As an antidote to all that out of date cheese, heres some modern hip hop

BEENZINO - Sleek korean hip hop

Artist : 빈지노Site - http://www.illionaire.kr/Twitter -http://twitter.com/isshoman[On Stage Session]http://music.naver.com/onStage/onStageReview.nhn?articleId=...

KEN REBEL - Young rapper from Brooklyn, sweet lyrics

ITS A FUCKING RIOTIT'S RUSH HOUR 2015 BIOTCHDOWNLOAD LINK - https://soundcloud.com/kenrebelife/ken-rebel-underwater-rebels-feat-keith-ape-okasian-jayalldaypr...

Post Malone - White Iverson, hated this the first time I heard it. Love it now

The official music video for "White Iverson" by Post Malone. Download the song here: https://PostMalone.lnk.to/wiYD►Subscribe for more Post Malone: https://P...

More slick Korean stuff: Dynamic Duo

다이나믹 듀오(Dynamicduo) X DJ Premier - 'AEAO' M/V*English subtitle is available- Apple Music & iTunes : https://apple.co/2EMzDtx- Spotify : https://spoti.fi/2Q5v...

This guy released two tracks prominently featuring guns in both the video and lyrics, then
    got sent down for 7 years for possessing an illegal gun. Sweet tracks and amazing videos

Bobby Shmurda

"Hot N*gga" by Bobby ShmurdaListen to Bobby Shmurda: https://BobbyShmurda.lnk.to/listenYDWatch more Bobby Shmurda videos: https://BobbyShmurda.lnk.to/listenY...

The crazier end of Korean stuff:

Produced by JUNIORCHEF and Keith ApeDirected by Keith Ape, Jan'Qui and Art DealerDirector of Photography: Jan'QuiEdited by Jan'Qui and Art Dealerhttp://hilit...

Quite good. Not sure quite how to describe it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uv9oax2N160
      Wow.

His play Dublin Old school is on in the project arts centre, it's fantastic. Have seen it twice

Bobby Shmurda is excellent. Thought it was murder he was on trial for, so suppose 7 years isn't too bad. Am i right in thinking those are all gang members in the video?
            They certainly look like gang members to me /garda

"I was forced to take this sentence, I did not want to take this sentence, I was forced by my attorney to take this plea," Shmurda told the court.

Just watched this with Mia , she struggled to keep eyes open but enjoyed so much , kept going.

some crack getting her out of the bed in morn
              Deffo recomened

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4l3-_yub5A
              Last edited by SatNav; 18-01-17, 23:25.

How much for just broadweb satnav? Cheapest package going.

Half thinking of going to get a half pounder.

How much for just broadweb satnav? Cheapest package going.
                    cheapest in country at moment BB alone 39 quid whole 12 month contract , also bundle for 49 quid TV and BB obv

Pizzagate making a bit of a return after being dismissed as fake news,starting to get some mainstream play now
                      At best John podestas brother is a major creep the rest gets pretty wild.
                      The pictures the pizza place owner had on his instagram were quite disturbing ,challenge anyone to look at them and say they would be happy to leave their kids anywhere near the guy

https://youtu.be/-GZFHLAcG8A

Pizzagate making a bit of a return after being dismissed as fake news,starting to get some mainstream play now
                        At best John podestas brother is a major creep the rest gets pretty wild.
                        The pictures the pizza place owner had on his instagram were quite disturbing ,challenge anyone to look at them and say they would be happy to leave their kids anywhere near the guy

So creepy. So so creepy.
                        As an aside the phrase "fake news" annoys the shit out of me.

As IPB poet in residence, I'd describe it as fear good!

Starring Emmet KirwanWritten and Directed by Dave TynanProduced by Kathryn KennedyCinematography by JJ RolfeScore by Gareth AverillEdited by Michael Donnelly...

http://www.facebook.com/cluborange A short film based on the original "Just Saying" by Dave Tynan.

Have been making an extended playlist of stuff that gets played by Carl Corcran on his 10 to 1AM Lyric FM show , the Blue of the night.
                                Infuriating that so much of the great tracks he plays are from the ECM label who are too far up their own arses to do a deal with spotify
                                Taping off the radio is killing the music industry

"The last thing we need is a level six npc distracting the players." Quality.

Inmates at a Colorado's maximum security prison use 'Dungeons & Dragons' to collaborate and exercise their creativity... all without dice.

Tara, let's get a game going in the Joy.

Thanks for that. Last question for yourself or anyone else who's toured CA. I'm driving from Monterrey to Santa Barbara and am stopping for 1 night in a town to break up drive. Pismo beach, San Luis Obispo, Cambria have been floated by travel agents. Any thumbs up for them places or recommendation for another?
                                    Well it wont break up the drive that much, but a girlfriend pleaser would be to stop in Solvang for a night, beautiful dutch town.

Fugees - The Score
                                      2Pac - All Eyez on Me
                                      Lauryn Hill - The Miseducation . .
                                      The Streets - Original Pirate Material
                                      Dr. Dre - 2001
                                      Massive Attack - Mezzanine
                                      Manu Chao - Clandestino
                                      Guts - Le Bienheureux

To the land of the Waffle Eating Surrender Monkeys this afternoon. To be followed by a four train odyssey through the land of the Cheese Eating Surrender Monkeys tomorrow.

Saturday marked as a rest day.

Not sure if this has been posted already but in honor of HJ's hip hop post

I'd say Rancid would be good live but you wouldn't want to be following them on spotify or you'd be plagued with random shite.
                                            "And Out Come The Wolves..." was the defining album of the genre, but saying everything afterwards was hit and miss is being kind to it. Also Tim Armstrong's voice died in 1998 and isn't coming back.

All that said, their bass player is still godlike: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsgWs4sNHwM

Infuriating that so much of the great tracks he plays are from the ECM label who are too far up their own arses to do a deal with spotify
                                              Ah here... so wanting to have some control over the distribution of your own product is being up your own arse now?

Spotify is a tasteless, lazyman's all you can eat corporate buffet commodifying music (which is sometimes but not always art).

Not all artists want to reach the widest possible audience. Some just want to create art.

If that's being up your own arse then there are plenty of artists who just want to show off and will find all the audience they need on Spotify.

You can buy their CDs on their website and maybe, y'know, meaningfully support the artists instead of throwing $0.0006 into their hat as you pass by en route to somewhere else.

Shots fired

Ah here... so wanting to have some control over the distribution of your own product is being up your own arse now?

Spotify is a tasteless, lazyman's all you can eat corporate buffet commodifying music (which is sometimes but not always art).

Not all artists want to reach the widest possible audience. Some just want to create art.

If that's being up your own arse then there are plenty of artists who just want to show off and will find all the audience they need on Spotify.

You can buy their CDs on their website and maybe, y'know, meaningfully support the artists instead of throwing $0.0006 into their hat as you pass by en route to somewhere else.
                                                  Talking to the wrong crowd here,these guys would be downloading cars if they could

Exactly, they should be grateful for the .0006c for doing something they love.

as always, google is best

We created this cute toy to explain how an object can be 3D printed with moving parts without having to use support or raft. We hope that it will be the first of a collection. Maybe the next vehicules will have integrated hinges for the doors and a working steering wheel! We saved it in 3 different sizes. Original, wich is 80mm. 150% and 320% (full size for a Replicator 2)

So much here that you and ECM are wrong about.
                                                              This is correct and it is totally their choice as to how they want to get paid for it but it is absolute bollocks to denigrate the streaming model by pretending that

Lets not be specific about spotify, other streaming sites exist.
                                                              Streaming is a way of paying artists for music that actually gets listened to.

Any musician / performer can choose how to use their work to make a living and if they are recording they have a variety of choices.
                                                              Some models work better for them than others.
                                                              selling lumps of plastic at the table after a gig only for them to join the clutter and never ever be played. will net an artist a once off tenner and thats fine if its just money you are after.

Whether the economic model of streaming will work for the likes of your medium UK indie band remains to be seen, there still needs to be a much bigger and wider subscriber base before we can say that streaming is an unequivocally good thing . But to argue against paying people for what is actually listened to rather than for selling artifacts is ridiculous in the extreme.

...wanting to have some control over the distribution of your own product is being up your own arse now?
                                                              Put it how you want but if you want to sit in your bedroom and make pure art but aren't willing to go out and bring it to an audience well then thats a pretty good definition of being up your own arse.

ECM are a very different kind of up their arse as you well know, the labels model of pretentious exclusivity is fine as long as its working for their artists. Its not working for me and I'm very much the target market for their artists.

Put it how you want but if you want to sit in your bedroom and make pure art but aren't willing to go out and bring it to an audience well then thats a pretty good definition of being up your own arse.

ECM are a very different kind of up their arse as you well know, the labels model of pretentious exclusivity is fine as long as its working for their artists. Its not working for me and I'm very much the target market for their artists.
                                                                All sorts of people make music for their own entertainment (including myself) without a care in the world about audience. They might be shy, busy, not very good, etc... but they love music or want to challenge themselves or hear sounds in their head that they feel compelled to get out.

To describe this activity as up your own arse is a self-serving generalisation.

Additionally i don't see their exclusivity as pretentious. The music ECM releases is not generally appealing to a mainstream audience so why dilute the already small pocket of patrons they can attract who will pay for access to something more esoteric?

I'm not saying there isn't room for streaming services just that it's ok not to cram square pegs into round holes if it unbalances an already delicate ecosystem that supports artists who would not survive on streaming crumbs alone.

It's their club and if we want to join i'm OK with playing by their rules rather than complaining that they're shitty rules. There are plenty of other musical clubs out there to join who don't mind sharing their work for (virtually) free.

Oh... and re: CDs vs Streaming some people are still happy to attach a premium to owning a physical product rather than renting a stream of ones and zeros, something i think you've had plenty to say about in the past right?

Bo-Taoshi looks like great craic!

Share the video with your friends!Please like and subscribe if you enjoyed the video. READ MORE:This is an amazing, chaotic and dangerous game that has been...

Oh... and re: CDs vs Streaming some people are still happy to attach a premium to owning a physical product rather than renting a stream of ones and zeros, something i think you've had plenty to say about in the past right?
                                                                    Never really understand this point which seems to be always made with relation to music. They are just things. The music is the important bit. That is what I am buying. I want it in my ears and if that is through ones and zeros or a hand crafted leather case with a physical CD, it is the music I want to hear. Some people may be happy to attach some meaning to owning the physical product but I think it is less and less. Buy more, consume more is the anthem of a generation I suppose.

I always remember a friend of a friend who loved films back in the day and bought every VHS going. All of that beautiful physical medium that is video tapes. I remember just as DVD's had really taken hold, visiting my mate in his flat. He showed me the spare room in which his mate was now keeping all that VHS he had collected over the years. It was a fair sized room packed wall to wall with video tapes stacked to the ceiling. That image has always stuck with me. I have since found any attachment to the physical medium to be ridiculous.

I agree with some of the other points about Spotify. The problem is before Spotify, people just flat out stole everything. So the artist got nothing. At least this way they get something.

There should be a ban on sharing anything by Una Mullally. A truly detestable human being.

The Irish Times dwells on the important points around HomeSweetHome
                                                                          I could really have done without the frustration of reading that.

Freedom! On a side note, must be awesome to be retired - judging by the amount of old lads supping pints in Nearys.

Never really understand this point which seems to be always made with relation to music. They are just things. The music is the important bit....

I have since found any attachment to the physical medium to be ridiculous.

I agree of course the music is more important than the medium but the medium is often be a covetable thing in its own right.

Witness the rise in record sales whose growth is outstripping digital downloads for the first time and abetted by streaming possibly.

There are enthusiastic second hand marketplaces (some stronger than others mind you) for many of these mediums (records, VHS, betamax, laserdiscs, minidiscs, and the equipment they were played on).

And let's not forget fidelity - most people don't care that much about the sound quality of their digital file (unless it's really bad) but put someone down in front of a 100K hifi system to listen to a record or CD of their favourite recording and they'll shit their knickers with surprise.

I love Alex Petridis' description at the end of his Esquire article where he met a variety of hifi fiends...

"He asks me if I want to hear something on his system. I choose "To Here Knows When", the 1991 single by My Bloody Valentine that Brian Eno described as "the vaguest music ever made". When it was released, people kept taking it back to the shops, convinced that there was something wrong with the record they'd bought: surely it wasn't meant to sound like that, with its beautiful sleepy-eyed melody almost drowned out by layers of churning, woozy noise. I've listened to it obsessively for 25 years, trying to get to the bottom of what the band thought they were doing.

In Steve's front room, I feel like I'm sitting in the middle of the song, the guitars arcing around me. It's overwhelming. And once again, all the downsides of audiophile addiction – the ridiculous financial excesses, the mystical woo, the obsessive behaviour – seem to evaporate.

Who wouldn't want music to sound this enveloping, this enrapturing? Would I spend £40,000 on a set of speakers? Would I rewire my house? Would I build a freestanding structure in a nearby barn? Of course I wouldn't. But there's a part of me that knows precisely why they do and thinks the rest of us don't know what we're missing"

It's their club and if we want to join i'm OK with playing by their rules rather than complaining that they're shitty rules. There are plenty of other musical clubs out there to join who don't mind sharing their work for (virtually) free.
                                                                                Fuck their club, its a marketing gimmick. I want to to listen to their artists and am willing to pay a fair amount. Because I don't want to pay through the nose for redundant and extraordinarily expensive artifacts they are depriving their artists of the money I want to give them and forcing me to either ignore or pirate their material.

That is just a fetish, its an ok fetish to have, I buy books as objects and read digital copies of them. Its the message not the medium that matters.

The question is how do we pay for art in this technological era and the subscription model is fair and effective.

I buy books as objects and read digital copies of them.
                                                                                  Why don't you just do the same thing with CDs?

If I was a musician I'd probably tell Spotify to go fuck itself as well. It's not like they're going to prevent you starving.

And let's not forget fidelity - most people don't care that much about the sound quality of their digital file (unless it's really bad) but put someone down in front of a 100K hifi system to listen to a record or CD of their favourite recording and they'll shit their knickers with surprise.
                                                                                    I'd imagine that most of the population couldn't tell the difference between 128kbps and above on their everyday equipment, and 99% of people can't tell the difference between 320kbps and above on any equipment. It was nice that the people on What.CD were dedicated enough to archive every format but it was likely unnecessary!

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 19-01-17, 15:39.

^^^^^^^^^^^^
                                                                                        Put a smile on my face

Is anyone here a surveyor or can recommend one? Need to make sure this gaff isn't gonna fall down before I lob a deposit on it.

I have a moderately large balance on my credit card for the last while.

Unfortunately the shitty card I have charges ~2% fee for cash 'advances' even if you have a positive balance, so I can't transfer it to my current account (or elsewhere) without getting stung for a couple of hundred quid.

I've been trying to grind it down over the last while by using it for all the transactions I might otherwise use my debit card for, but it's slow going when I can't even use it to pay the rent, as transferring money to another account somehow counts as a cash advance.

I seem to be stuck with point of sale transactions and online purchases. I don't particularly want to buy a load of imperishables or anything, but if there was some simple way to get the money off the CC balance and into the current account I would be happier.

Anyone have any ideas how I might get around it?

I have a moderately large balance on my credit card for the last while.

Unfortunately the shitty card I have charges ~2% fee for cash 'advances' even if you have a positive balance, so I can't transfer it to my current account (or elsewhere) without getting stung for a couple of hundred quid.

I've been trying to grind it down over the last while by using it for all the transactions I might otherwise use my debit card for, but it's slow going when I can't even use it to pay the rent, as transferring money to another account somehow counts as a cash advance.

I seem to be stuck with point of sale transactions and online purchases. I don't particularly want to buy a load of imperishables or anything, but if there was some simple way to get the money off the CC balance and into the current account I would be happier.

Anyone have any ideas how I might get around it?
                                                                                              Fitzwilliam - buy chips with your card (doesn't count as cash afaik). Walk around for an hour and cash them back in.

Good thinking.

Strewel might know whether a transaction like that would count as a cash advance? Also, what about getting cashback in places with it - I presume that is recorded as a cash advance somehow?

Good thinking.

Strewel might know whether a transaction like that would count as a cash advance? Also, what about getting cashback in places with it - I presume that is recorded as a cash advance somehow?
                                                                                                  it wasn't considered a cash advance few years back but that might have changed.

Anywhere that will give you cash back def not recorded. E.g. my local (Step Inn) will give you cash back but it just appears as Step Inn (that could be food or anything). Prob won't get more than 100 back though.

Paddy Power card worth checking out too. If you could lodge via CC, might be possible withdraw cash from their new card (not sure though).

Plan looks to have no possible flaw.

LOL. Good one AJ.

I'll just put €5, only €5 now, on black 22.

LOL. Good one AJ.

I'll just put €5, only €5 now, on black 22.
                                                                                                        Fairly safe. Keane understands the Martingale system fairly well..

I'm not an expert, but I am an enthusiast.

Good thinking.

Don't know about the Fitz or Europe in general but I did spend the best part of a Month last year working with our Portuguese friend trying to sort out a raft of Acquirer txns that Mastercard rejected post hoc as being invalid merchant type that came from a Casino in Tanzania.
                                                                                                            I can't remember the dirty details but the point is that they knew it was a casino and the merchant codes were wrong. They frame shite like that as anti money laundering but they do have other motives.

Anywhere that will give you cash back def not recorded. E.g. my local (Step Inn) will give you cash back but it just appears as Step Inn (that could be food or anything). Prob won't get more than 100 back though.
                                                                                                              Merchants are not allowed do cash back on CC transactions, if they do it they are just robbing themselves.

Why don't you just do the same thing with CDs?
                                                                                                                Books are beautiful objects and up to a point 12" record (covers) are too. CD's are horrible lumps of plastic and a pisspoor data storage system

GAB had a great yarn last week about the night a few lads decided that would get the €25 they needed for ice cream from the roulette table and ended up many hours later with several bankrolls on the table

Merchants are not allowed do cash back on CC transactions, if they do it they are just robbing themselves.
                                                                                                                    I'll remember to tell them that the next time

I used these guys (twice!):

Avoid buying a money pit! Get a pre-purchase house survey with our highly qualified and experienced team of in-house Engineers. Highly professional service with a detailed report and fast turnaround. Get your online quotation.

Very, very good and used by many on the Property Pin. A bit more expensive than others but that's for a reason and it is the biggest purchase you've made so far in your life I'd guess, so probably money well spent.

I often ask primary school teachers my age what they do with the rest of their day (they've four or five more hours of free time a day more than I do) and every time they just shrug and look confused at the question. Day time TV?

(they also seem massively risk adverse, doubt we've any here?)
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Denny Crane; 19-01-17, 17:26.

I often ask primary school teachers my age what they do with the rest of their day (they've four or five more hours of free time a day more than I do) and every time they just shrug and look confused at the question. Day time TV?

(they also seem massively risk adverse, doubt we've any here?)
                                                                                                                          Mostly they go home and work for another 3 - 6 hours.
                                                                                                                          This is a little known fact.