The family would like those who murdered their son in jail, they aren't fabricating things. But fundamentally Paul Quinn is dead because he went around knocking out lads in pubs. Not because of politics or religion or anything else.
    Ah, OK so Conor Murphy was right, he was a criminal and thats why he was beaten to a pulp by IRA members.

Why did Mary Lou apologise then

There has been no ongoing IRA paramilitary campaign in 22 years..
    And yet Conor Murphy went to the IRA to get the information to smear him as a criminal in 2008 Maybe he just put back on his well worn balaclava and had a word with himself in the mirror

Ah, OK so Conor Murphy was right, he was a criminal and thats why he was beaten to a pulp by IRA members.

Why did Mary Lou apologise then

And yet Conor Murphy went to the IRA to get the information to smear him as a criminal in 2008 Maybe he just put back on his well worn balaclava and had a word with himself in the mirror
      None of this has anything to do with housing, health, tax and the climate in 2020. That’s the bottom line.

There has been no ongoing IRA paramilitary campaign in 22 years. Decommissioning was fully completed 12 years ago. SF actively support policing structures and the apparatus of the state north and south. There is no logic breakdown here whatsoever sir.

The SCC is opposed by the Green Party, Amnesty International, Irish Council for Civil Liberties and the UN Commission on human rights. All famous IRA supporters.
        Yes sir, there is a complete logical breakdown.

1. We all know that the activities of the IRA has not been fully decommissioned, you know that.

2. Even had decommissioning been completed 12 years ago, one could still be a member of the IRA & SF. You claim members of SF are only former members of the IRA, I suspect there are currently members of both in the party.

The destruction of Labour as a political party in Ireland is a disaster imo.

Anyway we can now expect a complete lockdown from the SF propaganda machine as they will not be going into government with anyone until they can find the reverse gear on a number of points. Mary Lou will have a job getting the men behind the curtain to adopt a clear and unequivocal position on the SCC and agree to work within some sort of a sane fiscal space.

The SCC is opposed by the Green Party, Amnesty International, Irish Council for Civil Liberties and the UN Commission on human rights. All famous IRA supporters.
              That’s the answer Mary Lou should have given. The reason she didn’t? Because for all of that Sinn Fein oppose it because their supporters prefer jury trials because... any guesses?

Yes sir, there is a complete logical breakdown.

1. We all know that the activities of the IRA has not been fully decommissioned, you know that.

2. Even had decommissioning been completed 12 years ago, one could still be a member of the IRA & SF. You claim members of SF are only former members of the IRA, I suspect there are currently members of both in the party.
                The IRA are fully committed to the peace process and democratic politics and they also are fully decommissioned. And that’s all that matters.
                Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 09-02-20, 15:53.

Lot of very rattled anti shinners here today, hilarious!

The IRA are fully committed to the peace process and democratic politics and they also are fully commissioned. And that’s all that matters.
                    YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST FOLKS

The IRA are fully committed to the peace process and democratic politics and they also are fully commissioned. And that’s all that matters.
                      Even though there are clear question marks around the truth of that, it's irrelevant to your original point which was SF members were formerly involved with the IRA.

As you're completely aware, there are SF members currently involved with the IRA which is all that matters to some as an indication of where their concerns truly lie.

Lot of very rattled anti shinners here today, hilarious!
                        Admittedly so

Just interviewed on RTE there. The thing that struck me was that he has an absolutely extraordinary nose that looks like it's been broken multiple times.

Was he a hurler by any chance?
                          When he was doing training with the boys in the mountains he fell over a few times
                          Never said a word under interrogation

Jaysus this Shinner tribal nationalism isn't too far removed from the scenes we were seeing during Brexit day a few weeks back.

Wait till you see who gets the blame when their plans to have councils build 100000 houses crashes and burns against a background of rising unemployment, a hold on all FDI and a UK trade crisis.

Mehole making eyes at Mary Loo now.

Jesus, that would be some ugly offspring.

Lloyd (or any other SF person): what is the SF position on carbon taxes?

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has arrived at the Cork South Central count centre. Asked if he’s open to doing a deal with Sinn Fein, he says “significant incompatibilities” still exist.
                                    Rollback City.

They have never made any secret of their opposition to any increases in carbon tax, but I suspect you already know this.

If I had known I wouldn't have asked!

That's very regressive (I will avoid using the word populist directly) policy, no way they could get over the line in any PfG.

They don't want to raise them

With 96% of #GE2020 votes tallied nationwide…

SF 24.1%
                                            FF 22.2%
                                            FG 22.1%
                                            Greens 7.4%
                                            Labour 4.1%
                                            SD 3.0%
                                            SolPBP 2.8%
                                            Other parties 3.3%
                                            Inds 12.1%

From Gavan Reilly - looks like the exit poll underestimated SF by the margin of error.

Every single FF'er interviewed so far has more or less admitted they will have no problem going into government with them if the numbers stack up.

Lot of counting still to be done but all the parties are going to be facing very difficult decisions over formation.

Whats the line on a date for formation of a new government? Hard to see it happening this side of Paddy's day.
                                              Not going to tear up the FF/FG docket just yet.

SF have the country ruined already according to most on here.

Good laugh here today watching bubble boys losing their shit about balaclava and Celtic jersey clad boogey men under the bed
                                                  There’s a rake of educated , middle class sensible enough heads after voting Sinn Fein who ever had voted sf before because FG /FF have nothing to offer , deal with it .
                                                  I personally didn’t even give SF a preference (or FF) , embarrassed to say I gave top preference to 2 absolute non entity, nothing to say empty suit Fine Gaelers as I can’t really complain about my lot (And most of the rest of card were stone cold droolers )but I’m not blind enough to see why others chose to change it up.
                                                  Last edited by Guest; 09-02-20, 17:06.

Will be interesting to see how the surplus transfers in Dub West but with a fair wind and the right order of eliminations we just might be rid of Coppinger

With 96% of #GE2020 votes tallied nationwide…

SF 24.1%
                                                      FF 22.2%
                                                      FG 22.1%
                                                      Greens 7.4%
                                                      Labour 4.1%
                                                      SD 3.0%
                                                      SolPBP 2.8%
                                                      Other parties 3.3%
                                                      Inds 12.1%

From Gavan Reilly - looks like the exit poll underestimated SF by the margin of error.
                                                      The people have spoken, the bastards.

Will be interesting to see how the surplus transfers in Dub West but with a fair wind and the right order of eliminations we just might be rid of Coppinger
                                                        That will be a relief for every private industry that she wants to nationalise.

Eoin O'Broin is a man confident in his fashion tastes.

Mary Loo and Michelle O'Neill really should not stand beside each other on a Six Nations weekend.

The day is lacking Noel Whelan doing his forensic analysis of where the transfers will go.

Delighted to see Peter Casey roundly rejected again. Also the exit poll saying immigration was 1% of the electorate's concerns.

We can all agree on that one.

A FF SF coalition will be more of an anathema to the average SF "vote for change" voter than your average FF voter.

SF will be seen as the junior partner, and will fall foul of the curse of the junior partner, which decimated the PDs, Greens and Labour.

The horse head boys will have to bide their time until FG romp home in the next GE led by Simon or Pascal.

One of the better things about our elections is to watch the dreams of individuals you detest being ever so slowly crushed.

So on that note, I am deeply anti-funking for Stephen Donnelly in Wickla.
                                                                      Is he fooked?

Fingers crossed Chad. And toes.

The horse head boys will have to bide their time until FG romp home in the next GE led by Simon or Pascal.
                                                                          We of the HHE actually own all the political brands, sorry parties.
                                                                          It's nice to give the customers, sorry electorate, the illusion of choice.

Seems bizarre to me that a candidate can run in multiple constituencies. Meant to enquire about it and forgot, how is that allowed?

Watching Charlie Dimmock on Garden Rescue BBC1

Don't think this is true unfortunately. The race card can be a big vote getter still. Noel Grealish destroyed Sean Kyne in Kyne's backyard by opposing a refugee center Kyne supported.

He also made ground sagging off Nigerians in the Dail.

In London this weekend for work, had to miss all rugby matches due to meetings and flight home this morning cancelled from LCY so am currently in Heathrow hoping to get out with a different airline this evening. Disaster. Missing all the election fun.

A FF/SF government will be interesting!

A FF SF coalition will be more of an anathema to the average SF "vote for change" voter than your average FF voter.

SF will be seen as the junior partner, and will fall foul of the curse of the junior partner, which decimated the PDs, Greens and Labour.

I do not think their is any comparison really, Sinn Fein will have a far stronger hand than any of those

They might still be a couple of seats shy.

How about a 'forty shades of green' government?

FF/SF/GP

Fingers crossed Chad. And toes.
                                                                                        I'll wave and smile at the baldy ginger prick next time instead so.

Can't get anything to load for me in work. AJ needs to do hourly roundups.

In London this weekend for work, had to miss all rugby matches due to meetings and flight home this morning cancelled from LCY so am currently in Heathrow hoping to get out with a different airline this evening. Disaster. Missing all the election fun.

My flight out at 6:20 now delayed till 9:05, if it goes at all of course fuck this fucking storm. Have to drive on the other side so can't even get drunk...

bleh, have to fly in the opposite direction in 12 hours. Tell them to turn it down.

I'll wave and smile at the baldy ginger prick next time instead so.

Can't get anything to load for me in work. AJ needs to do hourly roundups.
                                                                                              I remember how excited and delighted you were back in 2011 when he got in ahead of Dick Roche. Time moves on.

Flight from dubai cancelled for son number 2 due to the Storm. Now flying back on Tuesday. 2 extra days chilling in dubai lucky feckers.

Regina Doherty on the way out. Failed business women and failed politician. Good riddance.

Meanwhile on planet Healy Rae

Surely a shoe-in to take over Bruton's Ministry in a rainbow coalition

Would SF's play not be to be seen to talk to everyone but fail to agree with anyone on some of their more populist issues, September Election, run more candidates?

She's overtaken the Green candidate on the second count.

One of the better things about our elections is to watch the dreams of individuals you detest being ever so slowly crushed.

So on that note, I am deeply anti-funking for Stephen Donnelly in Wickla.
                                                                                                            How did I forget about May Hanafin here?

Ha-ha-Hanafin

Would SF's play not be to be seen to talk to everyone but fail to agree with anyone on some of their more populist issues, September Election, run more candidates?
                                                                                                              But Mary Lou cares about the people and their views so I doubt she would put us thru the ringer again
                                                                                                              Think of all the old ira stories been brought up regarding the troubles
                                                                                                              She would have 8 more months of apologies to make

Possibly but how does the SF base feel having claimed to want control yet fail to deliver when given the opportunity by FF or Green/PBP/everyone else.

It may not even get to that point though because if FG/FF see that SF have an opportunity to increase their seats, they might just bite the bullet and make a government hoping that things go smoothly and the populism subsides during the next 4 years.

I remember how excited and delighted you were back in 2011 when he got in ahead of Dick Roche. Time moves on.
                                                                                                                    So I'm a consistent FF hater.

He got in and actually did some good things. Now he's a lying prick. Standard stuff really. His lies and how obviously hes been craving and looking for power make this all the sweeter. Absolute prick.

She's overtaken the Green candidate on the second count.
                                                                                                                      That was the distribution of the SF surplus, she is still odds against for a seat.

Ugh, Michael Lowry re-elected on the first count in Tipperary.

People of the premier county really do know how to pick 'em.

The poll topper in Clare got 300 odd votes in the locals.

Holy shit.

The brand is strong.