Also, I'm sure everyone in this thread was impressed at the decisive nature of Adam's victory, and will warmly welcome him into Southern politics.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/co...t-2548151.html
    ONE TIME please, dealer!

Ming in, Coughlan out. Pretty happy so far.

O'Donoghue busto

ship ship

RTEwaterford

The plan at #wd count is to keep going through the night til the end #ge11
          Long night ahead there. Its obvious that Coffey is gonna join Deasy, and Ciara Conway will be elected for Labour when here collegue Seamus Ryan's votes are distibuted.

Brendan Keneally (FF) is currently 2000 ahead of John Halligan (ind by ex workers party), we can only hope that Halligan will pick up a lot of votes from the distribution of David Cullinane's (SF) votes, who is also a city candidate like Halligan.

Originally posted by Zosma View Post
            Ming in, Coughlan out. Pretty happy so far.
            The Haughey dynasty ends, and the Ming dynasty begins

wow

even after my celebratory bottle of Saint Emilion, that sentence is genius

Long night ahead there. Its obvious that Coffey is gonna join Deasy, and Ciara Conway will be elected for Labour when here collegue Seamus Ryan's votes are distibuted.

Brendan Keneally (FF) is currently 2000 ahead of John Halligan (ind by ex workers party), we can only hope that Halligan will pick up a lot of votes from the distribution of David Cullinane's (SF) votes, who is also a city candidate like Halligan.
                I was just about to post Kev. It'll surely be tomorrow before we hear anything concrete.

John Halligan is the 6/4 tip I gave in here a couple of weeks back. One time.

Halligan narrows gap to 1685 (from 2096) after the distrubtion of worker party candidate Joe Tobin's votes.

Barely a mention of Sligo/North leitrim on RTE. Just as well twitter has loads of info on it.

I was just about to post Kev. It'll surely be tomorrow before we hear anything concrete.

John Halligan is the 6/4 tip I gave in here a couple of weeks back. One time.
                      According to RTE they are gonna go through the night till there's a result.

seems like some of them have knocked off for the night?

Barely a mention of Sligo/North leitrim on RTE.
                          you must be used to that?

Depressing the number of people who voted for Sinn Fein/Socialist parties.

Ya think the likes of Wicklow, Laois/Offaly where they have no hope of finishing tonight have knocked on the head well in time to get in for a few scoops before closing time

what Mings would they be Kevin

the Shinners celebrate with such class and dignity

wtf was one of the supporters holding up there? was it a picture of Terence McSwiney?

Dun Laoghire gave up at about 9o'clock, every went off for beers in the Main Street.

Originally posted by kakak1 View Post
                                      what Mings would they be Kevin
                                      the Mings of Strokestown

ye must know them?

Depressing the number of people who voted for Sinn Fein/Socialist parties.
                                        [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWdd6_ZxX8c[/ame]

you must be used to that?
                                          Indeed. I'm hoping the shinner doesn't get the 3rd seat as 2 FG certain to get in. Scanlon (FF) local man to me is the only person that might stop him, and I'm going to go against the bbv grain, and he he gets in.

Dun Laoghire gave up at about 9o'clock, every went off for beers in the Main Street.
                                            Labour Party bet looking good for you, we were close enough with our line in the end!

wtf was one of the supporters holding up there? was it a picture of Terence McSwiney?
                                              Adams gave Bobby Sands a mention in his victory speech

Ya think the likes of Wicklow, Laois/Offaly where they have no hope of finishing tonight have knocked on the head well in time to get in for a few scoops before closing time
                                                and shure who could blame them?

Once a gunner, always a gunner!
                                                  what the fuck
                                                  That story cannot be real

meh, air rifle

Indeed. I'm hoping the shinner doesn't get the 3rd seat as 2 FG certain to get in. Scanlon (FF) local man to me is the only person that might stop him, and I'm going to go against the bbv grain, and he he gets in.
                                                      it'd be pretty cool if SF were the main opposition

in a way

youknowhaaarrrrimeaaaannnn

Labour Party bet looking good for you, we were close enough with our line in the end!
                                                          Was looking bad at one stage. At about 11o'clock this morning PP had it 4/5 greater than 42 seats. Must have been some bad tallys given to them.

I still have an outside squeak imo

I didn't mean on the website. Twitter far more up to date than that. I meant on the tv coverage for count announcements.

That o' Brien chap in Cork seemed like a confrontational scumbag

That Cork Shinner had a balaclava shaped head

Mick Wallace seems like a nice guy

I'm just not convinced that the world is ready for him

Cracking Fifa session there one of my mates dropped up we had a couple of beers and been playing since 8 won 80% of the games we played, super victory when we were 3-1 down and we come back and win 5-3 the dude quits on us so we cant watch any of the highlights

No Fifa rage for me tonight

I didn't mean on the website. Twitter far more up to date than that. I meant on the tv coverage for count announcements.
                                                                        ya I know
                                                                        just stuck it up in case you had not seen it

Finkel elected a developer and an FF'er, wp that man

FG fecked up their vote strategy in Wexford

Apparently Scanlon got 70% of MacSharry's transfers. Labour candidate eliminated next. Likely the shinners will get more transfers there. Very close though.

"Larking"

Chelsea defender Ashley Cole is understood to have shot and wounded a trainee member of the club's backroom staff with an air rifle at the club's Cobham training ground.

The 21-year-old - on work placement with the club - was hit in the side by the England international, which caused him to bleed, according to the News of the World.

Cole is believed to have been 'larking' around with the rifle in the Chelsea dressing room last Sunday when the student was struck from just five feet away.

The left-back is thought not to have realised the gun was loaded. Club medics attended to the intern at the scene.

The newspaper claims the Cole apologised and was reprimanded by club officials. The report also says that Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich has ordered a full investigation into the matter.

Neither the club nor Cole have released a statement regarding the incident.

Cole played for Chelsea in Tuesday's Champions League match in Copenhagen.
                                                                                Source http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/...udent-with-air

back in the realms of prehistory, Mrs Duke III shared a house briefly with the then future Mrs Paul Kehoe T.D.

he seemed like a nice lad

ooh should be fun

It is my understanding that Longford and Mullingar types, don't like voting for Athlone types due to all the money being spent in Athlone over the years that should have gone to Longford/Mullingar?
                                                                                    Super entertainment for sure for a Saturday in

I had an "audience" Burke and former TD Paul McGrath at work on Wednesday (I work directly across from campaign HQ). McGrath had nothing pleasant to say about Mammy O'Rourke, I jokingly referred to her as an obsolete dinosaur and he almost smiled.

Always strikes me as such a bitter chap. Years ago for CSPE class himself and Willie Penrose brought us around the dail on and we'll never forget him pointing out JFK's secret service man "As black as the Ace of Spades, sure how could you miss him" in an old photo up there. I also remember he was canvassing when I was 16 in my uncle's house. Big shinner territory out there back in the day and he was asking for my vote but my being underage and my Aunt saying run that prick for what he did round here. I didn't know this and I am not sure how valid or true it is but sceal had something to do with him allegedly getting Garda roadblocks set up in the 90s searching the local's vehicles for arms/bomb making equipment Dunno either way tbh but I told him he wouldn't be getting my vote and that he wasn't well regarded in the area, I drew great pleasure in watching the steam billow from his ears.

On the Athlone/Mullingar thing, I guess the resentment if anything must have been from O'Rourke being a top dog in FF in previous years and the "wouldya look at that athlone crowd getting all them grants and stuff, that cunt would never help anyone else in the county" mentality. If she was Mullingar based it'd be that cunt has no time to help us out around here and she never did something for us either. Standard innate Irish begrudging type stuff.

Actually come to think of it Troy was there on Tuesday too and really all either of the 2 candidates could say was "We're young like you, ya'know the story, we know the story. Older politicians are out of the loop, their mates aren't emigrating and we'll look after the town. Sure if you're voting the other crowd, g'wan give us a 2 or 3 and help the town". I couldn't really hit them with any questions as the boss ran both of them for wasting my valuable work time.

wow, what a non story.

This was the winner for me.

Anyone else disturbed by the lifting up of winnears up to shoulder height upon election? Really looking like an accident waiting to happen to me.
                                                                                          Thankfully every one will be recorded, leading to an excellent youtube contribution.

back in the realms of prehistory, Mrs Duke III shared a house briefly with the then future Mrs Paul Kehoe T.D.

he seemed like a nice lad
                                                                                            He was a pretty happy chappy just a few mins ago alright

pretty lucky one if you ask me

Apparently Scanlon got 70% of MacSharry's transfers. Labour candidate eliminated next. Likely the shinners will get more transfers there. Very close though.
                                                                                                ya was going to say earlier, should all depend on where those votes go
                                                                                                FG or Shinners

Labour really thought they had a shot at 3rd seat

Mick Wallace seems like a nice guy

I'm just not convinced that the world is ready for him
                                                                                                  Does he have any policies? Or have we reached the stage where the less policies you have to turn voters off, the better your electoral prospects?

I used to think single issue independents weren't that good a development for our democracy, but zero issue candidates is really taking the piss imo.

Thrilled to see Ming in though. Delicious irony to see him get in while Frank Fahey gets the boot
                                                                                                  My poker blog - Doking around in cyberspace

Anyone else disturbed by the lifting up of winnears up to shoulder height upon election? Really looking like an accident waiting to happen to me..
                                                                                                    especially all those ancient Labour candidates

ya was going to say earlier, should all depend on where those votes go
                                                                                                      FG or Shinners

Labour really thought they had a shot at 3rd seat
                                                                                                      If at any stage Perry gets a surplus to distribute, it will help scanlon more than colreavy.

Originally posted by doke View Post
                                                                                                        Does he have any policies? Or have we reached the stage where the less policies you have to turn voters off, the better your electoral prospects?
                                                                                                        he has frizzy hair, he don't need no policies

man

Holy Jaysus.

Reminds me of one Sunday afternoon in Johnnie Foxes, full of tourists, a lot of them British.

There's a table of yokes sitting in the corner, the ballad band are singing Fields of Athenry, at the 'our love was on the wings' bit, the half bred mongs would shout 'SINN FEIN', 'we had dreams and songs to sing' 'IRA'

The worst thing was they were just fucking thick, they weren't exactly trying to cause offence, but that just made it more embarrassing tbh.

Holy Jaysus.

Reminds me of one Sunday afternoon in Johnnie Foxes, full of tourists, a lot of them British.

There's a table of yokes sitting in the corner, the ballad band are singing Fields of Athenry, at the 'our love was on the wings' bit, the half bred mongs would shout 'SINN FEIN', 'we had dreams and songs to sing' 'IRA'

The worst thing was they were just fucking thick, they weren't exactly trying to cause offence, but that just made it more embarrassing tbh.
                                                                                                            Celtic tops in play I imagine?

he has frizzy hair, he don't need no policies

man
                                                                                                              My brother who is more in touch with our native county these days tell me he has one clear policy: 4-4-2 diamond

Who are going to get the last 2 seats in Louth?

My brother who is more in touch with our native county these days tell me he has one clear policy: 4-4-2 diamond
                                                                                                                  what part of the model county do the okes hail from?

the Dukes originate from Enniscorthy

D.

Thrilled to see Ming in though. Delicious irony to see him get in while Frank Fahey gets the boot
                                                                                                                    Does anyone under 40 even remember Ming?

Kinda dissapointed how badly he's aged. Hardly an advert for stonerism

Celtic tops in play I imagine?
                                                                                                                      No, diamond jumpers, check shirts with the gold chain sticking out over the top button and half a moustache.

I once worked as a barman in the Blue Banana in Neilstown, full of absolute scumbags of the highest order.

DJ would play a sped up version of Fields of Athenry every night and all the smelly little scumcunts* would fist pump 'SINN FEIN' 'IRA' to it, ugghh

*copyright Strewelberry

Enniscorthy
                                                                                                                        Snap. The Doke ancestral home is still occupied by my parents, although the exact location is the matter of a family dispute. My father (backed up by the postal service, it has to be said) insists it stands in Bellefield. My mother is equally adamant it's Cherry Orchard.

I see that cnut Micheal Clarke is out of the running anyway.
                                                                                                                          I can go to bed a happy man.