Does anyone know anything about the Guardians Secret footballer?

I know Ive linked an article here before. The more I read the stuff on the site the more I think its completely fake. Reads and comes across to me like some hack has invented this character and is running away with it.

Originally posted by DJKendo View Post
      classic. i remember this happening to a friend of mine in a pub.

I know Ive linked an article here before. The more I read the stuff on the site the more I think its completely fake. Reads and comes across to me like some hack has invented this character and is running away with it.
        I've heard conflicting stories that it is a number of footballers, or Danny Murphy.

What? What's this about?

Also I asked this yesterday or late last night:

Anyone know anything about the round the world plane tickets you can buy?
            How long they last, how much they should cost, etc..

Rohan Ricketts imo

Also I asked this yesterday or late last night:

Anyone know anything about the round the world plane tickets you can buy?
                How long they last, how much they should cost, etc..
                Trailfinders to them in the 1100-1400 euro range, loadsa stopovers, seems like good value. I've never compared but i'd imagine if you looked at USIT or googled a bit you'd find something to compare it to.

Originally posted by EnzoScifo View Post
                  What a day planned. Limerick to Dublin with my 7 year old, McDonalds, Pirates of the Caribbean, Pub and then Europa League final, yipeeeeeeeee.
                  First stop Moneygall. New roads, painted houses, 100 US and Irish flags side by side. About 40 workers in the town. All hail the real live new town Lego set before my eyes.

Passing up towards O Connell St today was surreal, no cars, nobody allowed to cross the street until the Queen passed. Then, a mass tide as the barriers were removed, it was like a scene from Day Of The Dead or something to that effect.

Worst of the Pirate films IMO.

Shite 2nd half once Porto scored.

Thanks fuck he had his communion last weekend and insisted on spending his money. He now has a Champions League Final Ball, New Barca Tracksuit as well as a Europa League Hat, Scarf, T Shirt and Programme. I would hate to be sitting next to him in school later.

Me and a mate went through each article before, had a list of evidence to match it against. No closer to it though.

Sol Campbell was mentioned. He fit some of our criteria for sure. Now that I think of it, Danny Murphy makes sense too...

I do think its all made up though.

What? What's this about?
                      Here: Interesting articles. some of them anyway.

The Guardian's man inside the game lifts the lid on the world of football

Me and a mate went through each article before, had a list of evidence to match it against. No closer to it though.

Sol Campbell was mentioned. He fit some of our criteria for sure. Now that I think of it, Danny Murphy makes sense too...

Rohan Ricketts about 10 months ago was always tweeting Sean Ingle and asking him to look at a idea he had to get articles published. He fancies himself as a journo too. The Secret Footballers tweets are similar to Ricketts ones too.

Adds up too:

I think our evidence list was:

Played/Trained in a squad with a lot of french players.
                          Is homosexual friendly, may have played/trained with one.
                          Hates United.
                          Loves Harry Redknapp.
                          May be an attacking player, someone with experience of confidence issues.
                          Well educated.
                          Hates pundits.

Pretty sure we had more but thats all I can think off the top of my head: Ricketts fits that bill pretty well actually.

Adds up too:

I think our evidence list was:

Played/Trained in a squad with a lot of french players.
                            Is homosexual friendly, may have played/trained with one.
                            Hates United.
                            Loves Harry Redknapp.
                            May be an attacking player, someone with experience of confidence issues.
                            Well educated.
                            Hates pundits.

Pretty sure we had more but thats all I can think off the top of my head: Ricketts fits that bill pretty well actually.
                            I just remember seeing him shite on about ideas on twitter to Guardian folk and he has a blog or something. He would tick all those boxes too probably. Has been all over the place so I'd imagine to pass time he got into this. He worked with Canadian broadcasters. Seems to be not stupid. Similar tweets to TSF.

I havn't seen him mentioned but I am convinced.

Holy Jaysus

[NSFW="NSFW"][/NSFW]
                                Thank you for that

Shay Given was in Coppers, I offered him a shot of the woman I was with for a handshake, but her burnt her like a witch at the stake. He shook my hand anyway which left me in a state, either

A) He thought the yoke was wrecked and he shook my hand as a pity shake
                                  B) He thought he'd cross a line gobbing her for the sake of a handshake.

I'm confused enough to wish he had've just taken her home, just to avoid the gay fight we had in Ray's pizza when she gave out to me for not wanting to head home to hers.

Shay Given was in Coppers, I offered him a shot of the woman I was with for a handshake, but her burnt her like a witch at the stake. He shook my hand anyway which left me in a state, either

I'm confused enough to wish he had've just taken her home, just to avoid the gay fight we had in Ray's pizza when she gave out to me for not wanting to head home to hers.

A

A
                                        B

also met the ex in Coppers, fml. I hate that place so much, and I swear every time not to go. She doesn't drink, never has, so its always bizarre bumpin into her there. In the temple of Irish alcoholics.

Had some serious drunken chats with her, her being sober is a blow.

May have to pray she'll meet up with me during the week for the chats now, to fix whatever damage tonight did.

ah bollox, is the queen still around on Thursday? Gotta be up driving in 3 hours.. FMLFMLLFMLFMLFMFLMF

also, the girl I was with had serious evils for the ex, who hadn't a clue who the girl I was with was. BITCHES be ABSO Crazy imo.

ALSO< got a call looking for some green green grass of home, if anyone knows here I could get my hands on some, do PM. Sods of turf not necesssary, smallers sections fin
                                          Last edited by Emmet; 19-05-11, 03:49.

Mo you mess! Least your over the stress imo.

fuck off steve

(K.... is pissed at me, I'm not sure why, any clues????)

I meant the exam stress. Not KarenB stress.

KarenO stress, KarenB stress is Beaks'.

KarenB is graaaand sure, no stress, just some craic for Me!

Whatever. Point still stands.

grand, night

I will give you guys some space.

KarenO stress, KarenB stress is Beaks'.

KarenB is graaaand sure, no stress, just some craic for Me!
                                                          Actually, back to this. Was one of the birds tonight Trashers?

Originally posted by colquhom View Post
                                                            Trailfinders to them in the 1100-1400 euro range, loadsa stopovers, seems like good value. I've never compared but i'd imagine if you looked at USIT or googled a bit you'd find something to compare it to.
                                                            Yeah was just hoping someone knew more about them cos googling it get so many results, most of which are spammy it's hard to filter out the bs

I doubt its made up (could be though), and I would wager that if its real they have gone to some trouble to cover their tracks, so a lot of the names/events will be deliberately misleading.

Betting on who will succeed Dominique Strauss-Kahn:

http://www.economist.com/blogs/daily...ebettingbegins
                                                                thanks SHD

there's a standout bet there already

What We Know from the article on 12 May 2012: In a season where he got relegated from the Premiership on the final day, it was with 5 minutes to go in the game that his team groaned due to a goal g…

bastards have pulled the market

dglnwo[gnwo[bnfo[bn[EBN BAEOPGBN]PEMBDLLDLghnanfkqkdfj

Most of those clues would lead to Lampard.

Rohan Ricketts is one of the worst football analysts on Twitter and thats saying something. He's worse than Xavi with his ridiculous utopian views of the game, but unlike Xavi he's completely average at the game. He just continually blames everyone else for the fact his career has fallen apart and how his true ability hasn't been recognised and that he's playing in the Yugoslav Division 8 or wherever the f*ck he's ended up now. No it's not, you just weren't very good you delusional tw*t.

I very much doubt he's the secret footballer as he wouldn't be able to get through a column without moaning about some club who let him go, or pimping himself out as if he still had any future in the top levels of the game.

PP still have it, who am I betting on?

Why do you think Weber is so hot for it?

you forgot option c)

Shea Given can soul read and knows when bitches be crazy yo.

wait, hold up.... you turned down a lady so you could go home and post on the internet about meeting Shea Given?

Why do you think Weber is so hot for it?
                                                                                    I don't.

PP still have it, who am I betting on?
                                                                                      PP's oddsmakers have obviously been told not to fuck up again

that's about the worst value market I've ever seen. Hills was great, top six had no chance.

Who was the standout?

I was looking at the deputy head at 10-1

I don't.
                                                                                          They are never going to let Brown have it are they

I assume its Lagarde, 16/1 in the original Hills Market, 8/11 with Paddys.

They are never going to let Brown have it are they
                                                                                              there's more chance of Bertie getting it

Very sad to hear of the passing of Dr Garret Fitzgerald. RIP.

Why do the French own the role?

the only one in the PP market that's of interest at those prices is Tharman Unpronounceable (the Singaporean dude) @ 33/1

actually it's a great price if you think the IMF might go for a major realignment this time around, highly unlikely though given the European situation.

fu Hills

Very sad to hear of the passing of Dr Garret Fitzgerald. RIP.
                                                                                                        Even sadder that we as a Nation preferred Charlie Haughy and the traitorous scum of Fianna Fail for most his career.

My Favourite bit on the radio this morning was the quote that when he left Aer Lingus after working there as an economist for ten years that they replaced him with 'Four managers and two computers'.
                                                                                                        We'll never see his likes again.
                                                                                                        Last edited by Strewelpeter; 19-05-11, 09:59.

Yeah was just hoping someone knew more about them cos googling it get so many results, most of which are spammy it's hard to filter out the bs
                                                                                                          This might seem obvious but athread on the boards travel forum or even a search on it could result in some decent info.

Even sadder that we as a Nation preferred Charlie Haughy and the traitorous scum of Fianna Fail for most his career.

My Favourite bit on the radio this morning was the quote that when he left Aer Lingus after working their as an economist for ten years that they replaced him with 'Four managers and two computers'.
                                                                                                            We'll never see his likes again.
                                                                                                            I don't think we have had a decent Taoiseach since he was in office and I'm including the current one.

Hills have updated their prices

what a load of unmitigated bullshit

Lagarde now 6/4 from, eh, 14/1.

Tharman now 8/1 on Hills, 40/1 on PP. He is the leading Asian contender imo (the Indian guy is too old).

can someone with a PP online account check how much you can get on him? I'm guessing maybe a fiver
                                                                                                              Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 19-05-11, 09:56.

thats just wrong but funny

Tharman now 8/1 on Hills, 40/1 on PP. He is the leading Asian contender imo (the Indian guy is too old).

can someone with a PP online account check how much you can get on him? I'm guessing maybe a fiver
                                                                                                                  Tenner here

Could the Secret Footballer not be Michael Carrick, seems to fit the bill on most points.

Nobody from outside of Europe has ever had the job. The UK is one of the most powerful members and have never had the job. Would Gordon Brown not be a good bet?

Queen mania has reached ridiculous levels here. I walked in this morning to fin them unwrapping a life sized stature of Queen Victoria in the lobby.

Nobody from outside of Europe has ever had the job.
                                                                                                                          I know, that's why the original 14/1 Lagarde seemed too good to be true

There is a push for change within the IMF but, given the unstable situation, it's probably not the right time

The UK is one of the most powerful members and have never had the job. Would Gordon Brown not be a good bet?
                                                                                                                          no, the UK government will block him