Anyone watching the Copa last night? Hilarious scenes. Brazil knocked out in the group stages thanks to a 1-0 win for Peru over them last night. About 10 minutes left in a game Brazil have completely dominated, a cross is fired into the box from the right and Peru player blatantly slaps the ball into the goal with his hand.

The Ref looks to have given it, then the linesman looks like he is telling him it was handball, he spends the next 5 minutes getting chased round the pitch by the players while he looks to be trying to get advice in this ear about the decision. Then looks like he gives up and just says fuck it and gives the goal.

Whatever about the goal, more hilarious Brazil couldn't score against them and got knocked out in the weakest group. They're also outside of a qualification place for the world cup right now, shambolic times for them.

GOT

Think I was expecting something of a twist with the whole waif/Arya thing like they were each other or something, but then again Arya got needle and only she would have known about the sword.

I think it is keeping things kind of less dramatic so next week is even more amazing. Can not wait for the Battle of the Bastards!

Spoiler not for Tony lol

Really thought Lady Stoneheart was going to appear when it went to the BWB guys and we saw Dondarrian. I know they keep saying she is not in it but the actress was seen in Belfast at the time Kit was last year but it could have been a GOT party or just to throw us all!

Seen some posts on FB from people about the Brexit thing, most of the posts are borderline racist and people are not actually looking at the full picture and what the consequences of a Brexit would actually have.

And the worst offenders are people who have family in the armed forces...

Seen some posts on FB from people about the Brexit thing, most of the posts are borderline racist and people are not actually looking at the full picture and what the consequences of a Brexit would actually have.

And the worst offenders are people who have family in the armed forces...
          Brexit and a Trump presidency would have seemed insane not too long ago

All good points, even though i deleted everything except this. Just on this: the thing about the ISIS strategy is that it helps unhinged people (who exist everywhere) with access to mass-killing weapons (which exist in the US), to latch their armed unhingedness onto an ideology and feel justified in their actions. Its a smallish, but significant push. Wasn't there some story last year about a guy who hated his work who shot 12 people dead and justified it posthumously based on ISIS giving him the strength? Might have some of the death details wrong - there was definitely something about his wife being very extreme muslim. Who's to say he might have hung around being a doofus but not doing anything without the added impetus of being part of a holy war?

My only real point earlier was that this just cannot be fought with a warfare mentality, and it requires a change of approach. Further marginalising people based on religion is only going to create more people who turn to extremism and there's literally no way of stopping these people. 50 people dead in a gay club in Orlando. 100+ dead at a rock concert in Paris. These just aren't predictable events.
            I have to dispute this on the 2 mentioned points.

1- the guy in Orlando was a nut with automatic weapons - not affiliated with ISIS even if they happily accept him now but he would have given credit to whatever group was flavour of the month be it white power, ISIS, Taliban, People Liberations front of Judea whoever. That is an American gun crime and hate crime issue

2-100+ dead at the rock concert - By destroying ISIS at home you remove the training camps where these guys plan and practice for these events. This reduces them to lone gunman type events which are unfortunately part of the modern world - well the old world also was a terrible place for senseless violence also.

ISIS will fade away as the lack of new fighters (Anonymous actually basically shut down there recruitment tools on social media) and the Russians killing the current crop. We will send home the refugees who will kinda hate us for putting them up in Prison camps in the Turkey and the Russian appointed govt will make Syria a nice buffer state with Russian arms securing the countryside. It will be added to Putins sphere of influence and they will rebuild - we missed a massive opportunity to westernise the population but Russian force instead will keep the fanatics from reforming - brutally at that and if it is better or worse will be a measure of degrees but the bombs will go off in Moscow not London in the next uprising. Western leaders presumably decided this was fine - it will be better for the common Syrian then ISIS - how much better you are in a better position to tell me as I know little of the Russia but Putin will pump cash into the area, redevelop it and use it as a showcase for the world on how generous they are whilst the West sits back and builds apps and robots to clean out floors.

EDIT
            Just to add I do think that political solutions are far superior to military one and in reality I think the only lasting solution is to build infrastructure, education and economic prosperity and hope that they dont act the bollix like Saudi anyway. I dont think anyone disputes this but there is a tipping point like with ISIS where it has gone so far that all the goodwill wouldn't do a thing -military is the only thing that will work.
            Last edited by RichieM; 13-06-16, 10:33.

People stranded in Dublin, missing the match because of those selfish French striking bastards.

Hype.

Brexit and a Trump presidency would have seemed insane not too long ago
                  my opinion on the sanity of both of these decisions has not changed.

People stranded in Dublin, missing the match because of those selfish French striking bastards.
                    Its on the telly

Jesus, that Niamh Horan is some newsprint troll.

I've ever been as excited about anything as I am about Jennies running at Royal Ascot tomorrow.
                        I have had butterflies all weekend but it's getting real now. Loads of media and betting pundit interest in heradding to the excitement.
                        In work for another few hours but I'm feck all use here today!

Once I leave here at 4:30 it's going to be non stop until we get settled in at the course tomorrow.

Pick up a minibus
                        Watch Ireland match
                        Go shopping
                        Run 5k or 30 minute sea swim (mandatory to clear head)
                        Shower
                        Eat
                        Pack
                        Drive to gatwick
                        Sleep 6 - 7 hours
                        Or sleep 5 hours here and drive up early.
                        Dress up
                        Pick up everyone
                        Drive to Ascot
                        ???
                        Profit

Best of luck Tony, enjoy!

Fair play to LinkedIn for getting $26bn cash from Microsoft, but wtf are Microsoft thinking? It doesn't even seem to fit in with anything else they do.
                              I'm assuming Microsoft just bought LinkedIn!?

Expect them yo launch corporate packages, office, link and hotmail all integrated

Probably won't t work but the old 80's IBM game is now their market!?

Big news breaking on David de Gea.
                                Sent home from the euros

David De Gea, Isco Alarcón and Iker Muniain allegedly assaulted a women back in 2012, after the Manchester United goalkeeper arranged a meeting and forced the women to have sex with his U21 teammates.

The women is a protected witness for the Torbe case, a police investigation to find out whether the famous Spanish porn director Torbe recorded some of his videos with minors. She was not a minor in 2012, El Diario says.
                                Must be his lookalike playing today.

Can he play like him too?

A guy i know posted up his receipt for a few pints before he heads off for the game. Extortionate!

I've seen €14 33cl bottles on the Champs Elysees even during non event times.

A guy i know posted up his receipt for a few pints before he heads off for the game. Extortionate!

It's beyond stupid to pay these prices tbf.

Should have gone for 'demis', I'd imagine pints, which the French don't drink, have a tourist premium built in.
                                              I remember years ago mate lived in small town Holland, loads of Irish and English living there at the time, so much so that the bars imported pint glasses.

Trying to order the Dutch version of a demi was a mare, its ok, you Irish, we have pints!
                                              Last edited by Guest; 13-06-16, 13:40.

I've seen €14 33cl bottles on the Champs Elysees even during non event times.
                                                Ya they fairly standard tourist area Paris prices me thinks

That'll be Microsoft/LinkedIn joining the big beasts of employers in Ireland. 2k Microsoft Ireland employees + 1k LinkedIn.

Intel, Google, Apple, Dell/EMC the big beasts with about 5k employees a piece. Add in Microsoft/LinkedIn, FB, Paypal/eBay, IBM, and that's just 8 companies employing about 2% of the entire workforce. Maybe I'm missing another v.large tech employer? Those tax-dodging bastards.
                                                  And paying shite wages too!

So Hype.

Narcos trailers.

The Medellin cartel - the most violent, ruthless and wealthy criminal organization in the history of modern crime. And the one man who lorded over them all.....

This one is better imo.

The hunt for Pablo Escobar begins. Watch Narcos Now: https://www.netflix.com/title/80025172SUBSCRIBE: http://bit.ly/29qBUt7About Narcos:In the second season,...

Paddypower long overdue to be added to list of national embarrassments. That #vivelebantz Scottish ad is fucking awful

That'll be Microsoft/LinkedIn joining the big beasts of employers in Ireland. 2k Microsoft Ireland employees + 1k LinkedIn.

Intel, Google, Apple, Dell/EMC the big beasts with about 5k employees a piece. Add in Microsoft/LinkedIn, FB, Paypal/eBay, IBM, and that's just 8 companies employing about 2% of the entire workforce. Maybe I'm missing another v.large tech employer? Those tax-dodging bastards.
                                                            Amazon, Accenture, Paddy Power and Deloitte I would imagine are over the 2k mark in Ireland. Some of the fintech companies - fidelity, fineos or citi might be and Openet in telco I would take a stab at being around the 1k-2k mark.

A huge glut who I would guess are around that 1k mark

Amazon, Accenture, Paddy Power and Deloitte I would imagine are over the 2k mark in Ireland. Some of the fintech companies - fidelity, fineos or citi might be and Openet in telco I would take a stab at being around the 1k-2k mark.

A huge glut who I would guess are around that 1k mark
                                                              Eir are probably 6k+ (was over 18k at one point) BoI have about 10-11k staff, expect AIB would be similar. Think Vodafone are 1k+ too & 3 are certainly over 1k and approaching 2k.

Actually Oracle must have a few thousand here also since they are designing the Oracle cloud here and have the sales side of it here also.

Rather poor showing by Medtronic - 'Ireland's' largest company ($150bn) to only have 2k employees. I guess CRH is a multiple of all other employers in terms of staff numbers in Ireland.
                                                                    The Health Service Executive employs 100,000 people making it Ireland's biggest employer.

Much Hype

pic too small, needs more hype

J&J have a quare few too.

And thats direct payroll, another 50-100% contractors.

The Health Service Executive employs 100,000 people making it Ireland's biggest employer.
                                                                              Even if you included contractors (GPs, pharmacists, etc.) it still seems a shocking big number.

Oracle has ~2k I believe. KPMG and PWC have around 2.5k each, Deloitte about 2k also.

there is a special kind of hell for those that'd set a meeting for this time.

Actually Oracle must have a few thousand here also since they are designing the Oracle cloud here and have the sales side of it here also.
                                                                                  Sage also must have close to the 1k mark here too. Just opened a large office round my way
                                                                                  Mostly sales but still....

Irish fan chanting to Swedes: You're shit but your birds are fit..
                                                                                    Swedes chant back: You're shit and your birds are shit...

Is Hamilton a split second ahead with the commentary?

Yes. I've switched to the Beeb as a result.

No. All good for me watching on Saorview

Fair play to LinkedIn for getting $26bn cash from Microsoft, but wtf are Microsoft thinking? It doesn't even seem to fit in with anything else they do.
                                                                                            Gotta do something with that cash pile.

Sigh, something's gotta go in eventually.

You missed the biggest 2 foreign employers

Tesco and McDonalds

We should have a right go at them in the second half, they aren't up to much and are lucky to be level. Would like to see the manager take off McCarthy and bring on someone like Stephen Quinn. McCarthy's way too negative and could easily get a second yellow.

What a goal!!!!

World. Class. Goal.

Hoolahan top Irish GS @ 15s with Bet Victor.

Chomp http://www.oddschecker.com/football/...top-goalscorer

Can we get Richard Dunne on the pitch somehow now?

Weather the storm, take McCarthy off and hit them again. Simples.

I really wish they would sign a less mournful bloody song on repeat than that dirge.

you must be sick of it alright, 2nd song after YNWA at Anfield.

Zlatan will either score or be sent off. He's up for something.

you must be sick of it alright, 2nd song after YNWA at Anfield.

Zlatan will either score or be sent off. He's up for something.
                                                                                                                        1. Not sung repeatedly for ever.
                                                                                                                        2. Sang at a much faster tempo (with very different words obviously).