- Being one of the most committed players we've ever had, almost never crying off and showing up for matches even when squad players have considered it beneath them

- Working his arse off every time he's played in said matches
    Whatever about the first part, he does always seem to turn up, but the second is certainly not correct.

This is an immense read. Paul Merson autobiography extract.

Aiden Mcgeady's best game in a green shirt tonight. Fruits of playing in a better league paying off.
        Yeah irish motm today and I've never been his biggest fan. This is far more uncomfortable than it it's in any way necessary to be...why do we always fall back when we've a lead instead of dominating the game like we showed we were capable of to get the lead in the first place...we've always lacked any sort of killer instinct
        Last edited by Sledgejammer; 26-03-11, 21:16.

Avira is the one I put on my daughters Laptop but she picked up a virus and the place where i did the work ex are totally against the microsoft security essentials.
          Did the place where you did the work experience sell anti virus software by any chance ?

then they are fools.
            Security Essentials is a fantastic antivirus program that protects you from all sorts of malware, updates automatically, and is incredibly easy to use.
            avira,avast,avg all over decent protection, avg just is a huge resource hog which is why i didnt recommend it.
            Safe browsing habits (not using IE, having an adblocker,not installing 1000's of toolbars, etc)
            will stop you picking up most threats.
            This is something I never understand, I'm always being called over to fix my parents computer, and each time I invariably have to uninstall 3 or 4 toolbars! (From IE ) And each time I tell them not to use IE and don't install toolbar's, yet next time I'm out there there's another 3 or 4 toolbars ... on IE!! JUST STOP FFS!!

Wow we're playing Macedonia away in June. That's gonna be about 35 degrees, and at the end of a long season. Real banana skin potential imo.

we're gonna fuck this up arent we?

its looking like it

This is something I never understand, I'm always being called over to fix my parents computer, and each time I invariably have to uninstall 3 or 4 toolbars! (From IE ) And each time I tell them not to use IE and don't install toolbar's, yet next time I'm out there there's another 3 or 4 toolbars ... on IE!! JUST STOP FFS!!
                    Install FF, change the icon to the IE icon
                    job done

Ugh. We've been so negative. Haven't Tested this brutal keeper once in scone half

McCarthy to come on in the 89th or 90th minute?

€25 on no more goals @1/2

My anti virus is up soon and going to try something different so am wondering what most here use?

this one is highly rated ,BitDefender Antivirus Pro 2011 does anyone here use it plus its only $29.95 which is fairly good, i dont want to use a free one as i download a lot of movies and stuff and need good protection.
                            Im not saying they are bad, but they dont cover absolutely everything. is dead parrot about he might have an idea!
                            Downloading movies and stuff is fairly safe behavior imo. Pretty shure I've only ever got a virus when randomly surfing loads of porn.

A lot of people are recommending MSE in the last while http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

job done
                              Yeah a long time ago I got rid of all the shortcuts to IE on their computer, made a firefox icon labelled INTERNET in the start menu and on the desktop of all profiles and left it there. They don't even realise but there's a lot less hassle now.

some software updates sneak them in if you just click next next without un-clicking the toolbar options

LOL @ Hamilton going for blood there without knowing what happened.

job done
                                    Obv I put FF and chrome on the computer, extolled their virtues to them, set FF to Default, but I never thought of changing the icon!! Nice one, will do that next time.

why can't the "hightlight bet amount" be enable in Pokerstars like on Full tilt?
                                      I hate having to manually click into the bet box and type the amount to bet, would be much easier if it was auto highlighted.

Can't see why this cna't be done on Pokerstars.
                                      NextStopWhoKnows

McCarthy to come on in the 89th or 90th minute?
                                        close

Would love to have seen the kid come on for Keane on about 70-75 mins and let him float in the hole behind Long

At last McCarthy is ours and Martinez can stfu

Did the place where you did the work experience sell anti virus software by any chance ?
                                            ya they did why?

At last McCarthy is ours and Martinez can stfu
                                              McCarthy, McGeedy...
                                              Christ we will soon have to have two Anthems like the Rugby
                                              with Flower of Scotland instead of Ireland's call

Holding on for dear life
                                                at home
                                                against Macedonia

ya they did why?
                                                  lol, that explains it

Long has serious chest control.

Downloading movies and stuff is fairly safe behavior imo. Pretty shure I've only ever got a virus when randomly surfing loads of porn.

A lot of people are recommending MSE in the last while http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/
                                                      iv downloaded Alvira ill give it a go!

Randomly lol ya dirty little fecker

Cue 'Rocking all over the world'

Foley's played really well tonight. Did everything right and nothing wrong without being spectacular, which is exactly what you want from a fullback. He'll be good.

ya they did why?
                                                            :suitable smiley:

company who sell anti virus software say free anti virus software is shite

ooh No reason!

lol, that explains it
                                                              why? they were not trying to sell it to me, actually they recommend alvira but use ESET NOD 32 themselves!

Couple of quid on Ireland to win 2-1 at 9-1 on betfair - gogogo!
                                                                <insert Tren smiley here>

Holding on for dear life
                                                                  at home
                                                                  against Macedonia
                                                                  and Russia could not beat Armenia ...

:suitable smiley:

company who sell anti virus software say free anti virus software is shite

ooh No reason!
                                                                    Actually you are so wrong they are a PC repair shop and highly recommend Alvira as i said but they just didnt like the microsoft security one and said Alvira is much better!

Thought Westwood was good tonight. Macedonian #7 most dangerous player on the pitch by a long shot.

Reckon Long got one of ten decisions that should've gone his way!

iv downloaded Alvira ill give it a go!

Randomly lol ya dirty little fecker
                                                                        I thought the 'loads of', was the more disturbing part of the post. Bukkake

Prob something to do with being in the top 15 all time premiership highest scorers and by far Irelands most prolific striker ever. Never got the Keane hate.
                                                                          "We all live in a Tallaght housing scheme, a Tallaght housing scheme a Tallaght housing scheme" Repeat

Sung in the style of Yellow Submarine obv

Got the whole Cuckoo's nest singing this during Irl v Spain in Japan 02

Bill is an epic shit stirrer!

Brady put Bill in his place here.

Kind of chuckling to myself here, on the right hand side of facebook this little cartoon picture thing pops up saying " play Happy aquarium , Damien Kent and two more of your friends play this game"

Im just picturing Damo feeding his cartoon fishys hahahahahah!!!

and Russia could not beat Armenia ...
                                                                                  And Cyprus could not beat Iceland...

Bill is an epic shit stirrer!
                                                                                    He is starting to approach Jimmy Hill "Devils advocate" head wrecking levels though

omg Kevin mcloud just said cool beans on grand designs lol

Personally I like Whelan, he is what he is and doesn't give the ball away too often

I thing Gibson is no addition and got in Whelan's way more often than not
                                                                                        He is like a poor mans Micheal Carrick

Fahy in beside Whelan could work well imo

You come to me on the day of my daughters wedding!

Traps interpreter continues to get sexier as time goes on. (no offense intended to whoever is related to her) My God, those eyes, those lips.

Significantly George Hamilton heard a new word and just started using it in random sentences during the game.

job done
                                                                                                Then install Chrome and delete the other two.

QQ for Desire owners.

Anyone remember when the clocks changed for winter last year, did their desire change automatically ? If i leave mine alone will it change automatically ? Work in the morning so dont want to be late.

Edit :lateral thinking FTW...I will use the countdown timer !!

eidt2: playing with the alarm, setting it say now 11pm for 6am says 6 hours, so it looks like the software will auto change it.

Seriously overthinking this...i know i will wake before it anyways...lol
                                                                                                  Last edited by oleras; 26-03-11, 22:55.

Just had a few quick games of Marvel vs Capcom pretty cool game button mashing to the extreme had no idea what was going on so much action

Personally I like Whelan, he is what he is and doesn't give the ball away too often

I thing Gibson is no addition and got in Whelan's way more often than not
                                                                                                      He is like a poor mans Micheal Carrick

Fahy in beside Whelan could work well imo
                                                                                                      100% agree, Whelan does a job for us overall. Gibson was dreadful tonight I thought.

Fahey needs to start.

Also - as said above Keane is a genuine Irish hero. Some player.

O'Dea was very good tonight I thought.

Fahey must start alright, quietly very impressive when he came on suddenly ireland could keep the ball and as a result we didn't really have the kind of sweat at the end we might well have had...his delivery from set pieces is dangerous too, and he isn't darron gibson.

Foley's played really well tonight. Did everything right and nothing wrong without being spectacular, which is exactly what you want from a fullback. He'll be good.
                                                                                                            lol football, haven't much of a clue but this is how I see it.

I thought even after scaring the shite out of us at home, we had some positives but crucially should have done more. A proper Macedonian keeper and we would have been cursing our luck today.

That said we won and are joint top of the group, yay.

Foley was solid and dependable albeit with no real left winger to give him hassle. Still a promising performance. Same can said for Westwood, great save 1 on 1 too.

McGeady, got double and tripled up on several times yet he still was able to beat a man or two and cross or retain possession. Every time we broke he was looking for the ball or to release someone. First goal scored now and looks a lot more determined and confident. All done consistently over 90 minutes. Best Irish game that I have seen from him.

Duffer's ability to "win" frees is just lol. Not got the pace any more and tumbles quite a bit. Unlucky not to nick one. If he was playing against us I am sure we would despise him. Nearly got the left back sent off too. On that tbf Macedonia were poxed to have 11 never mind 9 players on the pitch. What game was the ref looking at.

Problems in the middle of the park are pissing me off. Gibson and Whelan could be seen throughout the game strolling around within 5 yards of each with no real dynamic or chemistry between two. Gibson's contribution today was one great tackle and a crap one to get carded. I guess trap has always stifled and held back the CMs for Ireland and will continue to do so but there really is little to be offered in the middle at the moment. If we face any team that disrupts McGeady and Duffer we are in big trouble as our CM partnership is quite ineffective going forward and the full backs are not encouraged to overlap. Then there are only so many balls you can pump up to Doyle if he is fit so we could be quite limited against an organized team or if we get hit with injuries to big players.

I'd like to see Clark, Fahey and McCarthy get decent game time against Uruguay but we know trap doesn't experiment too much. Perhaps Stokes might be called upon again to cover Doyle but again unlikely to get game time. Frustrating enough at times but a win is a win and roll on Skopje.

I reckon Fahey would have started tonight if he wasn't injured the last few weeks for Brum. I think we'll see him in the next game against Macedonia.

Wouldn't be too sure about Coleman yet. He's still too naive to play at the back internationally, and even though Duffer isn't half the player he was, he's still very experienced, wins his fair share of free kicks and tracks back really well, so I don't see him replacing Duff. Good to have as an impact sub though.

Liam Lawrence should be playing every game for u, quality player
                                                                                                                Seamus Coleman will be a good player also

O'Dea was very good tonight I thought.
                                                                                                                  Big unit,thought he looked good when the ball was in front of him
                                                                                                                  When it was there to be won he went for it

Haven't seen any of him apart from tonight tbh but isn't he supposed to have a bit of a problem when people turn him/down the channels?

Then again, most centre backs do so...

Will defo do a job, especially against physical sides

Whats the story with him and Celtic?

Originally posted by playuppompey pompeyplayup View Post
                                                                                                                    Liam Lawrence should be playing every game for u, quality player
                                                                                                                    Seamus Coleman will be a good player also
                                                                                                                    Lawrence is a solid player and we know what he offers, but do you drop in form McGeady/Duff or push the boat out a bit and stick him in middle?

Coleman is full of promise and I'd love to see him get more game time when he's back, if he can do it every week in the premier league why not for Ireland.

Also why hasn't Eamo or anyone mentioned Andy Reid yet ?

why? they were not trying to sell it to me, actually they recommend alvira but use ESET NOD 32 themselves!
                                                                                                                      NOD 32 is a great piece of kit
                                                                                                                      But the fact that they 'don't like' MSE says to me either they have ulterior motives or aren't very knowledgable.
                                                                                                                      I see you said they are a PC repair shop, tbh, if someone said that to me, I'd take my business elsewhere.
                                                                                                                      There are plenty of reasons to rag on MS software but ignoring when they do something well is a idiotic stance to take.

Since everyone else is doing it....

Westwood secured his place as number 2 and put himself in a great position as the natural successor when Given hangs up his gloves.

Foley was solid. Nothing more nothing less. Ideally I'd like both full backs to offer a genuine attacking threat but with Kilbane on the left it's not going to happen (not consistently anyhow). I also haven't seen enough of Foley for Wolves to offer an opinion on how he is going forward.

O'Dea was also solid, a couple of good tackles on Pandev but I hate to see centre halves having to dive in, especially considering how defensive our 2 centre midfielders are asked to play. But again he's cemented his place as the 3rd choice centre half.

The football we played in patches towards the end of the game to waste some time showed we have the ability to keep the ball and that we don't need to be lined up in the negative way that we seem to end up being.

Duff was as good as he's been in a long time and McGeady had his best performance for Ireland in 39 caps by playing really well for 45 mins. I'd like to see some flexibility and switching between the two of them to mix up our attacking threat.

tl;dr obv

Then install Chrome and delete the other two.
                                                                                                                          LOL, and according to recent testing then delete Chrome and install Opera