I see Thomas Cook finally went bellyup overnight. Be some cunt to be stuck in an airport with screaming kids and flights all cancelled. Zuutroy could be cleaning up if he hadnt bust the plane.
    Anyone who booked with them lately was taking a huge risk
    Writing was on the wall there months.

Anyone who booked with them lately was taking a huge risk
      Writing was on the wall there months.
      I'm only surprised they were still around. Would have thought they had gone the way of the Pony Express and the gaslighter years back.

How do you get that as a platter?! What does it consist of...?
        Chef had a pic on Twitter early in the morning, it wasn't on the menu so pulled out the Phone and asked for one of these please

https://photos.app.goo.gl/quBH5126AvfwFBkP6
        Last edited by mocata; 23-09-19, 09:43.

I'm only surprised they were still around. Would have thought they had gone the way of the Pony Express and the gaslighter years back.
          They say the first 178years is always the easiest.

Travel agents, taxi cab operators tobacco etc, the tour operator was sure to be close behind with the likes of booking.com etc meaning you didnt have to rely on recommendations anymore.

When you do your own booking the airline can go bust or cancel flights, or your hotel can shut down or deny your booking. So using a travel company isn't necessarily the worst move as you do have certain securities.
            I do my own bookings like most here, but there have been plenty of moments when I've wished I'd had a Thomas Cook type office to ring because something has gone banjaxed.
            I think there'll always be a market for the hold-your-hand holiday package, and I'd say TC's problems weren't just because of this change to self-bookings.

When you do your own booking the airline can go bust or cancel flights, or your hotel can shut down or deny your booking. So using a travel company isn't necessarily the worst move as you do have certain securities.
              I do my own bookings like most here, but there have been plenty of moments when I've wished I'd had a Thomas Cook type office to ring because something has gone banjaxed.
              I think there'll always be a market for the hold-your-hand holiday package, and I'd say TC's problems weren't just because of this change to self-bookings.
              Take over of my travel group, Arab spring, unable to restructure a move to an online model until far too late and the pound collapsing in the last 3 years all played their part.
              Not to mention the usual super duper bonuses paid out to execs

I'm flying Ryanair a couple of times next month and I haven't used them in the last year or so. I know I can only bring a small bag on board without priority or other options. Are they strict on the dimensions (40x20x25cm)?

News was funny this morning 're Thomas cook. Talking about the biggest repatriation since the war getting 150k brits home. Then they interviewed a lad at the airport giving out cos he just arrived at the airport and his OUTBOUND flight was cancelled. Just go back home ffs

Great to see Georgia finishing so strong. Really up for it now

Perhaps targeted at the higher end, more "experience" type holidays but https://www.trailfinders.ie/ are top drawer. I've used them for a couple of trips and I know numerous people who have used them for honeymoons.

I priced it by myself and through them with very little difference, always found them great to deal with.

Trump looking more deranged and just plain stupid by the minute, they really need to get rid of him in a hurry.

For any hip hop fans Little Brother released a new album after ten years and with low expectations it's actually great. It's called May the Lord watch.

If you haven't heard of Little brother and 9th wonder then check the first two albums they are amazing

I'm flying Ryanair a couple of times next month and I haven't used them in the last year or so. I know I can only bring a small bag on board without priority or other options. Are they strict on the dimensions (40x20x25cm)?
                            Nope, never found them strict with dimensions, or even check a laptop bag. My bag is sometimes twice those dimensions and never had an issue with a carry on (plus you can carry on a duty free bag for free too afaik, so can throw some stuff in one of those if you pick up anything

If travelling light, having no '10k bag' is defo the way to go. I always go for non-priority these days too. Checking in a bag with liquids etc, and waiting til last to get on the place seems the +EV choice if you're not in a hurry the far side.

Just found out a swede and a turnip are the same thing

Nope, never found them strict with dimensions, or even check a laptop bag. My bag is sometimes twice those dimensions and never had an issue with a carry on (plus you can carry on a duty free bag for free too afaik, so can throw some stuff in one of those if you pick up anything

If travelling light, having no '10k bag' is defo the way to go. I always go for non-priority these days too. Checking in a bag with liquids etc, and waiting til last to get on the place seems the +EV choice if you're not in a hurry the far side.
                                  The new system is so much better 10kgs 12 each way to book on bag with all your liquids excellent job. Surprised they don't charge more. I'd pay 20 each way for that tbh as the liquids make up etc a big thing for me and also no dragging a case about airport.

This day next week my 20 kg will be in hallway, 2 weeks of 28 degrees ish... First full 2 week hol in a decade. I'm fucking here counting down by the min.

Never doing a week again either 10 days or 2 weeks. Fu retail. Fucking sick of it. Just finished 7 days on the trot. I'm absolutely fucking wrecked from it and now heading into busy season.

3 sales today and 4 complaints that took up my whole day with no room to breath.

I'm seriously thinking of a month away next year. I need time out from fucking humans badly.

And I'm with flush draw always, last on plane spot empty seats throw myself off and sleep across them. Tis Brill. Priority my hole to sit on a fucking stuffy plane waiting for everyone else.
                                  Last edited by SatNav; 23-09-19, 21:23.

This day next week my 20 kg will be in hallway, 2 weeks of 28 degrees ish... First full 2 week hol in a decade. I'm fucking here counting down by the min.
                                    Where are you off to?

Anyone have any recommendations for a good place to get a watch repaired. Not your run of the mill job either, its ceramic so they're meant to be a nightmare to repair.

Where are you off to?
                                        To my favourite beach on the planet

Sand dunes corralejo

For less than 150 quid flight its no different to the Caribbean.

Famous for its year-round warm climate and mix of white and black sand spots, here are the 5 best beaches in Fuerteventura.

I'd move in the morning. I love the place, so quiet, very relaxing and weather beautiful. Oh and a litre of gin a tenner lol

4 th visit in less than 2 yrs. Booking again soon for April might do a month Sept
                                        Last edited by SatNav; 23-09-19, 21:58.

Anyone have any recommendations for a good place to get a watch repaired. Not your run of the mill job either, its ceramic so they're meant to be a nightmare to repair.
                                          2 likely places are http://www.lawlessclocks.ie on wicklow street and Dawson jewellers. Watches forum on boards.ie is probably the best bet for finding a specialist if you have no joy here.

Last edited by Denny Crane; 24-09-19, 05:34.

Supreme court rules unanimously that prorogation is justiciable and that prorogation to prevent parliament carrying out its role would be unlawful

Supreme Court decision in progress, has gone against De Pfeffel so far.

Holy fuck. Parliament not prorogued.

Anyone priced up a Trump / Johnson last longest

Never have I been so happy to be wrong about something.

Must be used to it at this stage m8

Where is it likely to go from here now? I haven't really been following it for a while.

He'll hopefully resign by tweet, and stay in NY

Why are they calling it a Supreme Court when UK don't even have one?

Holy fuck. Parliament not prorogued.
                                                                      I'm surprised people are surprised, would be interesting to hear what Kayroo thinks but I read it as they they didn't even bother to defend the central lie that Scotland ruled on and just hoped it would be ruled not justiciable.

You can pick up money laying Brexit before Dec @2.7 ish

I don't see how he can possibly try to force through no deal on the 31st

Some chance he can get a deal but we will veto anything that doesn't have the backstop in one name or another. Some version of that will be his only try chance to salvage something and get to even lead the tories into an election.

Russia v Samoa is a bit of a mad game

Why are they calling it a Supreme Court when UK don't even have one?
                                                                          Not sure what you mean, they do have one since 2010 or something.
                                                                          Was previously the House of Lords that was supreme but got changed under one of New Labours last acts.

Bercow just said they'll sit tomorrow at 11.30.

Must be used to it at this stage m8
                                                                              GFYD

Originally posted by The Situation
                                                                                https://hitchensblog.mailonsunday.co...d-kingdom.html
                                                                                LOL if you are quoting Peter Hitchens as a reference for anything then its likely you are wrong.

It is possibly true that they could appeal the ruling to the European court of justice

Bercow just said they'll sit tomorrow at 11.30.
                                                                                  He will be on top form.

Might have to WFH and watch the latest chapter in this new golden age of reality TV.

Whatever the merits of Brexit, this is fascinating viewing.

LOL if you are quoting Peter Hitchens as a reference for anything then its likely you are wrong.
                                                                                      The juxtaposition of his writing to that of his brother is incredible really.

Be honest now: who knew the UK had a Supreme Court before this insanity? (not me).

Now using 'Brexit' as the commonly-accepted synonym for 'monumental fuckup' in work, especially with UK colleagues.

"Jesus, what happened with that fucking project? It's completely fucked!"

"It is fucked. It's no Brexit though."

"Fair point."

Be honest now: who knew the UK had a Supreme Court before this insanity? (not me).
                                                                                            I'd forgotten that they didn't have one

Whatever the merits of Brexit, this is fascinating viewing.
                                                                                              The UK’s credibility is shredded.

A PM who has been found to have mislead parliament and the queen and he gives an interview in New York like its all the normal cut and thrust of Brexit politics.

When you’re making Italian and US politics look like adult behaviour you’ve stepped through the looking glass.

Yo deadly parrot, what's the current tv show streaming app of choice these days. Morpheus isn't performing like it used to?

Note the hand the wrong side of the Capo. Ah here Boris .

I assumed that they had one, or a court to that effect, like everyone else.
                                                                                                    Forgot about the Lords being the last resort.

I thought they just changed the name from 'the law lords' and maybe some rules about not having to be a lord to sit
                                                                                                      Obv they have had a court of last resort since whenever.

@Raoul

@Raoul

They'd be mad to impeach now and let the GOP reset before the election?

Although who the fuck knows anything anymore.

Yo deadly parrot, what's the current tv show streaming app of choice these days. Morpheus isn't performing like it used to?
                                                                                                            Titanium is pretty handy.
                                                                                                            Apollo promises so much but just keeps coming short

The UK is going to become a failed state. The insanity has its own internal.logic.

Hope they don't have an actual civil war. Could you imaging English refugees arriving here on dinghies

...Euromillions Lotto syndicate...

...Shameless spamming alert!!!...

...Just set up a thread for Lotto syndicate... Wasn't won today, is capped at €190 million, and all other money will drizzle down to other prizes, so worth the risk... Please do enter...

Punchable Brexiteer cunce don't come much more punchable than smug mental midget Chris Montgomery.

Hope they don't have an actual civil war. Could you imaging English refugees arriving here on dinghies
                                                                                                                      Wait till they figure out that freedom of movement due to the common travel area means they can all pile in

I remember in the old days of the Euro debt crisis, people were setting up bank accounts in Belgium and Germany, in case there was a schism. The idea being that in theory (Marge), bank accounts would change into "local euro" currency.

Would a N26 count as a German bank account even for an Irish customer in such circumstances?
                                                                                                                          Is there any meaningful framework for what would happen in case of a euro break up? (esp. as the tenure of Mr "Whatever it takes" is coming to an end)