kinda wonder what kind of place sam is working in that involves black slaves and nazi propaganda.
    FF head office, doing some research on how to paint FG come election time?

OK, got my new laptop today. I presume I should leave it plugged in until fully charged before turning it on? I hate having to wait to play with new toys.

turn it on you big girl's blouse.

www.ninite.com first time you connect to internet btw

My fuking water still isn't fixed, 8 days now. Who is the local TD for Chapelizod? Council aren't answering their phones in Phibsborough who are apparently responsible for fixing it.

Landlord being a prick again?
          He has a place in the IFSC that he let the lads have when it flooded last year

OK, got my new laptop today. I presume I should leave it plugged in until fully charged before turning it on? I hate having to wait to play with new toys.
            doesnt really apply anymore with the new batteries.
            It was to give a battery a 'memory' of being fulled charged.
            A bit spurious the science in that one

Detective Robert Robertson is unquestionably one of the greatest characters in tv history.

Up there with the likes of Dirty Den, Derek Trotter, Basil Fawlty and Harold Bishop
              Last edited by Wesley Harms; 17-01-11, 18:12.

aww lads will someone out there PLEASE help me with my download speed!!

PLEASE PLEASE i rang UPC again and they said im def getting up near the 20mb and it is most def a problem on my pc, i did that tcp optimizer yoke but it made no difference!

its taking around an hour to download a film FML

I ran a scan, did disk cleanup bla bla no change!!
                HELP

UPC told me ring there 1550 number iv no credit!!

http://dublin.ratemyarea.com/search?...%2C+dublin+-20
                  Landlord being a prick again?
                  He has a place in the IFSC that he let the lads have when it flooded last year
                  Nah not much he can do about it, we haven't even rang him. Something burst down the bottom of the hill as there is loads of water coming up from the sewers and that part of the road is pretty flooded at the moment. DCC haven't done a thing about it.

I met him the other day seems alright, surprised how young he looked/was. He sent an architect around the gaf the other day so will probably move in after the lease or sooner who knows.

Detective Robert Robertson is unquestionably one of the greatest characters in tv history.

Up there with the likes of Dirty Den, Derek Trotter, Basil Faulty and Harold Bishop
                    Fawlty you n00b.

Is it giving the same download speed if you plug it directly into the router Michelle? If you haven't tried it, then you should imo.

Sweet looking laptop fire it up imo

Mods, when you were over at the other gaf, was it ok to ban someone because they were retarded and wouldn't stop posting?

For anyone who knows anything about rugby, this dude's last 40/50 posts have been comedy gold for the most part.

Completely delusional!

try deleting previous system restore points.
                            They take up a fuckload of space
                            just got 100gb out of disk cleanup, that's a bit ridic!

PLEASE PLEASE i rang UPC again and they said im def getting up near the 20mb and it is most def a problem on my pc, i did that tcp optimizer yoke but it made no difference!

HELP

You are probably using Hotfile? Their speeds arent terribly reliable at the best of times.

Are you using wireless or wired? Try speeds on both.

This should give you an accurate gauge of your speeds as the Heanet FTP is pretty solid.

Download this http://ftp.heanet.ie/debian-cd/5.0.7...me-desktop.iso should be able to get it in under 10 minutes on your connection.

Is it giving the same download speed if you plug it directly into the router Michelle? If you haven't tried it, then you should imo.
                                YEp and its even slower

Im so pissed off, i had so many plans !!!

there has to be some expert here on IPB that can ring me and talk me through something.

You are probably using Hotfile? Their speeds arent terribly reliable at the best of times.

Are you using wireless or wired? Try speeds on both.

This should give you an accurate gauge of your speeds as the Heanet FTP is pretty solid.

Download this http://ftp.heanet.ie/debian-cd/5.0.7...me-desktop.iso should be able to get it in under 10 minutes on your connection.
                                  I am using premium hotfile but i also just tried youtube just to get an idea that was really slow too!

ill give the link a try! thanks

ps can i have your new laptop lol

YEp and its even slower

Im so pissed off, i had so many plans !!!

there has to be some expert here on IPB that can ring me and talk me through something.
                                    As Danny says, download something that isn't from hotfile, although if your speedtest speed is still crap, not likely to change it.

Just a blatant brag post:-

Got a call today offering me a new job starting tomorrow!

1st job in about 3 years!

SHIP! SHIP! SHIP!

Not a funny subject matter at all, but with the players name it's hard not to snigger a bit.

Dundee United footballer David Goodwillie is charged with raping a woman at a new year house party in West Lothian.

i have done 3 speed tests wft!!!

HELP

did you try the speedtest on daughters netbook?

Not a funny subject matter at all, but with the players name it's hard not to snigger a bit.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-12209157
                                              Bad willie imo

did you try the speedtest on daughters netbook?
                                                ya that came up at around 10 on speedtest.net!

so i actually do think its this laptop!

Mornin'

i have done 3 speed tests wft!!!
                                                    The other two seem ok speedtest one looks off, there is an option to forum copy the link so it looks like this.

I need help too!

A program called "Security Shield" has popped up telling me I have 34 viruses on the laptop and I can't get into anything besides google chrome. Its $79 to buy lifetime protection from them?

Are they legit? and should I enter credit card details on it to buy the protection?

edit: i googled it and its a hoax so I need to remove it now.
                                                      Last edited by bantee; 17-01-11, 18:50.

jesus no. Its a scam.
                                                        Last edited by Zuroph; 17-01-11, 18:53.

The other two seem ok speedtest one looks off, there is an option to forum copy the link so it looks like this.

So what do you ya reckon is up!!!
                                                          any idea?
                                                          That link you gave me took 7 mins to download!!!

wouldnt open anyway.

Originally posted by bantee View Post
                                                            I need help too!

A program called "Security Shield" has popped up telling me I have 34 viruses on the laptop and I can't get into anything besides google chrome. Its $79 to buy lifetime protection from them?

Are they legit? and should I enter credit card details on it to buy the protection?

level?

HELP

An hour to download a film? My heart bleeds. It takes me about 2 days

i need help too!

A program called "security shield" has popped up telling me i have 34 viruses on the laptop and i can't get into anything besides google chrome. Its $79 to buy lifetime protection from them?

Are they legit? And should i enter credit card details on it to buy the protection?
                                                                no no no no no

I need help too!

Wow. Joking right?

I am using premium hotfile but i also just tried youtube just to get an idea that was really slow too!

ill give the link a try! thanks

ps can i have your new laptop lol
                                                                    how old is the laptop/pc?
                                                                    try boot it into safe mode
                                                                    (press and hole f8 when booting)
                                                                    with networking and see if there is a performance improvement when connecting
                                                                    It's possible that flash/java plugins are strangling the machine, especially if you have a lot of stuff preloading with windows.

I need help too!

Dodgy as fuck man.

So what do you ya reckon is up!!!
                                                                      any idea?
                                                                      That link you gave me took 7 mins to download!!!

wouldnt open anyway.
                                                                      Well if you downloaded that in 7 minutes then your connection seems to be grand, your screengrabs are small so cant see everything but it looks like on the other 2 and not the speedtest one you were getting 15 out of your 20meg down which is good.

Speedtest is ok to go to but I wouldnt rely on it totally, the thing I gave you your not meant to open you can delete it now it was only a test to gague the speed plus I wouldnt be relying on Hotfile as an indicator as well as their speeds fluctuate something crazy.

Try the UPC speedtest and put up a screengrab from it.

What machine are you using for this? Laptop/Desktop/Netbook?

Fawlty you n00b.

who was complaining the other day about the standard of spelling on this site...........you dope Richie

how old is the laptop/pc?
                                                                          try boot it into safe mode
                                                                          (press and hole f8 when booting)
                                                                          with networking and see if there is a performance improvement when connecting
                                                                          It's possible that flash/java plugins are strangling the machine, especially if you have a lot of stuff preloading with windows.
                                                                          laptop is about 18months old. running on vista, i already tried safe mode earlier made no difference!

I need help too!

Follow the instructions here and you will be back to normal in under an hour (if your computer is reasonable spec).

My Security Shield is a rogue anti-spyware program from the same family as Virus Doctor. This infection is promoted through web sites that show advertisements that pretend to be online anti-malware scanners. These scanners will then pretend to scan your computer, and when finished, will state that your computer is infected and that you need to download and install My Security Shield to protect yourself. The truth is that these online scanners are all fake and are only an advertisement. They have no way of knowing what is running on your computer.

wtf, nike now making rugby jerseys for football sides

Dodgy as fuck man.

Well if you downloaded that in 7 minutes then your connection seems to be grand, your screengrabs are small so cant see everything but it looks like on the other 2 and not the speedtest one you were getting 15 out of your 20meg down which is good.

Speedtest is ok to go to but I wouldnt rely on it totally, the thing I gave you your not meant to open you can delete it now it was only a test to gague the speed plus I wouldnt be relying on Hotfile as an indicator as well as their speeds fluctuate something crazy.

Try the UPC speedtest and put up a screengrab from it.

What machine are you using for this? Laptop/Desktop/Netbook?
                                                                                upc comes in at 19mb dunno how to do a screen grab???
                                                                                im using a laptop,

from next year on their making all nfl jerseys too

That looks pretty OK to me

upc comes in at 19mb dunno how to do a screen grab???
                                                                                      im using a laptop,
                                                                                      Well then you are pretty much good to go if your getting 19 out of 20, printscreen or whatever you wanna call it.

You seem to be stressing over nothing just sit back with a glass or wine and relax for 5 minutes.

There is a few things that can effect your speed, how old the laptop is if you are using the correct setting for your wireless a/b/g/n networks stuff like that if you feel your not getting what you want always plug it straight into the router that way you can get a better idea of what speeds you are getting.

UPC customer service is terrible so come here first

Well then you are pretty much good to go if your getting 19 out of 20, printscreen or whatever you wanna call it.

You seem to be stressing over nothing just sit back with a glass or wine and relax for 5 minutes.

There is a few things that can effect your speed, how old the laptop is if you are using the correct setting for your wireless a/b/g/n networks stuff like that if you feel your not getting what you want always plug it straight into the router that way you can get a better idea of what speeds you are getting.

UPC customer service is terrible so come here first
                                                                                        laptop = 18months
                                                                                        plugged into router=worse
                                                                                        settings re wireless network stuffs=help needed there!
                                                                                        wine=im off it midweek!

Finally the water is back and I can flush the freaking weekend of Guinness away.

laptop = 18months
                                                                                            plugged into router=worse
                                                                                            settings re wireless network stuffs=help needed there!
                                                                                            wine=im off it midweek!
                                                                                            Strange it runs worse when plugged into rouer, just get your make and model and google some of the settings or you can get somebody here to help if your stuck.

Oh and buy a Macbook

Strange it runs worse when plugged into rouer, just get your make and model and google some of the settings or you can get somebody here to help if your stuck.

Oh and buy a Macbook
                                                                                              Hmm thanks for the help!

when I take down the clane game next weekend , plan is to buy the mac book

Guess who said this,

"Some might argue that Rooney looked out-of-sorts at White Hart Lane, but the reality is that he gave the kind of performance you would not get from 95 per cent of foreign players."

Guess who said this,
                                                                                                  Andy Gray
                                                                                                  Jamie Redknapp
                                                                                                  Harry Redknapp

would be the order of my guesses.

Andy Gray
                                                                                                    Jamie Redknapp
                                                                                                    Harry Redknapp

Dunphy

Andy Gray
                                                                                                      Jamie Redknapp
                                                                                                      Harry Redknapp

Nope

Dunphy
                                                                                                      Nope, 1st clue. He is not English.

Happy Dude Doppelgänger on University Challenge.

Lol,no wai.

Donnelly is it?
                                                                                                          Last edited by Icarus152; 17-01-11, 20:06.

Guess who said this,
                                                                                                            Fergie??

An hour to dl a movie is not a problem - it takes two hours to watch one so just download the next one when you are watching the first one.

Lol,no wai.
                                                                                                                Correct.
                                                                                                                Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 17-01-11, 20:11.

Guess who said this,
                                                                                                                  Dwight Yorke?

Follow the instructions here and you will be back to normal in under an hour (if your computer is reasonable spec).

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...ecurity-shield
                                                                                                                    Thanks, appreciate it. I've had the laptop years and this is the first sign of any virus on it. Hadn't heard of security shield before but wasn't going to put in credit card details without looking it up first.

Guess who said this,
                                                                                                                      Mr Hansen

Donnelly is it? On UC

Nope, final clue. Ex Liverpool legend I think? 3 European medals with them somehow, probably some fluke.