don't worry Iago, such minor concerns will soon be replaced by eh, worse stuff

very Irish isn't it, this phobia that our neighbours might somehow be getting one over on us? The bastards.
    It's not so much getting one over on us, I'm all for people getting adequately rewarded for their efforts and work. I'm also all for people who can afford to do so making sacrifices and paying more in order to support those who genuinely are in need that's not of their own making.

It's the whole "have my cake and eat it, before helping myself to yours as well thanks very much" crowd that I have a problem with.

I have lots of sympathy for people in genuine financial trouble (just being in negative equity is not geniune financial trouble in my book) but for anyone to avail of debt restructuring, the cost of which will be ultimately borne by the taxpayer, they must suffer somewhat (unless they are totally destitute to begin with) or it will be farce with everyone unilaterally going into arrears to get 'their bailout*'.

People who cannot pay their mortgage either shouldn't keep the home they are in, either by giving up equity to the bank and renting it back on generous terms, or by surrendering the property and being accommodated elsewhere in one of the hundreds of thousands of empty homes we are blessed with on this island! There are thousands of completed, unoccupied dwellings inside the M50, before Dublin people cry that they will all be shipped off to Longford.

There are some great threads on the propertypin about this issue which some of you are following no doubt, but it just is a process (if and when it arrives) that will be so open to abuse, manipulation and righteous indignation on both sides (both from the prudent and the insolvent) that it can't help but being incredibly divisive. Not sure how the country can afford widespread debt restructuring anyhow.

And I firmly believe that if it occurred, no matter what is said at the time, it will ultimately end up being a free lunch for masses and masses of people, including those who regulate it, those who judge who is and who isn't to be helped and those who eventually take advantage of it, among others.

*Once NAMA occurred, and then the bank bailout, the average Joe was always going to demand a personal bailout - and quite rightly too! The decisions of the past few years in Ireland are so shameful and stupid, it still makes me shake with anger when I think too much about it, so I try not to

Originally posted by SICKPUPPY
        Poor Liz boo fukin hoo maybe you missed the part where she called me an ape found it funny actually been called worse.
        I like women just rolled off one who was actually awake there.

You also called me an ignorant cnut i guess you got mixed up with the meaning of ignorance thats fine.

I have no interest in starting any sort of argument with you whatsoever but if mpeople call me an ignorant cnut etc surely im too respond?

Liz was talking about her bf using her account to win a sat for the irish open which is againest the terms and conditions etc and a well liked young irish player lost his wsop seat when he had it in print he reciveded verbal assistance

i think printing such info is pretty silly and then ignoring warnings of it is the act of a drooler its not sexist its a fact
        Dont mind them , i'm still your friend

Fuckin Wimmims, just dont know how to zip it !!

Hmm locked my thread already ye feckers!!!

It's the whole "have my cake and eat it, before helping myself to yours as well thanks very much" crowd that I have a problem with.
            you have cake?

bastard!

Bah there goes my favourite cinema http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...reaking33.html

C'mon Canada visa, get me out of this shithole asap.

kindly leave your cake behind so I can eat it

Hmm locked my thread already ye feckers!!!
                  Ridiculous what did you think was gonna happen?

Just seen this on SSN

American Kevin Na sets an unwanted PGA Tour record when he carded 16 shots on a par-four hole at the Texas Open.

Season 2 Ep 11?
                      the one with the girl linked to the navy bloke with the launch codes?
                      I didnt think he was in that
                      or do you mean season 3

The one with all the mutations and the transmitter in the basement that hides them from "normals".

http://tvrage.com/Fringe/episodes/1064880952
                      Yeah its the Navy episode, he appears in in 3 times. Check it out, i just rechecked there and he appears 1st after 9 mins. The episode was out of sequence was supposed to be in Season 1

This is her

NSFW BTW
                        Jesus even the hookers are ugly in wexford!

Some of you might be interested in this stumbled on it by accident.

Nine Teams wager "$250,000 each as they tee it up in a Two-Man "Gambler's Rules" Team Best Ball. Besides Doyle and Dewey, be sure to watch for special celebrity guests and caddies as they wager, advise, encourage, and console our high stakes gamblers.
                          [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOwRYtTR3DM&NR=1[/ame]

All the other parts are there to watch as well so not gonna link them here.

the horror

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWTXoNzuk8c&feature=player_embedded[/ame]

good post

it's pretty natural for a callous bastard sensible, prudent type like yourself to feel resentful of an action like this which could be perceived as 'rewarding' debt monkeys for their stupidity. Unfortunately, some kind of writeoff is inevitable and, when you take a macro view, desirable. People have to see some light at the end of the tunnel.

anyway none of this really matters because the Big D is coming.

fancy a prop bet; which of the following is likely to be floated as an asset that could be seized (OK, 'invested' in State debt) first:
                              • private bank deposits
                              • private pension funds

my money's on pensions. Think Mad Max.
                              I will take free accomidation for life in any of Irelands fantastic Nama owned Hotels whilst you debt monkeys still have to pay. Also not sure if I picked it up right that Quinn are now run by Anglo (hope I misheard as it makes no sense) but I will also take car and health insurance for life.

He didn't seem to be too bothered when he went to the next tee box, that video didn't show but himself and his caddie where laughing about it.

The caddy looked well pissed off

edit, just saw your post Sitch, the vid showed him smiling and seemingly not too bothered, but the caddy looked like he wanted to slap him

Originally posted by Gilligan-Black View Post
                                    I will take free accomidation for life in any of Irelands fantastic Nama owned Hotels whilst you debt monkeys still have to pay. Also not sure if I picked it up right that Quinn are now run by Anglo (hope I misheard as it makes no sense) but I will also take car and health insurance for life.
                                    Quanglo, Quinnish

if it wasn't so serious, it would be hilarious

The commentator asked him was he angry with himself.

'Na' says Na

I'm more concerned that it's a Brazilian hooker who doesn't have 'A' on her list of favourites.

I've started watching the animated comedy Archer. Love the bit in one of the first episodes where he's correcting another guy not to call their escort a hooker, he insists they're called call girls. Then...(aurally not safe for work)

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujsRIJckjVA[/ame]

One thing I really loved about the Sopranos was how Christopher pronounced whore like an inner city Dub. 'hooo-er'

He was pretty much the best character on the show - he was both a comedy figure and character with a lot of depth and darkness to him. His intervention was my favourite scene in the series I think.

I feel a lot of man-love for Paulie Walnuts

True dat,

I love these two scenes, (probably a spoiler warning)...
                                                [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2P2lgYV8s-E&feature=related[/ame]
                                                [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faxxYs7CSNA[/ame]

Maybe not all

edit, just saw your post Sitch, the vid showed him smiling and seemingly not too bothered, but the caddy looked like he wanted to slap him
                                                    Yeah but in the report on SSN they showed them walking onto the next tee and they both managed a laugh about it. A laugh or cry moment I suppose.

I feel a lot of man-love for Paulie Walnuts
                                                      I've just watched the scene where he sniffs Adrianna's panties in front of Christopher, so so funny.

ya see that looked like he didnt care lol

General Minus is my hero.

NSFW

He didn't seem to be too bothered when he went to the next tee box, that video didn't show but himself and his caddie where laughing about it.

Originally posted by Frossach View Post
                                                            ya see that looked like he didnt care lol
                                                            at 2.50 in the video, he's pissed off, snaps at the caddy when the caddy is suggesting an option "caddy just give me another ball".

Currently, TSB won't give me a 1.2k loan to pay off my credit card as they say I can't make the repayments (N.B. I've never missed a payment and pay 25% of the balance off every month when I haven't cleared the debt). The last year hasn't been too great so haven't been able to clear the card as I normally have but september to January was a nightmare and I'm up near the card limit.

If I have the loan, my repayments will be cut by 1/3. I'm currently playing 400 a month roughly to tread water on my visa card, yet if I didn't have to pay 400 a month on the card I could easily afford the 120 a month repayment.

The bank's plan is for me to save an additional 120 quid a month for 3 months (i.e. increase my bank outgoings to 520) to prove I can pay back 120.

the second I clear this, one way or the other, I'm switching banks and TSB can die in a fire.
                                                              I've the exact same issue with them
                                                              Paying back a ton a week treading water but they will not finance a 1.8k loan to cover it.
                                                              Assbags.
                                                              I could get into the old dump the card transfer the balance interest free thing but couldnt really be arsed with the hoop jumping

but yeah, there will be large-scale writeoffs in residential and, more so, buy-to-let mortgage books. That to a large extent was what the recent PCAR was all about, giving the banks the ability to finally recognise these losses. Can't get blood out of a stone etc.
                                                                It will be those that bought multiple houses or those that decided they had to have the 4/5 bedroom house/exclusive address/status symbol (delete as appropriate) that will hold onto their gains at the expense of me and others like me.
                                                                People who cannot pay their mortgage either shouldn't keep the home they are in, either by giving up equity to the bank and renting it back on generous terms, or by surrendering the property and being accommodated elsewhere in one of the hundreds of thousands of empty homes we are blessed with on this island! There are thousands of completed, unoccupied dwellings inside the M50, before Dublin people cry that they will all be shipped off to Longford.
                                                                IMO there should be only be debt forgiveness for Buy-to-let properties, in a form that means those people don't get to keep the properties.

If anything I'd let those people walk away from their buy-to-let properties, and putting the properties back on the market at the correct market rate, I also don't think people should be allowed keep their 4/5 bed mansions they can't (and never could) afford.

Make them give up their "investment" properties and their big houses and put them into a more manageable house that they can afford to repay.

My brain isn't working properly today to be able to properly articulate my thoughts, but basically debt forgiveness should only be put in place if the wreckless fools don't get unjustly enriched by their idiocy. In essence ensuring they don't get to keep their property "portfolio" and don't get to live in a house they clearly can't and could never afford to live in.

I've just watched the scene where he sniffs Adrianna's panties in front of Christopher, so so funny.
                                                                  link please, loving those clips, might be time to start at se01ep01 again

Just thinking more about that second clip in the pastry store, it's so good, I love the Goodfella's link, Michael Imperioli taking a bullet in the foot.

Also love the way he fixes the guy's 'OPEN' sign on the way out

LOL NSFW

link please, loving those clips, might be time to start at se01ep01 again

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYbUBgJT1mY[/ame]

Whole chain of command thing going on, so funny

Solid lols getting home last night. My one year old had taken to carrying around things in her mouth while crawling around, food, dirty clothes, mobile phones, remotes it all goes in and away she goes. FERAL PARENTING FTW.

IMO there should be only be debt forgiveness for Buy-to-let properties, in a form that means those people don't get to keep the properties.

If anything I'd let those people walk away from their buy-to-let properties, and putting the properties back on the market at the correct market rate, I also don't think people should be allowed keep their 4/5 bed mansions they can't (and never could) afford.

Make them give up their "investment" properties and their big houses and put them into a more manageable house that they can afford to repay.

My brain isn't working properly today to be able to properly articulate my thoughts, but basically debt forgiveness should only be put in place if the wreckless fools don't get unjustly enriched by their idiocy. In essence ensuring they don't get to keep their property "portfolio" and don't get to live in a house they clearly can't and could never afford to live in.
                                                                            I'm not at all sure about your priorities there. Maybe you are being a bit pejorative about people who moved out of Dublin making a trade off on the spectrum between size and cost that is a bit unfair. Four and five beds isn't a mansion for a larger family and what I think the focus should be on is families. People bought houses because misguided as they were they felt it was essential to building a life for their families.
                                                                            People who bought to let were gambling, nothing less and I would have much less interest in seeing them transfer their losses to the taxpayer.
                                                                            The solution will be found by providing a framework that allows people to extend the term of mortgages probably by as much as double. But the priority would have to be for Family homes rather than beaten dockets in the form of rental properties which should be actively managed between Banks and Debtors.

Solid lols getting home last night. My one year old had taken to carrying around things in her mouth while crawling around, food, dirty clothes, mobile phones, remotes it all goes in and away she goes. FERAL PARENTING FTW.
                                                                              two words to give you The Fear

potty training

I'm not at all sure about your priorities there. Maybe you are being a bit pejorative about people who moved out of Dublin making a trade off on the spectrum between size and cost that is a bit unfair. Four and five beds isn't a mansion for a larger family and what I think the focus should be on is families. People bought houses because misguided as they were they felt it was essential to building a life for their families.
                                                                                People who bought to let were gambling, nothing less and I would have much less interest in seeing them transfer their losses to the taxpayer.
                                                                                The solution will be found by providing a framework that allows people to extend the term of mortgages probably by as much as double. But the priority would have to be for Family homes rather than beaten dockets in the form of rental properties which should be actively managed between Banks and Debtors.
                                                                                it's still a loss to the taxpayer no matter what way you slice it

Find Property For Sale in Ireland from all leading estate agents on the largest property listing site in Ireland.

Went for 505k in that auction

Yeah, but even if the cost to the taxpayer is the same, it can't be seen for these people to profit in any way from debt restructuring, or the fabric of society weakens even more. Someone who prudently stuffed their 2 adults plus 2 children family into a tiny 3-bed terrace won't stand a buy-to-let merchant, or perhaps even a similar family in their roomy 4-bed semi-D, getting to keep their property if said prudent individual is going to pay for the debt restructuring at the end of the day!

Or maybe we the people are really as passive as we've proven so far? I'm not entirely sure.

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=580935

Went for 505k in that auction
                                                                                      I think the amount the inner-city 1-bed apartments go for (think there are a few in Castleforbes to be auctioned) will be more interesting.

In any case, auctions like these are probably good for hoovering up the foolish money, if many of these are coming down the line, what fools would buy now with so much interest shown?

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_87pRe1MUwE[/ame]

Yeah, but even if the cost to the taxpayer is the same, it can't be seen for these people to profit in any way from debt restructuring, or the fabric of society weakens even more. Someone who prudently stuffed their 2 adults plus 2 children family into a tiny 3-bed terrace won't stand a buy-to-let merchant, or perhaps even a similar family in their roomy 4-bed semi-D, getting to keep their property if said prudent individual is going to pay for the debt restructuring at the end of the day!
                                                                                          oh yeah, absolutely and I don't think there's an question of that

they may however continue living in the house - but as a tenant (with maybe some portion equity to keep them interested)

you're still paying for the writeoff in any case

It's James Franco can't be all bad right?

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqyKYrDta_E[/ame]

lol, I forgot Ralphie pronounced it that way too, wp
                                                                                              Last edited by Lazare; 15-04-11, 14:23.

I think the amount the inner-city 1-bed apartments go for (think there are a few in Castleforbes to be auctioned) will be more interesting.

In any case, auctions like these are probably good for hoovering up the foolish money, if many of these are coming down the line, what fools would buy now with so much interest shown?
                                                                                                Most of the Dublin flat's are gone, list here http://auction.co.uk/irish/resultslive.asp

Not sure which is more soul destroying doing interviews with graduates who have somehow achieved a computer science degree but have as much love for programming as TylerD and as much aptitude for it as MSN or interviewing people who are vastly over qualified and aren't really ever going to slot in to the job you have even though both of you know it they are trying so hard.
                                                                                                  A severe dose of the latter has put me on life tilt.

Or maybe we the people are really as passive as we've proven so far? I'm not entirely sure.
                                                                                                    I would take the over on any metric of social passivity you can construct in relation to this or a cognate issue. I think we are seeing a societal learned helplessness in relation to the current economic situation.

And it is totally understandable because only the naive could retain an internal locus of control in the face of the overwhelming reality of the globalised economy. I can't get a loan to pay off my credit card because of billion dollar junk bond gambling years ago thousands of miles away by people I have no clue about? Best of luck retaining a sense of internal locus of control and empowerment.

Maybe Nicklas Bendtner still does.

Not sure which is more soul destroying doing interviews with graduates who have somehow achieved a computer science degree but have as much love for programming as TylerD and as much aptitude for it as MSN or interviewing people who are vastly over qualified and aren't really ever going to slot in to the job you have even though both of you know it they are trying so hard.
                                                                                                      Bird with the biggest tits obv.

The OPEN etc.
                                                                                                        yo laddies just a quick hello, I've been off this site afor a few wee months now , I've been on the golf thread. of course as I'm a golf punting fish big time.
                                                                                                        Anyway just thought I'd firstly apologise to some of the posters on here who read some of my latter posts that were a bit rantish and unlike me, I obviously didn't handle some issues very well , had some illness in the family and was not very thick skinned . (my bad) I havn't really missed posting every day to be honest and finally I've also managed to steer myself away from the internet for most of the time. I haven't lurked the BBV in weeks as it's too big and is full of strannnnge noise (fair nuff) . Anyway I've a wee request , I'm thinking for people who like the BBV but find it too large/cumbersome to dredge through to the good stuff, is it possible to have a stickie whereby classic posts from the BBV are placed in each week. That way it will be worth lurking, if not no biggie. I'll stick to the golf thread (for da majors)
                                                                                                        thanks to those of you who PM'd me asking me to post again (sorry I've kicked the habit) , and for those of you who felt the need to rejoice, as Catherine Tate would say, I'm not bothered :-P

and finally I'd like to wish any of you playing in the Irish Open all the best, I don't think I'll be playing this year, I haven't tried any Sats at all for the ME so I'll probably
                                                                                                        see ye down there for a spot of cash or a side event. Let me know when the golf outing is on. (In case I miss it)

Oh yeah LOL Chelski (loliverpool is so passé)

The OPEN etc.
                                                                                                          yo laddies just a quick hello, I've been off this site afor a few wee months now , I've been on the golf thread. of course as I'm a golf punting fish big time.
                                                                                                          Anyway just thought I'd firstly apologise to some of the posters on here who read some of my latter posts that were a bit rantish and unlike me, I obviously didn't handle some issues very well , had some illness in the family and was not very thick skinned . (my bad) I havn't really missed posting every day to be honest and finally I've also managed to steer myself away from the internet for most of the time. I haven't lurked the BBV in weeks as it's too big and is full of strannnnge noise (fair nuff) . Anyway I've a wee request , I'm thinking for people who like the BBV but find it too large/cumbersome to dredge through to the good stuff, is it possible to have a stickie whereby classic posts from the BBV are placed in each week. That way it will be worth lurking, if not no biggie. I'll stick to the golf thread (for da majors)
                                                                                                          thanks to those of you who PM'd me asking me to post again (sorry I've kicked the habit) , and for those of you who felt the need to rejoice, as Catherine Tate would say, I'm not bothered :-P

and finally I'd like to wish any of you playing in the Irish Open all the best, I don't think I'll be playing this year, I haven't tried any Sats at all for the ME so I'll probably
                                                                                                          see ye down there for a spot of cash or a side event. Let me know when the golf outing is on. (In case I miss it)

Oh yeah LOL Chelski (loliverpool is so passé)
                                                                                                          Just post you gimp!

can you save ipoker hand histories in a user defined folder?

Hire me - I'm smart as fuck and I'll work for peanuts!

I think we are seeing a societal learned helplessness in relation to the current economic situation.
                                                                                                                Even so, I think that there might be a difference in our response to realising that so much of our tax will in the future go to covering the banks' losses and onwards to faceless financial institutions and high-net worth individuals throughout the world (we all feel helpless to combat this) to then seeing Johnny-from-down-the-road get a 'dig out' (however it is structured) from the taxpayers - the latter circumstance might be for many something that will focus their anger.

you could also finally get that live ww game going.

For Raoul - class scene

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_VbsCS97EA"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_VbsCS97EA[/ame]

Hire me - I'm smart as fuck and I'll work for peanuts!

I want out of Limerick so bad!

you could also finally get that live ww game going.
                                                                                                                          I promise I'll run one at the next IPB drinks (as live werewolf is best played with good access to beer.