Think I'll play a Celtic Poker Tour game tonight in Cashel. These good games?

Originally posted by DJKendo View Post
      Think I'll play a Celtic Poker Tour game tonight in Cashel. These good games?
      If you can put up with the horrible standard of play yes they are Structure is decent enough

Originally posted by HiCloy View Post
        You drive to work? Just live in Rathmines/Ranelagh/Rathgar/Terenure if so, much better than anywhere between the two places
        I have a car so driving is an option alright, I was worried about traffic being ridic in the mornings and evenings though?

[QUOTE=Fuzzy Logic;321597]Head of IMF charged with rape

Insert Irish IMF interest rate joke here.

Harolds Cross area would be v cheap and super convenient to get to both. A little scummy though.
            Scummy overstates it a bit tbf, HC is grand. Look at Templeogue and Rathfarnham as well as Rathgar/Terenure. You might get it a bit cheaper and they're nice spots.

Originally posted by Fuzzy Logic View Post
              Head of IMF charged with rape

The head of the IMF Dominique Strauss-Kahn has been charged with a criminal sexual act,attempted rape and unlawful imprisonment in an alleged sexual assault of a hotel maid in New York City, police said.

Mr Strauss-Kahn is expected to be brought before a state court judge later today. His attorney, Benjamin Brafman, said he "will plead not guilty."

Mr Strauss-Kahn, a key player in the world's response to the 2007-09 financial meltdown and in Europe's ongoing debt crisis, was removed from an Air France plane ten minutes before it was to take off for Paris from John F Kennedy International Airport in New York police spokesman Paul Browne said.

A 32-year-old maid filed a sexual assault complaint after fleeing the $3,000-a-night hotel suite at the Sofitel in Times Square where the alleged incident occurred yesterday afternoon, Browne said.

Mr Strauss-Kahn (62) who has been considered a possible Socialist Party candidate in the French presidential election in April and May 2012, appeared to have fled the hotel after the incident, the police spokesman said.

Mr Browne gave reporters an account of events which led to the state charges against Mr Strauss-Kahn. "She told detectives he came out of the bathroom naked, ran down a hallway to the foyer where she was, pulled her into a bedroom and began to sexually assault her, according to her account."

"She pulled away from him and he dragged her down a hallway into the bathroom where he engaged in a criminal sexual act, according to her account to detectives. He tried to lock her into the hotel room," he added.

Mr Browne said Mr Strauss-Kahn does not have diplomatic immunity.

The news rocked France, where latest opinion polls ranked MrStrauss-Kahn, the front-runner for the presidential election next April and May. Marine Le Pen, head of the far-right National Front, said her rival's hopes were crushed.

The IMF declined to comment and IMF board officials told Reuters they had not been informed officially of the incident.

Renaud Muselier, a member of conservative President Nicolas Sarkozy's UMP party, said: "It's a disaster for our country and France's image because he is the head of the IMF and it completely changes the cards for the presidential election."

The allegation will be a major worldwide embarrassment to the IMF, which has authorized billions of dollars in lending programs to troubled countries and has played a major role in the euro zone debt crisis.

It follows the announcement on Thursday the IMF's No. 2 official, John Lipsky, plans to step down in August when his term ends.

The IMF managing director has yet to say whether he will run for president, although French opinion polls put him as a clear winner over conservative incumbent Nicolas Sarkozy if the two faced off in an election.

"The NYPD realized he had fled, he had left his cell phone behind," Mr Browne said. "We learned he was on an Air France plane. They held the plane and he was taken off and is now being held in police custody for questioning."

He was taken to the police department's Special Victims office in Manhattan.

The woman, who has not been named, "was brought by EMS (emergency medical services) to the Roosevelt Hospital, where she was treated for minor injuries," Mr Browne said.

Mr Strauss-Kahn was on his way to Europe for a meeting today with German Chancellor Angela Merkel to discuss the European debt crisis and then was to attend a euro zone finance ministers meeting in Brussels tomorrow.

Mr Strauss-Kahn took over the International Monetary Fund in November 2007 for a five-year term scheduled to end next year.

Before that, he was a French finance minister, member of the French National Assembly and a professor of economics at the Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris.

The IMF declined to comment and IMF board officials told Reuters they had not been informed officially of the incident.

Mr Strauss-Kahn has faced controversy before. In October 2008, he apologized for "an error of judgment" for an affair with a female IMF economist who was his subordinate. An inquiry cleared him of harassment and abuse of power, although he was warned by the fund's board of member countries against further improper conduct.

He apologized to the woman, Piroska Nagy, and his wife, French television personality Anne Sinclair, as well as to IMF employees for the trouble he had caused.

Since taking over the IMF, he has won plaudits for putting the fund, the world's main overseer of the global economic system, at the center of global efforts to cope with the financial meltdown of 2007-09.

Mr Strauss-Kahn introduced sweeping changes at the global institution to ensure that countries swamped by the financial collapse had access to emergency loans. He was pivotal in brokering a bailout program for Iceland, Hungary, Greece, Ireland, and recently Portugal.

He has also overseen internal changes that have given emerging market countries, such as China, India and Brazil, greater voting power in the institution, and weighed into thornier issues by urging China to allow its currency to rise in value in a dispute with the United States.

Based in Washington at the IMF's headquarters, Mr Strauss-Kahn has continued to spend a lot of time in France, fanning speculation he was considering re-entering politics as a presidential candidate.

Lipsky's planned departure and now Mr Strauss-Kahn's detention raises questions about a possible leadership vacuum should the IMF chief be charged by U.S. authorities or face possible discipline by the IMF board.
              He was lucky Ireland was too scared to press charges to be fair. But they say most rapes go unreported huh...

I have a car so driving is an option alright, I was worried about traffic being ridic in the mornings and evenings though?
                Nah you will be going against the traffic if its a 9-5.

Wouldn't be that bad as you're going away from the city in the morning and towards it in the evening. It's far worse the other way around. If you're driving then just go for the Rathmines area as it's far nicer and everywhere is affordable enough these days.

Originally posted by Fuzzy Logic View Post
                    Cheers for that, working perfectly. Very nicely poised at half time for anyone with a remote interest, Ajax 1-0 up at home. They need to win to win the league, if Twente draw or win they win the league. Should be a fun second half.

Harolds Cross area would be v cheap and super convenient to get to both. A little scummy though.
                      Isn't scummy in slightest

He was lucky Ireland was too scared to press charges to be fair. But they say most rapes go unreported huh...

Ireland’s Last Stand began less shambolically than you might expect. The IMF, which believes that lenders should pay for their stupidity before it has to reach into its pocket, presented the Irish with a plan to haircut €30 billion of unguaranteed bonds by two-thirds on average. Lenihan was overjoyed, according to a source who was there, telling the IMF team: “You are Ireland’s salvation.”

The deal was torpedoed from an unexpected direction. At a conference call with the G7 finance ministers, the haircut was vetoed by US treasury secretary Timothy Geithner who, as his payment of $13 billion from government-owned AIG to Goldman Sachs showed, believes that bankers take priority over taxpayers. The only one to speak up for the Irish was UK chancellor George Osborne, but Geithner, as always, got his way. An instructive, if painful, lesson in the extent of US soft power, and in who our friends really are.

The negotiations went downhill from there. On one side was the European Central Bank, unabashedly representing Ireland’s creditors and insisting on full repayment of bank bonds. On the other was the IMF, arguing that Irish taxpayers would be doing well to balance their government’s books, let alone repay the losses of private banks. And the Irish? On the side of the ECB, naturally.

In the circumstances, the ECB walked away with everything it wanted. The IMF were scathing of the Irish performance, with one staffer describing the eagerness of some Irish negotiators to side with the ECB as displaying strong elements of Stockholm Syndrome.

Thanks for the advice guys, BBV delivers as usual.

I'd say traffic will be fine, you pretty much against the major traffic as most people would be heading towards town in the morning or out of town in the evenings. Certainly from Rathmines to Templeogue is the morning would take 10 minutes at most by car, not sure what Templeogue out is like though.

Most acounts (e.g. Morgan Kellys now famous piece) suggest the IMF was relatively speaking 'our friend' in the bailout negotiations last October, and the EU/ECB was the big bully.
                              So scoffing aside its probably not good news for us that something like this will doubtless weaken the IMF.

Added to this he was seen as a credible challenger to Sarkozy in the next presidential election, so its not good.

Edit : As Teddie said.
                              Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 15-05-11, 13:46.

Isn't scummy in slightest
                                You're basically brown on the monopoly board.

Wouldn't be that bad as you're going away from the city in the morning and towards it in the evening. It's far worse the other way around. If you're driving then just go for the Rathmines area as it's far nicer and everywhere is affordable enough these days.

Rathgar/Terenure would be far nice then Rathmines I think. Always found Rathmines a bit dirty. Unless he wants to close to his mates all the time then I'd go with Rathgar or Terenure, you'll find much nicer places to rent there.

Most acounts (e.g. Morgan Kellys now famous piece) suggest the IMF was relatively speaking 'our friend' in the bailout negotiations last October, and the EU/ECB was the big bully.
                                    So scoffing aside its probably not good news for us that something like this will doubtless weaken the IMF.

Added to this he was seen as a credible challenger to Sarkozy in the next presidential election, so its not good.

Edit : As Teddie said.
                                    Jaysus, you boys find new and interesting ways to suck the life out of a joke!

I never came across anything so hard to see on youtube !
                                      Here's the whole thing. Pretty disgraceful.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xip...om=embediframe
                                        much preferred this one tbh. NSFW tho.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xip...om=embediframe
                                          I think it's a disgrace that the right hook will get all the headlines, when the left jab before it was a sweeter hit.

Twitter informs me that Vegas is on fire

Isn't twitter great.
                                            You are bad at posting pictures, they didn't work.
                                            <3 Balotelli
                                            I read somewhere (here or boards.ie) where they listed a number of nonsense stories that have been made up/set up in order to provide some positive publicity for Balotelli, the one you posted was one of them.

Edit: Fuck you Chelsea.

Played FIFA 11 yesterday for the first time, highlight was while playing against my brother (United fan), I injured Rooney and got a free kick for my troubles while doing so.
                                            Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 15-05-11, 14:15.

@ Keane

Brother in law has about 60 properties in Harolds X / Rathgar areas & generally rents them out by room.

If you want any info PM me.

You're basically brown on the monopoly board.
                                                not even basically, we are brown.

Lived there 20 years, nothing scummy in the slightest ever happened. All in all, good bunch of lads in Haroldser.

Edit: Fuck you Chelsea.

I have bought 5% of Michelle but had signed up for it before I noticed she had the money to be paid at the venue. Can someone volunteer to accept the money to their own poker account and square Michelle up when they see her in Cork?

Can do

Can do
                                                        Pm Sent

doke on brefines radio show nowwww.dublincityfm.ie

Fulham look big @ 11/4 to beat Birmingham imo

I've taken the other side. Birmingham in genuine trouble if they don't get something today after yesterday's results at home to a team with a poor away record with nothing to play for

This seems odd:

I've taken the other side. Birmingham in genuine trouble if they don't get something today after yesterday's results at home to a team with a poor away record with nothing to play for
                                                                  whoops

This seems odd:

It's silly season it Italian football

lol all away teams are winning 1-0 at the moment..weird

EDIT- make that Aston Villa 2 up v Arsenal

'Arry has got to regret letting Bent go. Did he ever get a good run at Spurs, cant really remember?

Making for a very good last weekend at the bottom of the Prem

Lol @ the ipoker mtt leaderboard freeroll. 120 inski and 100 paid.

'Arry has got to regret letting Bent go. Did he ever get a good run at Spurs, cant really remember?
                                                                              He was never given a chance at Spurs. He scored a fair few goals in his last season there but always started on the bench for some strange reason.

This seems odd:

I'll take a pre-arranged, dull 0-0. Napoli still need a point to be sure of third.

The change in the structure of the draw for the qualifying round means there is a real difference between 3rd and 4th. If you finish third, you can spend over the summer safe in the knowledge a nice chunk of Champions League change is coming your way. Finish fifth and at least you know you don't have much to mess around with and alter your transfer targets accordingly.

Finish 4th and you don't know anything. You have a good chance of playing in the CL but the draw could throw you pretty difficult tie. Obviously the worst case scenario is spend planning for the CL only to lose in the qualifying round against a Werder Bremen or a Braga. This is what happened to Sampdoria and Sevilla.

Sampdoria are now in the relegation zone and look like they're going down. They lost Cassano and Pazzini, their two best players, in the January transfer window. Cassano left because of a disciplinary matter (namely calling the chairman 'an old piece of shit), however I'd say there's a good chance Pazzini left because the books needed balancing. I'm only speculating though as I have no idea what Sampdoria's financial situation is.

Sevilla are stumbling to a Europa League spot. They shipped six last weekend against Madrid and have been embarrassingly awful on a number of occasions this season. This from a team that were regarded by many as the biggest threat to the big two.

They too lost arguably their best player, Luis Fabiano, half way through the season. Again I don't know if they were in need of the money or what prompted the sale but given he signed a new contract at the start of the season it doesn't seem like they intended on letting him go.

Finishing 4th can be a bit of a poison chalice, especially for a team not used to competing in the CL.

Originally posted by markc View Post
                                                                                  RESCUE ME is savage. 6 series in as well so plenty to watch if you like it. House isn't bad either. If comedy is your thing try Entourage and Weeds. Really good.
                                                                                  Originally posted by Fiery Wasabi View Post
                                                                                  +1 on Rescue Me, and would also recommend SIX FEET UNDER, (showing at the moment on Sky Atlantic)
                                                                                  Watch Rescue Me already, has it's ups and downs but good overall.

I've watched West Wing/Sopranos/Wire/Breaking Bad and need a new series to watch. Asking a lot probably but is there any great series that are worth watching? Preferably something that is either finished or is a few series in.
                                                                                    Rome is very good but was so expensive to make that hbo only did two series of it.

Sons of Anarchy is worth a watch, went a bit off standard in series 3 but quite entertaining.

Boardwalk empire had a promising first season as well.

I wish Id never seen the wire it just ruins tv for everything you watch after it cant compare.

He was never given a chance at Spurs. He scored a fair few goals in his last season there but always started on the bench for some strange reason.
                                                                                      Yeah that was what i thought. I remember he missed a sitter against someone that cost them the win and Harry absolutely crucified him publically, always a good thing for a strikers confidence.

Their loss i suppose, really could have done with a prolific marksman like him this year.

Yeah that was what i thought. I remember he missed a sitter against someone that cost them the win and Harry absolutely crucified him publically, always a good thing for a strikers confidence.

Their loss i suppose, really could have done with a prolific marksman like him this year.
                                                                                        Massive loss for them. I was surprised that he ended up at Sunderland tbh, thought a bigger team could have snatched him up. Didn't know about the sitter he missed or Harry crucifying him. I suppose Crouch makes up for it.

[QUOTE=carlop;321727
                                                                                          The change in the structure of the draw for the qualifying round means there is a real difference between 3rd and 4th. If you finish third, you can spend over the summer safe in the knowledge a nice chunk of Champions League change is coming your way. Finish fifth and at least you know you don't have much to mess around with and alter your transfer targets accordingly.
                                                                                          [/QUOTE]

I thought Italy had lost their 4th CL slot to Germany

Not until next season. 4 places this year.

I think Lloyd put it best 'Roflham Lolspurs' was it.

Oh wait........

Have to say, I'm so often unimpresssed with Howard Webb's refereeing yet he is considered one of the best in the business. Do I just catch every iffy game he has? That was a particularly ugly penalty decision.

I think Lloyd put it best 'Roflham Lolspurs' was it.

Oh wait........
                                                                                                  I know which side is more impressive in this game and over the past couple of months.

Have to say, I'm so often unimpresssed with Howard Webb's refereeing yet he is considered one of the best in the business. Do I just catch every iffy game he has? That was a particularly ugly penalty decision.
                                                                                                    Could not agree more. Although your particularly high % of bad games caught probably has something to do with the fact he referees Liverpool worse than any other team I've seen him take charge of.

Trying to get back to Dublin from a weekend stag in Dingle. Ended up sharing a hot tub with a hen party who were staying next door to us until 5am. Nice bikinis and bodies to fill them they had too. Some day soon I'll be too old for this shit.

Furiously pressing F5 and there's still no pictures, come on man.

I know which side is more impressive in this game and over the past couple of months.

Lolerpool fans into next season mode already, more disappointment awaits.

Congrats to scouse legend Michael Owen on a first league title

Originally posted by thedini View Post
                                                                                                            Furiously pressing F5 and there's still no pictures, come on man.
                                                                                                            camera equipment on a stag? for reals??

How did West Ham lose a two goal lead. !5 mins to keep their Prem hopes alive. Either way next weekend is going to be epic down the bottom. Hope Wolves and Blackpool survive.

Irish lad Connor Salmon with both Wigan goals though, happy enough.

camera equipment on a stag? for reals??
                                                                                                                  phone??

I got pissed and had sex last night, happy with that for a Saturday night.

Originally posted by thedini View Post
                                                                                                                      phone??
                                                                                                                      If he's in a hottub full of half naked chicks, I'd say the last thing on his mind is taking out a phone to take a picture of it to satisfy a bunch of over eager degens on a poker forum!

Go fuck yourselves imo. The fact that one of the biggest shit talkers is a Spurs fan all puffy chested after his club's one year finishing above Liverpool in decades is particularly delicious. How did that work out for you buddy?

Great to see Connor Sammon open his Premier League account. He's gonna be a superstar.