better off pretending it didn't happen. "It's pretty clear in this city you're either on one side or the other. There's no middle ground and a lot of the guys here have explained what it's going to be like."

Meanwhile at Anfield, local lad Jamie Carragher has worked himself into such a state over tomorrow's big game that he's resorting to drug use to help calm his nerves. "I struggle to sleep before most big games but this one is the worst," he aye-ayed. "Mind you, it's nothing a sleeping pill won't sort out!" Should Jamie run out of pills, reading about the latest misadventures of England's Brave John Terry and chums down in Big London should have a similarly soporific effect.

Shush you on the tattoos

just googled for this site and came across another irish poker site with really advanced tournament strategic play, think i`ll have to jump ship!

my favourite part is to avoid beginners online

Mewso - It seems you have made up your mind anyhow, and I remember chatting to you about the poker forum stuff before in Vegas, but do whatever you think you need to do. I know Paul and Chris have accepted anyhow, whether that is from not wanting to see non poker people doing it or from a real desire to do it, I'm not sure, so if you do it at least it will be lads you know anyhow.

Either way obviously we'd like you to stick around here anyhow.

Originally posted by nuxxx View Post
                                                                  just googled for this site and came across another irish poker site with really advanced tournament strategic play, think i`ll have to jump ship!

my favourite part is to avoid beginners online
                                                                  the most replied to thread is "what drink makes poker more interesting"

Worse then "Bad Beat/Moan/Venting Thread - Whispering your mother's name in your ear "??

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVogg_0Hhus&feature=player_embedded[/ame]

Quick poker question, what is a standard vs3bet call%. I had thought mine was very low but I checked and its higher than I expected.

Last edited by Fuzzy Logic; 05-02-10, 18:36.

I know it's been mentioned a few times on this and the old thread, but The America's Game documentaries are the best sporting programmes ever made.

Just watched three today, finishing in the 2003 Patriots. All superb, however none as good as my favourite, the missing rings of the 89 Vikings.

Anyone know where I can download any I haven't seen?

Note to self;

when you run at 55bbs/100 over a 4k sample, don't pick the next 4k hands to try "add new things to your game".

Is it a rip off ? Maybe a tribute ? Maybe i am the only one that sees it ? ?

Check out the online version, page 87, article on Ultan Conlon.

Quick poker question, what is a standard vs3bet call%. I had thought mine was very low but I checked and its higher than I expected.
                                                                                      mine is 26%. Dont know whats standard

200 more Irish troops to Chad. Most shocking waste of money imo. Costs comes from the defence budget - how is this to do with Irish defence? At the very least take the funding costs out of the Irish overseas aid budget. We'd cut a few hundred million out of the defence budget if we stopped this nonsense of trying to be part of some european super army.
                                                                                        what's the budget for defence this year? 1.1 billion or something?

I know Paul and Chris have accepted anyhow, whether that is from not wanting to see non poker people doing it or from a real desire to do it, I'm not sure, so if you do it at least it will be lads you know anyhow.
                                                                                          I can confirm that we (and most certainly I) wanted to make sure that anyone who modded the forum knew the forum, knew the game and knew the regulars. We always knew it would be tough to find people to say 'yes' exactly because people would feel as though they were somehow letting you guys down or 'deserting the cause'.
                                                                                          That's fair enough and I can understand that...but we do need some mods over there and who better than people who were a part of the community and who have mod experience already...
                                                                                          Strange enough question, but: do you know why i know things about you?!!!

I'm fairly certain you are something to do with some maths job in cambridge, but have no idea why i know this...

Think it might have been a few years ago, investment forum? tcd forum?, my old username Roundtower2. Any of that ring a bell?!
                                                                                          Wow!! That's going back a while. Yup I remember that, I'd no idea you and Roundtower2 were the same person I often wondered where he had gone, nice chap! Yeah, we exchanged a few PMs about that job in Cambridge iirc. Anything ever come of it?

Mewso Boards Mod

I'm from the lazy school, where I ask the question "why would anyone become a mod?".
                                                                                            Then I think about it and I say "if no-one becomes a mod, then there wouldn't be a site in the first place". Its a bit like managing kids at football or organising the social club at work -everyone should do it once.

Anyway, not sure what I am trying to say, but if you decide to mod the old forum Brian, then I'm sure you know you'd have 100% support from all on here and might even build a bridge or two.

Whatever decision you make, should (and hopefully will) be respected on both sites.

Surely your 3bet call % will depend a whole lot on your PFR? No?

I can confirm that we (and most certainly I) wanted to make sure that anyone who modded the forum knew the forum, knew the game and knew the regulars. We always knew it would be tough to find people to say 'yes' exactly because people would feel as though they were somehow letting you guys down or 'deserting the cause'.
                                                                                                  That's fair enough and I can understand that...but we do need some mods over there and who better than people who were a part of the community and who have mod experience already...
                                                                                                  I was talking from their POV as I knew what way ye were going with it anyhow.

500 one click (premium account) movies added to cousins

Happy birthday Dad.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFwSsqkQiBY[/ame]

Originally posted by Fuzzy Logic View Post
                                                                                                          Did girl 10 eat girl 5 mid jump too????

^^ Quality spot there TG.

Right so anyone who signs into the private league is in for 20. Can we make it 20 euro so that I can just hand over the cash to the winner (if I need to)?
                                                                                                              LOL @ my selections No Welsh and Loads of scots and Italians. It starts out easy but becomes like hard work pretty quickly, I'll donate nevertheless.

200 more Irish troops to Chad. Most shocking waste of money imo. Costs comes from the defence budget - how is this to do with Irish defence? At the very least take the funding costs out of the Irish overseas aid budget. We'd cut a few hundred million out of the defence budget if we stopped this nonsense of trying to be part of some european super army.
                                                                                                              Isn't there some arrangement where we get it all back from the UN

Not too keen on airing my thoughts on it but I'd be surprised if boards poker forum survives at any level of usefulness. Pity we can't have the archive of what many of us created here.

Fuck you FTP

Got caught in a proper tropical thunderstorm today, by far the loudest thunder I've ever heard. I had to get just up the road but after maybe 20M I was soaked right through in that time so all there was to do was keep walking and singing in the rain. Of course to me it felt like a warm shower all the locals think its icy because it dips down to 20 C during the rain.

More of the great Guy Clarke
                                                                                                                    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFlTQoKQgZg&feature=related[/ame]

Stolen this from twoplustwo, but 37 seconds in, if that isn't Tom Dwans mother...

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNT7uZf7lew[/ame]

That's a crazy swing, Emmet. Good luck rebuilding.

Stolen this from twoplustwo, but 37 seconds in, if that isn't Tom Dwans mother...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNT7uZf7lew
                                                                                                                          When my mum bought me my very first walkman my best mates big brother made me a tape from in 9in single collection and this was one of the tunes.

This was my fav track on that though, and always brings back memories of motoring around on my bmx with my mates whenever I hear it.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSGvqjVHik8[/ame]

Edit: An honourable mention must go to this long forgotten tune, also on my first mix tape.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAQSZhazYk8[/ame]
                                                                                                                          Last edited by dannydiamond; 05-02-10, 22:04.