Michael's in Mount Merrion for dinner. Duck arancini ftw!

is that on the hill beside Deerpark?

The future trading relationship is 100% clear. For now, continue trading as normal and pay for that right without representation. Then from 2021 they return to WTO rules, unless they organise something better. So it's not unclear, it's just shit.
          aha, but how shit, per Barnier's famous powerpoint....?

The real fun of course will be Parliament.

Ministers have status and skin in the game.

is that on the hill beside Deerpark?
              Yup

Withdrawal agreement not to be approved by EU and UK parliment by end of year is 11/10. Free money?

Ask Jeremy Corbyn

Ate there two weeks ago and looking forward to going back soon. Great meal

Last edited by Silver-Tiger; 14-11-18, 21:28.

It looks like free movement is the only red line they didn't cave on, and all that's left of even that one is a bit of a smudge. I'll enjoy the schadenfreude from how rekt their negotiating party got for now and look forward with bated breath to the skull cracking and goo-feasting to come in the House of Commons.

It's probably not the thread to ask but I don't want to start a new one, but in case someone knows, is there much poker, more specifically any cash, down in the Waterford area at the weekends?

I know there's a tourney in Dungarvan and another pub near the city but I'd have little interest mid week.
                            Well out of the poker loop, but I think those are your options. A couple of pub games in town, Mullane's and The Cove, and the Monday game in Dungarvan. I'm sure a bit of cash runs after each, but as for the make up & action I've no idea. I'd Imagine you're looking at spin to Cork or Dublin for anything decent.

Edit. Just see this on posted on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/edmond.foga...WhzTeg&fref=nf
                            Last edited by nicnicnic; 14-11-18, 22:37.

Brexit, oil, natgas, a drug war in Droghrda, I picked a poor time to go away.

Don't think it's free money. No reason to think any EU country would oppose, or we'd have already heard. UK, Spain are on board, and it's quite meaningless to every other country. And despite the bluster, UK just has to approve this. The free money is on everything being approved.
                                That does mean getting a chunk of Labour support.

There's ~50 headbangers on the Tory\DUP side who will no way back it. Could be more.

So, do we think Corbyn bails out May?

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 14-11-18, 23:10.

I see Party are currently $4m short of their $10m guarantee in the Bahamas Main Event with a few hours late reg to go. Yikes.
                                      Looks like they got 1,815 runners, so about $9.1m. They managed to increase the field size by about 33% in those few hours.

TheImprover is into Day 3 with 8.4m and blinds at 60/120k. Jason Tompkins also through to Day 3 with ~2m.

Yeah effectively. Just because he's a lunatic mainly. EU has forced the introduction of the most worker friendly laws in world in UK and he still has some weird objection to them.
                                        Hard left in England (where he came from but no longer lives) are traditionally anti EU, all comes from Tony Benn and his ilk

They even sided with the Unionists up north in the 50's/60's when they should have been with the catholic civil rights groups purely because they were Republican and therefore anti Britain

Biggest problem is the DUP, if they had kept their mouths shut and allowed (even pushed for) the line to be drawn in the Irish sea, they would have had full employment in NI within 10 years and everybody would have been perfectly happy staying as an semi independent state within the UK

lols, Dominic Raab resigns. Hope you grabbed all the free money last night Kev that I recommended not grabbing.
                                              A glorious 4 months entertainment from Raab C Brexit. If he got nothing else from it he at least learned that Britain is an island and Dover is surprisingly important.

Hard to see how this goes through unless it somehow it ends up in a free vote.

Maybe May Wins leadership election and the Shinners turn up and take the oath to viote with her

Hard to see how this goes through unless it somehow it ends up in a free vote.

Maybe May Wins leadership election and the Shinners turn up and take the oath to viote with her
                                                  Government of National Unity? All hail joint PMs May and Corbyn?

My sources in Brussels tell me that the EU team were effectively ordered by May's people to ignore first Davis and then Raab.

The hilarity is that 'crawling back with some petrol station flowers and a box of Black Magic' (something that many IPBers will be familiar with) is by far the most logical and least damaging thing to do now.

Imagine the party in Juncker's office.

Some good analysis of 'what the withdrawal agreement means':

Observations, should this agreement be enacted:
                                                        9) Total surrender by the Brits. They'll be subject to EU regulation in almost every area of economic activity with no say in its creation or enforcement and its interpretation will be under the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice.
                                                        10) The Six Counties is locked permanently into the EU's Customs Union and Single Market
                                                        11) The EU can effectively veto Britain leaving the Customs Union before a third country post-Brexit agreement is signed and there is no effective means of forcing the EU to conclude such an agreement.
                                                        12) Britain will continue to contribute to the EU budget.
                                                        13) Britan will be unable to conclude its own trade deals with third countries.
                                                        14) Britain will effectively be a colony of the EU with less influence on the conduct of world trade than Ireland, Malta or Luxembourg.
                                                        15) If the Brits unilaterally withdraw from this arrangement, they crash out on a no deal basis with no trade agreements with anywhere else in the world.

I never thought it would come to this. I got it wrong when I assumed that May's incompetence would lead to a no-deal Brexit by default but, after she bottled three deadlines during the past week to bring the draft agreement to Cabinet, Barnier bounced her into a corner she couldn't escape from by leaking the details to Tony Connelly after Tuesday's non-event Cabinet meeting, which generally outlined the terms Olly Robbins had agreed to in the absence of any political direction from May's government.

Compared to its current status, this agreement transforms Britain from the third most influential member state in the EU into a client protectorate with about as much say in running its affairs as a minor sultanate in the far corner of India during the Raj. Yet such has been the Brits' collective stupidity over the past two and a half years that, even if Westminster passes this deal (and that's looking increasingly unlikely at the moment), it's probably better than the only alternative open to them as things stand, a car crash Brexit leaving them subject at best to rockbottom WTO relations with every other trading nation on earth.

Gove would be my bet

Esther McVey is this hours resignation.

The 100/1 about Jo Johnson is a bit big

A glorious 4 months entertainment from Raab C Brexit. If he got nothing else from it he at least learned that Britain is an island and Dover is surprisingly important.

I'm surprised that no-one ever replies to the Britain is an island thing with... "but you're the government of the UK of Britain and NI"

Would get a nice cheap headline as whomever stumbled through the of-course I meant...

Denny Denny Denny...

Trump was right... about John McCain

Now we all knew he was a cunce in public life but just how much of one and as for his military career

Explore the largest community of artists, bands, podcasters and creators of music & audio

Worth a listen (even if lads not as funny as they think)

The 100/1 about Jo Johnson is a bit big
                                                                      The only reason people are aware of his existence is because of who his brother is.

May getting slaughtered in Parliament.

Rees-Mogg out in the open now as regards no confidence motions.

I feel a tiny scintilla of sympathy somewhere deep inside. But then I remember what a spectacularly weak and useless leader she has been.

Scary thing is 'the next guy' could make her look like Churchill.

Government of National Unity?
                                                                          Its whats needed, 1000/1 to happen but hey.

Do it this week, Have a two question referendum in a fortnights time

Do you accept the deal of 14/11
                                                                          Yes No

If a Majority do not accept the deal of 14/11 should we then
                                                                          Leave with No Deal
                                                                          Remain

Then follow up with a General election in December to implement whatever the result is.

Yes No

Leave with No Deal
                                                                              Remain

That's flawed as it gives a Hobsons choice on question 1 if your preference is Remain followed by Accept Deal.
                                                                              By picking Accept Deal in Q1 you may get it over the line preventing Q2 being asked.
                                                                              So therefore you logically have to vote No to Q1 if you are a strong Remainer, but this may then lead to No Deal being selected.

That's flawed as it gives a Hobsons choice on question 1 if your preference is Remain followed by Accept Deal.
                                                                                By picking Accept Deal in Q1 you may get it over the line preventing Q2 being asked.
                                                                                So therefore you logically have to vote No to Q1 if you are a strong Remainer, but this may then lead to No Deal being selected.
                                                                                Indeed, Its all so fckd.

She got into power in the first place by dog whistling to every possible racist agenda going while in the Home Office. Let's keep sympathy for lesser dicks.

Just one example of what she did in Home Office was hiring vans to be driven around immigrant neighbourhoods telling people to go home.

Let's not even get started on Windrush - possibly one of the most shameful events in recent memory - which she initiated.
                                                                                  I did say 'scintilla'

Anything she did previously is completely insignificant compared to what she is trying to do now. It's a bit like people who try to run down Churchill by saying 'look at this (relatively minor) thing he did in 1922!'.

Good comment on the Guardian website

"This is a capitulation. The commission knows it has won hands down."
                                                                                    Telegraph

Whoah! You mean the Senior Trading Partner won better terms than the Junior Trading Partner?
                                                                                    This has never happened before in the history of Trade negotiations!!
                                                                                    Kate Hoey going on as if Britannia still rules the waves as I read it

Its whats needed, 1000/1 to happen but hey.

Yes No

Leave with No Deal
                                                                                      Remain

Then follow up with a General election in December to implement whatever the result is.

Q1. Do you still want to leave?

Q2. If we do leave, which of these options is best...

Brits cant stay as Tories rich backers do not want their off shore funds looked into by EU courts

And if they do stay, the fact that they have by far the largest off shore accounts and have not been working towards the incoming tax avoidance laws, means there will be some craic as half of Chelsea/Kensington move to the Caribbean

Anyone here know anyone needing a hotel room for the match on Saturday? Or maybe just wanting one for any other reason.

Have one booked in the Clayton Dublin Airport but can't make it to the match now.

Executive King Room - €152.15 (actually listed as over €200 on their website now so it's not a bad deal)

Would imagine there'd be no issues transferring the booking

The hilarity is that 'crawling back with some petrol station flowers and a box of Black Magic' (something that many IPBers will be familiar with) is by far the most logical and least damaging thing to do now.

Imagine the party in Juncker's office.
                                                                                            When I grow up I want to be Juncker

Fish Fish Fish

Loads of British fisherman sold their fishing rights to European fleets

So who will be doing the fishing?

When I grow up I want to be Juncker
                                                                                                You would probably be dead within 5 years but it'd be some craic.

Q1. Do you still want to leave?

Q2. If we do leave, which of these options is best...
                                                                                                  It was always going to be this way. "brexit means brexit" can only get you so far - once reality comes into play it becomes painfully clear there is no mandate within the 17.4million, within the various groups, within the thousands of different priorities.

The only reason people are aware of his existence is because of who his brother is.
                                                                                                    Political people did and its only of interest due to weakness at top of market, price gone now anyway

Shots fired

JRM sends letter to 1922 committee asking for vote of no confidence

It was always going to be this way. "brexit means brexit" can only get you so far - once reality comes into play it becomes painfully clear there is no mandate within the 17.4million, within the various groups, within the thousands of different priorities.
                                                                                                        Particularly when 'I don't want no Romanians/Poles/whatever living next door' was the primary motivation for voting.

Shots fired

JRM sends letter to 1922 committee asking for vote of no confidence
                                                                                                          If Gove jumps ship, it's all over.

Particularly when 'I don't want no Romanians/Poles/whatever living next door' was the primary motivation for voting.
                                                                                                            you forgot "except the girl in the shop I go to, she is nice, she can stay"

lols, Dominic Raab resigns. Hope you grabbed all the free money last night Kev that I recommended not grabbing.
                                                                                                                  Still very backable at 10/11

The amount of Brexit politicians who look like weirdos or oddballs with a wiff of chancer is truly amazing