Originally posted by PokerPiper View Post
    Shambles. Kids have been asking me what the elections are all about (6yrs & 8yrs). How do you explain this lot.

Play the kids this, will explain all:

Listen to more from The Jam here: https://lnk.to/BXlLELearn more about The Jam’s legendary 1977 debut album deal with Polydor: https://www.udiscovermusic.com...

Do they have hoses in their jacks?
      Dont know. They do have a lot of long stainlees steel troughs for washing their feet so hopefully Mohammed is ok with large markups and doesnt strike me down.

It has dawned on me this time round that a lot of people will only ever vote either FF or FG. They look at which one appeals to them the least and then vote for the other. This explains why its is so hard to find FG\FF supporters and yet they are the biggest parties usually. FG\FF voters are not necessary supporters.
        I guess part of it is they believe smaller parties \ indos are a waste of time in the grand scheme of things.

Congrats but I find it hard to believe that if God is real he is in any way associated with iPoker.
          Results based thinking on my part. Small sample obviously...

I guess part of it is they believe smaller parties \ indos are a waste of time in the grand scheme of things.
            They are. Look at the solid determination they have to stay as far away from government as possible. Radical agendas to reform the world but even the suggestion that they might be able to do some of it and they all start spouting nonsense that FF/FG is the coalition nobody wants while simultaneously praying it's the one they get.

The level of utterly disingenuous, self-serving rhetoric from the smaller parties at the moment is actually painful to read.

If Michael Martin publicly offered Paul Murphy the department of the environment with free reign to name his junior minister in exchange for a the support of PBP/AAA etc to form a government; Murphy would run from it like it was the monkey from Outbreak.

People vote FF/FG because they are the only two parties, along with Labour, who have any interest in actually running the country. The rest just want to whinge publicly whilst on a good wage.

Perhaps we should let Bertie, Larry Murphy and the ghost of Cromwell also get elected to annoy people.
              I'd vote for Cromwell's ghost,not the other 2 though

Awful shame the French didn't start tear gassing the Calais camp when Jude Law and his gang of luvvie wasters were over

He was a lefty socialist I guess so more along the same ideals as SF than the others so you are consistent.

Civil Service do all that real work.
                    The problem is that they don't, if you need something done in a hurry the civil service is structured so that only a TD's office can get it done.
                    A few recent examples I know of.
                    A child was waiting on grommets for over a year, TD makes a call appointment arrives next week. Minor planning amendment needed to allow a few jobs in a rural area, wait two years for new plan say council TD calls council and permission granted inside a month.
                    Someone 100% qualified for critical illness medical card, delay after delay covering three months, TD calls up and card is couriered next day.

The problem is that they don't, if you need something done in a hurry the civil service is structured so that only a TD's office can get it done.
                      A child was waiting on grommets for over a year, TD makes a call appointment arrives next week. Minor planning amendment needed to allow a few jobs in a rural area, wait two years for new plan say council TD calls council and permission granted inside a month.
                      Someone 100% qualified for critical illness medical card, delay after delay covering three months, TD calls up and card is couriered next day.
                      Shudder.... just like Senator Kathleen Lynch wrote a letter on behalf of a convicted rapist in Cork.

The country would be a better place if TDs had no influence in these areas. Reform the decision making processes in the agencies concerned by all means.

Breeding ground for clientelism.

Could solve a lot of the more heinous local favours stuff by passing a law to make it a matter of public record every time a TD petitioned a public servant for a housing list bump, medical card etc.

It's the state of the services that's the problem though realistically. We probably all can give many examples of people waiting months and years for basic stuff they're entitled to, like SP has mentioned. A lot of it is just braindead stuff.

Thatcher's ghost would be guaranteed to induce some froth.

Averil still at it in DBN. How delicious.

Stake still not driven through Avrils heart yet, she's a 200/1 shot but she's clinging on desperately rather than facing the truth.

I don''t know what price Willie Penrose is but there is a price I'd be tempted to back him at. If I'm reading it right he needs the the Independent Morgan's 4K votes to break by 50 more to GeretyQuinn FF than to Bannon FG and to get enough of them to keep him ahead of both of them... hes 400 ahead already.

Then Bannon goes out second last and his votes should transfer well enough to sneak him ahead of the Shinner.

Worked out well actually that Lucinda lost her seat, might have put my % of female TDs at risk. Have given up on my minority punt though.

In Dublin Bay North, Averil Power has said she has narrowed the gap between her and Tommy Broughan which will decide the order of elimination.

Power was due to be eliminated after the 13th count but was granted a full recount as she was only 67 votes behind Tommy Broughan.

She said that after Broughan's votes were recounted, he had lost 24 votes, and she had gained 2. This reduces the gap to 41.

The recount of AAA/PBP candidate John Lyons votes has commenced.

It's believed he has gained either 1 or 2 votes from the recount of Broughan's votes.

The order of elimination will be cruical in deciding the destination of the last 3 seats.
                                Sure a few more recounts might bring it even closer? This one all over bar the shouting?

Brighton enhanced to evens for a limited time only in pp shops if anyone is near one and enjoys the value(they're 3/4 most places).

They are. Look at the solid determination they have to stay as far away from government as possible. Radical agendas to reform the world but even the suggestion that they might be able to do some of it and they all start spouting nonsense that FF/FG is the coalition nobody wants while simultaneously praying it's the one they get.

The level of utterly disingenuous, self-serving rhetoric from the smaller parties at the moment is actually painful to read.

If Michael Martin publicly offered Paul Murphy the department of the environment with free reign to name his junior minister in exchange for a the support of PBP/AAA etc to form a government; Murphy would run from it like it was the monkey from Outbreak.

People vote FF/FG because they are the only two parties, along with Labour, who have any interest in actually running the country. The rest just want to whinge publicly whilst on a good wage.
                                    I think you are being disingenuous. Murphy would run from an offer from Martin, for the same reason Martin would run from Adams. They are diametrically opposed, but not necessary averse to governing.

The Greens, a smaller party, went into government when called upon, a mistake in hindsight, but they took up the reins none the less. Plenty of indos \ smallies are already in local government.

I reject the idea that a vote for the Social Democrats, for example, is ill-advised and less valuable than a vote for FF or FG.

The result clearly shows a desire for an alternative to the Berties, Endas and Lowrys. I would gladly give Ross, Donnely\Shortall or Murphy (not Lucinda) a shot rather than going with more of the same. Getting to the alternative position might take some time, hue and cry but voting FF\FG or Lab will never get us there.

Must be pretty galling to averil power knowing she would be home and hosed if she had stayed in FF instead of cynically timing her flounce out in order to try and use the gay marriage result to boost her own profile
                                      I hope someone has cameras trained on her for when the dream is crushed

We talked to activist Tim Faust, who raised $30,000 for abortions in Texas through a unique fundraising campaign. He isn't sure Ted Cruz is the Zodiac Killer, but he knows the weird-looking Republican's stance on reproductive rights is deadly.

Stake still not driven through Avrils heart yet, she's a 200/1 shot but she's clinging on desperately rather than facing the truth.

I don''t know what price Willie Penrose is but there is a price I'd be tempted to back him at. If I'm reading it right he needs the the Independent Morgan's 4K votes to break by 50 more to GeretyQuinn FF than to Bannon FG and to get enough of them to keep him ahead of both of them... hes 400 ahead already.

Then Bannon goes out second last and his votes should transfer well enough to sneak him ahead of the Shinner.
                                            Bannon and CGQ both Longford based, would be shocked if whoever is left doesn't transfer heavily to the other.

Must be pretty galling to averil power knowing she would be home and hosed if she had stayed in FF instead of cynically timing her flounce out in order to try and use the gay marriage result to boost her own profile
                                              Nah, imo once Sean Haughey put his name forward for the selection committee she was always going to play second fiddle and be expected to fulfil the vote sweeper role that Derirdre Heney got landed with.
                                              So her flounce out days before the selection was indeed very cynical and she used the SSM referendum, but there was no seat left behind by leaving FF.

I reject the idea that a vote for the Social Democrats, for example, is ill-advised and less valuable than a vote for FF or FG. .
                                                Apples and Bananas. The SD's would go into government willing to make reasonable compromises in order to implement policies that they believe in and can actually get implemented. Murphy BoydBarrett et al will not and cannot ever take on that responsibility.

Bannon and CGQ both Longford based, would be shocked if whoever is left doesn't transfer heavily to the other.
                                                  indeed but if its Bannon going out won't there be as many 'Government' votes as local votes. The more I look at it the more I like his chances if its Bannon that is eliminated first.

Another shooting in finglas

Priest on the lash, snorting cocaine in the middle of his Nazi memorabilia. Class

A Catholic priest in Northern Ireland caught on video snorting cocaine in a room with Nazi memorabilia is to be investigated by police.

Worked out well actually that Lucinda lost her seat, might have put my % of female TDs at risk. Have given up on my minority punt though.
                                                        Why Denny , It seems to be what FF want most and what FF wants..

To rework what Mary Harney ( I think) once said , they all seem to be of the opinion that the worst day in opposition is better than the best day in government.

I was chatting to a mate involved in local politics about this today. There's a small but reasonable chance nonetheless that Longford AND Athlone won't have any TD, which is astonishingly really.

Hogan has no other local/party candidates left to give him transfers and Bannon's transfers may end up split with Burke, Penrose and CGQ. This is provided CGQ gets ahead of Bannon in the re-count. 38 votes between Bannon and CGQ last night before the re-count.

He expects that if CGQ is eliminated first that Bannon (receiving her local transfers) and Burke take the last 2 seats.

banter bait

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/weird-news/womans-memory-foam-mattress-reveals-7458656#rlabs=4%20rt$sitewide%20p$10

What's the purpose in this

Dublin Fire BrigadeVerified account ‏@DubFireBrigade 5m5 minutes ago
                                                              We sent 1 ambulance, 1 fire engine (AP on board) & our Advanced Paramedic vehicle to a shooting incident in Finglas

I suppose they send them out on the off chance there was a civilian caught in the crossfire

At least they aren't trying to be gas tickets like the garda twitter account

I am no doctor either but I agree trying to cure a gunshot wound with a fire hose seems likes a fools errand.

Hmm, given that Labour is the trade unions party, its rather interesting that they have now become non-entities
                                                                      There's an increasing desire to move away from Labour.

It’s still Labour’s Way for Siptu after trade union delegates yesterday rejected a motion calling for a cutting of its ties with the party.

Seems like a very clear FF tactic to send out ex-ministers to soften up the faithful ahead of the FFFG talks.

I was chatting to a mate involved in local politics about this today. There's a small but reasonable chance nonetheless that Longford AND Athlone won't have any TD, which is astonishingly really.

Hogan has no other local/party candidates left to give him transfers and Bannon's transfers may end up split with Burke, Penrose and CGQ. This is provided CGQ gets ahead of Bannon in the re-count. 38 votes between Bannon and CGQ last night before the re-count.

He expects that if CGQ is eliminated first that Bannon (receiving her local transfers) and Burke take the last 2 seats.
                                                                          Boxer Moran is from Athlone?

Yes, he'll be elected but might not reach quota or will have little votes leftover to transfer imo.

dug, reckon you'd be up for this sort of thing

UPDATE (Feb. 25, 4:58 p.m.): Since publication of this post, the Last Man organizers have acknowledged that their database did not include one contestant who wa…

tl;dr, it was a competition to see who could avoid knowing the result of superbowl the longest. Obv could be applied to other major events (u.s president, would be tough tbf)

christmas sorted

All firemen or some on a crew of an engine are trained first responders/medic types these days so when they are closer than an ambulance they respond.

I think you are being disingenuous. Murphy would run from an offer from Martin, for the same reason Martin would run from Adams. They are diametrically opposed, but not necessary averse to governing.

The Greens, a smaller party, went into government when called upon, a mistake in hindsight, but they took up the reins none the less. Plenty of indos \ smallies are already in local government.

I reject the idea that a vote for the Social Democrats, for example, is ill-advised and less valuable than a vote for FF or FG.

The result clearly shows a desire for an alternative to the Berties, Endas and Lowrys. I would gladly give Ross, Donnely\Shortall or Murphy (not Lucinda) a shot rather than going with more of the same. Getting to the alternative position might take some time, hue and cry but voting FF\FG or Lab will never get us there.
                                                                                    Not disingenuous but perhaps overly broad. SD are a new animal really. Liken them to Greens and PDs in that respect. Have an actual agenda and want to implement it.

Murphy, RBB etc have zero interest in governing. They want to snipe, not make any real changes. They are sound bite warriors without substance. I actually had a lot of respect for Joe Higgins because I always felt he was genuine in his convictions. Same for Daly. I don't agree with them but I respect them for their belief. Murphy and RBB et al I have little respect for.

dug, reckon you'd be up for this sort of thing

UPDATE (Feb. 25, 4:58 p.m.): Since publication of this post, the Last Man organizers have acknowledged that their database did not include one contestant who wa…

tl;dr, it was a competition to see who could avoid knowing the result of superbowl the longest. Obv could be applied to other major events (u.s president, would be tough tbf)
                                                                                      That wouldn't even be a fair contest tbh. I could keep my head in the sand and not read any forums/newspapers/texts/etc for months without it even being a competition.
                                                                                      I could go into hermit mode and not find out the us president during their entire term if needed tbh, don't see the point unless it was for lots of money though. Not much point in anything though really when you think about it.
                                                                                      Rooney gets £250,000 a week like. Sick world we live in.

banter

The big issue with posts like this is that it suggests the FF/FG wouldn't do the exact same as PBP/AAA if the roles were reversed. FF/FG are basically doing the exact same as PBP/AAA by refusing to form a Government together.

The problem in the whole Public Service is red tape. The amount of paper work that each person involved in something has to do just to move it off their desk is ridiculous.

The reason the TD works is that he rings the senior person in the area where he wants something done. That person is more than likely looking to get promoted again so when the politician calls he will tell people to forget the paper work and get it done now.

All the paperwork is by order of senior officials making sure their arses are covered when something goes wrong.

Was away for the weekend so missed all the election coverage, just catching up now and SF supports/workers seemed to have been a fairly detestable bunch across a few counting centres.

portrait of my son i took this weekend

[IMG]Wrestling punk by shrapnel1, on Flickr[/IMG]

I'm finding it hard to work out which seats are left to be filled and who's in the running to get what - I assume my SF under 24.5 bet is now nailed on, but is the FG over 50.5 done? Lots of independents chasing the remaining 8 seats?

Longford/West Meath:
                                                                                                      1 seat filled, FF.
                                                                                                      3 seats left. 2nd seat will be filled by independent, third seat should be taken by FG. 4th seat is between FG, SF, Labour.

Dublin Bay North:
                                                                                                      1 seat filled, FG.
                                                                                                      4 seats left. 1 seat to be taken by FF, 1 seat to be taken by SF. Two seats between Labour, PPP/AAA, Independent alliance and random independent.

Recounts happenings in Dublin South West between FG and Ind. Independent originally won it. Also a recount in Dublin South Central between AAA/PBP and FF.

Can we outsource our government to India or Google?

The big issue with posts like this is that it suggests the FF/FG wouldn't do the exact same as PBP/AAA if the roles were reversed. FF/FG are basically doing the exact same as PBP/AAA by refusing to form a Government together.
                                                                                                          Sinn Fein exactly the same. I'm not for a moment saying that FG and FF should or shouldn't form a government - but at least both of them are willing to. Everyone else is lining up to tell them they have to form a government but that nobody wants them to while simultaneously praying for a grand alliance between them knowing it opens the door for them to grow in their anti-government (regardless of the government) positions.

My issue is that AAA/PBP etc aren't there to govern, they're there to make noise to get themselves re-elected (professional back bencher).

All I want is for someone to keep making the best decisions they can. People like to pretend there is some deep ideological divide in Ireland when there really isn't. Outside reproductive rights we really are a nation of centrists for the most part.

Interestingly the most striking polling data for me was the disconnect between who people wanted to be in government and who they voted for. A FG/Lab coalition was the most popular government to be elected but people didn't vote for them. The most Irish of all Irish polling results

Sinn Fein exactly the same. I'm not for a moment saying that FG and FF should or shouldn't form a government - but at least both of them are willing to. Everyone else is lining up to tell them they have to form a government but that nobody wants them to while simultaneously praying for a grand alliance between them knowing it opens the door for them to grow in their anti-government (regardless of the government) positions.

My issue is that AAA/PBP etc aren't there to govern, they're there to make noise to get themselves re-elected (professional back bencher).

All I want is for someone to keep making the best decisions they can. People like to pretend there is some deep ideological divide in Ireland when there really isn't. Outside reproductive rights we really are a nation of centrists for the most part.

Interestingly the most striking polling data for me was the disconnect between who people wanted to be in government and who they voted for. A FG/Lab coalition was the most popular government to be elected but people didn't vote for them. The most Irish of all Irish polling results

FG and FF only want to Govern went they have a strong majority. It's easy to step up to the plate then. Now with both parties struggling they have zero interest in getting together because they know they'll weaken their own position and strengthen the opposition. They're behaving just like AAA/PBP and co.

I've no doubt that if AAA/PBP had 60+ seats that they'd have no problem going into Government with FG(if they had just 15 or). While on the other side I'd never expect FG/FF to do that.

AAA/PBP etc job isn't to Govern. They are there because of their voters and they should respect what their voters want. I think it's safe to say none of their voters want them to team up with FG or FF. Labour ignored their voters and basically stuck two fingers up at them for the duration of the last 5 years.

Priest on the lash, snorting cocaine in the middle of his Nazi memorabilia. Class

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-35688401

serendipitous

Brighton enhanced to evens for a limited time only in pp shops if anyone is near one and enjoys the value(they're 3/4 most places).
                                                                                                                Surprised it wasn't AJ that tipped this, not even the littlest of sweats.

Laying off at 1.01 now before I eat my words though

11.22.63

6 mins in and 3 continuity errors.

Bugs the shit out of me.

FG and FF only want to Govern went they have a strong majority. It's easy to step up to the plate then. Now with both parties struggling they have zero interest in getting together because they know they'll weaken their own position and strengthen the opposition. They're behaving just like AAA/PBP and co.

I've no doubt that if AAA/PBP had 60+ seats that they'd have no problem going into Government with FG(if they had just 15 or). While on the other side I'd never expect FG/FF to do that.

AAA/PBP etc job isn't to Govern. They are there because of their voters and they should respect what their voters want. I think it's safe to say none of their voters want them to team up with FG or FF. Labour ignored their voters and basically stuck two fingers up at them for the duration of the last 5 years.
                                                                                                                    Wonder if the labour grandees had resisted the urge to top up their pensions with a ministerial bonus would they have strolled into power this election?

If I see one more dub whinging about the Healy Rae's or some other culchie independent I'll crack.
                                                                                                                      What are Katherine zappone and Shane Ross going to get done?

If I see one more dub whinging about the Healy Rae's or some other culchie independent I'll crack.
                                                                                                                        What are Katherine zappone and Shane Ross going to get done?
                                                                                                                        What can an independent do ? I know fuck all, but what little i know is by voting with the government on certain issues, government may back your issue ? Very simplistic i know, but as i said, i don't k ow what good independents can do once elected.

Can someone give me an idiots guide ?

Cheers fella. Nipped outta work the local PP to get the oner on after seeing your post, bumped into a colleague on way out of shop so got him to put another one on for me too