Rounding up the troops for a visit there! (Not because of today, just have been waiting for the next date)
    It's gone mad dear. Would love to try Alinea after seeing the Chef's Table epsiode. Looks like he out-Hestons Heston.

I'm 26 now, wouldn't be surprised if the standard retirement age for me will be >75. Talk about depressing!!

DTF means something very different to me so that first line read quite strangely.

Ha, fucked now! Might as well get married.
          He'll be getting a harem knowing GAB!!

I'm 26 now, wouldn't be surprised if the standard retirement age for me will be >75. Talk about depressing!!
            It doesn't have to be like that. Look at Iago showing the way. You have age and planning on your side which most people your age squander.

As an aside, Accountants are typically the most disorganised clients from a retirement perspective.

I'd often find a well organised CFO working in some business around the country, but go and speak to a partner in a top 4 firm and their personal finances are often an uncoordinated mess.

It doesn't have to be like that. Look at Iago showing the way. You have age and planning on your side which most people your age squander.
              Would be wary of sacrificing consumption when you're young though.

Ha, fucked now! Might as well get married.
                    He'll be getting a harem knowing GAB!!
                    Heard a story on twitter that he is paying for a date with a highly marriageable prospect

Would be wary of sacrificing consumption when you're young though.
                      I've managed to balance this pretty well in the past 12 months, getting my finances into dramatically better shape while still spending ~6k on vacations, 2k on eating out (surprised how low this is) and 3k on socialising (i.e. booze).

For me the secret was tracking my spending using an app called YNAB, would strongly commend it to anyone who can't seem to get from one pay day to the next without going into the overdraft. It has been a complete gamechanger for me.

EDIT: actually those spending figures are just since January so probably talking €7k, €2.5k and €4k by the end of the year...

Wife went back to work today

Breakfasts had - 3
                        Nappies changed - 5
                        Bottles had - 4
                        Lunches had - 3
                        Naps had - 2 (plus a sneaky half one myself)
                        Weekly shop done
                        2 day stew made
                        Profit made - €6090 with an hour to go...
                        Battery at about 15%

This gonna be tough!

Wife went back to work today

Breakfasts had - 3
                          Nappies changed - 5
                          Bottles had - 4
                          Lunches had - 3
                          Naps had - 2 (plus a sneaky half one myself)
                          Weekly shop done
                          2 day stew made
                          Profit made - €6090 with an hour to go...
                          Battery at about 15%

This gonna be tough!
                          If Carlsberg did great days at home ....

Also we need to find jobs we want to do so we don't think that life starts at 65 / 70 / 75.

On a slightly related note, my uncle is currently prevaricating between retiring early on a full pension or continuing doing a job he doesn't want to do, as he thinks retirement will be even worse than working. That's a fairly sad situation to get to.

Complete retirement sounds like a woeful idea, but I know we've covered that before.
                            That's a tragic situation. I guess the quote "Wherever You Go, There You Are" applies to both time and space.

Did a 10K night run event last week with work which was great craic. I've been struggling with running all this year but was back on course to do my first sub 60 10K since I picked up a groin injury over Christmas.
                                  I'm comfortable enough banking seconds for the second half with a 5:30 and 5:35 for the first two when a lad comes up alongside me and asks me what time I'm aiming for and says he's been using me as a pacer so far, I tell him what I'm hoping for and he's full of beans saying thats the mark hes after so lets help each other make it etc. nice lad full of chat and really into what he's doing I was enjoying going along with him and we passed a lad from work who's usually a long way ahead of me but was coming back off injury. We kept pace until about 8.5K when my stomach gave out and I lost a bit on him as I had to stop and retch for a few seconds. Anyway I got going again and could see him ahead and I kept on at the same pace and was delighted to finish in 58 minutes a minute and a half behind my new friend...

The only problem with all this was
                                  he wasn't running he was fucking walking

He's a proper runner with a 16 minute 5K under his belt who is injured and is looking at doing race walking instead.

I've managed to balance this pretty well in the past 12 months, getting my finances into dramatically better shape while still spending ~6k on vacations, 2k on eating out (surprised how low this is) and 3k on socialising (i.e. booze).

For me the secret was tracking my spending using an app called YNAB, would strongly commend it to anyone who can't seem to get from one pay day to the next without going into the overdraft. It has been a complete gamechanger for me.

EDIT: actually those spending figures are just since January so probably talking €7k, €2.5k and €4k by the end of the year...
                                    You picked the right app there anyway. Most of those money tracking apps are painfully bad, but YNAB is great.
                                    Does it matter which one? There's YNAB and YNAB Classic. Classic has a better rating. 4.4 compared to 3.8. Or are they just the same thing?

You picked the right app there anyway. Most of those money tracking apps are painfully bad, but YNAB is great.
                                      Yeah it's fantastic. A huge regret is that I have some vague memory of downloading it all of seven or eight years ago, not being able to figure out how to use it and forgetting about it.

What might have been!

Does it matter which one? There's YNAB and YNAB Classic. Classic has a better rating. 4.4 compared to 3.8. Or are they just the same thing?
                                      I am using YNAB classic and will continue to do so until it breaks entirely.

The new one is web based but the consensus is that they released it way before it was ready and it's had a lot of teething problems.

By the way, the app on the phone is just to allow on the go tracking of expenses, the laptop is where the work actually has to be done with it.

Thought this was a nice pic of one of the places we stopped for lunch while sailing around the islands in Greece last week:

Thanks. Will pop it on and have a look. Ty

Looking at ordering some Android goodies for Christmas from China.

So many websites out there Ali, Geek, Cooli, Honor, ebay, GearB, and some have EU Warehouses now to avoid customs complications.

What are peoples experiences and which sites are recommended?

It is indeed. And who knows, maybe thats my dad projecting a bit too much of how he feels on the situation and the uncle will be delighted in himself, but I don't think so. It seems people who invest all their worldly meaning in raising their kids really suffer when they leave the home. Hence my parents having a delightful old age

A lesson for us all really.
                                              The lesson I take from this is that wishing your kids would grow up and leave home at the first opportunity does not make you a Bad Person.

Thought this was a nice pic of one of the places we stopped for lunch while sailing around the islands in Greece last week:

Was it yourself that had sickness problems? how did you get on?

Looking at ordering some Android goodies for Christmas from China.

So many websites out there Ali, Geek, Cooli, Honor, ebay, GearB, and some have EU Warehouses now to avoid customs complications.

What are peoples experiences and which sites are recommended?
                                                        i've used ali, Ebay, GearB and BangGood. never have had any issues with any of them, but delivery times is a month or more. i've bought lots of cheap stuff, but also tablets, and android boxes, and all have been exactly as stated.

for the cheapish stuff, if anything is not 100%, a quick email and they resend a new one immediately, free of charge. they're great tbh!

Was it yourself that had sickness problems? how did you get on?
                                                          Yeah I was worried about it but took a couple of tablets the first night and following morning and I was grand after.

+1 to the question.

e.g. this phone was recommended here recently, but can't quite work out how to order.

Ordered from here, awaiting delivery

Heading to Galway in a few weeks,anyone eaten in Loam or aniar?

I liked both. Have eaten in aniar more than loam though. Both try to use local ingredients as much as possible.

Aniar has changed to tasting menus only, no a la carte anymore. 8, 10 or 12 courses.

Perfect. Just ordered that. Looks class!
                                                                    Expected delivery date?

I've heard that if you order via parcel motel in the UK the stuff from China arrives much quicker?

Tempted to pull the trigger on one of those phones.

I've heard that if you order via parcel motel in the UK the stuff from China arrives much quicker?

Tempted to pull the trigger on one of those phones.
                                                                        Rubbish. It doesn't take less time in the UK. Some things arrive faster than others, but it's really not country dependent.
                                                                        Last edited by shrapnel; 03-10-16, 19:27.

Wang, Worcester reading Maths...

Its Numberwang

Perfect. Just ordered that. Looks class!
                                                                            Going to have to do some sort of venn diagram of phone buddies/chromebook buddies/non tech sharing buddies

DTF has commenced and went to The Father at the w/e. It's an uncomfortable experience - disjointed, fragmentary and confusing (deliberately so as it deals with dementia). Obviously hit home very deeply with some audience members but I would struggle to recommend it. Owen Roe good in the lead role but the rest of the cast maybe not at the same level.

Hoping for more levity from my other picks.
                                                                                What else are you going to? Everything is Brilliant looks good for levity.

Wang, Worcester reading Maths...

Its Numberwang
                                                                                  Wang was answering everything, very impressive

What else are you going to? Everything is Brilliant looks good for levity.
                                                                                    The Seagull
                                                                                    Johannes and Margarathe (kids)

And I have tix to this but probably giving them away to deserving relatives as I am double-booked.

Wasn't very inspired by the lineup this year tbh.

I liked both. Have eaten in aniar more than loam though. Both try to use local ingredients as much as possible.

Aniar has changed to tasting menus only, no a la carte anymore. 8, 10 or 12 courses.
                                                                                      Think I'm goin with Loam,up for pushing the boat out but Aniar is just a bit too pricy

140m Euromillions tomorrow. What would you do with it? Probably buy that gaff gab posted earlier, for my cats.

how much do customs charge you on that phone, the Snapdragon one?

Originally posted by Valor View Post
                                                                                              how much do customs charge you on that phone, the Snapdragon one?
                                                                                              23% plus €7.99 An Post handling charge if it doesn't get through. I'm running @ 50% on 4 tablets from Banggood. You get a letter from revenue, email the paypal or card receipt. They will give you the figure to pay and you give cash to the postman.

Worked 32 hours in a 40 hour period over the weekend and slept for 2 of the 40. Not sure why I didn't work the last few years but it's a grand laugh and having money is handy so it is!

Plus I won a bet!

With one of the jobs I have to declare my income and do my own taxes. Can I do this online on revenue site or do I have to go in?

Probably the first ever penis to be shown on RTE and then they go pull all the skin off. Ouch.

Dont even need a phone but bought that one anyway, cant be passing up bargains like that !

Now, off to Westworld with myself.

Know which Redmi 3 Pro you are ordering. There are different versions with different processors, ram and internal storage.

Cool...

How many of you who switched to vaping are still at it?

Anyone move away to giving up nicotine including vape altogether?

Think there was a big switch here at one stage maybe early 2015 with afair RichieM, Lazare, SatNav, me, Oleras(?), AJ(?) all moving over. Guess there was a few more too.

Yep, still vaping. Have dropped from 18mg to 6, may drop to 3 soon. I'm not too bothered about giving it up tbh, not feeling any ill effects.

Off tomorrow and wed. Trad night in local. Fucking nightmare. Upside big bottle of vino 14 quid. And owner ex next door neighbor just lobbed another on to my table.
                                                                                                                your Monday is now my Friday. Enjoy work tomorrow guys

Think there was a big switch here at one stage maybe early 2015 with afair RichieM, Lazare, SatNav, me, Oleras(?), AJ(?) all moving over. Guess there was a few more too.
                                                                                                                  Still vaping away here. Did cut down from 18mg to 12mg ages ago, with the vague intention of reducing it further, but just haven't felt any real reason to do so. After about 23 years of smoking, and the last good few of 40 a day I'm sure it's a lot less harmful. Was March 4th 2014 when I stopped smoking.

Think im. 4 yrs vaping 18mg. Odd fag if locked. Rare though.

Practically chain vape, cut to 12mg. Haven't smoked a cigarette since 1st sept 2013. Vaped the previous 12 month to giving up the cigs going from 50/60 a day too 5 a day. It's a funny one, I don't think I'd ever go back smoking cigs now, but have no intention of quitting vaping. Most noticeable difference is respiratory, in medical last year lung capacity was deemed normal. Also, my home doesn't smell like an ashtray these days.

In 10 days, oct13 i will be 4 years smoke free, no vape for me.

Used champix at the start but a week later, oct 22 i was under the knife.

As good a reason as you like to remain smoke free.

Was actually going to ask a similar question on this today... have noticed from the sample size of my work, the offices close by and people I know, of those I have seen vaping over the last couple of years the number who are not back smoking is zero. A few are still vaping part time and I still have not come across a single person who says they have quit nicotine through vaping.

Edit Good stuff
                                                                                                                          Seems like BBV is doing much better than the real world. Looking at the number of shops on the go there must be loads of people vaping, it mustn't be as visible as smoking
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Strewelpeter; 03-10-16, 22:02.