Passing of Kevin Spillane

Without doubt a lot closer to other poker people then me ...... but I was sad to hear of the passing of Kevin Spillane this week!

Kevin has not been around for some time on the poker scene (his illness probably attributing to that) but he was a larger than life character.

First time I met him he was attempting to throw Keith McFadden out the big window (whilst it was closed) at the Grand Hotel in Waterford.

The second time I ever met him (which was about 12 years ago) I had a blazing row with him in the Red Cow. He wanted to do a re-straddle in a big Omaha game. I, tongue in cheek, shouted "objection" which he proceeded to then go ape shit and call me all the names in the world for the next 20 minutes. I kept on saying " I was only joking" but he would not have a bit of it. He verbally abused me .....calling me every name under the sun. Then he stood up and and said ... " I refuse to sit here with an arsehole like you" and took his 2k off the table.

He came back in to the table 15 mins later a put a €500 down on the table (from the original 2k he took away). Because of the fracas nobody dared question this and then he proceeded to let me have it again. After 15 mins of this I had enough and told him in no uncertain terms that if this continued he was going head first out the door. Jay O'Toole had a word with me to calm down and I thought the best thing to do was get away from the table.

I was in the bar later that night and he came over to me. I thought "here we go again" and I got ready for the abuse. He said "howya Phil, nice to meet ya... Needed a few quid and had to think of a way to get that 2k south and jump back on the table with a monkey without anyone objecting" ......... We became instant friends after that....

A character of characters..... RIP you rogue!
    D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

RIP. I didn't know the man but recognise his name and face. He's also appeared in a few of Danny's photos over the years.

he was one of the nice guys in poker love to talk even more than me which is a lot .i think there going to be some games going on up there with himself and liam flood and a few more of the crew who have left us over the years

rip kevin

Originally posted by westlife View Post
        Without doubt a lot closer to other poker people then me ...... but I was sad to hear of the passing of Kevin Spillane this week!

Kevin has not been around for some time on the poker scene (his illness probably attributing to that) but he was a larger than life character.

First time I met him he was attempting to throw Keith McFadden out the big window (whilst it was closed) at the Grand Hotel in Waterford.

The second time I ever met him (which was about 12 years ago) I had a blazing row with him in the Red Cow. He wanted to do a re-straddle in a big Omaha game. I, tongue in cheek, shouted "objection" which he proceeded to then go ape shit and call me all the names in the world for the next 20 minutes. I kept on saying " I was only joking" but he would not have a bit of it. He verbally abused me .....calling me every name under the sun. Then he stood up and and said ... " I refuse to sit here with an arsehole like you" and took his 2k off the table.

He came back in to the table 15 mins later a put a €500 down on the table (from the original 2k he took away). Because of the fracas nobody dared question this and then he proceeded to let me have it again. After 15 mins of this I had enough and told him in no uncertain terms that if this continued he was going head first out the door. Jay O'Toole had a word with me to calm down and I thought the best thing to do was get away from the table.

I was in the bar later that night and he came over to me. I thought "here we go again" and I got ready for the abuse. He said "howya Phil, nice to meet ya... Needed a few quid and had to think of a way to get that 2k south and jump back on the table with a monkey without anyone objecting" ......... We became instant friends after that....

A character of characters..... RIP you rogue!
        Was in that game that night in jps Phil, remember saying to u after it baker u ruined that game but in fairness he gave you some abuse and you held it back for a long time wp.

Sean Gregory V Kevin Spillane heads up Omaha at the minute I'd say

RIP

Originally posted by kaiser soze View Post
          Was in that game that night in jps Phil, remember saying to u after it baker u ruined that game but in fairness he gave you some abuse and you held it back for a long time wp.

Sean Gregory V Kevin Spillane heads up Omaha at the minute I'd say

RIP
          'Twas....... I was in the height of it and you said "you ruined that game Baker" ..... Double tilt after that .... You would have to admire kevins acting skills.... He was very convincing!!

RIP Spiller,

Had many great nights with the man, at the poker table, at the bar. His enthusiasm was infectious.

Tom

Lots of good memories of Kevin.

Cavan Open - Ordered a mixed grill to eat beside Omaha table after he bust out of main event. Had a decent stack in front of him and ate 90% of the mixed grill. He then called the waiter over and erupted that he had ordered a steak NOT a 'fuckin mixed grill'.
              'Sure I'm not allowed to eat a fuckin mixed grill...a man in my condition'
              He grabbed his chips and retired to the bar to calm down....
              The rest of the night panned out similar to Phils story.

JP Mini WSOP - After I cashed in an 8-Game event he made a beeline for me and insisted upon shaking my hand and making a fuss about cashing in such a tough game. The more he talked the more I felt embarrassed about cashing. I asked him how his own weekend went and he threw his eyes up to heaven and said 'don't fucking talk to me'. He went on to talk about a three card event he was playing in and how terrible the players were at his table. After a few bad beat stories he came out with a cracking one-liner. 'Idiots, I was lucky to fuckin win it' :-) There's no pleasing some people I guess.

Boylepoker Tourney Ennis - Myself and Kevin made the final table and he looks up and asks me if I ever worked in the Merrion. When I answered that I did he starts the banter and trys to intimidate the young lads at the table by implying that we'd been playing the game for years and they didn't have a chance. After taking a large pot from me he then blurted 'Now will you go and make me a fuckin sandwich like a good lad?' I could only laugh.

RIP Kevin

Has anyone got a pic of him ? Sounds like I should have met him. Love the stories.

I could tell you many funny stories about Kevin each one more hilarious than the next but I thought of one in particular today and felt I had to share it.

It all happened a few years ago when we were in Tenerife for a poker tournament. One day we were walking through the town and we stumbled across this makeshift bookies in a pub and being the sick gamblers that we are naturally enough we went in and had a few bets.

There was two guys running it and in fairness to them they had a lovely little business because the place was fairly jointed and it was a bar too and it was just full to the brim with exactly the kind of punters you'd want. Old. Clueless. Betting €5 ew on 33/1 shots because it has Alice in it's name and their wife is called Alice and it's probably like 150/1 on Betfair.

Anyway were having a few muggy bets ourselves and we have a good time and we actually win a few quid. So towards the end of the session I see this football sheet with all the prices for that night and they're absolute hold up prices most of them. Except one. Burton. For whatever reason Burton are down as 7/4 but in reality are no better than 6/5 anywhere. So I show Kevin anyway and he wants to have everything on it. I kind of agree with him so I decide to go along with it. Luckily for the lads neither of us were going too well at the time so we end up having something like €400 on it between us. So we walk up to the counter anyway with the slip wrote out. "Burton to beat Plymouth Argyle €400 @ 7/4."

Now basically this is not only for sure the biggest bet they've laid that day but probably that year and maybe even ever. And it's on fucking Burton. And in fairness to the wannabe bookies they lay it. First guy looks at the other guy and they shrug their shoulders and they lay it. Fair dues.

So we go off anyway and we're sweating the match on live score and it's 0-0 for the most part. Then around probably minute 70 or so Plymouth score and we're fucked. Now Kevin was also one of the greatest after-timers that ever lived. It's at times like these that you realise how Kevin got his nickname the bull. Because that's exactly what he was like.

"That was a fucking horrendous bet to make." He declares.

"Like we know absolutely fucking nothing about Bournemouth or Plymouth or whatever the fucking team was. Sure I don't even know what fucking division they're in or anything."

Without further delay he calls the bar man over and promptly orders two fernet brancas to calm himself down. A drink I've never heard of and with a taste so bad I'll never forget it.

Then Burton score. 1-1.

With just over five minutes left I knew they were going to win it. As sure as night follows day they were going to win because all the worlds a stage and us merely actors.

Minute 91. Burton score. 2-1.

As you can imagine it was just cheering and shouting and hugging and clapping and before too long it was full time. We'd won and all the wisdom which was being dished out 20 minutes previous was not only forgotten it was like it never even existed.

"Jesus Christ bhoy ten years ago I would have had 20 grand on a bet like that."

All I could do was laugh. And we laughed and we laughed and we laughed. I even had another fernet branca to celebrate.

The next day we go to collect and the two boys can't get out of their chairs quick enough when we come in.

"You lucky fucking Paddies! How on earth did Burton come back to win that game? Jesus Christ we were celebrating like crazy in the John Bull when Plymouth scored. We were sure we were gonna win. But what on earth made you back Burton?"

Bollox. What to say? I was floored. If they had seen my face it would have been similar to a ghost. How did I never think they'd ask that? But it didn't matter. It didn't matter because I had Kevin.

No sooner had the question finished than the answer was out without even a flinch. A combination of a wry smile and just the slightest hint of nostalgia. I'll never forget it.

"Ah. I used to go out with a girl from Burton."
                    http://www.pokerireland.ie

Jesus can't believe it, can remember playing with him not too long ago, think it was in the cue club if my memory serves me right, had great crack that night, another good soul gone but never to be forgotten. RIP Kevin