Jesus, of all the posts ever made here I think that's the most staggeringly idiotic and scary. Hopefully it's a troll

I'd never heard of that Ronda woman until this afternoon.

Support CaspianReport through Patreon:https://www.patreon.com/CaspianReportIn the aftermath of the invasion of Iraq in 2003, Saddam Hussein, the man who rule...

Jam Fly and The Improver well in the mix on FT of IPO Limerick. Improver chippy. 6 left.

I'd never heard of that Ronda woman until this afternoon.

Hi Floyd.

Jesus, of all the posts ever made here I think that's the most staggeringly idiotic and scary. Hopefully it's a troll
              Part troll part not. Realistically there can never be a huge mass war ever again due to the fact that a nuclear winter is pretty much guaranteed to ensue. Throughout history long term peace has only been secured on the back of war or mutually assured destruction more recently. Ceaser slaughtering the Gauls, Mongols destroying China and the Middle East, Alexander conquering the know world, American civilisation of the natives and the civil war against themselves. All incredibly bloody times but afterwards golden ages for each nation and region.

we may feel that we are incredible sophisticated and progressive in the west but in reality have been in wars on and off outside of ourselves since the end of the last world war - the war that finally created western stability as it created mutually assured destruction.

In terms of peaceful lasting solutions to such ideological differences throughout history I may be missing a glaring example but I can't cite one off the top of my head. As I mentioned the threat of planetary annihilation closing out the Cold War I wouldn't count even if it did lead to the fall of the ussr.

In terms of mass numbers getting behind the revenge war - the war on terror post 911 was pretty well received by Americans initially so I don't see why we in Europe wouldn't feel the same if we laced up our boots.

Fwiw I would not be keen on restarting the crusades and going to war just making the point that if you are going to start discussing how historically we have dealt with these types of situations and ended up with stability it has not been through appeasement.

The Saracens were the good guys in the crusades.

Bit harsh Richie,your dealing with lads here who believe in Stephen pinkers fairytales of progress and violence reduction. They probably think they could solve it all if they got the ISIS leadership to open up about their feelings. You have to let them down gently

My title robbed.

Any luck Loopz?

Can't see it listed http://www.livesoccertv.com/channels/espn-3/

Any luck Loopz?

Can't see it listed http://www.livesoccertv.com/channels/espn-3/
                          No cheers anyway, twitter and box score are keeping me up to date

Did a bit of Christmas shopping today, feel like an absolute boss.

Bought the first present yesterday. Felt a bit sick doing it so far out but got a decent deal. That'll be it now til Dec 23rd

The Saracens were the good guys in the crusades.
                                At the time they were the more civilised, advanced and culturally superior civilisation indeed and I said as much. Were they good guys, massive atrocities on both sides before the crusades, less bad guys might be more accurate. Good or bad definitions mean nothing when resolving armed conflict and it was when the Mongols decimated them that the balance between Islam and Christianity changed to this day.

The Mongolians to this day have ghengis Khan on their money so they see him as the good guy but millions of corpses would really not sell him as a role model to me. again it really is inconsequential to the argument on if peace without war and victory is in the human psyche.

Isis have declared war, stated they want to destroy the west and kill everyone who isn't their own brand of Muslim. Where is the starting point in negotiation here? They also won't give a shit if we impose economic sanctions on them - they don't want what we are selling.

I also don't see the French people rioting against the govt when they now inevitably commit troops. Some will but I think that most of the country will be pro rooting out Isis to the man.

I need a laptop for only accessing the internet. What do I need to be spending?

you need a chromebook.

Toshiba is the offical chromebook brand of the BBV and sets you back about 300, cant remember exact cost

If you could make do with an 11.6 inch screen this looks like a bargain to me http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...7C14419040.htm

France just dropped 20 bombs on the Islamic State (IS) stronghold of Raqqa in northern Syria.

War times ahead

FML

I'm a celebrity has just started and ive no booze in. #prayfornewbie

France just dropped 20 bombs on the Islamic State (IS) stronghold of Raqqa in northern Syria.

War times ahead
                                              This isn't new news. They've been bombing ISIS since August.

this packers game holy fuck.

Top stream instructions again Honda, Tyvm.

Cold beer, pizza in the oven and a perfect stream. LET'S GO PATS!!

Think I'm going to go off the grid for a while, end up winding myself up more than anyone else when posting about current affairs.
                                                    One thing we can be sure will come out of this attack is states increasing Internet surveillance and control,plenty of dark murmurings about encrypted messaging apps (and the playstation network??!) today.
                                                    Terrorist attacks are gonna be the new norm, they already are in a way, had already pretty much forgotten about the Tunisia attack. It's when not if for a London attack at this stage

I'd say the leaders are about as Islamic as the leaders of the IRA were catholic.
                                                      Lst's ask them:

Islam was never for a day the religion of peace. Islam is the religion of war.

"Do not think the war that we are waging is the Islamic State’s war alone. Rather, it is the Muslims’ war altogether. It is the war of every Muslim in every place, and the Islamic State is merely the spearhead in this war. It is but the war of the people of faith against the people of disbelief."
                                                      Sounds pretty Islamic to me.

Could this be the worst spy of all time?

extratorrent (.cc) must be the king torrent place right now. much higher number of seeders per file compared to kat and everything available. posting this just in case anyone else was similarly getting a bit fed up of kat.
                                                          I am blue in the face telling ye this for yrs !

Think I'm going to go off the grid for a while, end up winding myself up more than anyone else when posting about current affairs.
                                                              One thing we can be sure will come out of this attack is states increasing Internet surveillance and control,plenty of dark murmurings about encrypted messaging apps (and the playstation network??!) today.
                                                              Terrorist attacks are gonna be the new norm, they already are in a way, had already pretty much forgotten about the Tunisia attack. It's when not if for a London attack at this stage
                                                              Was going to ask this, how likely is it that London gets attacked soon. I think it's away games for a bit.

If the campaign against IS is stepped up it's almost definite that terror attacks will be more frequent closer to home?

Plenty of wide-open American multinationals here and with respect to the Gardai, I doubt we have the intelligence resources that bigger countries have.

I don't think the genuises of IS would distinguish much between unbelievers of Irish vs any other variety. One infidel is as good as another.

extratorrent (.cc) must be the king torrent place right now. much higher number of seeders per file compared to kat and everything available. posting this just in case anyone else was similarly getting a bit fed up of kat.
                                                                    I am blue in the face telling ye this for yrs !
                                                                    Pity it has such an overt porn index on the main page so i cant really recommend it to family etc. You dont get that with KAT and Piratebay.

Should put iSnow in charge of some of this lot on Dole Life on RTE2

Yeah, i was saying last week on here about blocking indo and deleting the twitter app for that very reason (fcking Kay Burley's dog has made that twitter decision a million times the right one). There's just too many ways to annoy yourself in those two. Here is normally grand
                                                                        And then you went and downloaded a poker client

Yeah, i was saying last week on here about blocking indo and deleting the twitter app for that very reason (fcking Kay Burley's dog has made that twitter decision a million times the right one). There's just too many ways to annoy yourself in those two. Here is normally grand
                                                                          Ah its not so much other people annoying me,just I'm probably too old to be posting about nuking the Saudis just to get a rise. This place can be a bit of a timesink when a good row breaks out

Bought the first present yesterday. Felt a bit sick doing it so far out but got a decent deal. That'll be it now til Dec 23rd
                                                                              Lol Santa done and dusted for three kids last week. Can't imagine the stress levels of xmas shopping pre internet. Never had to leave the house to secure any item and plenty of bargains too with with 3 for 2 and other offers. Not that you could conceivably call some of the tat and the prices they achieve as bargains.

She is one of the worst humans on earth.

That was really good. Subscribed.

I don't like it when really big and complex issues break out into public discourse. I'm much more pro-people when they are being stupid about sport or weekend evening TV shows.

Plenty of wide-open American multinationals here and with respect to the Gardai, I doubt we have the intelligence resources that bigger countries have.

I don't think the genuises of IS would distinguish much between unbelievers of Irish vs any other variety. One infidel is as good as another.
                                                                                      It is (hopefully) a lot harder for them to lay their hands on AKs here and in the UK though. No reason why they wouldn't hit here though

I meant London/Manchester etc and mainland Europe. Too many juicy targets between us and them, we're safe. Maybe Shannon get's bombed one day. I dunno tbh.

I think you'll find we're rather spiffy at counter-terrorism due to copius experience and there's quite a few more people and organisations involved than just the fat garda who stands outside the GPO. Plus, and this is ohhhhhh so minor, we don't go around bombing other countries, so nobody wants to bomb us back. So unless they really really really want to do a random and take out the accounting function of a tech firm we'll probably be fine.

I would say also that UK / Ireland has some sort of secret agreement on the UK doing international intelligence gathering for Ireland as pertains to Irish interests. Hence the official Irish gov silence when snowden let loose that Ireland is comprehensively spied on by UK. So we benefit from much bigger resources than just our own. Also, the US wouldn't have made Dublin Airport its first international-as-domestic airport if Ireland wasn't considered 'protected' either. Well I'm clearly speculating but guess there's some element of truth there.
                                                                                            Re the bonded bit we did / (still do??) allow Shannon to be used as a stopover for US troops and presumably planes carrying weapons. I know we all like to turn a blind eye to it but not everyone does
                                                                                            But yeah I'm sure we benefit from some intelligence stuff.quality scrounging

And then you went and downloaded a poker client

I think that's the funniest thing I've so far witnessed.

Re the bonded bit we did / (still do??) allow Shannon to be used as a stopover for US troops and presumably planes carrying weapons.
                                                                                                Is that actually a big issue though? I know certain vocal anti-USA elements here try to make it seem akin to doing the bombing ourselves, and get a disproportionate amount of headlines with their lurid claims of how it makes us the next target.
                                                                                                Personally i doubt it makes us any more or less a target than we would be without that Shannon stopover.

That was really good. Subscribed.
                                                                                                  Guy understands the situation plenty better than most. Here's a video he made 4 years ago, after the Arab Spring.

A key principle that appears to be driving the uprisings in the Middle East is kleptocracy; a government run by personal wealth and corruption. Mubarak, Gadd...

And one year on from Arab Spring
                                                                                                  The Arab Spring is not yet over; it has evolved and it's much more complex than last year. Every nation and country is different and every state dealt diffe...

Talks about Syria after 5mins
                                                                                                  Last edited by Emmet; 15-11-15, 23:04.

Is that actually a big issue though? I know certain vocal anti-USA elements here try to make it seem akin to doing the bombing ourselves, and get a disproportionate amount of headlines with their lurid claims of how it makes us the next target.
                                                                                                    Personally i doubt it makes us any more or less a target than we would be without that Shannon stopover.
                                                                                                    I've no idea how big an issue it is. Pretty much everywhere is a 'legitimate target' though. Temple Bar, Dundrum Town Centre, any stadium, any concert venue, anywhere people drink alcohol. Pretty much everywhere so

If that Atlantic piece Lloyd posted is to be believed, they (ISIS) don't really care about vengeance, rather provocation. I think we're safe tbh.

I've no idea how big an issue it is. Pretty much everywhere is a 'legitimate target' though. Temple Bar, Dundrum Town Centre, any stadium, any concert venue, anywhere people drink alcohol. Pretty much everywhere so
                                                                                                        These places would be much better to visit if sheep stayed at home scared of possible shootings/bombings.

Last edited by CHDad; 15-11-15, 23:08.

In local for a few pints and every one is an expert on Isis etc. Think I'm emigrating in the new year. I'll be some loss.

I can't see us being much of a target anyway. A attack here wouldn't spark as much attention as an attack on France or England. We're still a tiny irrelevant island in Europe. Our strong links to the US is the biggest attraction though.

Imagine how slow a reaction would be here if there was a few loons with aks. Most police are unarmed we have eru and the army rangers but how long would it take them to get organised. I'd think if you had the cash be easy enough to get automatic weapons here.

EURO 2016 is in the target zone next year, would the attacks in Paris put anyone off ? I had earmarked it with a mate of mine (for his big birthday) to head over for a few games.
                                                                                                                He is now hmmmmin and hawwwwwwin about a golf trip instead as he is to young to die.
                                                                                                                Dunno I'd still like to go seen as it's so handy to get to.

Some bita wind out there atm.

I got Fallout 4 yesterday.

Far too early to make a judgement call right now but so far its been magnficent

EURO 2016 is in the target zone next year, would the attacks in Paris put anyone off ? I had earmarked it with a mate of mine (for his big birthday) to head over for a few games.
                                                                                                                    He is now hmmmmin and hawwwwwwin about a golf trip instead as he is to young to die.

Unless there is a spate of attacks go. The paranoia from people is incredible. I know of people who got killed in cars but I'm in one every day. Chances of dying in Europe from terrorists is minimal enjoy it hope Ireland get through. Missed 1998 was living in Holland it will be a great occaission.

After that clip of yer man batoning an infidel in Wexford, they will clearly appreciate our medievil ways. Also send a few DVDs of the Magdalene Laundrys, some solidarity on how to treat jezebel wimmins

Oh man.

Jaysus no, wouldn't let it stop me for a second. Though hopefully it might turn a few off and make tickets slightly easier.

The ticket process seems a bit more civil this time, apply for tickets, be put into a lottery and the results announced in February. Not necessarily a good thing mind you, the famous UEFA ticket portal for Euro2012 sorted out the men from the boys.
                                                                                                                          Took a steely grim determination to spend 6 hours a day in late December F5ing on the portal to get tickets whilst everyone else was enjoying crimbo, but at least the dedicated loons like myself got rewarded.