Lads what's the name of the hotel attached to Barry's casino?

I can't find a website...
    are you playing the IPB match?

Don't think I can make it man, I'm supposed to be entertaining a lady-friend on the friday, so all going well my morning will be taken up as well

good man Tony, I enjoyed that clip. The US one (the original Apprentice) was by the best version. They just do TV better in general over there. They even managed to match the Birtish version of the Office and in some parts exceed it. They do take reality TV to the Nth degree. I've only seen clips of that Jersey wifes thing.
        Fecking hell .
        The US Office is one of the most hilarious shows I've ever watched, absolute gold imo.

Don't think I can make it man, I'm supposed to be entertaining a lady-friend on the friday, so all going well my morning will be taken up as well
          make sure you get your GTL on first!

Fresh to death, yo Sitch cabs are here!

good man Tony, I enjoyed that clip. The US one (the original Apprentice) was by the best version. They just do TV better in general over there. They even managed to match the Birtish version of the Office and in some parts exceed it. They do take reality TV to the Nth degree. I've only seen clips of that Jersey wifes thing.
              Fecking hell .
              Yeah i think i saw 2 series of the US Apprentice, and your man in that clip was the guy that won it. Think i'll go through youtube and catch up on any series of the US and Brit version that i've missed.

In that clip, i love last 15 seconds when they're all sitting in thte car and nobody knows what to say or do!

Fecking hell .
                You should watch Survivor some of the best tv reality stuff going 21 seasons in and its still great, obviously they took some different lines in the run of the show bringing in a few different bits and bobs.

Survivor Samoa is one of my favourites if you get the chance to check it out.

In that clip, i love last 15 seconds when they're all sitting in thte car and nobody knows what to say or do!
                  There's 4 people in the back of that car!!!

You should watch Survivor some of the best tv reality stuff going 21 seasons in and its still great, obviously they took some different lines in the run of the show bringing in a few different bits and bobs.

Huge +1 to this - Survivor is the absolute nuts.

Dave Masters just posted this on his Facebook and I havent really seen any of the news to do with the student protests yesterday but jesus christ Garda smacking people with there battons when they are sitting on the ground is way ott

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPnoAY1wXfI[/ame]

CHeers Danny,
                        I'm very bad at following things. I've seen episodes here and there of Survivor. I can't really get into following them even though I get a kick out of them when they are on. The Apprentice though (US) had me glued. It's classic TV. atm, I also can't figure out why I love the deadliest catch, It just men fecking fishing in the worst weather in the world and their interaction with each other when under pressure. AAAahhhh, that'll be the reason then :-)

DOM you'll ruin yer eyesight read a book.

They deserve it, bunch of retards.

Snap!

I also need to replace this one. It only works when it wants to now. I'm on vodafone too.

Thinking of going with Samsung Tocco Lite as I'm a Samsung whore.

Not a big phone lover obv so just the bare minimum will do me. Anybody got experience with this one?
                            I bought my tocco lite a year ago and I fucking hate it. Avoid imo

the beatings will continue until morale improves

/ends

Originally posted by max_power View Post
                                There isn't a big enough for what you just said.

On this lads, any suggestions for stuff to do on the friday night?

Any restaurant recommendations around the city centre, budget ~€150?

Any shows worth seeing etc?

Jesus, even as a student I was on the Gardai's side until 03:32

Explain....

Oh yeah?

Flight to Galway from Waterford for the Boyles game only 28 quid and 40 minutes. Sweetness!

Admittedly, the protest was a bit ridiculous.

But the Gardai in this country are the most corrupt, power hungy, useless and imcompetent bunch of tards.

It takes a certain kind of person to be a Garda these days and its not the kind of person Id have naturally chosen as a protector of a society.

End Rant/

On this lads, any suggestions for stuff to do on the friday night?

Any restaurant recommendations around the city centre, budget ~€150?

Any shows worth seeing etc?
                                              First time bringing her out?

Dont go to a restaurant and dont go to a show where you wont be able to talk to her for the majority of it.

Akin to going to the cinema... which is a ridiculous place to bring a bird unless you are 13 and plan on dropping the hand down the back row.

But the Gardai in this country are the most corrupt, power hungy, useless and imcompetent bunch of tards.

It takes a certain kind of person to be a Garda these days and its not the kind of person Id have naturally chosen as a protector of a society.

End Rant/
                                                Ever been to Poland?

eh, Fianna Fail?

Students have been putting the Gardai on tilt for years. . I think the boys in blue resent the fact that the brats know stuff

First time bringing her out?

Dont go to a restaurant and dont go to a show where you wont be able to talk to her for the majority of it.

Akin to going to the cinema... which is a ridiculous place to bring a bird unless you are 13 and plan on dropping the hand down the back row.
                                                      No it's a get-back-on-track-with-the-recently-estranged-missus type of deal...

There are a load of retards in that vid tbf. That vid is of a breakaway march that went to Merrion Row (which the protest permit yoke didn't cover) and broke into the DoF. A lot of them are balaclava'd SWP and Éirigí members ffs and some of them are wearing "Fuck Police Brutality" t-shirts, they were defo looking for a reaction and they got one.

Not excusing the guards either, way OTT. Shoulda just started dragging them off from the get-go.

Edit: Lol at yer man using the power of the hi-vis jacket at 2:40
                                                        Last edited by daire; 04-11-10, 16:20.

Dave Masters just posted this on his Facebook and I havent really seen any of the news to do with the student protests yesterday but jesus christ Garda smacking people with there battons when they are sitting on the ground is way ott

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPnoAY1wXfI
                                                          Retards on both sites, why are people so fucking stupid and hateable?

Morons lashing kicks out at the riot police and rushing them, good idea you tits, peaceful protest my arse.

Then because of this certain members of police's temper's flare and they start lashing people who are sitting down out of it.
                                                          FFS, they shouldn't have their job if they can't keep an even keel.
                                                          You can't take out your frustrations on individuals because you are pissed off at others.
                                                          You can't treat them as if they one entity.

Unless all the people they lashed out of it were the exact same ones who were kicking the riot police. I doubt that.
                                                          Fucking tools should lose their jobs and violent protesters should be charged.

The whole thing tilts me anyway because the turn out 2 years ago for the student marches was shite, it would have had a chance of having a greater impact than this time around but obviously many more turn out to this one because it will involve shenanigans, despite the fact that it's entirely futile at this point.
                                                          Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 05-11-10, 09:00.

No it's a get-back-on-track-with-the-recently-estranged-missus type of deal...
                                                            I would suggest just getting the intercourse out of the way first

CHeers Danny,
                                                              I'm very bad at following things. I've seen episodes here and there of Survivor. I can't really get into following them even though I get a kick out of them when they are on. The Apprentice though (US) had me glued. It's classic TV. atm, I also can't figure out why I love the deadliest catch, It just men fecking fishing in the worst weather in the world and their interaction with each other when under pressure. AAAahhhh, that'll be the reason then :-)

DOM you'll ruin yer eyesight read a book.
                                                              TG4 arent too far behind at times, if you do get the chance please watch the whole lot of the one I said its just brilliance!

The Deadliest Catch is utterly excellent I can watch it over and over again.

Maybe some did but the ones just sitting down and get whacked and dragged by the Garda didnt.

Jesus, even as a student I was on the Gardai's side until 03:32
                                                              As I said I hadnt really seen anything to do with it until I watched that clip.

End Rant/
                                                              They really are some useless cunts at times!
                                                              Last edited by tylerdurden94; 04-11-10, 16:24.

Originally posted by daire View Post
                                                                There are a load of retards in that vid tbf. That vid is of a breakaway march that went to Merrion Row (which the protest permit yoke didn't cover) and broke into the DoF. A lot of them are balaclava'd SWP and Éirigí members ffs and some of them are wearing "Fuck Police Brutality" t-shirts, they were defo looking for a reaction and they got one.

Not excusing the guards either, way OTT. Shoulda just started dragging them off from the get-go.

Edit: Lol at yer man using the power of the hi-vis jacket at 2:40
                                                                Yeah getting in their garda's face and waving a tricolour around is just retarded. Your man getting pulled off the ground by his hair was a bit rough alright

If it's an option I'll take it obv

Meh I'd say less than 5% knew what the protest was about and less than 10% of them would be affected by any changes, just looked like a bunch of hicks and scumbags trying to get a rise out of guards and playing the victim card. Lucky they weren't in Europe somewhere.

Obviously The Crown would be ideal but I'd say it's crazy expensive, if not booked out already, for that time of the Year with the tennis on too.

Check out the last page of this thread http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/92...5/index62.html there's a few recommendations for short stay apartments. Staying in around Southbank would make the most sense, close to everything.

I should be working at it so see you there for a few scoops.
                                                                      cheers, ye def go for a few scoops. Just having a peek about , it sure aint cheap down there.

jesus, just checked the crown hotel itself. 350 $ a night ! fuckin hell . Is it all really epxpensive there Ed ?
                                                                      Last edited by smoothcall; 04-11-10, 16:38.

If it's an option I'll take it obv
                                                                        seems sensible, might as well see if the ol' magic is still there before committing to any expenditure. I'm sure when you explain your thinking to her, she will fully concur.

If it's all good, you go out to dinner and blow your €150 on fine food and wine in a congenial post-coital glow

If it's not, kick her out the door, take your €150 down to the Fitz and try a spin-up on the Omaha tables

seems like the +EV option imo

If your ex is going to have dinner with you, you are going to get laid. So you don't have to worry about much else. An ex would not go out with you for any other reason.

Basically as long as you don't completely f*ck things up on the "date part", like rape a penguin or something, you will be fine.

Just go for dinner and then back to yours to watch a movie or something.

Have to agree. First thought was spend €15 on food in M&S rather than €150 in a restaurant.
                                                                            Invite her around. Let nature take it's course.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BXIbl2F6gs[/ame]

What morons those protesters are. The get in the face of the gardaí and taunt them, then complain when they get the bollocks kicked out of them? They all deserve it. Anyone making some retarded protest could probably do with a little beating.

Wow, the video is pretty damning for both sides.

There's a core group of actual peaceful protesting students at the start of the video, who actually knew what they were doing, and were doing it well.

All it took was a group of RA heads and socialist activists to rile things up and the Gardaí hadn't a clue what to do.

The first problem was the aggressive students hid within the greater population of students who were protesting (and the even greater population who were just there for the laugh), meaning that the Gardaí couldn't really segregate them from the crowd.

The next problem came when the Gardaí panicked, never in a million years should a baton have been used on a sitting protestor! What the fuck like?

Overall, 2/10 for the students, -5/10 for the Gardaí.

Disgraces all round really. The people who must feel most angered and disgusted are those who were there making a protest and happened to have sat too close to the Eirígí idiots and got caught up in something that never should've happend.

What's the best website for looking for flights to the states? Someone posted it here before but I can't remember it...

Actually, this one is applicable...

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtoyLPROLZI[/ame]
                                                                                    Get cracking on that poem obv.

What an amazing video. Some amazing shots, how was he able to get so close on both sides?

Putting debate on the content to one side, you have to step back and appreciate modern media and modern technology for how amazing it is.

Ten minutes of high definition up close amateur video footage accessible un edited and un-censored at any time from any location.

You've got to marvel at how lucky we are compared to just one generation ago.

What's the best website for looking for flights to the states? Someone posted it here before but I can't remember it...
                                                                                        skyscanner.net
                                                                                        kayak.co.uk
                                                                                        orbitz.com

They all scan a multitude of sites. You'd easily save €100 by spending ~30/40 minutes knocking about.

There was no violence back in dem days though.
                                                                                          Simpler times.

No perverts either.

Would teargas have been a better alternative then handing out beatings. I've very little sympathy for the students. If the police didn't clear the roads up quick traffic would have been ridiculously chaotic at rush hour.

the Eirígí idiots
                                                                                              They are actually happily claiming the Mary Harney paint incident on their website.

louise.minihan@dublincity.ie
                                                                                              087 2649266

Should txt her to tell her what a fool she is.

Would teargas have been a better alternative then handing out beatings. I've very little sympathy for the students. If the police didn't clear the roads up quick traffic would have been ridiculously chaotic at rush hour.
                                                                                                Beatings make better youtube videos imo.

Simpler times.

No perverts either.
                                                                                                  men were men and drank nowt but porter

where did it all go wrong?

I blame Johnny Logan

So anyone recommend me a decent restaurant around Dublin City Centre for next friday night?

LOL, so you have never been outside Ireland then
                                                                                                      This and it ain't even close. Unless ye are at it within minutes then its all probably not such a great idea in the long run.

Water Cannons imo. Problem being that we'd have to get them down from Belfast.

Think the students would've enjoyed it, grab a few bottles of Fairy Liquid and have a Foam party in Stephen's Green.

Quote from boards.ie
                                                                                                        Congratulations to the Socialist Workers Party, whose entire membership was arrested (3 people)
                                                                                                        Irish Times Timeline of events
                                                                                                        1pm:

The march began at Parnell Square. Gardaí have estimated the crowd at 15,000, whereas the Union of Students in Ireland put the figure at over 40,000.

1.40pm:

A small group departed early from the march route along Nassau Street and went straight to the front gates of the Dáil on Kildare Street [MAP 4], where some protesters climbed poles and threw plastic bottles and cans over the front gate of Leinster House. Socialist Workers Party flags were visible within the group. The march organisers quickly pushed them on and reunited them with the main marching body.

2.55pm:

A man not dressed in official student protest clothing with a megaphone urged the main group, gathering at Merrion Square, to come down to the Department of Finance building around the corner. A rush of people followed.

3pm:

A group of about 40 entered the lobby of the building . Gardaí managed to remove close to half of these and were then forced to barricade in the remaining 20. A group of several hundred now gathered outside the building, with a line of gardaí at the entrance between them and the protesters trapped inside. There were numerous Socialist Workers Party and Éirígí flags in the crowd. A brick was thrown at the wall of the building, along with bottles, cans and signs at the gardaí.

3.05pm:

A Garda horseback unit and three vans arrived outside the building, dividing the group outside in half. The protesters began a sit-down protest in front of the horseback unit.

3.10pm:

Gardaí in full riot gear arrived and took up position between the other gardaí and protesters. The gardaí began removing protesters they had previously trapped in the lobby. There were physical altercations between them and a female garda was struck. Some of the protesters exited with evidence of a beating on their faces.

3.15pm:

The last protester left inside was brought out. The riot squad pushed forward against the crowd and created some space around the entrance.

3.15-3.35pm:

Slowly the protesters were moved back under continuing pressure. One garda on horseback was seen bleeding from the lip.

3.35pm:

Riot police charged, followed by the unit on horseback, and pushed the entire crowd back to a spot adjacent to the Shelbourne Hotel . Several gardaí with dogs were also present.

3.40pm:

There was another riot police charge along with the unit on horseback, which drove the protest back to a spot beside Anglo Irish Bank.

Gardaí then continued to move and disperse those who were left among the crowd.

3.50pm:

The remnants of the crowd outside the Department of Finance building joined a sit-down protest outside the gates of Leinster House , bringing the total there to about 300 protesters.

4.10pm:

Following the conclusion of the sit-down protest, which ended without incident, a member of the Free Education for Everyone organisation announced they would be marching to Pearse Street Garda station, where they believed several arrested protesters had been brought.

4.25pm:

The group of less than 30 protesters arrived outside the Pearse Street Garda station, where eight gardaí waited at the entrance. The protesters stood outside and chanted slogans calling for the students’ release.

Simpler times.
                                                                                                          Lol, 30 years ago you brought at least a motorbike helmet with you, if you were going on a demo, and expecting to encounter riot police

So anyone recommend me a decent restaurant around Dublin City Centre for next friday night?
                                                                                                            The Dragon on Georges st is a good spot. You'll love it.

That was a mad video. A bit heavy handed by the riot guys knocking 7 bells out of people sitting down but they should have stayed with the official protest and not went with the boys throwing stuff at the mounted units. I think a certain amount of truth in the guilty by association here as once it turned into an angry mob if you want out go if not you take what you get. I think reflects badly on whatever colleges the guys with scarfs around there faces are so hopefully the colleges will boot them out if they caught them. Fees aside as a tax payer I dont want to chip in for those lads to get educated if they want to attack the lovely horses (and to a certain extent the guys on top).
                                                                                                              Just my thoughts but an excellent job by the camera man.

The Dragon on Georges st is a good spot. You'll love it.
                                                                                                                *facepalm*

Been in Hugo's a couple of times over the last few weeks, good food, atmosphere and service, and it's pretty reasonable too.
                                                                                                                  "I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes art. You read a book and the writer touches something in you that you would not have brought out of yourself. He makes you discover something interesting in your life. If you are living like an animal, what is the point? What makes the day interesting is that we try to transform it into something that is close to art." - Arsene Wenger

Its the end of the Happy Meal as we know it

San Francisco Passes a Happy-Meal Ban
                                                                                                                    By FREAKONOMICS
                                                                                                                    The San Francisco Board of Supervisors has “passed an ordinance that will require meals to meet certain nutritional guidelines if restaurants wish to include a toy with the food purchase.” Meals with toys must meet nutritional requirements with respect to fruit, vegetable and multigrain content. The ordinance passed by an 8-3 vote, enough of a margin to override a promised mayoral veto. Which comes first: a McDonald’s capitulation or a black market in happy meals? (HT: The Plan)

Excellent idea imo.
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Emmet; 04-11-10, 17:07.

League of Fuckedness update

we are rapidly catching Greece

also the structure of our yield curve is changing and trending towards inversion (basically very bad, this is what happened to Greece)

*facepalm*
                                                                                                                        I'll get someone someday.

Actually is a great spot, I've been there a couple of times with a gang of people and had great nights, so tbh not a bad recommendation anyway.

Originally posted by Wreck View Post
                                                                                                                          Been in Hugo's a couple of times over the last few weeks, good food, atmosphere and service, and it's pretty reasonable too.
                                                                                                                          yes to this

sometimes have a piano player too which is ghey\nice (delete as appropriate)