Spraypaint the front of your house with PEDO SCUM to prevent unwanted trick or treat callers. Top Tip.

I smell insta sellout followed by loads of €1000 tickets on seatwave
      Last edited by Guest; 31-10-16, 18:31.

Bring back Rasta

Garage stories part five. Garage Hard Lemonade is an alcoholic beverage for adults. Drink Responsibly. facebook.com/garagehardlemonade // facebook.com/garage...

Madlads

Might be time to buy back in Denny

Nothing new in that. Saw her denying it on CNN recently, clear as day she was talking rubbish.

TWD

Wish I gave up when Chad did.

Mentioned this to my class of exchange students this morning as a weird French thing (its the same here, our bank holiday is tomorrow). Was expecting them to view it as a humorous anecdote about crazy France, but they all said it was same in their country and its Ireland/UK that are the weirdos for changing sacred meaningful dates in order to give people a long weekend.
                      I'd feel totally shafted if that was the case.
                      The aussies do it the UK/Irish way thank fuck. If it falls on a weekend it moves to the Monday, and if there's two of them on that weekend. Then you get the tuesday as a bank holiday too. The day off work is more meaningful than any special date. Example, today is a bank holiday in Victoria because the Melbourne cup I on. Always annoys me that we don't get that one is Sydney.

Also, rather annoyingly, they call them public holidays here not bank holidays. Which wouldn't be an issue except that one of public holidays is called "Bank holiday".
                      On the flip side, when the bank holiday falls on a Thursday, most companies will give the Friday off. It's called "faire le pont"
                      My French is probably a bit rusty, but..."To do the Bridge"?

So is mine but bridge the gap might be the meaning of that

It has to be said, had a fantastic weekend, here in Dublin.

Got here Saturday, down to dun laghoire for a fish and chips by the sea, then onto the rugby game(shame it was poor unfortunately), then onto Fxb for a massive porterhouse steak and steak tartare), and drinks in the pub till closing . Got up Saturday and Sat in front of the house for a couple of hours cheering on the runners. Then bbq leg of lamb, with copious amount of beer, champagne and wine. Got up this morning to a massive Irish breakfast, then drove down to climb the sugarloaf.

Now sitting in the lounge at the airport with a few hours to spare. Gonna hitch it up

What a wonderful island you guys have got, filled with incredible people. Absolutely love coming back here.
                          An excellent weekend, when you manage to get two Saturdays out of it.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 31-10-16, 22:46.

Originally posted by Lplate View Post
                                So is mine but bridge the gap might be the meaning of that
                                That obviously sounds more reasonable as an English phrase. But isn't that mixing the verb and noun? Pont (bridge) is the noun, faire is the verb.
                                I'm just talking about the actual direct translation. Which doesn't necessarily have to make any sense, if it's uniquely French concept. "Take a 4 Day weekend" is probably the closest tp actual usage.

Sorry I haven't posted much over the weekend m8s was busy yeah.

Eat anything interesting?

Oh the joys of Bank holidays in the office.

GFYIPBersnotworking
                                      Also in the office. Poor us.
                                      If it makes ye feel any better, currently holding a pub for a month, did an AFD (9:00-24:00) shift today & due to the vagaries of pub accounting it's costing me money to do it.

Enjoying it though & shit tons easier than the monster I usually work in!

Eat anything interesting?
                                        No m8. I ate about 4 meals since Friday which is silly now looking back.

Daughter a massive WWE fan and got a couple tickets to an event in May next year at £55 each!
                                          Wouldn't mind so much if I could only get a bet on a few bouts to keep me interested on the night ..........

Daughter a massive WWE fan and got a couple tickets to an event in May next year at £55 each!
                                            Wouldn't mind so much if I could only get a bet on a few bouts to keep me interested on the night ..........
                                            Betting on WWE is occasionally availible

UFC heads, I'm contemplating making the trip over to 205. What are the chances of tickets being available on the day of or before? Can see them online atm for $700 but wondering would the gamble be a better option or any other avenues for tickets?

Stubhub is your only chance now I'd say.

Experienced our first Halloween in Malta. Turns out the area we live in which is Swieqi is the place ALL the kids travel to as it is a residential area with houses instead of all apartments. Tony did video a bit and put on FB but that was because there were a few hundred people standing at a big house. Turns out they turn it into a haunted house and visitors come to see it. The few hundred were the queue waiting to go in!

I have never seen so many adults/children walk about for halloween, 4 O'Clock and kids were knocking. I had about 35 bags ready for the kids and had no idea that there would be hundreds coming to the door! thank goodness we went out as it was just crazy.

We met with other parents from Aimee's class and wandered round the streets, there were so many kids at each door that you could easily lose yours. There would be about 20 there at a time and loads waiting on pavement ready to go in.

If that is Halloween, I wonder what Christmas will be like.

I dressed up as Melisandre from GoT. Made the necklace yesterday and had the dress from last year. Tony's was the baby carrying him on his shoulders one which got loads of attention from passing children!

Grand having this mini-summer at the end of October. My dad was saying its the same in Ireland at the moment. What a time to be alive.

Seems a bit of tension building up in the brother's household. His wife finished the marathon in 3.32 which qualifies her for the Boston marathon (didn't realise qualification was a thing for marathons), but he didn't make the mark himself - think its 3.08 for men to qualify. She's arguing that his failure shouldn't impede her going to the marathon, whereas he's a bit hesitant to accept that line of logic.

On the running theme, the dad was also saying that when him and the brother were both living in Dublin at the same time they used to go out for 15+ mile runs all the time. Guess this was in the 1980s as we were living in Shankill at the time, and jogging was a mad craze back then. Never thought he did any exercise except walking, but there was him and his generation doing the exact same thing we're doing. That shouldn't be surprising, but there we go.
                                                      She should be allowed to go and he needs to just congratulate her on her success. Sounds like sour grapes if she doesn't get to go. That was brilliant how well she did!

Not sure why you should be so shocked at this news Hitch.

One week to go until E-Day. Watched All the President's Men last night. The closing quote seemed apt:

Nothing's riding on this except the, uh, First Amendment to the Constitution, freedom of the press and maybe the future of the country. Not that any of that matters, but if you guys fuck up again, I'm going to get mad. Good night

That obviously sounds more reasonable as an English phrase. But isn't that mixing the verb and noun? Pont (bridge) is the noun, faire is the verb.
                                                          I'm just talking about the actual direct translation. Which doesn't necessarily have to make any sense, if it's uniquely French concept. "Take a 4 Day weekend" is probably the closest tp actual usage.
                                                          spot on. it's "to make the bridge" between the thursday and the weekend, so taking a day off to get a 4 day weekend

Not sure why you should be so shocked at this news Hitch.

One week to go until E-Day. Watched All the President's Men last night. The closing quote seemed apt:
                                                            for the first time last night, I witnessed the complete and utter apathy of normally ardent voters on the back of Hill Dog's latest scandal.
                                                            I'm starting to think Trump as a big 'Fuck You' is really possible (not likely granted).

It's crazy, if either side really picks any other nominee, they pretty much 100% piss it.

Of all the stupid memes going around this one id the silliest.
                                                                Sanders would be losing by 15 points plus at this stage. If you don't understand this you know nothing about Americans.

I really can't wait for this election to be over. I am sick to the back teeth seeing all the crap on FB, people fighting and unfriending over who they are going to vote for.

I can't stand either of them but Trump does scare me and to see friends who I know really well who live in America go on about how amazing her is just mental. Can they not see neither of them would be a good president?

Wonder how long it will be till we get an assassination attempt on them!

Of all the stupid memes going around this one id the silliest.
                                                                    Sanders would be losing by 15 points plus at this stage. If you don't understand this you know nothing about Americans.
                                                                    Not a chance in hell.
                                                                    Sanders with the DNC behind him without all the shit that has stuck to hillary and he romps it imo.

Negative campaigning against him would be Old, Jew, Socialist which is laughably easy to respond to.

Not a chance in hell.
                                                                      Sanders with the DNC behind him without all the shit that has stuck to hillary and he romps it imo.

Negative campaigning against him would be Old, Jew, Socialist which is laughably easy to respond to.
                                                                      You are missing the point it would have nothing to do with Jewishness, misogyny, age, health, megalomania, unpaid taxes or anything else except "It's the economy, stupid".
                                                                      Peoples greed is the only thing that outweighs their stupidity.

Not a chance in hell.

We are taking on powerful interests who will do and spend whatever it takes to stop us. Change never happens from the top down. Chip in to join the political revolution today.

Medicare for all
                                                                        Free College
                                                                        $15 National Minimum Wage
                                                                        Strengthen and Expand Social Security

Paid for by - https://berniesanders.com/issues/how...his-proposals/

This kind of stuff is beyond ridiculous to a huge subset of Americans. They do not have the same opinion as us on lots of this stuff that we find normal.

Fuck it, Michelle 2010

The absolute worst thing you can do when seeking to assess American politics is to do so through the prism of European attitudes.

Trusting the common people to make the right decision is the nut worst way to have your way in politics.
                                                                                  Democracy: the fools have a right to vote.
                                                                                  Dictatorship the fools have a right to rule.

Trusting the common people to make the right decision is the nut worst way to have your way in politics.
                                                                                    The Most Intolerant Wins: The Dictatorship of the Small Minority

Pretty hard to come back to Dublin after staying in Leiden. They have some life there, have a gin and tonic night every Friday (tonics are free) and people would offer me wine and champagne randomly when I was walking home. A lot of shops have dogs and cats in them, including a favourite of mine, the bernese mountain dog. Seven nights a week this tiny place has packed restaurants and bars. The most beautiful and relaxing city I have been to. It has twelve museums and had great please viewing one of the best t-rex skeletons found (the exhibit hasd the most dutch thing I've ever seen, a game where you cycled a bike IRL to escape dinosaurs through a jungle), a red light district and coffee shops. Visited the Hague and Amsterdam in less time than it takes to get to work.

This thing is far more awing and fear inducing than seeing fakes. You could see where it got it's ribs broken, it's face bitten by another t-rex, diseases it had and survived from until it was caught in a landslide of sand aged 30 and preserved.

Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 01-11-16, 12:51.

Looks nice. Shame about all the Dutch people

Turning up to a shop at 11:59...

Security: "We can't let you in, the shop is not open."
                                                                                          Me:" When does it open?"
                                                                                          Security: "It doesn't open until 12."

Had to wait twenty seconds. The dutch right there. Far nicer people than in Amsterdam there at least and all the women are stunning. Think like 25% of the city is nubile twenty somethings from the university.
                                                                                          Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 01-11-16, 11:01.

TG4 wins Halloween

Had to wait twenty seconds. The dutch right there. Far nicer people than in Amsterdam there at least and all the women are stunning. Think like 25% of the city is nubile twenty somethings from the university.
                                                                                              Mate used to live in Delft down the road, there was a big Irish/English contingent there at the time due to some software company

Few of us visited, nice enough place, lads told us about Leiden and the question soon was:

Why de fuck don't ye live in Leiden?

My last job in Holland was in Leiderdorp we lived in Leiden a lovely city.
                                                                                                The Dutch are a strange enough bunch but id take them over the Turks and Moroccans who are in the country in large numbers.
                                                                                                Living in a city called Helmond we were the only white people on a huge street.
                                                                                                Was before mobile phones and I used to use a payphone.
                                                                                                The new Dutch would be pulling at the door kicking it cursing you spitting at the ground.
                                                                                                Its no wonder there is a huge rise in left wing politics the country is ruined.
                                                                                                It was a nice place to live so easy to get around safe bike lanes segregated from the roads usually parallel to a canal.
                                                                                                The public transport was excellent but I doubt ill ever go back.

Dutch women usually were very pretty tall fullboobed wholesome women.
                                                                                                    Genuinely lost count of the number of times a dutch woman would ask where are you from obviously would say Ireland.
                                                                                                    They often turned 180 degrees end of conversation.
                                                                                                    One lad I knew used say at least the hoors don't care where you are from.

Landing in Amsterdam on route to Dublin. Decided to stay for two night and take in a bit of culture.
                                                                                                      I was there twice before. Once with the lads and again on a college trip. Maybe I'll make it to Anne Franks house this time.

Looks class Tar. Where do you fly into to get there?

Clock goes back. First day of November. Freezing cold wind from the East.

Disturbing degree of synchronisation there Nature.

You do know Netherlands is tiny, yeah?! It doesn't matter where you fly into. But Leiden is about 30 mins from Schipol by train fwiw.
                                                                                                                I for some reason thought it was in Belgium.

Confused with Leuven.

Looks class Tar. Where do you fly into to get there?
                                                                                                                  You do know Netherlands is tiny, yeah?! It doesn't matter where you fly into. But Leiden is about 30 mins from Schipol by train fwiw, and is indeed a very cool place apart from one Cuban bar which I'd better not go back into.
                                                                                                                  Train from Schipol took 16 minutes to Leiden, the airport is half way between Amsterdam Centraal and Leiden Centraal. I was in Leiden 25 minutes after getting off the plane due to some sweet timing luck.

Today I am running good.

Due to 2 litres of laxative in prep for a colonoscopy tomorrow

Today I am running good.

Due to 2 litres of laxative in prep for a colonoscopy tomorrow
                                                                                                                      Fuck you m8. It's lunch time

Ah lunch, you lucky bastard, I'll keep you a copy of the movie.

Clicking 'spoilers' can ... spoil ... things.