At the same time???
    Kind of. It was a Greek island romance with first one, she came over a few times and I was supposed to go over to her for a week. Went on the lash with a couple of mates and ended up on drinking / gambling session of Dice-esque levels and never got there. Did the Irish man thing of avoiding all calls for about a month or until they stopped ( pre-mobile era).

Two years later , same mates different Greek island , end up with a girl one night and she happens to be from same Paisley . Never tell her about previous girl . She is due to arrive in Dublin on Weds and first girl arrives at the door Monday evening having moved lock, stock and barrel and declares undying love. Panic stations and come up with an excuse to cancel second girl arriving, first one stays about a week and realises the lucky escape she had and heads off. I heard she went to Galway and eventually found true love with an Irishman so I am claiming to have facilitated loves young dream on that one.Things fizzled out with the second girl.

It was before mobiles so no pics ( and in case MrsF might know them).
    Last edited by horatio1; 01-03-16, 13:39.

When should we expect the remainder of this Limerick?
      I once dated two girls from Paisley
      Now the memories they are real hazy
      But the shit the'd do for an iron bru
      Well that shit was pure crazy

I took them to a recital
      I thought to the Scots culture was pure vital
      But flashed their tits, said this is shit
      And got on the Buckie mixed with Nytol

It's not plagiarism, it's influences

"It's Tricky" by Run DMCListen to Run DMC: https://RunDMC.lnk.to/listenYDSubscribe to the official Run DMC YouTube channel: https://RunDMC.lnk.to/subscribeYD...

First major misstep by Martin demanding the abolition of IW to support a FG minority?

Seems to give FG the option to play the noble, stoic, responsible self-sacrifice card while pointing out that there's a big crowd of ye over there that all seem to agree on dumping IW...

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 01-03-16, 14:18.

So we're back to not investing the few billion needed to fix the water supply so it doesn't poison people, and having half of it spill.

Of course the alternative is it can be free and the money taken out of the capital budget. Maybe we knock the extravagent children's hospital on the head to make up the difference so Ireland can continue to be the only country in Europe without water charges and without a children's hospital.

Or maybe it gets taken out of the social budget, as who needs services for carers.

Or maybe income tax is increased, because even though people are expected to pay for all other utilities, the middle classes should pay everyone elses water utility bill.
            Ah sure why not, there's probably loads of excesses in the Capital Budget too!

- http://www.rte.ie/news/business/2016...ission-report/

The robot's lifelike movement catches the attention of a real dog. The uncanny uncanine valley. This is the latest quadruped robot from Google's Boston Dyna...

So we're back to not investing the few billion needed to fix the water supply so it doesn't poison people, and having half of it spill.

Of course the alternative is it can be free and the money taken out of the capital budget. Maybe we knock the extravagent children's hospital on the head to make up the difference so Ireland can continue to be the only country in Europe without water charges and without a children's hospital.

Or maybe it gets taken out of the social budget, as who needs services for carers.

Or maybe income tax is increased, because even though people are expected to pay for all other utilities, the middle classes should pay everyone elses water utility bill.

Or maybe we could just set up another one that isn't run so incompetently?
                Last edited by Teddie; 01-03-16, 14:33.

Turned up half an hour early for hospital appointment today planning to get a bit of reading in. Took less than five minutes after arriving to be seen by radiologist and xrayed. Sent off to a different part of the hospital for a consultation. Which had a one minute wait and was done in 10 mins.

They're phenomenally efficient. Only really ever had adult experience of the UK NHS before and that is catastrophic by comparison. The Irish one must be a portal to the gates of hell as its widely viewed as worse than the UK.

The French seem to hide an amazing ability to organise things efficiently between their nonchalent chaotic exteriors. Been consistently the case across schooling, social welfare, healthcare, public transport, childminder for the baby. You always start by questioning how they could possibly have developed such a dumbass way of doing things and then gradually realise that it works perfectly for some unknown reason against all the odds.
                  I hate you right now.

Ah sure why not, there's probably loads of excesses in the Capital Budget too!

- http://www.rte.ie/news/business/2016...ission-report/
                    The elephant in the room happily chewing up our budget is Social Welfare not Water Infastructure. Agree that Water charges are needed going forward, although not necessarily into DOB's pockets

Do tell of Irish Water's incompetence.

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                          The elephant in the room happily chewing up our budget is Social Welfare not Water Infastructure. Agree that Water charges are needed going forward, although not necessarily into DOB's pockets
                          Yup. How do we tackle the Social Welfare bill though?

Fine Gael have nobody to blame but themselves for the disastrously incompetent way they went about this.
                            IW are an absolute shambles to deal with. From the start I have been getting bills claiming my usage amounts to 1500 euro a month. No leaks in the house. It took them until November 15 to figure that we were being sent bills based on readings from a neighbours Meter. Since then nothing and our 1st bill this year based on readings from the incorrect Meter again.anytime you try to ring them you get bounced around by a bunch of chippy cork accented morons. Had given them our bank details but they managed to lose them and they aren't getting them again till they get this sorted.
                            If you ate going to set up what was always going to be an immensely unpopular charge at least fucking do it semi competently, christ

Do tell of Irish Water's incompetence.
                              @Teddie - nevermind, PSV58's done a decent job

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                                Nobody gives a shit about our energy money going into Eddie O'Connors airtricity pockets so why should we care about who is going to gain from the water setup. It was tendered for, won, the contract is signed and under what failure to deliver metric are we to dissolve it.

Will DOB make money from it absolutely but will it cost the tax payers less while improving the output having a private company that needs to hit performance milestones to get paid, you bet.

Post election and rather than trying to push forward your better policies every nob is still on their soapbox. I guess the population wanted this so let the protests and media coverage continue.

EDIT
                                I withdraw my protest after reading PSV's post
                                Last edited by RichieM; 01-03-16, 14:59.

I'd some similar nonsense with them. Not as bad as that though. The secret seems to be to get Revenue Commissioners to do these things, but gov didn't want it to be seen as a 'tax'. Revenue Comms managed to implement a fully functioning property tax scheme in an incredibly short amount of time with barely a snag.
                                    A group of legends called Version 1 may have done the leg work on that

Who are they?!
                                        Tech consultancy I work for, I agree with PSV Irish water isn't the problem it is the amateurs they got in that couldn't build a fairly basic billing system.

The idea that IW is run incompetently when compared to the way the County Councils ignored the entire water system until it was on the verge of collapse is ludicrous.
                                          They are out doing stuff, installing and repairing main supply lines but just chipping at the surface of a ten year project to get the infrastructure up to spec. That is ignoring the elephant in the room of finding a feasible supply that will secure a supply for the greater Dublin area for the coming decades.
                                          The plan to take water from the Shannon that all the Nnimby's and Anti All Alliance people were whinging about might be made somewhat easier to implement after the flooding of recent months.

Oh I see the problem with IW is that you have to talk to LOL Cork people in the call centers ..ok fair enough disband it then

Tech consultancy I work for, I agree with PSV Irish water isn't the problem it is the amateurs they got in that couldn't build a fairly basic billing system.
                                            Building a 'basic billing system' to include 90% of all premises many with multiple clients and correctly excluding the 10% who will not be your customers is about as challenging and expensive a job for a start up as you could imagine.

Yes and they hired the wrong consultants to help them do it.

Bear in mind that Irish Water is staying under the FF scheme, they're just giving away water for free. So the only issue under this cunning plan is what is going to be cut so everyone can get free water.

Ah right. Sounds equally as useless then.

The idea that IW is run incompetently when compared to the way the County Councils ignored the entire water system until it was on the verge of collapse is ludicrous.
                                                  They are out doing stuff, installing and repairing main supply lines but just chipping at the surface of a ten year project to get the infrastructure up to spec. That is ignoring the elephant in the room of finding a feasible supply that will secure a supply for the greater Dublin area for the coming decades.
                                                  The plan to take water from the Shannon that all the Nnimby's and Anti All Alliance people were whinging about might be made somewhat easier to implement after the flooding of recent months.

Oh I see the problem with IW is that you have to talk to LOL Cork people in the call centers ..ok fair enough disband it then

Such a strange attitude. "Oh these lads are shit, but not as shit as the last guys so Yay!! let's give them bonuses!".

"Double w" is weird to say out loud.

That bonuses thing was also highly unfair imo. It wasn't giving bonuses to top management (i hope), but rather giving bonuses to the waterman / pipeinstaller on the street in return for meeting decent targets. Don't get why those people shouldn't get bonuses for doing that. Its not like these people set out the awful pr and administrative strategy of IW. Might be wrong about the nature of the bonuses though, but thought it was primarily for the coalface workers.

The bonus culture at Irish Water provoked fury when it emerged last October that staff could receive top-ups of up to 10% of their salaries, even if their performance was classified as needing improvement.
                                                        Ministers have been accused of standing over a bonus culture at Irish Water after welcoming pay boosts for workers at the utility.

If you were writing a parody comedy script about Irish water you'd struggle to think of something so outragous and hilariously. The fact it actually happened is just...speechless....

Probably one of the most unpopular institutions in Ireland and their policy on bonuses is basically "Here John, you're doing a fairly shit job but here's a bonus for you anyway!".

Also to add.....

Under the arrangement, 50 staff members were in line for a 2.75 per cent bonus, 165 a 6.5 per cent pay out, 65 could get a 14 per cent bonus and the top 29 will get a 15 per cent on top of their salaries.

The top 29 earn over €100,000

So the highest possible bonus goes to the highest paid staff.
                                                        Last edited by Teddie; 01-03-16, 16:20.

Everton also enhanced to evens today but weirdly it is in my local(still) but wasn't in another one I popped in in town so cant be sure. Not as good value but 4/5 most places still

The people rejected FG's nonsense. Continue in salty outrage or try and understand why.

Time for another flavour so.

FFSFLABSD your country needs you.

Everton also enhanced to evens today but weirdly it is in my local(still) but wasn't in another one I popped in in town so cant be sure. Not as good value but 4/5 most places still
                                                                Everton/Chelsea/Soton also 8/1 enhanced treble in boyles with seemingly no max bet :P

I also have everton selected for my last man standing right now... Fuck!

Well I have more than my fill of fun for the evening, catch up on the ww thread anyone who enjoys it . Everton had still better win though.

Turned up half an hour early for hospital appointment today planning to get a bit of reading in. Took less than five minutes after arriving to be seen by radiologist and xrayed. Sent off to a different part of the hospital for a consultation. Which had a one minute wait and was done in 10 mins.

They're phenomenally efficient. Only really ever had adult experience of the UK NHS before and that is catastrophic by comparison. The Irish one must be a portal to the gates of hell as its widely viewed as worse than the UK.

The French seem to hide an amazing ability to organise things efficiently between their nonchalent chaotic exteriors. Been consistently the case across schooling, social welfare, healthcare, public transport, childminder for the baby. You always start by questioning how they could possibly have developed such a dumbass way of doing things and then gradually realise that it works perfectly for some unknown reason against all the odds.
                                                                      Arrived 15 mins early for a 1330 appointment today, I was the consultants first appointment at this session of his clinic, saw a nurse at 1355 to have the vitals checked. Sent to a waiting area , got called in at 1420 . Not a chance of a sorry for the delay.

I suppose its better than the last 09:30 apt I had in St James's, 3 hours later they discover that my file was never sent down and the consultant is gone on ward visits.

Fooking Enda and Joan good riddance to them.

Aodhán Ó Ríordáin concedes defeat.
                                                                        Delighted this man is gone.
                                                                        Mr pc himself any difference of opinion you were racist a bigot.
                                                                        He reported a councillor in Kildare for racial hatred.
                                                                        A great man for talk about travellers rights when the traveller ethnicity bill was to be voted on he was not there to vote.
                                                                        His plan to allow drug addicts have supervised medical injecting centers gone as well i hope.

Arrived 15 mins early for a 1330 appointment today, I was the consultants first appointment at this session of his clinic, saw a nurse at 1355 to have the vitals checked. Sent to a waiting area , got called in at 1420 . Not a chance of a sorry for the delay.

I suppose its better than the last 09:30 apt I had in St James's, 3 hours later they discover that my file was never sent down and the consultant is gone on ward visits.

Fooking Enda and Joan good riddance to them.
                                                                          Yes, I often think back on the halcyon days of the health service under Fianna Fail.

The health service is fucked and always was. Ask Mary Harney (the only one with enough balls to volunteer for the job). No doubt Minister Mary Lou will have it fixed up within six months though.

Everton/Chelsea/Soton also 8/1 enhanced treble in boyles with seemingly no max bet :P

I also have everton selected for my last man standing right now... Fuck!
                                                                            Southampton goal would be lovely right now. Wishing I had more than 100 on me now

The Russell's, a great bunch of lads!

In 1973, baseball lover and actor Bing Russell, father of Kurt Russell, starts an independent, single-A team composed of players that no one else wanted.

Thats a great documentary!

Southampton goal would be lovely right now. Wishing I had more than 100 on me now
                                                                                  You bbv'd it you mong

mong the word of the day m8

Not sure where this whole 'Sinn Fein are being pussies,lol' meme as sprung up from here. They don't have the numbers to form a government, FF and FG aren't going to go into power with them,thats the end of the conversation surely? How are they wussing out? Why should they go in as a junior partner,get nothing done to be destroyed by the electorate at the end and maybe get a patronising pat on the back from John Bruton on Claire Byrne live ( he did this to greens and labour last night)

The onus to form a government is squarely on FF and FG.

Sooner or later southerners are going to have to make like nordies who actually lived through the troubles and leave the past behind instead of using the deaths of people they don't give a fuck about as political footballs.
                                                                                      And I say this as someone who had SF near the bottom of my ballot paper.

You bbv'd it you mong
                                                                                        Nah it'll come good.

Why should they go in as a junior partner,get nothing done to be destroyed by the electorate at the end and maybe get a patronising pat on the back from John Bruton on Claire Byrne live ( he did this to greens and labour last night)
                                                                                          For the good of the country?

FF + SF + LAB + SDs + left-leaning Indos.

All these claim to be left of centre and in favour of a more equal society. They have a majority. Get to work.

Not sure where this whole 'Sinn Fein are being pussies,lol' meme as sprung up from here. They don't have the numbers to form a government, FF and FG aren't going to go into power with them,thats the end of the conversation surely? How are they wussing out? Why should they go in as a junior partner,get nothing done to be destroyed by the electorate at the end and maybe get a patronising pat on the back from John Bruton on Claire Byrne live ( he did this to greens and labour last night)

The onus to form a government is squarely on FF and FG.

Sooner or later southerners are going to have to make like nordies who actually lived through the troubles and leave the past behind instead of using the deaths of people they don't give a fuck about as political footballs.
                                                                                            5/10

any t?

had a donut and t for breakfast btw

For the good of the country?

FF + SF + LAB + SDs + left-leaning Indos.

All these claim to be left of centre and in favour of a more equal society. They have a majority. Get to work.
                                                                                              That sounds a bit unstable to me,plus independents would be able to hold them to ransom.
                                                                                              FF + FG would be stable,they are practically the same party,they have the numbers ,the market gods would love it. For the good of the country

Nah it'll come good.
                                                                                                No hope now m8

That sounds a bit unstable to me,plus independents would be able to hold them to ransom.
                                                                                                  FF + FG would be stable,they are practically the same party,they have the numbers ,the market gods would love it. For the good of the country
                                                                                                  The electorate voted for a change of government though, that much is clear.

Sure FF and SF are both peaceful, left-leaning republicans now. Practically the same party. Plus Gerry could be on the podium for the Rising celebrations.

I think he knows it would be a disaster in waiting and never going to happen. I think he just wants it to have them all implode essentially (or most of them anyhow) leaving FG as the only option next time round again.

5/10

any t?

had a donut and t for breakfast btw
                                                                                                      Left me hours waiting for that m8, Wtf?

But... Lloyd's 'I've seen the future' smugness is rather annoying.

Having said that I'm a huge fan of his politics posts, so it's a bit of a conundrum (Doug?)
                                                                                                            Lloyd is one of the few posters stopping politics discussion here devolving into a human centipedesque circle jerk jizz fest tbf

No hope now m8
                                                                                                              Seems it alright. Still somehow up exactly €15 from the footie tonight, thought it was gonna be a big one .

Bad result for Leicester. If Spurs can beat West Ham and Arsenal in their next 2 games they are very strong favourites. Two tough games though for them. It could be ridiculously tight still in a few weeks.

The Shinner candidate in my constituency had a few of his mates spying on the government for the IRA in 2004. Another of his close friends shot and killed a man for having the gall to publically complain about paying protection money to the IRA.

Bad result for Leicester. If Spurs can beat West Ham and Arsenal in their next 2 games they are very strong favourites. Two tough games though for them. It could be ridiculously tight still in a few weeks.
                                                                                                                    One is shitting a brick

Year two nearly completed? Time flies. You do next year and then doneso?
                                                                                                                      So, was your arm broken or not? Was expecting posts on the unexpected joy of left handed wanking.

West Ham haven't lost at home since August in the league. Spurs won't win that one I think.

a human centipedesque circle jerk jizz fest
                                                                                                                          That threw up some interesting hits on Google.