From my experience of watching Borgen (S1, episodes 1-6), would the Greens not put forward the case that they would be well placed to assume the role of the Taoiseach and give all 'senior' ministries to SF and FF equally?

Can't recall exactly how it worked, but the distrust between the two parties could pave the way for a less-divisive person to head the Govt?

I see no reasonable way how SF aren't in Government after those results, unfortunately. Again, the death of the Labour Party really hurts as 'vote left' also implies 'get RA baggage'. Wonder how the universe where Irish voters didn't eviscerate the party for doing a grown-up job looks like?

James' too.
      Fucking hellhole.
      It's poxy that a trap of geography where are when you call the ambulance locks you into a place.

After nearly 3 weeks in the beacon for the op, it's night and day. He'll lying in a cubicle with two junkies screaming for their fye
      ... Same kinda scenario as happened to my mam a couple of years ago, had been in private hospital getting amazing treatment, then due to having to call an ambulance stuck in james for 2 days... Not sure if it's possible in this case, but I know we were gonna get my mam to discharge herself then go to the beacon as a walk in patient, would still be treated quicker...

This is a mad gaf - https://www.daft.ie/dublin/houses-fo...ublin-2392234/

The type of house that makes the shortlist for a Home of the Year episode and subsequently loses out to a castle.

Contracts finally signed today and house sold. This house business just shouldn't be as stressful as it inevitably becomes. Ironically in the end, our next door neighbours bought it

Would love that. Would keep the pink too.

I see no reasonable way how SF aren't in Government after those results, unfortunately.
              I'm certain that the only thing they will really want is a way to get another GE as soon as possible. All you'll hear from them in public is hard left no FF FG yada yada and the commentators will say its impossible.
              The fact is the numbers are there for them to do it.
              SF, Green, SD, LAB, PoshSocalists two ex SF people and five independents who are already aligned brings the number to 73 meaning they only need to get confidence and supply from a few independents to govern.
              A Cath lab in Waterford, an ex soldier in a junior defence ministry, .0.005% of the 22 Billion fiscal space ( ) will buy a couple of healy Raes and the odd Tipp indo no bother at all.
              They are going around bleating that they 'Won the election' well go ahead and deal with it.

. Wonder how the universe where Irish voters didn't eviscerate the party for doing a grown-up job looks like?
              Its too much

Jordan Peterson getting help in Russia for his Benzo problem. Suspected there was more to his weight loss than just eating piles of beef. https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/...-russia-a69219
                Too many Valium or Xanax I’m guessing.

I'm certain that the only thing they will really want is a way to get another GE as soon as possible. All you'll hear from them in public is hard left no FF FG yada yada and the commentators will say its impossible.
                  The fact is the numbers are there for them to do it.
                  SF, Green, SD, LAB, PoshSocalists two ex SF people and five independents who are already aligned brings the number to 73 meaning they only need to get confidence and supply from a few independents to govern.
                  A Cath lab in Waterford, an ex soldier in a junior defence ministry, .0.005% of the 22 Billion fiscal space ( ) will buy a couple of healy Raes and the odd Tipp indo no bother at all.
                  They are going around bleating that they 'Won the election' well go ahead and deal with it.

Its too much
                  A quick fire second Election not best for SF? Strike while the iron is hot and push the possibility of the proper left Government narrative to the Electorate.. Push all transfers after SF 1&2 to allies to try gain extra seats but not a cost to potential partners. They could pick up another 6-10 seats themselves and if this can be done at the expense of mainly FF they would have a stanglehold as No 1 Party.

If I was SF I would be very nervous about this idea that they would match their vote and get a load of more TDs in a new election.

A quick fire second Election not best for SF? Strike while the iron is hot and push the possibility of the proper left Government narrative to the Electorate.. Push all transfers after SF 1&2 to allies to try gain extra seats but not a cost to potential partners. They could pick up another 6-10 seats themselves and if this can be done at the expense of mainly FF they would have a stanglehold as No 1 Party.
                      Its 100% what they want, hopefully if they do get their way people will see that they were just too cowardly, inflexible and unable to work with anyone else to form a government.

What I'm saying is the numbers are there now and if they cannot form a government now either with the left or with FF then it is a monumental failure of leadership and shows they are not fit to govern.

Its 100% what they want, hopefully if they do get their way people will see that they were just too cowardly, inflexible and unable to work with anyone else to form a government.

What I'm saying is the numbers are there now and if they cannot form a government now either with the left or with FF then it is a monumental failure of leadership and shows they are not fit to govern.
                        This is like some revenge porn fantasy you are having tbf. If you think there is a genuine prospect of a stable government without FF or FG as things stand you are a clown. You're not a clown, and you know the below is daft nonsense.

SF are obviously attempting to manoeuvre a situation where they can get FF by the balls.

I mean FG spent nearly three months throwing money at the Healy Raes last time around and still couldn't manage to get either of them on board, but it should be trivial to get 'Fuck-the-planet' Danny to prop up a coalition with Eamonn Ryan as Minister for the Environment.

Was there an estimation done of the amount of seats SF may have won had they run more candidates?

I know it's probably difficult enough to determine but it would be interesting to know, if they went back to the ballot boxes with additional candidates, all else equal, what the estimated return may be?

PP don't have it priced up but unsurprisingly Cullinane is a 1/3 shot not to have a ministerial seat now. I suspect he was a massive fav to get one before his escapades.

100%

They left loads of seats behind. I'm shocked, but they are clearly the public's #1

It would be pretty odd to not see them there tbh. I align with FG and LAB so they're a shocker to me but that's the game.

Would love that. Would keep the pink too.
                                Sort yourself out sharpish

Nwvermind GFYL

Was there an estimation done of the amount of seats SF may have won had they run more candidates?

I know it's probably difficult enough to determine but it would be interesting to know, if they went back to the ballot boxes with additional candidates, all else equal, what the estimated return may be?
                                    I heard two different RTE pundits saying 10 -12 seats left on the ground I didn't get whose seats they were but I suspect it would have been more from the Hard Left / Green / Indo they transferred to than FF/FG

I'm all for throwing the complete shambles and utter failure to believe their own bullshit in their faces but of those there are probably only three maybe four that were really moronic decisions.

In another election, even this year, its still going to be a difficult calculation for them. You run all those candidates and a drop of even 3% in FP's could see you down nearer 20 than 30 and the transfers are no longer carrying in Hard left but FF / FG seats.

PP don't have it priced up but unsurprisingly Cullinane is a 1/3 shot not to have a ministerial seat now. I suspect he was a massive fav to get one before his escapades.
                                    Depends on how serious they are about forcing an election, how much they care about being seen dancing on the graves of their victims.

How do we feel about this

I heard two different RTE pundits saying 10 -12 seats left on the ground I didn't get whose seats they were but I suspect it would have been more from the Hard Left / Green / Indo they transferred to than FF/FG

I'm all for throwing the complete shambles and utter failure to believe their own bullshit in their faces but of those there are probably only three maybe four that were really moronic decisions.

In another election, even this year, its still going to be a difficult calculation for them. You run all those candidates and a drop of even 3% in FP's could see you down nearer 20 than 30 and the transfers are no longer carrying in Hard left but FF / FG seats.
                                          I agree, LL made a fair point regarding the number of candidates run post local elections.

I can understand the discrepancy in support between national and local elections with SF though given their primary machination is ultimately a very nationalist agenda plus a variety of events such as the B&T commemoration issue played very well for them in between.

All that said if we knew for certain that 10-12 seats were left there, I'd be of the opinion that they may have missed the boat on the acquisition of those seats.

I suspect whatever maneuvers SF make in forming a government combined with the scenes of Ellis, Cullinane and whoever else inevitably oversteps the line, they won't reach those heights in the event of a 2nd election. Like you say a 3% shift in 1st preference could be detrimental.

I'm not saying they won't get more seats but if 10-12 is what they could have accomplished this time around, I suspect in the event of another good election for them, the amount of additional seats they acquire will fall short of the 10-12 mark.

If the line is high 40s, I'm definitely taking the under.

Interview with Montpellier. Seemingly a lovely place, just not sure it's high enough ranked to be a smart move.
                                            how did Grenoble go?

I agree, LL made a fair point regarding the number of candidates run post local elections.

I can understand the discrepancy in support between national and local elections with SF though given their primary machination is ultimately a very nationalist agenda plus a variety of events such as the B&T commemoration issue played very well for them in between.

All that said if we knew for certain that 10-12 seats were left there, I'd be of the opinion that they may have missed the boat on the acquisition of those seats.

I suspect whatever maneuvers SF make in forming a government combined with the scenes of Ellis, Cullinane and whoever else inevitably oversteps the line, they won't reach those heights in the event of a 2nd election. Like you say a 3% shift in 1st preference could be detrimental.

I'm not saying they won't get more seats but if 10-12 is what they could have accomplished this time around, I suspect in the event of another good election for them, the amount of additional seats they acquire will fall short of the 10-12 mark.

If the line is high 40s, I'm definitely taking the under.
                                              Build your own coalition by adding parties and independents until you reach the magic number, 80

If you think there is a genuine prospect of a stable government without FF or FG as things stand you are a clown. You're not a clown, and you know the below is daft nonsense.

SF are obviously attempting to manoeuvre a situation where they can get FF by the balls.
                                                Sure it sounds daft but FG managed to do it for the last four years and got through a load of contentious legislation including an abortion referendum that FF and SF resisted for decades.
                                                That was when Sinn Fein/IRA (Its ok for me to call them SF/IRA again now post Culinnane's outing of them isn't it, I mean you can't be proclaiming 'Up the RA' unless there is a RA to be up for now can you ) were bleating about 'New Politics'... well they won, get over it that's democracy for you.

Less facetiously though if they were to nominate Mary Lou for Taoiseach and she was to attract 70+ votes (I make it 73 without bribing any indos) it is not beyond the bounds of probability that FF and FG would abstain on that vote and give them a fair craic of the whip through one or maybe two budgets as long at there aren't going the whole Venezuela. If they don't even try that it would be a failure of leadership.

Sure it sounds daft but FG managed to do it for the last four years and got through a load of contentious legislation including an abortion referendum that FF and SF resisted for decades.
                                                  That was when Sinn Fein/IRA (Its ok for me to call them SF/IRA again now post Culinnane's outing of them isn't it, I mean you can't be proclaiming 'Up the RA' unless there is a RA to be up for now can you ) were bleating about 'New Politics'... well they won, get over it that's democracy for you.

Less facetiously though if they were to nominate Mary Lou for Taoiseach and she was to attract 70+ votes (I make it 73 without bribing any indos) it is not beyond the bounds of probability that FF and FG would abstain on that vote and give them a fair craic of the whip through one or maybe two budgets as long at there aren't going the whole Venezuela. If they don't even try that it would be a failure of leadership.
                                                  If there was some reasonably workable version of C&S on the table I think they'd probably have to go for it alright.

Adams to announce his retirement tonight apparently.

Hopefully SF make Mary Lou the new Presidente. She's a massive turn-off for voters.
                                                    And Adams isn't?
                                                    Looking back and thought it would have been Hitch predicting the future so well

Interview with Montpellier. Seemingly a lovely place, just not sure it's high enough ranked to be a smart move.
                                                      Grade A spot and I recommend the bar where all the dubious characters of the town hang out.

Looking back and thought it would have been Hitch predicting the future so well
                                                        That's a bit...sad CC. Do you bookmark prediction posts?

Pray for Strewel!

Strewel has survived and thrived in far worse.

Let's face it, government normalises everyone. Look at Syriza diligently doing what they are told.

If nothing else, we have learned:

February elections are a terrible idea
                                                              Saturday elections equally so

Expect a return to Thursdays in May from henceforth.

Less facetiously though if they were to nominate Mary Lou for Taoiseach and she was to attract 70+ votes (I make it 73 without bribing any indos)
                                                                It's more than a bit facetious to say it's 73.

SF: 37 (their seats, so yeah...reasonably solid)
                                                                Greens: 12 (their housing and health were soft versions of SF's manifesto and if you give Eamonn environment minister and give them carbon tax concessions they should be good)
                                                                SD: 6 (shakier, Shortall might want to give health a go but she's no fool and could be comfortable in opposition)

That's 55. Now it gets dicey:

Labour: 6 (they're not a left wing party and they have a bunch of stickies still hanging around HQ, not happening)
                                                                PBP: 5 (they have no interest being in government and they'd collapse the arrangement first chance things got tough. SF are too smart to reach an arrangement with them)
                                                                Aontu: 1 (none of SF, SD or the Greens want to control women's uteruses so no)

After that you're looking at individual independents. Maybe one or two of them could do a deal, but that's stuff you do after you're past 80 and are looking for padding. Not stuff you do before you have the numbers.

=======

But if they get 60 and FF agree to another C + S...but here's the thing - FF don't want to do another C + S. They've just suffered an embarrassing day at the ballot box because of their last one. Neither do FG probably. However MM definitely wants to be Taoiseach. And that may be the key when it all comes down to it.
                                                                Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 11-02-20, 18:21.

If nothing else, we have learned:

February elections are a terrible idea
                                                                  Saturday elections equally so

Expect a return to Thursdays in May from henceforth.
                                                                  As soon as this year!!

That's a bit...sad CC. Do you bookmark prediction posts?
                                                                    Just a search for Adams in my previous posts. Took about 25 seconds of my valuable time

As soon as this year!!
                                                                      If they go back in May, all else equal, how many seats do you think they get assuming they increase the candidates?
                                                                      Last edited by Guest; 11-02-20, 18:29.

If they go back in May, all else equal, how many seats do you think they get assuming they increase the candidates?
                                                                          I think 48 is what they could have got based on unused surpluses. So a range of 44 - 49, something like that.

37 + 12 + 6 = 55. It certainly does not equal 60

LOL Sinn Fein Mathematics - Lloyd must have been on the budgeting committee
                                                                          Zing

I think 48 is what they could have got based on unused surpluses. So a range of 44 - 49, something like that.
                                                                            Fair enough, I think 44 second time around would be a massive achievement, probably a line I'd be happy enough to be on the under for come May.

Full transcript of the Cullinane event released too, his agent seems even worse but tbf to Cullinane, the rhetoric leading up to his hunger strikes & "Up da Ra" speech was fine, not excusable overall of course but benign enough.

David Cullinane’s election agent,

Originally posted by Michael Doyle View Post
                                                                            To be honest I don’t know what I’m going to say here tonight because I’m still in shock myself. This country has changed, there’s something serious after happening.

“There’s a seismic shift and the Shinners are at the f**king table. The ‘big two’, as they call themselves, say they’re not going to talk to us. Well, do you know what? We broke the bastards.

“We broke the Free State and this country will never be the same again - because the people are after taking their voice and it’s up to us now to deliver.

“First of all I want to thank the people of Waterford. I want to thank the membership of Sinn Féin because we’re after putting in a campaign that was never ever seen before in this city and county.

“We topped boxes from Clashmore to Cheekpoint, and there’s a group of them over there tonight - thanks for coming.

“But that voice now needs to be delivered, and we have a man here that is after getting an unbelievable mandate to go up and deliver for Waterford.

“That man (referencing Cullinan) and we said he is the strongest voice in Waterford but more so than anything, he’s Waterford’s champion.

Give him a round of applause, he’s David Cullinane.

“We don’t take this for granted because this is serious now. Votes are votes but we’re going in there to deliver.

“And those two that are sitting at the table, they will talk to us because people have given us the voice to bring up there and we are going to take over. The future is ours, the future is a united Ireland. David Cullinane Abú.”

Cullinane:

Originally posted by David Cullinane View Post

David Cullinane: “I think we might get Michael up for a few songs in a few minutes. [LAUGHTER].

“I first of all just want to start by thanking Michael who back four and a half years was the director of elections for Sinn Féin here in Waterford at the 2016 general election.

“We were looking make our breakthrough by winning a seat for Sinn Féin here in Waterford for the first time, and Michael, he put a team around him of our excellent councillors, our party members, our activists and supporters, and we put in a good campaign at the time and we made history, and we took a seat in Waterford for the first time at the last election.

“I gave a promise to the people of Waterford at a big rally that we had a few weeks before that election was called, that if I was elected that we would deliver for the people as best we could, that I would be a strong voice for the people of this constituency, that we would stand up for ordinary working people and I hope that we have rewarded people, and I hope that we have delivered for those people who voted for us four years ago.

“Here we are just over four years later and I don’t think anyone could have predicted the vote that we got here today.

“Just to let it sink in for a second; Sinn Féin in Waterford got more first preference votes than the two Fianna Fáil and the two Fine Gael candidates combined.

“Let it sink in that Sinn Féin is now the largest party by a country mile here in the county of the Déise.

“We’ve listened to Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael right throughout the campaign dismiss SF’s mandate saying they wouldn’t talk to us, saying they wouldn’t go into government with us.

“But we have been given a big mandate and the question now is not whether Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael will go in with Sinn Féin, it’s whether Sinn Féin will go in with Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.

“Before I was first elected as a councillor I remember I bumped into a group of businessmen here in Waterford that I know support Fianna Fáil.

“And I remember back through the years when Fianna Fáil was the party of the brown envelope and the corruption, and they were in the pockets of the developers and the speculators, and those people said to me in a pub in Waterford back then that I’ll never be elected as a councillor if I stayed with Sinn Féin - and in 2004 I was elected as a councillor for Sinn Féin.

“They also told me I would never make it as a TD with Sinn Féin - and I was elected as a TD last time around.

“The same people told me I’d never be a minister with Sinn Féin - so now we can write the history books on that one. [Applause and cheers]

“The only way that cannot happen is if FF and FG come together and form a coalition to block Sinn Féin, and if they do, comrades, we stand two candidates here in Waterford the next time and we’ll take two seats and we will throw Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael out and we will be the largest party in this State. [CHEERS]

“I want to finish with this because we are united Irelanders and I was...I was too young to remember it but I heard of people in this room who canvassed for Kevin Lynch back in 1981, one of the hunger strikers.

“When he first embarked on a hunger strike with Bobby Sands and all of those comrades, he was the H Block candidate here in this constituency.

“And what a fantastic moment it must be if his family are watching on and people in the North are watching on to see Sinn Féin get over 20,000 first preference votes in the constituency. [INAUDIBLE]

“They didn’t break the hunger strikers, they didn’t break Bobby Sands and Kevin Lynch, they’ll never break us and they’ll never break SF.

“And what we say is, up the Republic, up the Ra and tiocfaidh ár lá.”

On a flight and the pilot comes over the intercom saying "I've some very very unfortunate news, we're having fuel issues and going to have to emergency land in Marseille🤢"

Not the greatest experience

Anyone use Rentokil before for rats?

Have at least one of the bastards under my deck.

On a flight and the pilot comes over the intercom saying "I've some very very unfortunate news, we're having fuel issues and going to have to emergency land in Marseille🤢"

It's a dump alright.

Set the deck on fire. Cheaper by far and you'll greatly improve your house's aesthetic appeal.

It's a dump alright.
                                                                                      The airport certainly is.

Left stranded here in empty airport while they're trying to fix problem with the plane. Nicht gut

You're stuck for the night at this stage. Go into town and have a few pastis.

You almost certainly dont have one rat if you have one you have multiple nesting there.

Be intetesting to see how long it takes SF to walk out of government their government down South all the same. Must be some fierce competition between Nordie SF and Free State SF for the title.

Someone in work circulated a doc from Lisneys today which highlighted all the partys housing promises, not crazily different. Cant post pic so in link https://www.lisney.com/research/news...itical-parties

SF have a mad claim in it that they are going to get the Councils to build 100,000 houses on public lands in next 5 years. The Councils have fuck all experience of this level of residential development anymore, could turn into a disaster

Be intetesting to see how long it takes SF to walk out of government their government down South all the same. Must be some fierce competition between Nordie SF and Free State SF for the title.
                                                                                                Let it go man, its called a democracy your making a clown of urself at this stage!

It's a dump alright.

I think it's one of the best drinking areas in all of europe, the gaudy irish/english bar on the harbour with the ferris wheel off to one side, decent restaurants in the alleyway behind the bars. I've always had a great time there

Someone in work circulated a doc from Lisneys today which highlighted all the partys housing promises, not crazily different. Cant post pic so in link https://www.lisney.com/research/news...itical-parties

SF have a mad claim in it that they are going to get the Councils to build 100,000 houses on public lands in next 5 years. The Councils have fuck all experience of this level of residential development anymore, could turn into a disaster
                                                                                                    Name me a single party in the history of this state or any state for that matter that delivered fully on their manifests? They are works of fiction that give an insight to a parties priorities anyone believing that they will be adhered to in their entirety is deluded.

Set the deck on fire. Cheaper by far and you'll greatly improve your house's aesthetic appeal.
                                                                                                      Oh bejaysus no, sure it's Massaranduba. V posh.

Name me a single party in the history of this state or any state for that matter that delivered fully on their manifests? They are works of fiction that give an insight to a parties priorities anyone believing that they will be adhered to in their entirety is deluded.
                                                                                                        Obviously no one realistically believes that the entirety of any manifesto will be achieved but people expect that the numbers are somewhat feasible. That is what Ste balked at, the sheer outlandish nature of the claim, especially given he seems privy to the situation.

At least SF or any other government will be begin from a nice starting point though, largest number of houses built in a decade so they'll start as they mean to go on

Once you get rid of the current occupants, rentokil your best bet to answer your original question, then get a nice feral cat and just about feed it enough to keep it around.

heh

Labour manifesto 2011 - Labour GE 2016.

No connection?

Obviously no one realistically believes that the entirety of any manifesto will be achieved but people expect that the numbers are somewhat feasible. That is what Ste balked at, the sheer outlandish nature of the claim, especially given he seems privy to the situation.

At least SF or any other government will be begin from a nice starting point though, largest number of houses built in a decade so they'll start as they mean to go on

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/...cade-1.4170320
                                                                                                                Throw up a copy of the FG manifest from 5 years ago and we see how they got on.

We have had a 100 years of a stuttering duopoly that are at this stage pretty indistinguishable from each other surely any rational thinking person can agree or at the very least accept that it's high time to give someone else a shot at it??

But if your priority is to deliver 100k public houses and you deliver barely any of that, you'll be a laughing stock no? Manifestos are generally fanciful alright but that claim is fairly out there.

Let it go man, its called a democracy your making a clown of urself at this stage!
                                                                                                                    SF do have a track record of flouncing out of Stormont at the slightest sign of something contentious.

Hopefully their southern representatives are made of sterner stuff. Events dear boy, events.

So you're the bollix destroying the Amazon! It was always you Fredo.

Labour manifesto 2011 - Labour GE 2016.

No connection?
                                                                                                                        And FF/FG they have always delivered yeah, lol stop lad will you!

But if your priority is to deliver 100k public houses and you deliver barely any of that, you'll be a laughing stock no? Manifestos are generally fanciful alright but that claim is fairly out there.
                                                                                                                          I'll be protesting outside the Dail if there's a single person on a trolley this time next year. Or a druggie in a sleeping bag in town.