There are far camper individuals than Derek Mooney (not that I was surprised, but meh, I'm never surprised) who have wives and children, even on RTE, such as Neven Maguire.

Best places for drinkin in Manchester anyone?

lolworthy United team for today

VDS; Brown, Smalling, Vidic, Evra; Rafael, Gibson, O'Shea, Fabio; Rooney, Hernandez
          7 - 1 - 2?

Surely Arsenal have to be backed now!

Arsenal team - Almunia; Sagna, Djourou, Koscielny, Gibbs; Wilshere, Diaby, Nasri, Denilson, Arshavin; Van Persie.

It's still United at Old Trafford so I'm just staying away. Who knows the Silva twins could make awesome wingers. Must be the worst CM partnership to ever dawn the United shirt though.

Meh I got them at 14/5 just as the team news came out and they have already gone to 9/4

Hugh Farrelly LolCorks

Great rugby city facing life on the margins

By Hugh Farrelly
                Friday March 11 2011
                "Beautiful city, charming and pretty, beautiful city, my home by the Lee."

So goes the song, rather exaggerating the aesthetic merits of a conurbation which includes the social welfare office on its open-top bus tours -- and the lyrics carry little weight for Stephen Ireland, who was reported recently as saying he would "rather be shot" than move back to Cork.

Those comments were way over the top but, as a fellow Rebel who abandoned Cork six years ago, it is possible to relate, in some part, to what this troubled footballer said.

Cork is a big city but still a small town. When you live there into your mid-30s without settling down, the shame starts to follow you around and 'de banks' are embraced simply because the Lee becomes hard to cross with all the bridges you've burnt.

Furthermore, for those of us who struggle with small-talk and remembering names, walking the city centre becomes a duck-and-cover exercise (although use of the eponymous 'boy' does help the identity crisis).

Then, there is Cork's inherent sense of self-regard, the unwavering belief that it is one of the best places in the world to live and deserves to be recognised as such. Hence, you have all the "real capital", "People's Republic" clap-trap along with tedious demands for the cabinet to include a 'Minister for Cork' rather than just the obligatory Cork minister.

It adds up to a pretty sizeable chip ("bigger than your Jackeen chips, boy") on Cork shoulders and, when natives return, there is an accusatory tone to the routine questioning. "So, are you up in Dublin now ... the whole time?", "When are you moving home?", "I'd say you miss the Republic?"

Those are the cons to Cork, but there are plenty of pros. Moving back permanently may not be on the agenda but it is a cracking city to visit. The pints of Beamish represent quality, affordable imbibing; Cork slagging surpasses that available anywhere else in Ireland (including the over-hyped 'Dublin wit') and then there is the sport -- the primary reason to be proud of your Cork roots.

The county seems to produce a special type of sportsperson, one that is driven to succeed. The three examples most regularly cited are Christy Ring, Roy Keane and Sonia O'Sullivan -- arguably the finest practitioners of their chosen sports to come out of Ireland -- and Cork has a pretty impressive production line when it comes to rugby also.

There is the argument that, historically, there were only four urban centres for rugby (Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Belfast) and the law of averages dictates each would have a significant role.

Nonetheless, that does not explain an impressive list of captains from Tom Kiernan to Donal Lenihan, Michael Bradley and Terry Kingston, while there is a Cork spine to the current side from prop Mike Ross, second-row Donncha O'Callaghan, scrum-half Peter Stringer and out-half Ronan O'Gara. Throw in coach Declan Kidney and Cork's relevance to Irish rugby is as powerful as ever.

There is also Cork talent coming through over the next few years. Second-row Ian Nagle is living up to his billing, his Cork Constitution team-mate Cathal O'Flaherty has the ability to make the grade in a major way and UCC prop John Ryan, from Inniscarra, is held in the highest regard by those whose opinions deserve to be respected.

Downturn

But, what's coming after that? Limerick has always been regarded as the true home of Munster rugby, while the fact that plans to develop Musgrave Park into a 20,000-plus stadium have been shelved indefinitely due to the economic downturn, means Cork is likely to be increasingly marginalised.

As it is, Cork is only getting the runts of the Magners League litter, and Munster's last fixture against the Dragons drew just over 6,000 to Musgrave Park -- if that amount had turned up in the 26,000-capacity Thomond there would have been talk of a major crisis.

Munster's split between two bases appears increasingly anachronistic and if/when the decision is taken to centre the operation in Limerick, there will be knock-on effects down the line.

Tomorrow, O'Gara should achieve a major milestone by passing 1,000 international points, while Kidney is six months out from, hopefully, overseeing Ireland's first foray into a World Cup semi-final.

Those facts alone keep Cork in the picture, but that situation could become hard to sustain and, to paraphrase the song, turn this beautiful rugby city into a 'haven of unrest'.

- Hugh Farrelly

Mmmm, Flushdraw I think your money is safe
                  I wouldn't be so sure, it is Arsenal after all!

nope, points difference.

England currently +60ish
                    We're -2.

So we need to thrash Wales and hope Scotland beat England by more than 10/15 to give us any sort of a chance at the 6N

If Scotland beat England then its simply a H2H as we'll both have lost 1.

We'll need to absolutely destroy Wales to have any chance considering England will win tomorrow.
                    bit like france were gonna win today

I was told today to back Andy Lee to win by ko tonight @13/8.
                      He's fighting Craig McEwan at Foxwoods in a support fight to Sergio Martinez.

Fight's not on until about 2:30am I think.

Deansgate or Printworks imo

Printworks is fairly central, all under one roof and is packed at the weekends.

Deansgate only has a couple of late bars but it's fairly jammed as well

I take it no joy in UKIPT?

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzUNQxM2JE8&feature=channel_video_title[/ame]

I wouldn't be so sure, it is Arsenal after all!
                              Yeah, Arsenal are softer than a pink pony.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Deansgate or Printworks imo

Printworks is fairly central, all under one roof and is packed at the weekends.

Deansgate only has a couple of late bars but it's fairly jammed as well
                                Cheers, did Printworks on Thursday.

I take it no joy in UKIPT?
                                No ran into quad 10's then ran rest of stack with 2nd nuts into some Blackbelt Pro (Wiliams?) flopped nuts. Have to say he fairly owned me in that hand.

Lovely moment.

O'Driscoll sets a new record for tries scored in the 6N.
                                  O'Gara joins the 1k club.

Ah great stuff - are you a local or a blow in? I'd love to hear your opinion of the place...
                                    I'm a Dub but I've lived here for 3.5 years now. It's alright. There's two universities here so if you like nightclubs and slappers you can't go far wrong. There's also two major concert venues so most UK tours will stop here on their rounds. We try to see as many gigs, standups etc as we can. The Snooker world championships are held here every year, so the city centre is crawling with minor celebrities while that's on. They've put a massive amount of work into improving the city centre and it's really quite nice now, think of how Dublin was in the early 80's, that's what Sheffield was like up until around 2000.

There's not really much else to say. I'm only here because my girlfriend is here, and she's only here because her job is here. The best thing about the place is that when you head east out of the city, the Peak District starts as soon as the city ends. It's a massive national park with lots of public walkways, little hamlets with country pubs, rivers, lakes, glens etc. Really lovely place in the summer. We often just get in the car on a sunny Sunday afternoon, drive out in a random direction until we find somewhere nice, and then just explore. It's a good spot.

Poker wise we've got 3 casinos but it's the same bunch of regs that split their time between the three of em. The Grosvenor here is decent, there's usually two tables of cash going and the standard is lolbad. Lots of shortstackers playing 1/1 with £30 in front of them, 6 limpers every hand, etc. The only consistent winner is the rake box, but the big game is on a Sunday night when there'll be money flying all over the place. That's when you can really make some cash. However, DTD in Nottingham is only ~1.5 hours drive away so if you really need a game that's the place to be.

The people here are very Yorkshire. They take a bit of getting used to. Their accents and phrases can be so thick and distinct that sometimes you'd think they speak a completely different dialect. Everyone minds their own business, but if you make the effort to talk to people then they'll suddenly open up and turn into great craic. If you don't, they'll ignore you. So it's not a good place to be shy.

I'm not sure what else to say. It's the southest part of the north of England, so it's not nearly as mad as Newcastle or Manchester, but it's not nearly as boring as the midlands. I guess the best thing about the place is that it's central to nearly everywhere else in the North of England. Manchester, Nottingham, Leeds and Hull are all only about 1.5 hours away in each direction so when you want weekends away in very different places, you've got it. Send me a PM when you're here and I'll give you the tour, anyway.

Have to back Arsenal at over 2/1 given the United midfield that has been put out compared to Arsenal. Arsenal *should* play them off the park.

edit: didn't see previous posts. They were at 14/5? Hmm, still value.

I'm a Dub but I've lived here for 3.5 years now. It's alright. There's two universities here so if you like nightclubs and slappers you can't go far wrong.
                                        didn't need to write much more imo

quick question i have bougth a TV and plugged the laptop into it via a HDMI cable which works perfect only thing is that the pic is not that big on the screen, it prob use's half the screen from the centre out, is there any settings i can change on the computer or tv to make the picture any bigger???

Just right click on the desktop and change the res

I'm a Dub but I've lived here for 3.5 years now. It's alright. There's two universities here so if you like nightclubs and slappers you can't go far wrong. There's also two major concert venues so most UK tours will stop here on their rounds. We try to see as many gigs, standups etc as we can. The Snooker world championships are held here every year, so the city centre is crawling with minor celebrities while that's on. They've put a massive amount of work into improving the city centre and it's really quite nice now, think of how Dublin was in the early 80's, that's what Sheffield was like up until around 2000.

There's not really much else to say. I'm only here because my girlfriend is here, and she's only here because her job is here. The best thing about the place is that when you head east out of the city, the Peak District starts as soon as the city ends. It's a massive national park with lots of public walkways, little hamlets with country pubs, rivers, lakes, glens etc. Really lovely place in the summer. We often just get in the car on a sunny Sunday afternoon, drive out in a random direction until we find somewhere nice, and then just explore. It's a good spot.

Poker wise we've got 3 casinos but it's the same bunch of regs that split their time between the three of em. The Grosvenor here is decent, there's usually two tables of cash going and the standard is lolbad. Lots of shortstackers playing 1/1 with £30 in front of them, 6 limpers every hand, etc. The only consistent winner is the rake box, but the big game is on a Sunday night when there'll be money flying all over the place. That's when you can really make some cash. However, DTD in Nottingham is only ~1.5 hours drive away so if you really need a game that's the place to be.

The people here are very Yorkshire. They take a bit of getting used to. Their accents and phrases can be so thick and distinct that sometimes you'd think they speak a completely different dialect. Everyone minds their own business, but if you make the effort to talk to people then they'll suddenly open up and turn into great craic. If you don't, they'll ignore you. So it's not a good place to be shy.

I'm not sure what else to say. It's the southest part of the north of England, so it's not nearly as mad as Newcastle or Manchester, but it's not nearly as boring as the midlands. I guess the best thing about the place is that it's central to nearly everywhere else in the North of England. Manchester, Nottingham, Leeds and Hull are all only about 1.5 hours away in each direction so when you want weekends away in very different places, you've got it. Send me a PM when you're here and I'll give you the tour, anyway.
                                              Really appreciate the write-up man, tyvm.

The bit in bold is super-appealing to me.

http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=h...w=1024&bih=578
                                                You missd me? lol

didn't need to write much more imo
                                                  When are you coming down then?

Originally posted by GedasT View Post
                                                    Who are you?

Get out of the way.

Welcome back Gedas

Return of the Clonmel1, Italy beat France,

Any more upsets to be had today?

Ban workd out for me

Got into another forum where people more polite and friendlier than over here.

Thanks Tony

Ban workd out for me

Got into another forum where people more polite and friendlier than over here.

Thanks Tony
                                                            Link?

What a fooking ball by Rooney!

Link?
                                                                Total Men Forum

Ireland pulling the same old shit again.

Disgusting

What a fooking ball by Rooney!
                                                                  Watching football!! tut tut

Sean O' Brien is a beast

O'Brien was like Messi there

Watching football!! tut tut

Sean O' Brien is a beast
                                                                      Channel hopping

Very funny

Very good for getting stakes and buying shares.

I find it absolutely and completely bizarre that a group of players who can play the game at a level 10 times above this, week in week out for their province, are so pathetically poor at the game when they play in green. The Leinster backline is Irish bar Nacewa, and Bowe covers him more than adequately, and they rip teams asunder the whole time. I find it bizarre that Leinster, probably one of the best team in Europe over the last 3 seasons are weakened by the addition of other players who are deemed better (probably correctly so in a few cases!) than their Irish counterparts.

For me, I can't see past Kidney's gameplan hurting our teams chances. Its really really frustrating.

We have two teams into the knock outs of the HEC and one into the Amlin, and none, not one of them, play a game which revolves around kicking the ball.

Yet we get to Ireland games, and the plan that so clearly works every week against similar opposition, gets f'ed out the window and we see this turgid excuse for a game

Very funny

[ ] Actually wanted a link

Welcome back though Gedas.

This United Arsenal game is being played at a mentally fast pace, bit of a free for all tactically.

woot, just got tickets for the Ireland-England match

Just right click on the desktop and change the res
                                                                                  super thanks, set it up as two screens and when i expand a player program on the tv screen she goes full picture! may never look at stuff again on my laptop!

Is there anybody from IPB on PTP?

Luke Fitzgerald having a right mare today

Very funny

don't get any gears there they are not so forgiving as here

Luke Fitzgerald having a right mare today
                                                                                          Think he really hurt himself in the first ten minutes tbh. Has been down twice, think its his bicep/upper arm he's having trouble with.

With only Wallace on the bench as cover we're in trouble.

This is why McFadden or Trimble need to be on the bench as they cover more of the backline.

wtf

Idiotic stuff

anyone watchin the soccer? how likely to arsenal look like scoring? any point backing them?

Beyond poor by the TJ, and the defending wasn't much better

Shouldnt have been allowed take the quick line out though, the ball went into the crowd

Jesus Sexton!!

Get ROG back on ldo

Incredible that a professional game can have LOL moments like that from a referee. That's so basic knowledge, awful stuff.

Quick lineouts can only be taken with the same ball that has been in play, and only if nobody has touched the ball off the field.

So there were two reasons why it wasn't a try.

Have a horrible horrible feeling that this game is going to hurt Sexton.

The best part about that was the ref asked the linesman and he of course said it was the original ball, laughable

Epic by VDS at one end and easy as they come for Rooney at the other while Almunia flaps at thin air..

What a beautiful week to be a Spurs fan. LOL Arsenal twice in five days. Just beautiful.

LOL @ rhee rugby commentator on south African tv making s funny about Italy beating France . not very funny when its still two weeks till April fools

Sexton has been pretty embarrassing since he's come on tbh.

belongs in the rugby forum tbh.

Pretty ridic statement, will leave it at that though.

belongs in the rugby forum tbh.

Pretty ridic statement, will leave it at that though.
                                                                                                                          He's made some pretty awful errors.

The kick was a terrible miss.