cracking fking game

Is the bar in The Academy decent?

No. Terrible.

Bollox.

When a gig says it starts at 8 when does it really start? Should know this.

1 mile round trip to Brew Dock. Don't fancy that in these brogues. Where's a good bar near Mr. Kerryman?

Bollox.

1 mile round trip to Brew Dock. Don't fancy that in these brogues. Where's a good bar near Mr. Kerryman?
            Generally speaking a headliner will be onstage around 9 or soon after in the Academy to be done by 10.30/10.45 so the place can be emptied out for the club starting at 11. The support band will start at 8 or soon after and be done around 8.40 or so.

The bar is rubbish as Dobby said.

The promoter will often have the stage times on their Fbook/Twitter.

Fuck it. Never thought of staying on the Luas. Only half a mile then.

Generally speaking a headliner will be onstage around 9 or soon after in the Academy to be done by 10.30/10.45 so the place can be emptied out for the club starting at 11. The support band will start at 8 or soon after and be done around 8.40 or so.

The bar is rubbish as Dobby said.

The promoter will often have the stage times on their Fbook/Twitter.
                Cheers Benny, that suits lovely.

PS.. who wears brogues to a gig? I presume you're expecting line dancing or a hoe down or something

lol, I've a choice of Brogues, nice brogues too, NB running shoes or scruffy Vans.

This girl, semi sophisticated, brogues fit..

Yola's "Faraway Look," from her Dan Auerbach-produced debut album, Walk Through Fire, out now: https://click.ees.link/WalkThroughFireDirector: Tim DugganProd...

Have a spare ticket by the way, if anyone fancies it.

Gig starts in 3 minutes.

Bollox.

Not much good to you now but Gin Palace at the corner of Abbey street and liffey street is fine and a popular pre gig meet up spot that I've noticed from going to gigs alone, bottom of liffey street near the quays is the grand social, again it's fine and just convenient. Or the aul reliable Nealons on Capel street. More of a walk than the other 2 but a grand spot

What a game. Epic and really proud of the Leinster display. Died with their boots on against a very good Saracens team. Leinster bench missing some impact and departures like Jordi and Carbery have hurt them but it’s for the greater good.

On balance winning one champions cup over the last two years is about right for Leinster and things have a way of leveling out. Last year Leinster got some breaks and this year they didn’t and Saracens are a better team than Racing. Overall Irish provinces had a good champions cup and hopefully it means good things and a little bit of hurt leading to Japan. At least this feels nothing like the Ire v Eng of Wal v Irl defeats.

I hope Ross Byrne, Ross Moroney and Josh Van de Flier start against Munster next week with Porter and Caelan Doris in the mix as well. Better for the squad to give lads a reward for their play over the season and take the chance rather than flogging the front liners.

Was on Magherabeag in Wicklow today. There's no public access to it from the road but can be walked to from Magheramore. Stunning spot

10 years etc etc. Pics or gtfo.

Last edited by DeadParrot; 13-05-19, 09:34. Reason: resized

lol, I've a choice of Brogues, nice brogues too, NB running shoes or scruffy Vans.

This girl, semi sophisticated, brogues fit..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWTwuQ3LeH4
                                  Brogues were bang on. Jaysis it was an old crowd.

I mean, old. Weird.

Brogues were bang on. Jaysis it was an old crowd.

I mean, old. Weird.
                                    Com'on now, yer 99% there...

Everyone was old.. like absolutely everyone....

Magherabeg is going to look disappointingly small if I ever go there now.

Com'on now, yer 99% there...

Everyone was old.. like absolutely everyone....
                                        GFYE

I overheard an oul wan wonder aloud whether there was a cable driven alternative to the twelve steps to the jacks.

Is that the one down the long lane and then down loads of steps to the beach? About halfway between Blainroe and Brittas Bay?

Magheramore is the one you get to down the lane. The pics are from Magherabeag which is close to it but takes a bit of work to get to as there's no easy public access to it. It's essentially a private beach for the couple of properties that border it

Jaysus had a proud moment tonight. Mia wrote her own song played it on guitar, was fab.

Mother please remove the phone from your hand or I'm not doing it I even offered a tenner to video but nope far too stubborn which is a great trait to have at 14

Hopefully coming days I'll get it for ye. So proud of her

The youngest has been going mad for an Oculus Rift (well, Beat Saber to be precise) so going to get her one next week.

There's conflicting info online as to what's needed to run one. Her own laptop's graphics card is a NVidia GeForce 940MX, so it seems to fall below the required level. I have a spare laptop with a Radeon 7650MX card, but don't know if this one will work. My own laptop's graphics card is fine, and we also have an Xbox One.

If the graphics cards are below the required level, will the games still run, but at a jumpy, crappy level?
                                                  If i use my laptop, can i still do other things while she is playing? (assume i connect to the main TV for her)
                                                  Can i get it attached to the XboxOne using a streaming app or some other way.
                                                  Is it worth the money in the first place, and what sort of kit is essential so that we don't buy one and realise there's something missing that we need.

Thanks anyone that can help!

The youngest has been going mad for an Oculus Rift (well, Beat Saber to be precise) so going to get her one next week.

There's conflicting info online as to what's needed to run one. Her own laptop's graphics card is a NVidia GeForce 940MX, so it seems to fall below the required level. I have a spare laptop with a Radeon 7650MX card, but don't know if this one will work. My own laptop's graphics card is fine, and we also have an Xbox One.

If the graphics cards are below the required level, will the games still run, but at a jumpy, crappy level?
                                                    If i use my laptop, can i still do other things while she is playing? (assume i connect to the main TV for her)
                                                    Can i get it attached to the XboxOne using a streaming app or some other way.
                                                    Is it worth the money in the first place, and what sort of kit is essential so that we don't buy one and realise there's something missing that we need.

Thanks anyone that can help!

Wait a few weeks and see if we can get out hands on an Oculus Quest it is so!

Never heard of Magherabeag or Magheramore.
                                                        Would have hues there were in the Derry area rather than Wicklow

Brighton have a lot of Liverpool fans in the team by the look of things.

Imagine things will get very flat around Anfield if City kick on here any further. Wolves to win second half at 7/1 a good bet against a likely dispirited Pool

This is great and should appeal to more than just RDIII and other Brexit nerds
                                                              BBC's Storyville have caught some class and hilarious behind the scenes action while following Guy Verhofstat around during the negotiations.

Stuck in Amsterdam for a connecting flight to Dublin. Flight has been delayed three times already,. Even worst, all the airport restaurants seems to be closed, so if want food, stuck with chocolate bars from vending machine

Please no more delays...

Stuck in Amsterdam for a connecting flight to Dublin. Flight has been delayed three times already,. Even worst, all the airport restaurants seems to be closed, so if want food, stuck with chocolate bars from vending machine

Please no more delays...
                                                                  Restaurants closed In Schipol sounds odd

There is a casino open 24 hours

Restaurants closed In Schipol sounds odd

There is a casino open 24 hours
                                                                    Well not in the ones I found anyway.

4th change now.... With a 15mins improvement.

Well not in the ones I found anyway.

4th change now.... With a 15mins improvement.
                                                                      not the 1st guy to have the munchies after a trip to Amsterdam.

Should have left that opportunity for Lazare to make him even a tiny but better for missing his Jack shit opportunity

But to save 5Starpool a reply technically he wasn't really spending time in Amsterdam it was a connecting flight

Should have left that opportunity for Lazare to make him even a tiny but better for missing his Jack shit opportunity

But to save 5Starpool a reply technically he wasn't really spending time in Amsterdam it was a connecting flight
                                                                          I just love how you can tell how annoyed pokerhand was with the situation he found himself in by the rushed uncharacteristically bad grammar.

Vid all out of sync so had to convert to mp3 and video off other phone but my fav so far, obv not her song but I did really enjoy it

http://youtu.be/QDzkTlluYYM

What a game. Epic and really proud of the Leinster display. Died with their boots on against a very good Saracens team. Leinster bench missing some impact and departures like Jordi and Carbery have hurt them but it’s for the greater good.

On balance winning one champions cup over the last two years is about right for Leinster and things have a way of leveling out. Last year Leinster got some breaks and this year they didn’t and Saracens are a better team than Racing. Overall Irish provinces had a good champions cup and hopefully it means good things and a little bit of hurt leading to Japan. At least this feels nothing like the Ire v Eng of Wal v Irl defeats.

I hope Ross Byrne, Ross Moroney and Josh Van de Flier start against Munster next week with Porter and Caelan Doris in the mix as well. Better for the squad to give lads a reward for their play over the season and take the chance rather than flogging the front liners.
                                                                              Better team won, Sarries fitness levels were absolutely exceptional, the fact that their two sub props came on after 20 (expecting to probably only be playing the final 20/30) and bossed the scrum from then on is pretty exceptional.
                                                                              Their ferocity and line speed in defence was amazing.

The video session wont be kind to a couple of people - How Ringrose didn't use that 4 on 1 overlap, I have no idea! I also thought Leinster looked to be lacking ideas at time, one out runners, constantly getting hit behind the gainline, but didn't really have a plan b. Seemed to be very few contestable box kicks also, although that could be as much around how well Sarries shepherded the chasers.

Well be fun to see Leinster rebound against Munster.

Magherabeg is going to look disappointingly small if I ever go there now.

fixed now

Better team won, Sarries fitness levels were absolutely exceptional, the fact that their two sub props came on after 20 (expecting to probably only be playing the final 20/30) and bossed the scrum from then on is pretty exceptional.
                                                                                  Their ferocity and line speed in defence was amazing.

The video session wont be kind to a couple of people - How Ringrose didn't use that 4 on 1 overlap, I have no idea! I also thought Leinster looked to be lacking ideas at time, one out runners, constantly getting hit behind the gainline, but didn't really have a plan b. Seemed to be very few contestable box kicks also, although that could be as much around how well Sarries shepherded the chasers.

Well be fun to see Leinster rebound against Munster.
                                                                                  Came back for Newcastle last night and what a game that was. Stadium was great, and i'd say it was 50% Leinster, 25% Sarries and 25% neutrals. We were sat with a group of Bath fans who were absolutely great craic on both nights, as we all had the same seats for both games.

I think Sarries would have found a way to win even if they'd gone in at half time 10 3 down, but McGraths poor decision making in a few spots will haunt him. The physicality of Sarries was unreal and drove Leinster back time and again, wave after wave.

First time in Newcastle, and really impressed by the town and people, although number of junkies everywhere is worrying. Found a lovely steakhouse for saturday dinner, down by the quays and we were right in front of the fireworks when they went off.

I'll definitely be back!

Anyone ever stay at Ashford Castle? Any/many Irish or Europeans there, or just wall-to-wall rich Yanks? I am crazy to be thinking about a two night break there later in the year when the rates are bit more reasonable? A few of the stay-n-food packages look relatively OK when you factor in how much the food would cost a la carte; talking €1k for two nights, which would include standard room, 5 course dinner for two in the best restaurant, 3 course dinner for two in the other restaurant, afternoon tea on day, spa access, etc...

Done much of my growing up one hour's drive from the place, so have been to the grounds a good bit, always was fascinated by the luxury within the hotel itself!

I just love how you can tell how annoyed pokerhand was with the situation he found himself in by the rushed uncharacteristically bad grammar.
                                                                                      An 11 hours flight would do that to you

Was even more grim at Dublin airport after 12.30am waiting for taxi. Queue was massive outside T1 with what looked like at least like an hour long wait. Luckily I wasn't too tired to remember to check T2, wait was only 15 / 20 minutes there.

Anyone ever stay at Ashford Castle? Any/many Irish or Europeans there, or just wall-to-wall rich Yanks? I am crazy to be thinking about a two night break there later in the year when the rates are bit more reasonable? A few of the stay-n-food packages look relatively OK when you factor in how much the food would cost a la carte; talking €1k for two nights, which would include standard room, 5 course dinner for two in the best restaurant, 3 course dinner for two in the other restaurant, afternoon tea on day, spa access, etc...

Done much of my growing up one hour's drive from the place, so have been to the grounds a good bit, always was fascinated by the luxury within the hotel itself!
                                                                                        The hotel and staff are excellent and there is lots to do over the course of the stay. The afternoon tea is really nice but you’d be stuffed after it, so go in hungry! The rooms are very nice but they’re small and I found it hard to sleep with the heat. Food in both restaurants is quite good from memory too, but not spectacular like Mt Juliet etc. guests are pretty varied but lots of Americans.

I’d recommend doing the boat trip, and perhaps the cinema for the novelty of it, and the grounds are excellent as you know.

It's a fine hotel, well run & the surroundings are lovely. To be honest though I found the whole experience under whelming. Feels like visiting a well to do friend who thinks showing off his expensive art collection proves he has excellent taste. There's a room named after Ronald Reagan which I'd strongly recommend paying extra for. The romantic brownie points I got that weekend are still earning me credit to this day. .
                                                                                          Last edited by DeeBrown; 13-05-19, 12:36.

Speaking of nice hotels, I'm off to Ballinahinch Castle for June bank holiday. I have yet to find a nicer spot to forget about the world at large.

A pint and a toastie in the pub on Inis Meain, after a long walk around the back of the island is a close second.

Surgery tomorrow. Knee arthroscope. I know it's trivial in the grand schemes.
                                                                                              But but pretty much everything is going wrong in 2019.

Night night Doris. A true Hollywood legend.

When I was just a little girlI asked my mother what will I beWill I be pretty will I be richHere's what she said to meQue Sera SeraWhatever will be will beTh...

Booked spur of the moment flights to Munich at the weekend for the June bank holiday. So far we have a 2 hour walking tour of Munich planned, a day tour visit to a concentration camp and hope to eat in Hofbrauhaus.

Anyone been to those or have any other recommendations?

I've always wondered with this kind of thing. What is your motivation in going to a concentration camp Dobby?

Food in Haufbrau house is nothing special. Food in Germany as a whole is nothing special actually.

Munich is a lovely city though. Been there a few times and would go back again.

Booked spur of the moment flights to Munich at the weekend for the June bank holiday. So far we have a 2 hour walking tour of Munich planned, a day tour visit to a concentration camp and hope to eat in Hofbrauhaus.

Anyone been to those or have any other recommendations?
                                                                                                        The Olympic park is well worth a visit, hire bikes and have a scoot around. Been to Germany many times and have never been tempted to to a concentration camp tour, it’s most of your day gone for a dose of grimness. If you want a day out of the city try one of the lake resort towns a train journey away.
                                                                                                        I’m sure this happens every other day there but when I was in the Bier hall where hitler and the Nazis held their first meeting (apparently)a group of Thai tourists hopped on the stage for a group nazi salute photo. Did not go down well .
                                                                                                        Last edited by Guest; 13-05-19, 15:13.

Food in Haufbrau house is nothing special. Food in Germany as a whole is nothing special actually.

A good Wiener schnitzel washed down with a cold beer fairly hits the spot. But yeah not much else tbf

Meh

dumplings, pork knuckles, pretzles, saurkraut, currywurst
                                                                                                            bread, kebabs, Käsespätzle

There's loads you can eat ffs.

Munich is a nice city. there's good electro, house, techno clubs which have long opening hours. Doesn't really fit the rest of the tour though. Make sure to guzzle plenty of augustiner for about 1/3 of what it costs here.

I've always wondered with this kind of thing. What is your motivation in going to a concentration camp Dobby?
                                                                                                                Morbid curiosity . Was in Dachou (spell). The depression didn't leave me for days. The pictures on the walls were just horrible. Eg Doctors/butchers dropping a man into freezing water to see the effect it might have on pilots ditching at sea. The guys face still haunts me . . Don't go.

I've had a strong interest in WW2 since school. Was pretty much the only exam I ever got A grades for in class. The reason for wanting to visit is to see what those people had to endure and go through, try and get an idea of what it was like to see the absolute pits of life and survive for the few that did and try to comprehend what they must have gone through (which I imagine will be close to impossible).

I'm not expecting it to be pleasant. I just expect it to add some realisation to everything I have read and watched about that period so far.

Munich is a nice city. there's good electro, house, techno clubs which have long opening hours. Doesn't really fit the rest of the tour though. Make sure to guzzle plenty of augustiner for about 1/3 of what it costs here.
                                                                                                                    Heh. I'd be the last man youd find in those clubs but thanks anyway lol.

Beer sounds good and will be sampled

Hofbrauhaus just looked class when we checked it and is walking distance from the hotel so that's why we wanted to go. The walking tour we will be doing goes into it for a look tho so maybe that'll be enough and we will rethink food options

Are you doing B&S this year? Hard to believe it's nearly twelve months again already.

I like the festival in general but they've been taking the piss with the line up the last few years. Just in cash cow mode. There'll be cheap tickets floating around closer to the date, I may pick up one of those, but otherwise no. I've tickets for vantastival, ks and ATN so not feeling any pressure.

How about you?