E Cigarettes in the Poker room

If ive posted this in the wrong area (mods) please move. have been watching the Irish Open on the stream and Lappin & Emmet brought up in conversation do you think that e-cigarettes should be allowed. (not sure if they were talking to a player who had just been knocked out who wasnt happy with them!)

anyway both agreed like normal cigarettes they shouldnt be allowed near the table. Whats everyone's thoughts on this. I for one am not a smoker and would agree with what the 2 guys were saying.
    http://www.wicklowpkrscene.blogspot.com

I will start by saying, good post and a very good question!

Everyone knows I am an Ecig fan and will back Ecigs all the way with so many positive personal stories ( inc my mother who had recently been diagnosed with COPD , and who never had even attempted to quit , but did 2 months ago thanks to the Ecig) to back my favoritism towards them .

I was probably one of the first to blow my cloud as its called about Irish Poker rooms a few yrs back. I actually sometimes felt a bit uncomfortable in doing so , but not because it was dangerous or damaging but more so because it was new and different ( and as everyone knows I also love attention and this was a somewhat a different kind of attention , with many questions to boot!)

anyway back to your question, I can see both points here, yes it should be banned because :
      1. Massive cloud of smoke ( vapour )
      2. strong smell of mint, strawberry, cola , whatever
      3. brings back memories of smoking
      4. annoying as its constant

[/LIST]

It should not be banned because
      1. It is only vapour that disapears in seconds
      2. it is not going to affect your health in any way
      3. it stops players leaving the table heading for a smoke
      4. imo is a great way of advertising ecigs to get others off the dreaded TAR

Compared to not so many yrs ago when ashtrays sat on tables, Ecigs are a walk in the park, they are clean, they are healthy and they are going to save many lives , it is vapour not poisonous smoke , no different from the steam that rises from your kettle. Annoying yes they probably are, tbh if I was a non smoker/vapour it would annoy the shit out of me too because its like a fingers up again and a fuck you I can now smoke where as its not really like that , its gonna disperse very very soon .

TBH not a big fan of them myself. I think if you are not allowed in the workplace then it shouldn't be allowed at the table. I do understand the smoker need for them. So maybe a designated area in the poker room would be the solution i.e. hotspot.

Nothing worst than a guy vaping (which is essentally spitting right?) over a table over 9/10 strangers.

Asides from them polluting the air with their noxious fumes allowing it kills the edge I have over the addicts who spend half their time counting the minutes until they can get outside to shorten the moment of their slow and painful death by another ten minutes.

Strewelpeter still not able to tell the difference betwen the lethal product and a non-lethal alternative, or taking his trolling outside the BBV?

TBH not a big fan of them myself. I think if you are not allowed in the workplace then it shouldn't be allowed at the table. I do understand the smoker need for them. So maybe a designated area in the poker room would be the solution i.e. hotspot.

Nothing worst than a guy vaping (which is essentally spitting right?) over a table over 9/10 strangers.
            Spitting? Not really. Breathing.

Big vaping fan myself and while I do think there are some silly irrational health fears that people have about them, I think in general it is good manners to not partake in an activity that may irrate others especially in such close quarters as around a poker table.

Having to go all the way outside would be a total load of crap though IMO.

I wouldn't have a problem with them being used in the room but I don't like them being used at the table. Even just stand up and vape 2 or 3 yards away would be ok imo. I went through a lot to quit smoking and don't want someone at the table blowing smoke around. Real or otherwise.

Ha, plenty of other health issues at the table than those silly yokes.
                  Drunk Players acting the bollox
                  Unwashed hands spreading germs
                  Methadone heads speaking in slow motion and donating their flukey stack to other players who got there first.
                  ME. I should be banned as I'm shite and donate my flukey stack to other players,

Strewelpeter still not able to tell the difference betwen the lethal product and a non-lethal alternative, or taking his trolling outside the BBV?

Spitting? Not really. Breathing.
                    Not really breathing though is it... If you watch the way a person expell the vapour from their chest, it is more akin to spitting than breathing. You don't see a non vapourer breathing in that manner.

Vaping is 'supposed' to mimic smoking, so of course when you exhale you exhale the same way you'd exhale when smoking.

I'm an avid vaper, more so than most.

When I'm playing I generally just tend to not vape as heavy as I would if I was at home, have a sneaky couple of puffs and exhale it under the table or up in the air away from anyone, so it doesn't really cause an issue.

If someone specifically makes an issue out of it, I tend to obey their wishes if they are nice about it.
                      Last edited by Lee; 05-04-15, 23:44.

I asked at the fitz as some woman let out this big puff of sickly sweet smelling shyte. They don't havd a policy on it at moment.i think they should hang around the front door and fuck there empty cartridges on the ground with the fag bits and lumps of spit when the bin is beside them.

THEIR, jesus I am surely teaching you this now 5 yrs

At a minimum you should be stepping away from the table as that is unquestionably bad manners to do it in such close quarters to a load of strangers. I'd personally like to see it treated the same as the current smoking laws but until this comes in manners should rule.

I presume there's more in the cloud of smoke then just pure water vapour?

When you are sitting directly beside someone and it is going straight in your face every few minutes it is very annoying. Im sure they wouldnt appreciate me farting in their face every 5 mins.

They are banned on public transport so I don't see why they should be allowed in a poker room.

www.irishkop.com Twitter = @Irish_Kop Facebook = Irishkop.com

Originally posted by Dub13 View Post
                                    They are banned on public transport so I don't see why they should be allowed in a poker room.
                                    All food, alcoholic beverages, and even non-alcoholic beverages like tea and coffee are banned on Dublin Bus, so 'banned on public transport therefore should be banned in a poker room' seems a logical fail.

Michelle, how can you say an ecig is healthy? It is not healthy at all. Not smoking or gaping is healthy. It may be better than a cigarette but that is it. It still has chemicals in it and I don't think any of us know the harm yet as its too new.

All food, alcoholic beverages, and even non-alcoholic beverages like tea and coffee are banned on Dublin Bus, so 'banned on public transport therefore should be banned in a poker room' seems a logical fail.
                                        Using the service without a valid ticket is also banned on Dublin Bus but that's not relevant to this discussion. CIE said at the time "the use of e-cigarettes may compromise the clean-air policy it had implemented after tobacco was banned in public places nationwide." I agree with this 100%

www.irishkop.com Twitter = @Irish_Kop Facebook = Irishkop.com

On a related note what are peoples views on mobile phone cum internet usage at the tables?

Michelle, how can you say an ecig is healthy? It is not healthy at all. Not smoking or gaping is healthy. It may be better than a cigarette but that is it. It still has chemicals in it and I don't think any of us know the harm yet as its too new.
                                            How do you know its not healthy?

it is a million times healthier than a cigarette , I am not even going to get into this argument, no point.

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post
                                              On a related note what are peoples views on mobile phone cum internet usage at the tables?
                                              Sounds sick.

another reason why i posted this yesterday (never mind the lads on the livestream) was because i was at a christening and in the church a lady took out her ecig and started sucking away!!

personally on the poker tables id love to see them banned. if players blew the smoke away from the table or stood back to take a few puffs fair enough, but more than not its blown into/above the table.

how ye can compare berry flavours to farts is beyond me

that was me on the commentary - I had two players to my direct right puffing away and blowing it into my face for a good few hours and I just found it disgusting. One of them was on a berry flavoured thingy so it was very sickly.

I am with Dice - would they like me farting in their face every few minutes?
                                                    I was listening for a while. I was gonna tweet , are you the new Colin Montgomerie? In my day....but I didn't want to be a meany. looking well Noel

I think the vapers and the farters need to make peace and together help stamp out that scourge on Poker. German Slow Rollers.

how ye can compare berry flavours to farts is beyond me
                                                      Cop on will ya, it might smell like berries with a 'great throat hit' to you but it smells worse than my farts to me.

I was at a table a few weeks ago where some pathetic cunt who couldn't stop the substitute titty sucking for more than five minutes at a time, despite being asked by the guy beside him to please stop because he felt the vapour being exhaled was aggravating his asthma, refused to stop.

GTFO

Some aul wan (not sat nav) was at the table beside me sucking on one of these every two minutes. Rotten yokes. The smell is vile imo.

I think I'd probably enjoy GAB farting directly into my face. Though I'd prefer if it wasn't somewhere public or streamed.

Don't know how many here are regs but if everyone complained maybe card rooms would make the decision to ban them

Think the problem now is that because they have allowed it and it's worked to their advantage if they ban it will they lose custom?

I agree with the above.

They should definitely be banned at the table.

Maybe as a compromise to have a designated area in the Casino - Otherwise BAN them !!

Didn't really have any input on this till the Irish Open last weekend, somebody I'm familiar with was vaping away in the bar and we were chatting while waiting for our drinks casually asked "what you vaping" as it smelled kinda funny the response was "weed" & I instantly thought about this thread, you aren't always going to know what somebody is vaping. Thought it was kinda rude as you'll be vaping that around people who won't have any clue.

How did I miss this thread? Stunning amount of misinformation in it.

Vapers are exhaling vapourised propylene glysol. It is definitely not water vapour. Anyone saying it is completely harmless is wrong. Anyone saying it is definitely harmful is also wrong.

It is probably completely fine for your health to sit beside someone who is vaping for a couple of hours. That is simply not comparible to being in a room where someone is smoking because:

1. The amount of harmful particulates in eCig vapour is tiny in comparison to tobacco smoke.
                                                                    2. Vape particles distribute less and dissipate quicker than tobacco smoke.

If you think an eCig smells bad then I don't think there's anything wrong with asking someone to stop using it for that reason. At the very least you could ask them to blow it away from you or step away from the table to vape. If you think they should stop because it's a public health issue (lol spitting), then you are simply wrong. Exposure to 2nd hand vape has not yet been demonstrated to be harmful, and there are a whole bunch of tobacco-industry sponsored groups attempting (and failing) to demonstrate that.

There is one important corollary: If the eCig smells really bad - like a burnt, putrid smell, then it is overcharging the coils and is definitely creating some toxic chemicals. If someone is vaping beside you and it smells a bit like a corpse, then they are exhaling formaldehyde and you should make sure they stop immediately.
                                                                    Last edited by AndyFatBastard; 20-04-15, 09:42.

Is it allowed in workplaces in Ireland? HR here in Malta sent out an email saying it counted as a tobacco product and was not allowed indoors.

Its on a company by company basis, but its allowed in about 90% of private companies to my knowledge. Fairly sure its banned in most public sector offices.

Fairly lazy of them to disallow it as a 'tobacco' product by the way.

Its on a company by company basis, but its allowed in about 90% of private companies to my knowledge. Fairly sure its banned in most public sector offices.

Fairly lazy of them to disallow it as a 'tobacco' product by the way.
                                                                          Sorry, didn't clarify, Maltese law apparently.

This is a good read ..