We're heading to Australia at the start of September to spend time with my wife's sisters (one lives in Brisbane, one in Melbourne), and although we're breaking up the long journey there with a two-night stay in Hong Kong, this'll be the first time we go anywhere with the little man and are a bit apprehensive.

We have the bassinet seat booked for all long legs (13.5 hours Dublin-HK, 8 hours HK-Australia) but I know from past experience that all others who are sitting nearby will inwardly (or outwardly!) groan when they see us carrying onboard our 6 month old! Obviously you just gotta deal with kids on an airplane, etc... but I do want to make sure we're not overly disruptive.

Anyone have any good tips and tricks for 1) keeping a small person occupied, sleeping or at least somewhat settled during a long flight and 2) any ideas of ways of mitigating possible problems for those sitting nearby? I read before of someone travelling with a kid handing out earplugs and sweets in a goodie bag to those nearby, which sounds interesting but perhaps over the top?
    Fuck everyone else tbh.

Soothe the kid and if it cries it cries.

Do not under any circumstances hand out bags with ear plugs, sweets and a note

Fuck everyone else tbh.

Soothe the kid and if it cries it cries.

Do not under any circumstances hand out bags with ear plugs, sweets and a note
      Ha! My Mrs did the handout thing going to lanzarote.
      Went over well going over. Not so much coming back.
      As for entertainment, we went with
      Discover award-winning kids' entertainment kits at KeepEmQuiet.com! Keep kids happy and entertained with screen-free arts & crafts, toys, games, and more!

Goody bag full of stuff she still plays with today.

Anyone flying for 13 hours who plans not to be disturbed will have a good set of headphones or earplugs. If not, fuck them if they can't take a joke

We're heading to Australia at the start of September to spend time with my wife's sisters (one lives in Brisbane, one in Melbourne), and although we're breaking up the long journey there with a two-night stay in Hong Kong, this'll be the first time we go anywhere with the little man and are a bit apprehensive.

We have the bassinet seat booked for all long legs (13.5 hours Dublin-HK, 8 hours HK-Australia) but I know from past experience that all others who are sitting nearby will inwardly (or outwardly!) groan when they see us carrying onboard our 6 month old! Obviously you just gotta deal with kids on an airplane, etc... but I do want to make sure we're not overly disruptive.

Anyone have any good tips and tricks for 1) keeping a small person occupied, sleeping or at least somewhat settled during a long flight and 2) any ideas of ways of mitigating possible problems for those sitting nearby? I read before of someone travelling with a kid handing out earplugs and sweets in a goodie bag to those nearby, which sounds interesting but perhaps over the top?
          I always bring earplugs, i even sleep with earplugs at home.

As kev said, fuck um.

They only have a certain amount of those clip on baskets, you have one booked but some didnt.

The woman sitting next to my wife was solo so didnt have anyone to hand the child off to so my wife offered to hold the child while she went to the loo and took the food tray after she was done eating etc. Me, i just pretended i was asleep.

Actually of the four long legs getting to/from Oz, although we have the bassinet seat booked on all four legs, I'm only sitting beside my wife for one leg The first 13.5 hour one, Dublin-HK, the seat next to it was already booked and I'm across the aisle, while I'm heading back from Oz a week ahead of her and the little man (damn work) so my mother-in-law will be beside her for those two final legs.

One of my sisters-in-law did the Dublin-Melbourne trip before solo with two kids (one toddler, one five or so), said it was pretty damn tough!

I love the goodie bag idea , although I'd only do without the kids in tow.

Hello there im Willie , goodie bag ?

anyone good at math wanna figure out the odds of this happening ? pretty hilarious hand that is going around from some random micro millions event

inb4 about tree fiddy

...Just seen these now, I got very drunk last night...I'm by no means too competitive, so I'm not overly concerned about previous 24 hours etc...But I have found, eat quite late the previous night, then I wake up starving...I'll have some sausages or eggs but no bread, so come 15:00 I'm hungry...But fact it's only 3 minutes makes it grand once you're not full...
                    ...I've entered 3 in the last year, one in bray and 3 in Florida...Record is currently 3 wins, no losses, all wins coming by way off dominance...
                    ...When I did bray last year I had no technique, just eat the way i always do but faster...
                    ...In Florida, I pick up the wing, put mouth deep into the middle, then rotate the wing whilst eating...This worked because I got to 32 wings in 5 minutes which I was chuffed with...The other one was just 20 wings 1st to finish with no clock...I ate fast, but I probably could have had a steak in between and still won, 6 or 7 other people took about 30 seconds per wing lol...
                    ...There is one more way I'm trying, it's grab the wishbone part (the fat side of it), put whole wing in mouth and suck/bite the meat whilst pulling it out, but I'm not too good at it yet...

...As I've said, I do it for the craic only...But I want to start doing more eating comps if possible, and maybe get on a wall of fame somewhere...I'd love to do the hot wing challenge, but my stomach is fucked enough without that...
                    Do the Token food challenge and post up the results, it includes 2kg of chips and then loads of stuff on top. I think I'd easily do it but rather risk somebody elses health

Token Dublin were serving up a brand new food challenge and who better to give the inaugural attempt than us? With a combination of chilli, cheese, spice, an...

https://www.boomplayer.com/28250646_4283703549

anyone good at math wanna figure out the odds of this happening ? pretty hilarious hand that is going around from some random micro millions event

inb4 about tree fiddy
                      That's is pretty sick, pre flop action is beyond dumb though.

interesting enough, in a live tournament recently, saw an three way all in pre flop with pockets 8s v pockets Qs v pockets Ks. Flop came down 8, Q, K rainbow

A bottle feed for takeoff and landing might help with the pressure changes in ear. Other than that, soothing the child and walking around the odd time is only action a parent can take, so as said before fuck everyone else if they haven't got earplugs. Is it with Cathay? The A350 is a decent plane for a flight that long, makes a huge difference to comfort levels having lower cabin pressure when you go > 6 hrs.

https://www.boomplayer.com/28250646_4283703549

inb4 about tree fiddy
                          LOL at KT drawing dead on the flop.

A bottle feed for takeoff and landing might help with the pressure changes in ear. Other than that, soothing the child and walking around the odd time is only action a parent can take, so as said before fuck everyone else if they haven't got earplugs. Is it with Cathay? The A350 is a decent plane for a flight that long, makes a huge difference to comfort levels having lower cabin pressure when you go > 6 hrs.
                            Yep, Cathay for all flights to/from Australia, with any internal flights with Qantas. Haven't flown with Cathay before so looking forward to seeing what they are like.

Speaking of flights:
                              Move over peterson

Do the Token food challenge and post up the results, it includes 2kg of chips and then loads of stuff on top. I think I'd easily do it but rather risk somebody elses health

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIeOksL_23U
                                ...I actually couldn't do this one..The 2 kilos of chips and cheese I could do, but the chilli etc would get me...
                                ...But I do like the idea of doing food challenges for no reason other than to post here for the craic...#watchthisspace...

...I actually couldn't do this one..The 2 kilos of chips and cheese I could do, but the chilli etc would get me...
                                  ...But I do like the idea of doing food challenges for no reason other than to post here for the craic...#watchthisspace...
                                  Another log please.

Fuck another one. Update the existing one

Such a great pic of a football man content with his food choice.
                                      GuanYin infracting KevIRL for posting it on boards was special.
                                      Good enough for Anthony Bourdain!

Speaking of flights:
                                        Move over peterson
                                        https://youtu.be/Inr1KEoJqJ0
                                        Swoon

One year dog embargo ended...

Hoping for a whine free night tonight!

Good man. Also the chilli there is not really that hot at all (I imagine the vegan one I've had is the same heat), and I'd say no jalapenos would be fine if asked about.

Paris Texas kilkenny have an all you can eat wings night, also do a ribs one, but on the wings one they serve the hot sauce, you can get it any night really but, it is so fuckin hot, dont eat anything with "loco" in the title, some grim reaper hot shit there.

I watched a guy do a hot wing challenge a few weeks ago and sweated in sympathy with him...im actually sweating typing this...

@ionapaul

Think the feeding advice is the best you can get for that age. Although I was b/f Aimee when we flew and I did it from takeoff and she slept for 3 hours and woke and fed and we were almost off the plane.

I had Aimee in her sleeping bag for the flight and held her in my arms and she was pretty contented. I wouldn't care about anyone else, babies sense anxiety and tend to cry more, so relax and the baby will be more content.

Best of luck with it, but take a few soft toys to play with and maybe a banana if the baby on solids, quick and easy to feed and no need for heating.

Last Chance Fucking U Series 3 on Netflix. Hell Fucking Yes.

For any of you lucky fucks who haven't seen Series 1 and Series 2. Enjoy.

In the middle of an unintended 13 hour layover at JFK right now. By the time I get to final destination (CLE) will have been travelling for about 33 hrs. Back home Thursday, whole thing seems v pointless
                                                    My options were 23:50 or 33hrs with Qantas. I know people who just book the cheapest without looking at time, madness. It just wouldn’t be worth the $200 savings.

The headphones on long flight are pretty good these days, over ear type. Crying babies are part and parcel of a flight. If you’re trying to sooth the child people will understand, but if you are guzzling wine and ignoring the child expect some moaning. People are weird.

Originally posted by oleras
                                                    Going through Dubai last Feb, we were late leaving Bangkok, they ran 7 passengers through the airport, fastracked us through security to make the Dublin flight...when we got to the gate it had already departed.

It was only around 8hrs delay and they gave us a hotel etc but we had booked the 2 seats near the rear and ended up staring into a bulkhead with 2 crying kids either side.
                                                    Yeh, I've had the escort at the gate before, jump on a cart and fly to the next gate.

Last Chance Fucking U Series 3 on Netflix. Hell Fucking Yes.

For any of you lucky fucks who haven't seen Series 1 and Series 2. Enjoy.
                                                      finished season 3 last night. fantastic series but the excessive swearing jars a little after a while.

I just couldnt get into it.
                                                        Don't think I made it past ep 3 of season 1

The new European satnav system, Galileo - which will replace GPS use in Europe - being completed around lunchtime today.

It's fairly revolutionary stuff. It is accurate, in the freely open version, to within 1 metre, while GPS is only accurate to within 5 metres. Then its pay-version is accurate to within 1 centimetre!

Accurate to within 1 fcking centimetre. My good god. That is both amazing and scary.
                                                            What benefit would the pay version offer over the 1m version, assuming that's the only differential?

If you can pinpoint something to within 1m what difference does it make to be able to zoom in to 1cm?

Visa application submitted for move to parent company in Dallas.

3 year commitment!

Was over with the family last week in 41-42 degrees heat for a tour. Was an experience for the kids.

And like everything else, it'll mean nothing

Visa application submitted for move to parent company in Dallas.

3 year commitment!

Was over with the family last week in 41-42 degrees heat for a tour. Was an experience for the kids.
                                                                  Congrats, it's my favourite city in the world to live in, im weird though. if you have any questions or need advice about where to live etc just let me know. I'm generally back 3/4 times a year so happy to take you to some of great places to eat there

Yeah finished it last week. Think the coach was trying to play up the hard man too much and came across as extremely arrogant. What's the deal with him sitting in his pool smoking a cigar? Don't give a bollix that he's got a pool.

Also the guidance counsellor in season 1 and 2 made it.

Dunno why you spend so much time following it

Cliffs?

Honda, would you know if 2.5 hours before is ok to arrive for flight to Canada tomorrow morning?

What benefit would the pay version offer over the 1m version, assuming that's the only differential?

If you can pinpoint something to within 1m what difference does it make to be able to zoom in to 1cm?
                                                                            It seems this can be used indoors with a certain bit of retrofitting to the building. While that kind of accuracy probably isn't needed in many outdoors system. It could be very useful for indoor systems.

Yeah finished it last week. Think the coach was trying to play up the hard man too much and came across as extremely arrogant. What's the deal with him sitting in his pool smoking a cigar? Don't give a bollix that he's got a pool.

Also the guidance counsellor in season 1 and 2 made it.
                                                                              he seems to calm down a little as the series goes on but it's just too ott. Curious to see if, like the coach in seasons 1 and 2, he starts to mellow a little after watching himself, and realising how bad his swearing/behavior is.

Brittney is a massive loss.

Cliffs?
                                                                                Donald Trump can be heard on tape discussing with his attorney Michael Cohen how to purchase the rights to former Playboy model Karen McDougal’s story about her alleged affair with Trump, in a recording obtained by CNN.

The tape, which aired late Tuesday, was released to the network and the public for the first time by Cohen’s lawyer, Lanny Davis, who argued that its contents proved his client tried to handle the payment legally whereas Trump instead sought to pay in cash.

Davis told Axios, it reported on Wednesday, that “there is more to come” and that Cohen had “made a turn” and was “going to “tell the truth to the powers that be”.
                                                                                Super Cliffs;
                                                                                National Enquirer hired playboy model to do columns out of the blue. Turns out there was a bit of a scheme going on with trump and cohen paying them to pay her so she wouldnt go public about their affair. Of course he has denied everything until now.
                                                                                And of course it doesnt matter.

@Denny: I can't help it, I have TDS. We are living in extraordinary times.

Honda, would you know if 2.5 hours before is ok to arrive for flight to Canada tomorrow morning?
                                                                                  Should be plenty of time. You don't use USCBP which is the main delay in US flights so it won't be a problem

Interesting notion at the start of todays Tour de France stage. Grid formation type like F1.

Anyway 65km short stage over 3 mountains should be fun.
                                                                                    Last edited by Dice75; 25-07-18, 13:16.

Stopping into beshoffs Clontarf and sitting at the waterfront to eat it was a fantastic way to spend an hour.

I’m here if you want to say Hello

That's one of the better trolls that's been on here lately. Wp

I would have given you a free Tartare Sauce and Keep Clontarf Tidy T shirt

That really can't be it? One page??

Was actually thinking about taking it down to the Phoenix Park for it's big wide open spaces to do some test flights with it bummer if you can't fly at all in it.
                                                                                              That's it really. Air traffic isn't allowed less than 500 above ground level unless taking off or landing so once you stay below 400 ft and away from airports you're grand. Phoenix Park prohibited area a 1 nautical mile radius from the Aras which is basically the whole park.

Strictly speaking the whole of Dublin from Skerries to Bray and Palmerstown roundabout to east of the coast is all controlled airspace which you shouldn't be flying in at all, but I guess they don't mind if you keep low and away from Dublin airport.

Edit: Here's the hard and fast document...the controlled airspace rule is waived if you stay below 50ft (which I'd imagine is fuck all use!):

https://www.iaa.ie/docs/default-sour...sn=a5d70bf3_44
                                                                                              Quoting old posts that came up when I was looking up BBV for drone recommendations. We're extending in work in Leixlip and I was thinking of getting a drone and camera to record a before, during and after video for our website afterwards. Looking at what Zuutroy linked to I'm not allowed use a drone in Leixlip at all because of Weston Airport. This definitely right and how strict could/would they be considering I'd want to publish the video afterwards?

You might get to see the potato room!!

Quoting old posts that came up when I was looking up BBV for drone recommendations. We're extending in work in Leixlip and I was thinking of getting a drone and camera to record a before, during and after video for our website afterwards. Looking at what Zuutroy linked to I'm not allowed use a drone in Leixlip at all because of Weston Airport. This definitely right and how strict could/would they be considering I'd want to publish the video afterwards?
                                                                                                  Definitely a no fly zone alright. Not sure what the penalty is if caught, but putting the evidence online is risky enough. The FAA in the US have taken a shedload of people to task based on YT videos.

The Detectorists is a lovely little TV show.

You might get to see the potato room!!
                                                                                                        That's why I'm sure he's trolling me. He knows it's my life long ambition to see the world famous, on ipb, potato room

Anyone interested in another Music King? I'm happy to run it

The last one looked like a laugh so I'd definitely be in

Yeah I'd imagine its future proofing for when our tech catches up with that type of ability. Think theres a lot of potential military applications too.
                                                                                                                  The Orwellian applications are also endless

Went to see an apartment today that is fine (2 mins from the kid's school) except that there is only one water outlet in the kitchen meaning that there can only be either a dishwasher or a clothes washer installed according to the landlord. Although he didn't seem too sure of himself.

Is that absolutely right? There's definitely space for both a dishwasher and washing machine, so can't there be some sort of plumbing done that could fork off the current single water supply in two to allow both to be installed?
                                                                                                                    Could be something to do with building regs that made them put in just the one pipe but you can just fit a T piece to it and run both.
                                                                                                                    Is there not a hot fill for the Washing machine either ?

No difference for you. Huge difference for businesses / military / science etc.

Went to see an apartment today that is fine (2 mins from the kid's school) except that there is only one water outlet in the kitchen meaning that there can only be either a dishwasher or a clothes washer installed according to the landlord. Although he didn't seem too sure of himself.

Is that absolutely right? There's definitely space for both a dishwasher and washing machine, so can't there be some sort of plumbing done that could fork off the current single water supply in two to allow both to be installed?
                                                                                                                        Of course there can, but it means plumbing and extra costs, which he's obviously not keen on.

The last one looked like a laugh so I'd definitely be in
                                                                                                                          Ok, new one launched here:

All welcome, its good fun and a great way to end up listening to loads of new music, I'd encourage everyone to take part.

Some great new indie/rock for those into that sort of thing:

From Snail Mail's debut album 'Lush' out now on Matador Records. http://smarturl.it/SnailMail_LushNew Snail Mail single "Valentine" out now: https://www.yout...