Great start to the UFC prelims

still time to join hq trivia 10k up for grabs

Hitch, unplug the TV at night and take the cable with you. Simple solutions.

Anybody else see the referee kick out at the Nantes player against PSG today after an accidental collision between the two, ref gives a yellow then follows up with a second for the players protest. Nantes player then pushes the referee. Both in serious trouble I'd imagine now. Never seen the likes before.
          Never would you see that in a game of rugby.

Anybody else see the referee kick out at the Nantes player against PSG today after an accidental collision between the two, ref gives a yellow then follows up with a second for the players protest. Nantes player then pushes the referee. Both in serious trouble I'd imagine now. Never seen the likes before.
            Never would you see that in a game of rugby.

yes

life ban imo

@Mellor how do you see the Van Zant Clark fight going down??

Agreed. The defence is fine, anyone saying otherwise should stop watching football
                Why? Is your enjoyment based on your skills as an armchair tactician?

PCA Final table, and in a 14 minute hand, chip leader Maria Lampropulos raises SB to 275k (5.6m) and Buchanan calls in the big with A7o (4.4m). Blinds 40/80k

Flop is 472r

Maria bets 230k, Buchanan calls

Turn is 7x completing the rainbow

Maria checks, Buchanan bets 375k, Maria gets clock called, and she calls.

River is 4x

Maria checks, Buchanan bets 1.1m into 1.8m. Maria gets clock called again, and again she calls.

The hands?

Buchanan A7o for a house, and Maria Q3o

1 milly+ up top!
                  Heads up same two players she calls a big bet on the river with Jack high on a 66K 4 6 board after Buchanan leading turn and river(he had quads).
                  Maria takes it down after winning every flip

@Mellor how do you see the Van Zant Clark fight going down??
                    Missed this post, but I had a few quid on the sub. Didn't come off, but 11-1 was huge value. Delighted for her to pick up a high profile win.

Tried that quiz game today. 1.3m players. WTF?

Played Star Wars: Rebellion yesterday. Started reading the instructions around midday and ended up finishing around midnight. Admittedly there was the finest lunch and dinner in between. It is an unbelievably good game. A proper campaign where you are directing your troops across the universe playing hide and seek with one person running the rebels and the other Darth's crew. 150 or so minature battle ships, death stars, and troops to add a bit of *ahem* realism to the endeavour. My dreams last night were 90% about ways to better manage the rebel insurgency.
                        OMG was thinking about getting this but 12 hours to read the instructions!

Bit of a silly question here, but 6yo kid has taken to waking up at 1am, coming out and making herself breakfast then watching shows for seven hours before having to be dragged half-asleep into school. Is that a normal phase that kids go through? We're not sure what to do except say: yeah, that thing you're doing - don't do that.
                        What time is she going down to bed? At that age Aimee was in bed for 7.30. Do you have the house lit up for her to be able to see? If so get the lights off to deter her from leaving her room. Is she waking for the toilet initially? make sure she is drinking LOADS during the day and stop her an hour before bed and a big pee before getting into bed.

Spend a few days making sure you are close by when she gets up. Dob't speak or interact with her so she isn't fully awake, lead her back to bed and tuck her back in. If she gets up again, do the same. Don't let her get up!

Aimee had got into a habit there of waking and coming upstairs in the hope she could jump in with us. Some kids are chatting about this 3.00AM stuff and she has been scared. We discovered it was needing the loo that woke her so we addressed that. We put a rewards scheme in for every week she stayed in her own bed. She got her first Beanie Boo yesterday.

Have you spoke to her to see why?

Bit of a silly question here, but 6yo kid has taken to waking up at 1am, coming out and making herself breakfast then watching shows for seven hours before having to be dragged half-asleep into school. Is that a normal phase that kids go through? We're not sure what to do except say: yeah, that thing you're doing - don't do that.
                          Ah here hitch FFS. The answer is you are the parent. Do it . Kids are not experiments. Bed

Sanchez would be amazing. Utd need a composed player in the final 3rd. Great news. Hope Jose and him get on. Two big egos.

RIP Cyrille Regis

Aziz Ansari next up on the #meetoo chopping block. Accusation is a bit ropey to say the least but then again this guy has put himself out there as a bit of a woke white knight so prob deserves to be judged by those standards
                                I suffered through 2 episodes of Master of None ,it’s shite
                                Last edited by Guest; 15-01-18, 08:47.

Feels like the first week in quite some time heading into work, maybe this skiing lark has some benefit to it.

Have to say, the Ski Schule for the kids was worth every penny. Take them there about 9.30 and retrieve at about 3.15. They learnt how to ski properly (unlike me ) and were bombing down the slopes by the end of the week. Three course lunch thrown in. Adults could then go off and do their own thing.

They were the only English-speaking kids there but proud to report an Irish victory in one group and an Irish-Aussie victory in another. Audible amazement by the locals who outnumbered tourists 20 to 1.

Overall: would do again despite my own prodigous vertigo on chair lifts. Austrian food tasty but rather monotonously heavy after a week.

Not normal at all. Probably try and tire her out more before bed? Swimming always a good one to knacker kids out.

Forgot Dan Harmon (community and Rick and Morty) got done by #metoo and copped to it last week . There’s just something creepy about lads who make a song and dance about being male feminists

McElduff doing what Should have been forced on him and resigning,what the fuck were SF thinking

The Guardian now a tabloid. Serious losses to try and stem!

Has it not been printed in tabloid format for years. What have they changed now?

That Harry Potter lookalike Alan Rusbridger drove it into the ground

Massive losses alright, but UK really needs a left leaning quality paper to survive against the Murdoch/Dacre empires.

The financial results would suggest the demand isn't there.

Missed this post, but I had a few quid on the sub. Didn't come off, but 11-1 was huge value. Delighted for her to pick up a high profile win.
                                                          What did you make of her performance in the third round?

Still fair play to Paige for going the full distance with a broken arm that long shows serious mental strength.

Are the Telegraph, Express and Times making money, or surviving on the largesse of their owners? Guardian by contrast seems to be relying on readers donations which isn't likely to work medium term.

I suspect the Mail is the only one that's a going concern, due to the bizarre (to me) success of its website.

They would be ok if they hadn’t gone on a massive hubristic money spunking spree on the Rusbridger Years
                                                              Or maybe not,mad lads for using unpaid interns and zero hour contracts which is a bit rich considering

I’ve chucked a few quid at them during one of their begging drives over past few years,some good stuff along with the infuriating.definetly best English paper

Are the Telegraph, Express and Times making money, or surviving on the largesse of their owners? Guardian by contrast seems to be relying on readers donations which isn't likely to work medium term.

I suspect the Mail is the only one that's a going concern, due to the bizarre (to me) success of its website.
                                                                Guardian has a massive trust behind it which decide on the editor etc. But its financial pot is been reduced substantially of late due to the lack of sales. Guardian has 1/3 the circulation of The Telegraph for instance.

Telegraph is bumped by massive discounting and freebies isn't it.
                                                                  Always seem to be part of 'buy a sandwich and a bag of crisps and get the Telegraph free' deals at airports and train stations. And every decent hotel will be given free (or min cost) copies to hand out to guests.
                                                                  It's a valid circulation strategy obviously.

Telegraph is bumped by massive discounting and freebies isn't it.
                                                                    Always seem to be part of 'buy a sandwich and a bag of crisps and get the Telegraph free' deals at airports and train stations. And every decent hotel will be given free (or min cost) copies to hand out to guests.
                                                                    It's a valid circulation strategy obviously.
                                                                    Yeah its definitely a valid strategy.

The demand clearly isn't there look at these stats: https://www.statista.com/statistics/...y-circulation/

Yeah its definitely a valid strategy.

The demand clearly isn't there look at these stats: https://www.statista.com/statistics/...y-circulation/
                                                                        Jaysus, those figures would make me despair.

Aziz Ansari next up on the #meetoo chopping block. Accusation is a bit ropey to say the least but then again this guy has put himself out there as a bit of a woke white knight so prob deserves to be judged by those standards
                                                                              I read that story.
                                                                              Apart from some awkward sex moves (the CLAW!!!), it's kinda hard to see what he did wrong.
                                                                              Goes on date
                                                                              girl comes home
                                                                              both get frisky
                                                                              she goes to jacks to compose herself
                                                                              comes back
                                                                              gets frisky again
                                                                              she says shes not into it
                                                                              he calls her a cab.

McElduff doing what Should have been forced on him and resigning,what the fuck were SF thinking
                                                                                Doing exactly what they always did, being owned and run by people whose entire thinking is rooted in the same sectarian hatred as those who were in charge when they lining working men up along the side of the road to gun them down mercilessly.

What those newspaper sales figures show is that vast majority of people who are too stupid to work the internet are the type of people who like to be comforted by subtly disguised racism and overt bigotry.

It's an interesting one.
                                                                                    I would have thought the tendency to consume media in a non physical format would align with their target market a lot more readily than the Sun/Mail types. (mail website ranking notwithstanding)
                                                                                    Personally, Im using the guardian app on my phone near daily since it first came out and I'd say I can count on one hand the amount of times I've bought the guardian

I think I said it a little nicer than you SP

Not actually true. It has over $1bn in cash and investments. Sold a stake in business last year for over £200mn to add to its 'financial pot'.

Losses, while still unacceptably high at circa £45mn last financial year were down by 35%.

Still unsustainable mind you and print will never again offer the financial security it once did (nor will online ever fully make up for the loss).

Not actually true. It has over $1bn in cash and investments. Sold a stake in business last year for over £200mn to add to its 'financial pot'.

Losses, while still unacceptably high at circa £45mn last financial year were down by 35%.

Still unsustainable mind you and print will never again offer the financial security it once did (nor will online ever fully make up for the loss).
                                                                                          Nice use of currency changes to make your argument better. 2016 their pot was on £743m and expected to lose ~£90m in 2017. No imminent danger and there is always a chance a George Soros figure would emerge to pump more cash in. But clearly an unsustainable business model. Whatever about website hits monetising them is a different matter.

The crowd I was trying to buy the house from before Xmas came back to me on Friday saying the 'cash buyer' whose lower offer they accepted over mine turned out to be a nightmare and did I still want the house. I said I do but I'm obviously not giving ye the 'cash buyers are the bestest' bonus now, I'll pay what he was going to pay.

Phonecall this morning from the estate agent to say offer accepted, absolutely delighted as the house is ideal for us and I'm 4k richer than I would have been if they had decided they don't hate money in the first place

The crowd I was trying to buy the house from before Xmas came back to me on Friday saying the 'cash buyer' whose lower offer they accepted over mine turned out to be a nightmare and did I still want the house. I said I do but I'm obviously not giving ye the 'cash buyers are the bestest' bonus now, I'll pay what he was going to pay.

Phonecall this morning from the estate agent to say offer accepted, absolutely delighted as the house is ideal for us and I'm 4k richer than I would have been if they had decided they don't hate money in the first place
                                                                                                I'm sure you are anyway but make sure you get a good thorough property survey done. EA saying the buyer was a nightmare mightn't be the whole story in my experience. Was in a similar situation a while back and let's just say there was a little more to it than the EA had let on.

What fine area of this fair land did you purchase in?

Maybe its our dodgy kid or our dodgy parenting (presumably the latter), but she's very much hit-or-miss whether she listens to instructions no matter how sternly delivered
                                                                                                    Disable or remove all media devices and tell her they're not coming back until she goes back to proper sleeping.

If it keeps up, 'hotspur' is next step.

I'm sure you are anyway but make sure you get a good thorough property survey done. EA saying the buyer was a nightmare mightn't be the whole story in my experience. Was in a similar situation a while back and let's just say there was a little more to it than the EA had let on.
                                                                                                      Yes have been advised to get a proper structural survey rather than the standard valuation 'cast an eye over it' types the banks require.

What fine area of this fair land did you purchase in?
                                                                                                      We're in Limerick City since last April. The house we've had the offer accepted on is actually only about 200 yards from where we live at the moment so we know the area well and love it here - only five minutes walk from the city centre.

It's actually right on the banks of the Shannon - just barely west of it, but west of it nevertheless

The funny thing was I got the call from the estate agent about five minutes after V4V made his post about now being the perfect time to borrow up to your gills

Speaking of The guardian
                                                                                                          I’d imagine there’s lots of “old man shouts at cloud” memes being posted on crypto true believer forums in relation to this article,he doesn’t mince his words

A collective insanity has sprouted around the new field of ‘cryptocurrencies’, causing an irrational gold rush. I know you’re tempted, but don’t be a fool

I found this absolutely nauseating. This current wave of "feminism" (not that its really that) is utterly toxic and poisonous. The double standards at play are literally SUR FUCKING REAL.

Like in this case, she went back to his place, performed oral sex on him on multiple occasions, repeatedly did not just leave or say No at any point. I mean seriously Fuck off.

Was it an awkward sexual interaction. Bad sex? For her, sure was. Was it sexual assault Jesus Christ Fuck Off.

If someone I don't want to fuck asks me back to there place, bedroom, tries to kiss me, fondle me, perform oral sex etc etc etc call me crazy but Id say No. Fuck off with the but she is a woman and he is more physically powerful, there was an implicit pressure there. Say No, if he continues then by all means you have been assaulted.

Get ready for the main event; Stipe Miocic Vs. Francis Ngannou at UFC220, Jan. 20. Enjoy!IF YOU LIKE MY VIDEOS AND WANT MORE, HEAD OVER TO MY PATREON PAGE AN...

There are a lot of pompous old white men shaking their heads disapprovingly at the hoi polloi engaging in speculation. That's only for the rich you know. The commoners will lose their shillings they need for beer and renting their hovels.

Turns out that Occupy Wall Street ended up being Take Back Wall Street as cryotcurrencies have democratised speculation. Of course us randomers are ultimately bringing knives to a gunfight, but fuck 'em. It's a lot better than us all supporting the Bookmaking industry as the outlet.

I found this absolutely nauseating. This current wave of "feminism" (not that its really that) is utterly toxic and poisonous. The double standards at play are literally SUR FUCKING REAL.

Like in this case, she went back to his place, performed oral sex on him on multiple occasions, repeatedly did not just leave or say No at any point. I mean seriously Fuck off.

Was it an awkward sexual interaction. Bad sex? For her, sure was. Was it sexual assault Jesus Christ Fuck Off.

If someone I don't want to fuck asks me back to there place, bedroom, tries to kiss me, fondle me, perform oral sex etc etc etc call me crazy but Id say No. Fuck off with the but she is a woman and he is more physically powerful, there was an implicit pressure there. Say No, if he continues then by all means you have been assaulted.
                                                                                                                  The thing about this fella is his whole act is him preaching about sexism and feminism,now the what he pushes is coming back to bite him
                                                                                                                  Good article in The Atlantic on the accusation (by a woman)
                                                                                                                  Allegations against the comedian are proof that women are angry, temporarily powerful—and very, very dangerous.

Was Grace frozen, terrified, stuck? No. She tells us that she wanted something from Ansari and she was trying to figure out how to get it. She wanted affection, kindness, attention. Perhaps she hoped to maybe even become the famous man’s girlfriend. He wasn’t interested. What she felt afterward—rejected yet another time, by yet another man—was regret. And what she and the writer who told her story created was 3,000 words of revenge porn. The clinical detail in which the story is told is intended not to validate her account as much as it is to hurt and humiliate Ansari. Together, the two women may have destroyed Ansari’s career, which is now the punishment for every kind of male sexual misconduct, from the grotesque to the disappointing.
                                                                                                                  Last edited by Guest; 15-01-18, 15:54.

The thing about this fella is his whole act is him preaching about sexism and feminism,now the what he pushes is coming back to bite him
                                                                                                                    Good article in The Atlantic on the accusation
                                                                                                                    https://www.theatlantic.com/entertai...ansari/550541/

Nah Fuck off on that too! What is coming back to bite him?!? Outlandish remark! Nothing wrong with not being a sexist pig or wanting equality between the sexes. In the words of Peep Show I mean you have got to say Fair Enough.
                                                                                                                    I never saw him being openly pontificating (prob a made up word)
                                                                                                                    That is a decent article. Genuinely speeding towards a world of mobile recorded consent.

As an aside but linked I guess, Mum of my daughter wrote this article on consent within relationships. We have been separated for many years so I'm not the inspiration for it but suffice to say I don't agree with the sentiment of the piece. World is legit going bonkers.

When you think of “groping“, you think sexual predator. You think Trump. And who can blame you, if the first image that comes up on Google…
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Closed_Account; 15-01-18, 15:51.

Whats the catch with this?

Re my above post nothing wrong with feminism or tackling sexism but the current online lunacy is bonkers.i think it’s like all oppressed peoples ,when the main battles are won there is always a few left who want to take it too far and become the oppressors themselves,there is no nobility or profound wisdom gained from being oppressed