I don't know what half the smileys are but what does that one mean?

also how f quick does this thread move, I went away for a few days and am way behind! anyway to change posts per page to 100 here like on 2p2?

I shall only use the El Tren smiley from now on for everything

Help please lads!

I use firefox but the last couple of days i'm having internet explorer windows popping up with various gambling/casino sites advertised.

Any idea how I can stop this?

I'd appreciate any help as I'm useless with this stuff, cheers.
          dont use IE.
          Get malwarebytes/superantispyware and run a scan

Originally posted by Gilligan-Black View Post
            Harry is a total legend - Completly destroyed Portsmouth which was a bit rough but the discount he got on Van der Vart makes his awesome. I may be a little biased as a Spurs fan tho.
            He says he won't talk to the press post match again if they come down on him for calling Clattenburg a disgrace. Hope they come down on him hard and he has to put his tail between his legs.

QQ, fire again and pot commit myself or check?

PokerStars Game #52011356298: Tournament #338010421, $5.00+$0.50 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level II (15/30) - 2010/11/01 13:20:24 ET
              Table '338010421 126' 9-max Seat #5 is the button
              Seat 1: cymeryjczyk (3240 in chips)
              Seat 2: GMLeMans (2195 in chips)
              Seat 3: CardGuy10 (2135 in chips) is sitting out
              Seat 4: Y0Y0B0Y (3145 in chips)
              Seat 5: Fattman_Tom (2875 in chips)
              Seat 6: JG LAURA (3450 in chips)
              Seat 7: Hero (4725 in chips)
              Seat 8: DELUXE1893 (2415 in chips)
              Seat 9: Jaso1111 (2890 in chips)
              JG LAURA: posts small blind 15
              Hero: posts big blind 30
              *** HOLE CARDS ***
              Dealt to Hero [As Ks]
              DELUXE1893: calls 30
              Jaso1111: folds
              cymeryjczyk: folds
              GMLeMans: calls 30
              CardGuy10: folds
              Y0Y0B0Y: raises 90 to 120
              Fattman_Tom: folds
              JG LAURA: folds
              Hero: raises 300 to 420
              DELUXE1893: folds
              GMLeMans: folds
              Y0Y0B0Y: calls 300
              *** FLOP *** [4s 5c Td]
              Hero: bets 440
              Y0Y0B0Y: calls 440
              *** TURN *** [4s 5c Td] [9s]
              Hero ?

Originally posted by Gholimoli View Post
                i run gooooooooooooooot.
                4th in thw same 19K grtd again for $2.6K .

7K for first.

played one bad hand 4 handed and got very short and was knocked out shortly afterwards.
                Very nice run you're on.

Originally posted by GAWA9 View Post
                  also how f quick does this thread move, I went away for a few days and am way behind! anyway to change posts per page to 100 here like on 2p2?
                  Yeah go into the user CP and you can change to 40/60/100

Originally posted by Chris Ferguson View Post
                    Very nice run you're on.
                    i know,im shocked my self...im gonna enjoy it while it lasts cuz i dont think it's gonna last much longer.

Yeah go into the user CP and you can change to 40/60/100
                      awesome stuff ty sir, gl all in November going for 1500 mtts this month.

Help please lads!

I use firefox but the last couple of days i'm having internet explorer windows popping up with various gambling/casino sites advertised.

Its easily solved Danny, Just stop looking up dodgy porn sites

He says he won't talk to the press post match again if they come down on him for calling Clattenburg a disgrace. Hope they come down on him hard and he has to put his tail between his legs.
                          Clattenberg is a disgrace. Pure united fan and lousy hometown ref. Back turned so over rules the linesman it was total bollox.

any good live games 2nite?

dont mind playing some live for a change and donate.

Originally posted by Gilligan-Black View Post
                              Clattenberg is a disgrace. Pure united fan and lousy hometown ref. Back turned so over rules the linesman it was total bollox.
                              Hadnt noticed at the time but the reply shows on MOTD it was only when Gomes was right at the linesman did he put his flag up, I think he was happy to let it run and had his mind set that is was a goal so the linesman wasnt gonna change his mind, strange situation thou and kinda fucked up.

Is Chris Ferguson here to play werewolf or become a big staker?

Originally posted by Gholimoli View Post
                                  i run gooooooooooooooot.
                                  4th in thw same 19K grtd again for $2.6K .

7K for first.

played one bad hand 4 handed and got very short and was knocked out shortly afterwards.
                                  Luckbox imo.

Wp man, keep it up

That hadn't occurred to me but why don't we flip it and have a situation where the government heavily subsidises courses which provide graduates the country actually needs (whatever they may be at any given time) and anyone doing other courses (e.g. health promotion or recreation management type carry on ) pays their own way.
                                    I would hardly put health promotion and recreation management in the same category. But then I understand how many billions are spent by the tax payer on health care for preventable illnesses.

excorcist directors cut on tv3
                                      9yrold youngfella settling in with a cup o' tea to go watching it
                                      have never watched the exorcist before
                                      how long before it scares the shit out of him?
                                      Just catching up from last night. Jesus man! Expect a knock on the door from social services during the week.
                                      Last edited by dannydiamond; 01-11-10, 17:50.

Forgot how depressing the day after the clocks go back is.

Pitch black leaving college, soaked wet cycling home, dropped £50 on a new bike lock and lights.

Scotland 1 - 0 Emmet

Forgot how depressing the day after the clocks go back is.

Pitch black leaving college, soaked wet cycling home, dropped £50 on a new bike lock and lights.

Scotland 1 - 0 Emmet
                                          Yeah its a load of shite. Hate it. It should be engineered to be bright for evening rush hour. I don't give a crap about the morning as I'm never up early enough to benefit from the extra brightness then.

Help please lads!

Did you download PartyPoker or 888poker lately?

Is Chris Ferguson here to play werewolf or become a big staker?
                                            Lads, keep the ww accounts out of other threads pls or else i'll drop the banhammer!

Have the new Wheel of Time book ordered, just about to start re-reading the last excellent one now. Hopefully the new one will be as good.
                                              Where did you order it from Dom? I love those books.

Thrilled about the clocks going back.

Means Im not risking my life pounding the pavements in the morning. Much rather it.

Did you download PartyPoker or 888poker lately?
                                                  No, I did intall the lastet AVG though and these 1E pop ups probably started around the same time?

Now that I think of it, Registry reviver has been prompting me to install updates and at each refusal on system start up, an IE window pops up for me to go ahead with the updates. I've just been closing them off.
                                                  Last edited by dannydiamond; 01-11-10, 18:12.

Where did you order it from Dom? I love those books.
                                                    Pre order from amazon. Got a few more books as well, so free shipping. It is released tomorrow I think, so hopefully be shipped then and get to me early next week probably.

Originally posted by GAWA9 View Post
                                                      We like to talk crap in here, and plenty of it.

Go to this page: http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...do=editoptions

and halfway down, approx, you can change it to 100 ppp if you want.

I was told today the crowd behind making RATM or someone number one last year are starting a campaign to vote for Wagner to win it. Might be value in that.
                                                        I suggested that weeks ago. Then I realised that they aren't allowed to realise anything for a while. Their contracts have everything nicely tied up.

Repost from the other day for some of you's who might of missed this, Lazare posted this on Friday night its just brilliant if it doesn't bring a smile to your face you are dead on the inside

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB3NPNM4xgo
                                                        I can't stomach it tbh.
                                                        A kind of steal an audience because they aren't capable of selling tickets and having people turn up at a pre-arranged time and venue to witness them prance, only the element of surprise will work work.
                                                        It reminds me of kids who put on a sh1tshow for their parents and family, except it is excusable as they are kids and it's their parents and family.
                                                        I find it unbearably cringey and attention seeking on a mass scale.
                                                        The sole aim is to have it on youtube asap and have tweens talking about how amazing it is. Do you watch Glee?

tl;dr: dead on the inside, etc.

Every time I see Sinn Fein on the news talking about the economy it annoys me to see Gerry Adams heading the press conference. He is not elected down here, so should keep his nose out.

Yes, I know, all ireland party, etc, but that doesn't wash with me.

For the attention of Raoul Duke III et al:

Very interesting judgment today in the Four Courts. A division of the High Court (3 judges) will give judgment on the NAMA v McKillen case today. Anyone with nothing better to do could always stroll down and see it.

Could be a massive moment for NAMA
                                                            Training day in Ireland.
                                                            Id be more intyerested in the case of the garda who responded to a break in at an old womans house. The old dear told the garda "At least they didnt get the 5k under my bed". The garda comes back later to make sure 'everything was ok' and steals the loot.

Oh definitely not going well at all. Becoming increasingly pessimistic as more and more info emerges. Although still think that countries tend to 'muddle through' these crises. Like Finland in the early 1990s. They also had to nationalise most of their banking system and set up a NAMA style operation.

Thing I'm most concerned about is the idea of uni fees rising to 3k euro without any student loan facility in place. Good quality education is the key to getting through this, and 3k fees are going to exclude a lot of people at the lower end of the socio-economic scale from getting a degree.

A Finnish style recovery that cuts out the waste in the public sector would actually set us up for a much better future 10 years down the line.

Link to the Finnish Prime Minister comments on the potential road to recovery:
                                                              http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...280635335.html
                                                              I'd be curious about the numbers of people that actually pay registration fees. At the moment it's like a back doored way of means tested fees.

Originally posted by daire View Post
                                                                TBH the students' march this week will be a farce organised by the self-serving cunts in the USI/College SUs
                                                                we're having a vote on reaffliating with them this month. 80k to join a pointless useless organistation.

I was told today the crowd behind making RATM or someone number one last year are starting a campaign to vote for Wagner to win it. Might be value in that.
                                                                  Does that crowd just live to line the ample pockets of Cowell and co? He should send them Christmas cards at this rate

I suggested that weeks ago. Then I realised that they aren't allowed to realise anything for a while. Their contracts have everything nicely tied up.

I can't stomach it tbh.
                                                                    A kind of steal an audience because they aren't capable of selling tickets and having people turn up at a pre-arranged time and venue to witness them prance, only the element of surprise will work work.
                                                                    It reminds me of kids who put on a sh1tshow for their parents and family, except it is excusable as they are kids and it's their parents and family.
                                                                    I find it unbearably cringey and attention seeking on a mass scale.
                                                                    The sole aim is to have it on youtube asap and have tweens talking about how amazing it is. Do you watch Glee?

tl;dr: dead on the inside, etc.

Speaking as someone in the position, I would be in favour of a different (few percent higher) tax band on recent graduates to contribute towards the cost of their education. Based on the assumption one is able to secure employment in their field.
                                                                      idk, you'd just be making it even more likly they jump ship.

Are you quite mad? You want to make a protest vote against the X-factor by promoting an artist that will make make the producers equally rich?

Sometimes I wonder about you Lottie.

edit: what sledgy said.
                                                                        Last edited by Icarus152; 01-11-10, 18:54.

idk, you'd just be making it even more likly they jump ship.
                                                                          It sounds great in theory but do you really believe it is significantly easier for fresh graduates to secure employment elsewhere? Maybe if you are willing to move and then look for work but then 1) you probably wont get a visa and 2) still no guarantee of work.

Are you quite mad? You want to make a protest vote against the X-factor by promoting an artist that will make make the producers equally rich?

Sometimes I wonder about you Lottie.

edit: what sledgy said.
                                                                            He can't
                                                                            release
                                                                            shit.

That's what I said.
                                                                            Take your meds.

It sounds great in theory but do you really believe it is significantly easier for fresh graduates to secure employment elsewhere? Maybe if you are willing to move and then look for work but then 1) you probably wont get a visa and 2) still no guarantee of work.
                                                                              Monkey on your back looking for work in Ireland vs no Monkey on your back looking for work elsewhere.

The system that they use in the states has a good premise, but a disastrous performance.

The govt should loan the students the college fees, at an interest free rate for X amount of years, and have them pay them back when they reach employment.

Speaking to an American student who is studying a PHD in Edinburgh about my own debt woes, and he actually laughed at it. "Is that all?!!" "and that's a big deal?".

Essentially, the student loan should perform exactly as if the government was "backing/staking" a student. The government invests now for a return in the future, be it as tax, loan repayments, or increased production and GDP.

The system in America is crazily corrupt, I think someone posted a picture about it recently enough, the cyclical monopoly and the profit production of the loans is sickening,.

The govt should loan the students the college fees, at an interest free rate for X amount of years, and have them pay them back when they reach employment.
                                                                                Yeah I remember we were talking to some people in Belfast and they said that's how it works for them and were perfectly happy with it. I think that would be the best solution.

Although there is perhaps the argument that the goverment already reaps it's investment back via higher taxes paid by graduates.

Idk, I just think making people contribute in some way would make them value the opportunity a lot more.

For any one wanting to watch "The Walking Dead"

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fIHClCW6hk[/ame]

Yeah I remember we were talking to some people in Belfast and they said that's how it works for them and were perfectly happy with it. I think that would be the best solution.

Although there is perhaps the argument that the goverment already reaps it's investment back via higher taxes paid by graduates.

Idk, I just think making people contribute in some way would make them value the opportunity a lot more.
                                                                                      But that's only if they stay in Ireland.

Big problem with a lot of universities here (Edinburgh) is that they are exporting the students. They arrive, take the degrees, and disappear. So the low costs of college / great grants schemes are pretty much milked! I'm definitely a milker anyway.

Taxes will only be paid to the Irish Govt by people working in Ireland, not by people who the Govt has paid to put through education.
                                                                                      A loan on the other hand, will be paid back no matter where you work, and only hits the people who make use of it.

Its a fairer and more equitable way of sharing the cost of students.

That being said, I think that the cost to the Govt of students is something like ~0.75% of GDP, and imo, isn't worth cutting until there is an adequate scheme in place to ensure that people don't miss out on education because of the cuts.

Also, there's a lot to be said about the "Free Fees" "One Time" method that is currently in operation. A lot of people go to college simply because they can, not because they should. And this means that we actually produce a lot of irrelevant (imo) degrees and almost meaningless qualifications. With a student loan system, colleges would see drops in the "easy ride" subjects like Arts and other courses that students take without really thinking about why they are.

This is the main thing imo, there's just so many people in college who couldn't give a shite and are only there because they've a few years to kill. I don't think anyone who values the education they're receiving can reject the idea of paying something towards it.

I'd be curious about the numbers of people that actually pay registration fees. At the moment it's like a back doored way of means tested fees.
                                                                                          Feels like I pay most of the money the Irish education system gets FML

Originally posted by daire View Post
                                                                                            This is the main thing imo, there's just so many people in college who couldn't give a shite and are only there because they've a few years to kill. I don't think anyone who values the education they're receiving can reject the idea of paying something towards it.
                                                                                            Im being paid to be there and can confirm I couldn't give a rats arse

Just done a rough but conservative count; In the last 12 years I have spent much more than 100K on education

Another reason why I think I'll just stick to being a parent vicariously

Just done a rough but conservative count; In the last 12 years I have spent much more than 100K on education
                                                                                                  That James Caan offer isn't looking so bad now is it?

Villian was a 15/13 with a 3bet of 9 over 200ish hands. His call pre is beyond awful.

Full Tilt No-Limit Hold'em, $0.25 BB (6 handed) - Full-Tilt Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

Button ($25.15)
                                                                                                    SB ($25.41)
                                                                                                    BB ($29.09)
                                                                                                    UTG ($18.69)
                                                                                                    MP ($28.30)
                                                                                                    Hero (CO) ($29.24)

Preflop: Hero is CO with K, A
                                                                                                    1 fold, MP bets $0.75, Hero calls $0.75, Button raises to $3, 3 folds, Hero raises to $7.75, Button calls $4.75

Flop: ($16.60) Q, 10, 10 (2 players)
                                                                                                    Hero bets $21.49 (All-In), Button calls $17.40 (All-In)

Turn: ($51.40) 3 (2 players, 2 all-in)

River: ($51.40) J (2 players, 2 all-in)

Total pot: $51.40 | Rake: $2.57

edit: he had A10o

Call / 4bet? Odd line to take...

Can't see results either, but i don't think you played it well at all.

Call / 4bet? Odd line to take...

Can't see results either, but i don't think you played it well at all.
                                                                                                        Opener was very tight folding to 90% of 3bets and Villian and BB very 3betting fairly frequently.

I never expected him to flat and It was a bit of a wtf spot on the flop.

Get in Charlie Adam. Peno scored and West Brom clean sheets gone. WBA also down to 10

Opener was very tight folding to 90% of 3bets and Villian and BB very 3betting fairly frequently.

I never expected him to flat and It was a bit of a wtf spot on the flop.
                                                                                                            So call villains 3bet and own him on A/K hi boards, don't 4bet him!

I prefer to 4bet/call.

Originally posted by p_larkin99 View Post
                                                                                                                Get in Charlie Adam. Peno scored and West Brom clean sheets gone. WBA also down to 10
                                                                                                                Nice and Blackpool backed at 2/1. Sorry for the after timing

Back-raising there is fine, imo

Nice and Blackpool backed at 2/1. Sorry for the after timing
                                                                                                                    Should actually be a decent watch, both like to play some ball but huge advantage already for Blackpool. More Adam points please.

when does mad men get going. just watched first two episodes, and not really feeling it so far..

What the hell happened to the Vikings this weekend?

Randy Moss cut lol.

What the hell happened to the Vikings this weekend?

Randy Moss cut lol.

He must be poison in the dressing room. Just goes to show how savvy Bill Belichick is.