Quality Map porn

USA segment is an amazing revelation
    How the fuck is Cuba bigger than USA?

Everything you know is wrong

I know it's full of Cubans, but that's actually Florida

Work with a few Indian people who much prefer arranged marriages to blind luck (what we wistfully refer to as love). The killer is apparently Indian weddings. My pal in work here still shudders when he remembers his three-day multi-purpose wedding last year. Him and his wife having never really met much before are delighted with each other. They're both highly modern, just preferred that way.
              They kinda have to say that though.

In reality, would you really want your mother choosing your partner for life, largely on the basis of horoscopes?

The map doesn't actually show that the title says it shows! Though it probably doesn't change things too much.

Ah, Newfoundland basically blocks 99% of the East coast.

@keane yep! Beautiful.
                      I think this is the best season ever tbh. Game play has been class, and some really interesting characters.

]
                        Mind = blown

The map doesn't actually show that the title says it shows! Though it probably doesn't change things too much.
                          The text in the inset box explains that he is working from a notional geographical center of Ireland

Looks like this lad created the OC a few years ago

Solskjaer confirmed as caretaker until end of season. Jesus wept

Current thinking in the househunting game is to stop chasing after the nice places that Googlers\Facebookers will outbid you on anyway and instead buy a place needing work on a decent site.

We shall see if this bears fruit, bids are in.

Solskjaer confirmed as caretaker until end of season. Jesus wept
                                Mr Bullocks to you.

He can hardly be worse than the doom loop of negativity that was Mourinho.

@RDIII Do you have a fridge, cellar, or garage you keep your stash of wine in? Had a small wine fridge set to 13C but the thermostat went in it and it had gotten down to 2C, with the 2006 Lagrange on the bottom shelf having frozen. Still thawed and drank it though!
                                  Decent fridges are obscenely expensive...was toying with the idea of this one which is about 50% cheaper than competitors: https://www.soundstore.ie/bosch-wine...sw30v81gb.html

@RDIII Do you have a fridge, cellar, or garage you keep your stash of wine in? Had a small wine fridge set to 13C but the thermostat went in it and it had gotten down to 2C, with the 2006 Lagrange on the bottom shelf having frozen. Still thawed and drank it though!
                                    Decent fridges are obscenely expensive...was toying with the idea of this one which is about 50% cheaper than competitors: https://www.soundstore.ie/bosch-wine...sw30v81gb.html
                                    No, just cupboards under the stairs which seem to do the job re. keeping it away from light at a constant temp.

Light apparently is a far worse influence than temperature btw.

I think this is the best season ever tbh. Game play has been class, and some really interesting characters.
                                      Yeah on what I have seen so far I wouldn't contradict you. Down to around ten left.

Current thinking in the househunting game is to stop chasing after the nice places that Googlers\Facebookers will outbid you on anyway and instead buy a place needing work on a decent site.

We did something similar and it worked. House was manky but new floors and a lick of paint can do a lot.

I'd be thinking more a bulldozer!

Renovation jobs are grand as long as you accept that it will go well over budget and over time.

Have you got Dermot Bannon on speed dial? The cost of building work and the delays you’ll likely experience will need to be fully factored in. I wish you lots of luck with it as you could be talking two years and 50% cost overruns from what I’m seeing. It will get things resolved for you but it’s a serious part time job keeping the show on the road.

We had to knock down a wall and builders are a nightmare but we had no overrun on costs somehow.

I’m sure the landscape has improved since we did it 2 years ago

Renovation jobs are grand as long as you accept that it will go well over budget and over time.
                                                    Aha! Unless you project manage well.

Our previous build had a budget of 110k and a six-week timeframe. Came in bang on target for both with no compromise to original spec.

The tender from the builder ran to 50 pages. Because we gave very detailed specs.

So people who find their projects going over time\budget should look at themselves rather than the builder imo.

Have you got Dermot Bannon on speed dial? The cost of building work and the delays you’ll likely experience will need to be fully factored in. I wish you lots of luck with it as you could be talking two years and 50% cost overruns from what I’m seeing. It will get things resolved for you but it’s a serious part time job keeping the show on the road.
                                                      See my point above.

Detailed request for tender. Detailed costings. Hold the builder to it. Job done.

Your point about effort put in matching outcomes is 100% right.

Thinking back on the previous job, we had very detailed specs done up by a friend who is an architect.

Invited three builders to tender. All 3 showed up.

2 of them showed up with no costings, poked around and pulled a number out of the air. The guy who got the gig showed up with his 50 pages of detailed costings.

I'd be looking to get him in again for sure. The other 2 lads would undoubtedly been of the 50% overrun + delay variety. Again; you get out what you put in.

Thinking back on the previous job, we had very detailed specs done up by a friend who is an architect.

2 of them showed up with no costings, poked around and pulled a number out of the air. The guy who got the gig showed up with his 50 pages of detailed costings.

I'd be looking to get him in again for sure. The other 2 lads would undoubtedly been of the 50% overrun + delay variety. Again; you get out what you put in.
                                                          Sounds like Better Call Saul

Who can I get to run an ethernet cable through a house, an electrician, a clued in handyman?

In the house I'm in the cable was cut during some internal construction, and Eir came and told me we need to run a cat 5e cable from either just inside the front door to the router on second floor, or from outside the back door to it. Then connect the cable to the now cut two dangling wires at the entry point.

The guy was telling me this like it was the easiest and most obviously simple thing to do in the world. And I'm sure it is for people who like being on ladders and own a measuring tape.

I don't even know what length of cable to get and if there are any differences in quality if just using it internally.

House has a blue door and is in Cork.

Who can I get to run an ethernet cable through a house, an electrician, a clued in handyman?

In the house I'm in the cable was cut during some internal construction, and Eir came and told me we need to run a cat 5e cable from either just inside the front door to the router on second floor, or from outside the back door to it. Then connect the cable to the now cut two dangling wires at the entry point.

The guy was telling me this like it was the easiest and most obviously simple thing to do in the world. And I'm sure it is for people who like being on ladders and own a measuring tape.

I don't even know what length of cable to get and if there are any differences in quality if just using it internally.

I'm surprised Eir didn't offer to do it for you. The guys from Virgin went to great trouble to install a cable for me recently.

Those guys not being electricians would suggest any decent handyman should be able to do it easily I'd say.

Dukey building a house you say....

I'm surprised Eir didn't offer to do it for you.
                                                                  He said they don't do that anymore.

I haven't been reading the last few days, did RDIII find and get a house?

Tbf you can learn how to terminate an ethernet cable to a wall mounted socket or RJ45 connector in less than half an hour from youtube. You just need an RJ45 crimper and punch down tool. You'll need CAT5e or CAT6 cable - single core for terminating into sockets or multi-core for RJ45's.

That said it could be really awkward to run a new cable. A decent electrician would do this in under an hour provide there's no crazy fishing or routing involved.

That was two years ago. Good luck getting 1 of the 3 to show up to do the quote now. Anyway I hope you’re right and at least you’re prepared to do the work in advance and to get the right professional help. It’ll be fine. If you wait much longer the kids will be heading towards college so what can you do.

Order the windows early, 4 jobs I’m working on are held up due to windows not been ready that has happened on a few other projects during the year as well

Tbf you can learn how to terminate an ethernet cable to a wall mounted socket or RJ45 connector in less than half an hour from youtube. You just need an RJ45 crimper and punch down tool. You'll need CAT5e or CAT6 cable - single core for terminating into sockets or multi-core for RJ45's.

That said it could be really awkward to run a new cable. A decent electrician would do this in under an hour provide there's no crazy fishing or routing involved.

If you can't find him. Try looking under the foundations of the last job one of the other 2 did. Business is business.

Order the windows early, 4 jobs I’m working on are held up due to windows not been ready that has happened on a few other projects during the year as well
                                                                              On Windows, I have a lad who can get you a good quote and deal with any problems from one of the biggest players in the biz.

Someone, maybe PSV was recommending Patrick Melrose as a TV series and mentioned there are books as well.
                                                                                Are the books worth reading? I'd presume if they are its better to read them before watching the TV.

Buy a 15m pre-made ethernet cable and tape it securely to one end of existing cable then use that to pull it back

He said they don't do that anymore.

I haven't been reading the last few days, did RDIII find and get a house?
                                                                                    Same happened me, I had to get the electrician in to find it as eir wouldn’t even look in the house to see where the wire came in. He ran a cable under the boards for me and charged about €75 in Dublin.

Yes we waited 11 weeks for ours, having been told 5 initially.

Assclowns don't come any dumber or more ridiculous than Mattie McGrath.

At least he has no actual power....Theresa May says hello.

That was two years ago. Good luck getting 1 of the 3 to show up to do the quote now. Anyway I hope you’re right and at least you’re prepared to do the work in advance and to get the right professional help. It’ll be fine. If you wait much longer the kids will be heading towards college so what can you do.
                                                                                            Jaysis, you're all negativity today lads!

Someone, maybe PSV was recommending Patrick Melrose as a TV series and mentioned there are books as well.
                                                                                              Are the books worth reading? I'd presume if they are its better to read them before watching the TV.
                                                                                              I thought it was v good, it's pretty harrowing stuff though.

If its just for a router connection there is no need to run a cable you can just use these . and use the power cables in you home to route the data

These are plenty quick enough for any bband connection, and this brand are very reliable..
                                                                                                Longshotvalue.com

Anyone who has Amazon Prime and isn't watching The Marvelous Ms Maisel is missing out. Its just total class. Do yourself a favor and get these 2 seasons.
                                                                                                  Longshotvalue.com

Alfonso Cuaron's latest offering Roma is a beautiful piece of filmmaking. It already premiered on Netflix and is also available in the usual places.

Want to treat myself, if possible, over xmas to three or four hours supping creamy pints with a book.

Where's a good Dublin CC pub that ticks these boxes?

Cozy.
                                                                                                      Quiet.
                                                                                                      Daycent pint.

Have Neary's in mind but am open to suggestions.

Bowes/Library bar

Mulligans (Poolbeg St) would be my choice id say.

Swan (has fire)
                                                                                                          Duke
                                                                                                          Nearys
                                                                                                          Birchalls (Ranelagh)
                                                                                                          Toners
                                                                                                          O'Connells & Lower Deck (Portobello)

Hmmm, fancy a Guinness pub crawl now

All decent for a few afternoon Guinness and a paper/book.

Edit - forgot Grogans
                                                                                                          Last edited by Dice75; 19-12-18, 21:15.

The guy with the detail coatings would have surely had the more accurate price.
                                                                                                            But I'd hazard a guess that the other two pulled lower figures from the air.
                                                                                                            It's a little easier to avoid cost over run when it's included early.

But do agree with you. Most "cost overruns" are items that were int included in the tender, or additions during the build. Blsne lies client side for both.

Want to treat myself, if possible, over xmas to three or four hours supping creamy pints with a book.

Where's a good Dublin CC pub that ticks these boxes?

Cozy.
                                                                                                              Quiet.
                                                                                                              Daycent pint.

Have Neary's in mind but am open to suggestions.
                                                                                                              Brannigans, just off O Connell street. Looks like a Lane but think it's called Cathedral street. Took the missus in there a few weeks ago to escape a wicked downpour, had 2 drinks but she didn't wanna leave it was so cosy and comfy in there. Great staff, decent pint.

Was an aul lad in there with his paper and a pint of plain so you'd fit right in

Just home from town on what will be the quietest night before the 28th or so. Laz I hope your session is planned for after Stephen's day because best to no chance of achieving that before then. Manic in there. Great boozers recommended above.

Anyone watching MasterChef the professionals? Something must have happened because no way he was the man to be sent home and thank jaysis it isn't a real time show because I would have been punting him hard. Thought he was nailed on.

A very hard and painful update on my brother in Perth.

Stephen took his own life last Wednesday, 12th.

To say, as a family we are devastated is an understatement. I know there have been several families here affected by suicide and it will bring up those painful memories to them and i apologise for that.

To have to tell my Mother broke my heart, same having to tell my brother.

Last Thursday and Friday are a blur but it has been easier as each day passes, keeping busy, making arrangements to get him home.

We heard yesterday that he will be home Saturday, initially it was going to be a few weeks, but thanks to Kevin Bell Foundation and Dept Of Foreign Affairs we will be able to at least get him home before Christmas, at least for my Mam that's a blessing.

I am more than aware it hasn't hit me yet, i have a great way of avoiding but hopefully when it does ill be ready for it.

Seems silly, but i was dreading telling all of ye. Its actually a weight off my mind writing this.

The poor man was tormented for a long time inside his own mind and knowing he isn't suffering anymore makes it that little bit easier.

”Forever Young (Slow Version)” by Bob Dylan Listen to Bob Dylan: https://bobdylan.lnk.to/listenYDWatch more videos by Bob Dylan: https://bobdylan.lnk.to/list...

A very hard and painful update on my brother in Perth.

Stephen took his own life last Wednesday, 12th.

To say, as a family we are devastated is an understatement. I know there have been several families here affected by suicide and it will bring up those painful memories to them and i apologise for that.

To have to tell my Mother broke my heart, same having to tell my brother.

Last Thursday and Friday are a blur but it has been easier as each day passes, keeping busy, making arrangements to get him home.

We heard yesterday that he will be home Saturday, initially it was going to be a few weeks, but thanks to Kevin Bell Foundation and Dept Of Foreign Affairs we will be able to at least get him home before Christmas, at least for my Mam that's a blessing.

I am more than aware it hasn't hit me yet, i have a great way of avoiding but hopefully when it does ill be ready for it.

Seems silly, but i was dreading telling all of ye. Its actually a weight off my mind writing this.

The poor man was tormented for a long time inside his own mind and knowing he isn't suffering anymore makes it that little bit easier.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Frj2CLGldC4
                                                                                                                      Tragedy at any time of the year, especially this though condolences Ole. Mental health is a silent killer if left alone.

Ole, I'm so sorry. The poor chap. Thinking of you, your Mam and your bro. Stay strong and don't be afraid to speak about things here if you need somewhere to talk. We got you.