Just through up some steaks for tonights busto Turbo scoop in staking thread. BBV applicants welcome
    Sweet, ship to my account rebelmonty1984 please

Originally posted by daire View Post

p=probability
      n=total number of trials
      k=successful trials

I might have mixed n and k up there but that should work.
      twice= 0.00003696012288
      Last edited by Zod; 17-05-11, 16:25.

Coppers must no longer be the night club of choice amongst members of a certain institution anymore.

Been watching too much arrested development and all I can think of is HOTCOPS!

The local casino where i used work is under new management. It is so funny these days i should state ive nothing against the place and wanted to leave that type of work. I have to post some of there promotions.

€15 rebuy scalps game where all the €15 is a scalp and rebuys count towards prizepool oh yes and the gem was 15k stack if you reg through facebook 7k if you dont

Or there couples promo where if your a couple you get 45+10 entry but if your single its 35+5. This would be fine if they made up the balance but here was there response when someone questioned them.

Was gonna play tonight, just curious as to whether the casino is adding the €25 for the discounted players, If not I think Ill give it a miss.
            sorry guys but we do not do add-ons but at the same time we do not have "ghost" players
            There 20k starting stack rebuy looked fun aswell ( normal blinds )

Also i heard that the manager stopped the clock because of players been shortstacked the when 1 player got knocked out skipped the next level alltogether.

So funny felt it had to be shared.

Today I went to the Estate Agents which I am labored with in order to sign a renewed lease...
              On the phone last week the owner abruptly told me that the guy I usually deal with had 'left' and we had a bit of an argument as he was being such a prick.

When I arrived, the owner was sitting at one of the three desks, I'm pretty sure he no longer has staff.
              He was having a forced conversation on the phone with his wife, asking banal question after question, I think about his kid. It wasn't the content that stuck me, it was his tone, you can tell when someone is really really trying hard to kill time. It was obvious to me that he had nothing to be doing and that the conversation was providing him with some small comfort.
              He stayed on the phone for a minute or two in the vain hope that this wouldn't be so transparent.

The whole place had an overwhelming stench of fail about it.
              He looked a broken man, missing was the usual arrogance and aggression, replaced by the spirit of Old Gil.
              It looks like he quit shaving a few weeks ago. The whiteboards looked distinctly neglected.

He told me to take a seat from one of the other desks, that seat had an ESB DEMAND letter on it which I moved it on to the desk behind before I sat down, I'm not sure he even noticed.
              Obviously he has received many of these letters seeing as the novelty has warn off and he isn't even bothering to put them out of sight.

So down to brass tacks, the rent is due in a few days, the standing order I sign (have to keep reminding him of the new agreed rent) won't take affect till next month (so he tells me). He asks can I pay this months in cash now.
              I tell him I don't have a months rent in cash on me right now... ...but I can do a one off transfer tonight or tomorrow to the landlady.
              He nods in agreement, then changes tact and tells me to send it to 'his account', he gives me the company's bank account number.
              I suggest it might be simpler if I just sent it to the landlady's account, he mumbles something about invoicing and it being easier this way.

Should I be concerned?
              Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 17-05-11, 17:44.

Can anyone help me, I have to write a short essay/article which is basically a cliff notes version of a longer article. We have to reference the original article and I don't know the correct way to do it. Do I just put "(ref. 1)" at the end of each paragraph and then at the end put "Ref. 1 - Thompson, K. (2003) ‘Fantasy, franchises, and Frodo Baggins: The Lord of the Rings and modern Hollywood’, The Velvet Light Trap, vol. 52, no. 3, pp. 45–63."

Ugh having a retarded moment:

If the probability of something happens is 1/1000, what the probability that it will happen in 80 trials, and will happen twice in 80 trials?...ty

afair prob of it happening once is 0.92 to the power of 80?
                  Probability it will happen at least once in 80 trials is the same as (1 - Probability it won't happen once in 80 trials)

Probability it wont happen once in 1 trial is (1-1/1000) = 0.999
                  Probability it wont happen once in 80 trials is 0.999^80

Probability of it happening at least once in 80 trials = 1 - 0.999^80 = 0.076920602162663759127072833936023572453925106238 878556640

Probability of it happening at least twice in 80 trials is the same as the probability of it happening at least once in 80 trials, minus the probability that it happens exactly once in 80 trials.

The local casino where i used work is under new management. It is so funny these days i should state ive nothing against the place and wanted to leave that type of work. I have to post some of there promotions.

€15 rebuy scalps game where all the €15 is a scalp and rebuys count towards prizepool oh yes and the gem was 15k stack if you reg through facebook 7k if you dont

Or there couples promo where if your a couple you get 45+10 entry but if your single its 35+5. This would be fine if they made up the balance but here was there response when someone questioned them.

There 20k starting stack rebuy looked fun aswell ( normal blinds )

Also i heard that the manager stopped the clock because of players been shortstacked the when 1 player got knocked out skipped the next level alltogether.

So funny felt it had to be shared.
                    Might be value there. How do they know if you are a real couple or not.

57 decimal places? At least try and come up with something more than a rough guess ffs

Today I went to the Estate Agents which I am labored with in order to sign a renewed lease...
                        On the phone last week the owner abruptly told me that the guy I usually deal with had 'left' and we had a bit of an argument as he was being such a prick.

When I arrived, the owner was sitting at one of the three desks, I'm pretty sure he no longer has staff.
                        He was having a forced conversation on the phone with his wife, asking banal question after question, I think about his kid. It wasn't the content that stuck me, it was his tone, you can tell when someone is really really trying hard to kill time. It was obvious to me that he had nothing to be doing and that the conversation was providing him with some small comfort.
                        He stayed on the phone for a minute or two in the vain hope that this wouldn't be so transparent.

The whole place had an overwhelming stench of fail about it.
                        He looked a broken man, missing was the usual arrogance and aggression, replaced by the spirit of Old Gil.
                        It looks like he quit shaving a few weeks ago. The whiteboards looked distinctly neglected.

He told me to take a seat from one of the other desks, that seat had an ESB DEMAND letter on it which I moved it on to the desk behind before I sat down, I'm not sure he even noticed.
                        Obviously he has received many of these letters seeing as the novelty has warn off and he isn't even bothering to put them out of sight.

So down to brass tacks, the rent is due in a few days, the standing order I sign (have to keep reminding him of the new agreed rent) won't take affect till next month (so he tells me). He asks can I pay this months in cash now.
                        I tell him I don't have a months rent in cash on me right now... ...but I can do a one off transfer tonight or tomorrow to the landlady.
                        He nods in agreement, then changes tact and tells me to send it to 'his account', he gives me the company's bank account number.
                        I suggest it might be simpler if I just sent it to the landlady's account, he mumbles something about invoicing and it being easier this way.

Should I be concerned?
                        eh fuck yes, dont get tangled into this mess or you could very well find yourself out of pocket a months rent.

Check out your old lease and get the contact details of the landlady herself if you can & let her know yer man wants in paid into his company account

Originally posted by Donkathon View Post
                          eh fuck yes, dont get tangled into this mess or you could very well find yourself out of pocket a months rent.

Check out your old lease and get the contact details of the landlady herself if you can & let her know yer man wants in paid into his company account
                          I'm caught between a rock and a hard place.

I have zero contact details for the landlady, I know her name.
                          The main job of estate agents in my experience is to keep you away from the landlord/landlady so the two of you never have any communication.

57 decimal places? At least try and come up with something more than a rough guess ffs
                            the next digit is a 3

Btw, the chance of it happening exactly once is given by the binomial formula above.

essentially, its the probability 79 fails and once success, times the amount of ways that that can come about.
                            Last edited by Emmet; 17-05-11, 18:08.

The main job of estate agents in my experience is to keep you away from the landlord/landlady so the two of you never have any communication.
                              Seems like continuing to use the payment details you have been using is the path of least resistance.

I just signed my new lease there the weekend & the lease is between myself & the landlord, has his full name current address & phone number on it. the agents are just that agents working for the landlord. your lease isnt directly with the agents they dont own the property the landlord does.

I'd personally explain to the estate agent that you are not comfrtable paying the rent directly to the company and politely ask for contact details of the landlord to which you explain to the agent you just want to confirm it is ok with the owner of the property.

If this guy is going under as you explained i wouldn't be handing over a penny without consent of the property owner in writing.

If he goes belly up next week & disapears & said nothing to the owner about you paying this month your out of pocket in all probability for good

Seems like continuing to use the payment details you have been using is the path of least resistance.
                                  Well that standing order has come to a close.
                                  If I ship to the landlady direct, the estate agent is likely to flip out at me for ignoring his request.

Well that standing order has come to a close.
                                    If I ship to the landlady direct, the estate agent is likely to flip out at me for ignoring his request.
                                    I reckon I could live with the estate agent flipping out if I didn't lose a month's rent.

Is Corkman on the soccer forum a massive level?
                                      Yeah he's another of these low-level trolls.

I'm on a reverso mission at the moment.
                                      At first I thought so, but he is from Cork...

In all seriousness I've long since assumed he's just a kid. If not, for his sake, I hope it's a level...
                                      I think he's serious with everything he posts but he's just not very smart.

I just signed my new lease there the weekend & the lease is between myself & the landlord, has his full name current address & phone number on it. the agents are just that agents working for the landlord. your lease isnt directly with the agents they dont own the property the landlord does.

I'd personally explain to the estate agent that you are not comfrtable paying the rent directly to the company and politely ask for contact details of the landlord to which you explain to the agent you just want to confirm it is ok with the owner of the property.

If this guy is going under as you explained i wouldn't be handing over a penny without consent of the property owner in writing.

If he goes belly up next week & disapears & said nothing to the owner about you paying this month your out of pocket in all probability for good
                                        Isn't it pretty standard to hand over the first months rent+deposit in cash to the estate agent (I don't mean at renewal)? This was also the case with a prior estate agent I dealt with years ago.
                                        It's not untypical for them to handle cash.

The landlady lives overseas, think her mother/family live up north.

Isn't it pretty standard to hand over the first months rent+deposit in cash to the estate agent (I don't mean at renewal)? This was also the case with a prior estate agent I dealt with years ago.

True they do handle cash I paid my agents cash but I've always been given the contact details of the landlord before.

Has he event given you a new lease signed by the landlord?

True they do handle cash I paid my agents cash but I've always been given the contact details of the landlord before.

Has he event given you a new lease signed by the landlord?
                                            I'm not sure I did have the contact details of the landlord with the estate agent I deal with previously (few years ago).

No, he signs it. I was concerned about this last year and was told by the other guy who worked there (who was a decent skin) that this is fine. (I know he is not the ideal source).

Even the 'first schedule' which typically lists the properties contents is left empty.
                                            The guy obviously has his own lazy wankery way of doing things, but this is typical of my personal experiences with estate agents, I've never dealt with a decent one.

Might be wrong, but I'd imagine he will tell the landlady he cant get another tenant for a month or so and just pocket your rent for this month.

I would prob hand it over to him but insist on a receipt by email asap.

See some vids popping up from Explosions gig last night, was up the front at the right of the stage so hopefully the people recording there stick some up

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIISq8xhYN4[/ame]

Might be wrong, but I'd imagine he will tell the landlady he cant get another tenant for a month or so and just pocket your rent for this month.

I would prob hand it over to him but insist on a receipt by email asap.
                                                  I considered that but she would continue to get the rent afterwards in my name via bank transfer so that wouldn't work.

It's possible the guy isn't actually up to anything dodgy, I've just never trusted him and it's obvious the chips are down and so suspicion rises.

I considered that but she would continue to get the rent afterwards in my name via bank transfer so that wouldn't work.

It's possible the guy isn't actually up to anything dodgy, I've just never trusted him and it's obvious the chips are down and so suspicion rises.
                                                    Once you have proof of paying the rent I dont see where the problem is.

Long scores again for Reading

This guy was beyond close

Originally posted by turbobaby
                                                        Bet 1. returns 26k
                                                        Shane Long 2nd. PLACE
                                                        Dagenham relegation WIN
                                                        Rotherham promotion LOSE
                                                        Russia WC Group Winner TO RUN

Bet 1a - returns 2k
                                                        Shane Long 2nd. PLACE
                                                        Dagenham relegation WIN
                                                        Chesterfield promotion WIN
                                                        Russia WC Group Winner TO RUN

Bet 2. - returns 29k
                                                        Shane Long 2nd. PLACE
                                                        No Grand Slam WIN
                                                        Hamilton finish bottom WIN
                                                        Mumford and Sons Best Album WIN

Well, there we have it. Shane Long's goals dried up over the last month of the season. A big opportunity missed as Danny Graham's goals also dried up.

Hope to be back next season with a tasty accumulator or two.

I must say thanks to all who commented or just read the thread.

I may not have won the jackpot, but the bets served their first purpose in keeping me from lashing losing bets on every week. The slow reality of the bets losing also helped me avoid chasing which is the real killer for many gamblers.

Cheers!

Lads and in particular Ladies,

Any good tips for convincing the wife that poker isn't evil and won't result in the loss of everything we own?

Yes I am whipped!

Originally posted by Sodacake View Post

Any good tips for convincing the wife that poker isn't evil and won't result in the loss of everything we own?

Yes I am whipped!
                                                            Has she read The Secret?

See some vids popping up from Explosions gig last night, was up the front at the right of the stage so hopefully the people recording there stick some up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIISq8xhYN4
                                                              I was there myself.
                                                              What did you think of the gig? I thought it was excellent but a little bit short. I know they don't do encores so i was expecting at least 1hr 30. I felt a little bit short changed.

Copied from YLYL

Where the fuck is he off to with the ham??

> robbie keane

Yes I am whipped!
                                                                    Completely seperate poker bankroll where you use some winnings to pay for presents/holidays but never add to seems to be the done thing.

Yes I am whipped!
                                                                      Win a tourney!

Wimens suddenly have no problem with gambling when you're winning

for all the BBV pervs
                                                                        How to get free perving rights to match.com

Completely seperate poker bankroll where you use some winnings to pay for presents/holidays but never add to seems to be the done thing.
                                                                          The main problem is actually getting to play. Now I am by no means a fantastic player but I reckon I could hold my own at the lower levels. Lately I find that I am only getting to play Turbo tourneys which don't really suit my style and often develop into a crapshoot.

Even playing a home game once every 2 months where I have a definite edge (very social) is becoming a chore in terms of the crap you are listening to. I understand her fears and I have seen what gambling addiction does to people but I am definitely not heading down that road.
                                                                          I view the posts on this forum most days but feel like I can't contribute (hence the low amount of posts) as I am not playing regularly enough.
                                                                          I realise the time consuming nature of the game but surely an odd Tuesday or Wednesday night when there is feck all on T.V wouldn't do any harm.

Apologies for the rant.....

Yes I am whipped!
                                                                            any good tips re: same problem, I had an awful argument with my mother today, she really annoyed me.

I bit the bullet and gave her a bit of a lecture on how she knows i have no family up here in portlaoise and she never ever offers to babysit or help me out!

I explained how much i love poker , that i dont go up town to pubs etc that i prefer to play poker tournaments every 4/6 weeks ish and that i was starting to do pretty well.

she says in her opinion i have an addiction, i tried to explain that it wasnt like yrs ago when i played draw poker in the village pub, where it was cash on the table .

also tried to explain to her it was more of a sport, told it was on many tv channels bla bla, she didnt care, still said i have a problem

really fuckin annoyed me that she is not even willing to understand, i finished the conversation by saying " well when I win big, ill be looking after the people who have helped me out and no i do not regret what i said.

colm is gont to poland 9 months and not once did she offer to help out!

CHD suspiciously missing today
                                                                              Good haul today imo.

Is Corkman on the soccer forum a massive level?
                                                                              I reckon he is just really dumb.

The main problem is actually getting to play. Now I am by no means a fantastic player but I reckon I could hold my own at the lower levels. Lately I find that I am only getting to play Turbo tourneys which don't really suit my style and often develop into a crapshoot.

Even playing a home game once every 2 months where I have a definite edge (very social) is becoming a chore in terms of the crap you are listening to. I understand her fears and I have seen what gambling addiction does to people but I am definitely not heading down that road.
                                                                                I view the posts on this forum most days but feel like I can't contribute (hence the low amount of posts) as I am not playing regularly enough.
                                                                                I realise the time consuming nature of the game but surely an odd Tuesday or Wednesday night when there is feck all on T.V wouldn't do any harm.

strike a deal with her - she lets you play teh poker during the week and you bring her out at the weekend. Id try to negotiate the return of your balls when your at it

I was there myself.
                                                                                  What did you think of the gig? I thought it was excellent but a little bit short. I know they don't do encores so i was expecting at least 1hr 30. I felt a little bit short changed.
                                                                                  I thought it was really good, didnt mind the length usually get the 1hr15-20 out of them and they close on a barnstormer of a song. Like the way they closed the gig tho this time round. There was a slight issue with the sound going a bit funny when they really got into it but that may have been cos was near the speakers. I just think EITS are the nuts and cant do no wrong tho Still the best gig I was ever at was theirs in an old converted church in Amsterdam

Never apologise for a rant

any good tips re: same problem, I had an awful argument with my mother today, she really annoyed me.

I bit the bullet and gave her a bit of a lecture on how she knows i have no family up here in portlaoise and she never ever offers to babysit or help me out!

I explained how much i love poker , that i dont go up town to pubs etc that i prefer to play poker tournaments every 4/6 weeks ish and that i was starting to do pretty well.

she says in her opinion i have an addiction, i tried to explain that it wasnt like yrs ago when i played draw poker in the village pub, where it was cash on the table .

also tried to explain to her it was more of a sport, told it was on many tv channels bla bla, she didnt care, still said i have a problem

really fuckin annoyed me that she is not even willing to understand, i finished the conversation by saying " well when I win big, ill be looking after the people who have helped me out and no i do not regret what i said.

colm is gont to poland 9 months and not once did she offer to help out!
                                                                                      Thanks Michelle,

Some people refuse to accept that there is any sort of skill level in poker at all.
                                                                                      From what I have read over the past few weeks you seem to be doing pretty well. There is definitely plenty of people willing to buy % of you for the big events anyway

A good example of my current situation is as follows.
                                                                                      A group of us (9) at work have decided to put away a fiver each a week for about 15 weeks for the UKIPT Dublin (none of us have every played a big event before). We will then play a sit and go to see who gets to go but each member is still retain 7 or 8 % of any winnings. The response I got at home was " You better not be the one that wins" even though we are collecting enough to cover expenses also.

Do you live in Dublin, sodacake? There's plenty of 30-50 buyin tournaments on every night in the various casinos. You should just try play one of these every month. Just explain to your wife that your max spend is €35/whatever and it's less than you'd spend on a night out drinking.
                                                                                        Also, if all your friends are saving for the UKIPT and only one is playing, why don't you all just play a side event instead? At least all of you get to experience a proper event. You can still chop up and prize money if you want to do it that way.

I find a nice clean web of lies helps re teh pokies. My dad is solid horise punter and would say the same thing no matter what "broke even" Solid policy to adopt.

Thanks Michelle,

Some people refuse to accept that there is any sort of skill level in poker at all.
                                                                                            From what I have read over the past few weeks you seem to be doing pretty well. There is definitely plenty of people willing to buy % of you for the big events anyway

A group of us (9) at work have decided to put away a fiver each a week for about 15 weeks for the UKIPT Dublin (none of us have every played a big event before). We will then play a sit and go to see who gets to go but each member is still retain 7 or 8 % of any winnings. The response I got at home was " You better not be the one that wins" even though we are collecting enough to cover expenses also.
                                                                                            oh god thats just shitty! did you get her to watch ukipt on tv to show her it is a big deal?

how would she feel if you travelled daily to the event rather than stay there?

maybe its the social aspect thingy is annoying her too.

I found with my hubby when i won a few pound and just threw him some , he was getting more and more relaxed about me playing big tourneys. he is very supportive now, just a pity he works away and cant mind the kids.

its awful to have to listen to that especially when you really enjoy it.

why dont you take her to a poker tournament weekend and you dont play and just enjoy the crack and a few drinks and see what she thinks, and then if you do end up getting to ukipt ask her to go too and maybe bring a friend!

Thanks Michelle,

Can you seriously not just tell her to fuck off?

oh why dont you take her to a poker tournament weekend
                                                                                                yeah, that'd work

Thanks Michelle,

showed this to the gf and she lol'd. sucks to be you I guess

Can you seriously not just tell her to fuck off?
                                                                                                    doesn't work that way

Also, the fact that you don't play much poker shouldn't stop you posting on this site, particularly this thread.
                                                                                                      I have strong suspicions that ~80% of the people in here don't even play poker.

oh god thats just shitty! did you get her to watch ukipt on tv to show her it is a big deal?

how would she feel if you travelled daily to the event rather than stay there?

maybe its the social aspect thingy is annoying her too.

I found with my hubby when i won a few pound and just threw him some , he was getting more and more relaxed about me playing big tourneys. he is very supportive now, just a pity he works away and cant mind the kids.

its awful to have to listen to that especially when you really enjoy it.

why dont you take her to a poker tournament weekend and you dont play and just enjoy the crack and a few drinks and see what she thinks, and then if you do end up getting to ukipt ask her to go too and maybe bring a friend!
                                                                                                        Dont mean to interrupt on the convo but just caught my eye.

The Gf never liked me gambling and playing poker since I started. Hated it to the very core. Was something she couldnt associate with what so ever.

Sat down with her one day on stars and showed her how to play, and explained to her the different aspects of the game. Even showed her this place and the different HHs that people make different plays out of. She fell in love with the game and constantly talks about it now. Now im far from a great player, but its just the fact if you take the time to show the wiminz. They end up realizing its not half bad.

Beats Ironing anyway like.

I find a nice clean web of lies helps re teh pokies. My dad is solid horise punter and would say the same thing no matter what "broke even" Solid policy to adopt.
                                                                                                          this^^

best advice ever imo

Explain to her the in's and outs of the game. Say you are playing within your means and if all else fails go with Jbravdo's advice.

Do you live in Dublin, sodacake? There's plenty of 30-50 buyin tournaments on every night in the various casinos. You should just try play one of these every month. Just explain to your wife that your max spend is €35/whatever and it's less than you'd spend on a night out drinking.
                                                                                                              Also, if all your friends are saving for the UKIPT and only one is playing, why don't you all just play a side event instead? At least all of you get to experience a proper event. You can still chop up and prize money if you want to do it that way.
                                                                                                              Good idea on the side event.

I live in Limerick, the only reason we picked the UKIPT Dublin is it fitted in datewise if we started collecting now, the Ladbrokes game in Killarney was the other option towards the end of September although I wouldn't be around for that. I agree with you on the casino point, have gone to fitzpatricks a few times and enjoyed it (and done pretty well) and as you said it doesn't break the bank.
                                                                                                              Saving at the mo for a holiday in Oz and Nz so any spare €30 goes towards that.

What's the name of the book about a backpacker who was jailed in South America somewhere for drugs or something and gives tours of the jail now? Vague description but it's been mentioned here before and I want to read it.

Marching Powder by Rusty Young and Thomas McFadden.

Five different people all trying from different locations to get one more Glasto ticket in the resale tonight and in the last resale. No one could get past the holding page

one of the best books iv ever read

some dude on the radio is talking about people being unable to leave their house because of the Queens visit/security, what is he on about?

Originally posted by Valor View Post
                                                                                                                          some dude on the radio is talking about people being unable to leave their house because of the Queens visit/security, what is he on about?
                                                                                                                          This some the stuff i read on boards

Jaysus, I picked a bad time to visit the brother in Dublin so. Hopefully I'll get to see the old bint though.