Thinking of Setting up A Weekly Poker Tournament

Hi there I am new to this boards and just had a few quick questions. I am looking to setting up a weekly poker tournament in the town I live in because there is none in the town. I have a place agreed with a local pub to run the event weekly. I still have to advertise with posters and other means, to see if there is enough interest in setting one up and running it. What are the legal sides of setting up a weekly game? Do I need licenses, do I need extra insurance, do I need to register it as a club and any other possible things I may need to try and set up then run it. Any feedback and help would be greatly appreciate it.

Originally posted by MrLucidLJ View Post
    Hi there I am new to this boards and just had a few quick questions. I am looking to setting up a weekly poker tournament in the town I live in because there is none in the town. I have a place agreed with a local pub to run the event weekly. I still have to advertise with posters and other means, to see if there is enough interest in setting one up and running it. What are the legal sides of setting up a weekly game? Do I need licenses, do I need extra insurance, do I need to register it as a club and any other possible things I may need to try and set up then run it. Any feedback and help would be greatly appreciate it.
    fair play to yah son
    we need more poker people with intuitive
    however as regards getting some good advice here your barking up the wrong tree on this site
    most of the posts on here here are about restaurants, tv shows, some stupid wolf game
    soccer/gaa/other sports and betting on horses
    youd be hard pressed gettin some decent poker talk on Poker Boards
    however good luck to yah anyway we need more local poker in our towns
    you dont need there advice anyway.

Originally posted by Gerry Feely View Post
      fair play to yah son
      however as regards getting some good advice here your barking up the wrong tree on this site
      most of the posts on here here are about restaurants, tv shows, some stupid wolf game
      ...Why?...

Hi there,
        If its a pub game you intend setting up (seems to be from your post), then no, you do not need a licence or insurance to run a local pub game. You dont have to register the pub game as a club (well not right now anyway. there are supposed to be new regulations on the industry but no one knows when they are going to be made known and brought into force). There are pub games in almost every town in Ireland, and 99% of them are run without any regulation. The only problem you could have is if the game runs late and the law have a problem with staying on late in the pub. That varies from town to town.

GL with it anyway.

Connie147
        https://twitter.com/MacauSporting
        https://www.facebook.com/Macau-Sport...F6ntdyItUsAp7E
        https://www.macausportingclub.com/

If you do any tournament league or if money is taken for the weekly game towards so higher target once or twice a year, be careful as that can stop the non-regular players from coming. Also be very clear with the distribution of the money taken in each night (registration vs prizepool) so that regulars will feel happy that they are getting their full value for money. Keep it simple and if there's enough interest in the area then you'll be successful.

There is hardly a town in Ireland that didnt have a Texas hold em game since the explosion of the game approx 10yrs ago , so would be surprised if there wasnt some sort of game in your town at some stage , this would be the first thing to look at , if there was why did it stop ?? There tends to be a hard core crew in each medium sized Town of maybe 10 that are always up for a game , after that fringe players who come and go and eventually just go when the novelty wears off . These are different times however and although players can be of all ages the Twenty somethings who imo would be the core group of any game have either NO money or emigrated . This may sound like negative advice but without players as obvious as it seems you are only wasting your time.

You are misinformed. Anyone who runs any type of entertainment (that you are charging a service charge for) in a venue that you are not the proprietor ... then you should have public liability insurance......... Probably very few have this insurance but that does not change the fact that they should have!
              Last edited by westlife; 12-09-14, 17:13.
              D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

If you do any tournament league or if money is taken for the weekly game towards so higher target once or twice a year, be careful as that can stop the non-regular players from coming. Also be very clear with the distribution of the money taken in each night (registration vs prizepool) so that regulars will feel happy that they are getting their full value for money. Keep it simple and if there's enough interest in the area then you'll be successful.
                agree 100%

Originally posted by Gerry Feely View Post
                  fair play to yah son
                  Really appreciate the time you took to reply. So you think this site is the wrong to ask for info? I have asked a few people running games in pubs ad they seem to say it is ok to run games but if you are a casino or card club would need a license. Its defo good to see your enthusiasm that you would need more games in more times. its a great past time that needs to be kept alive.

I think at the start I might just try to run the tournament and see if there is enough interest in doing that. If I get enough weekly numbers and people for a few months then think about doing a league. I plan to possible do a monthly game that is a bigger buy in for folks to compete in once the buzz gets around. I want people to get full value for there money and have a good time good structure and a good weekly game they can play. Appreciate your time to give me the advice thank you.

Originally posted by suitedconnector View Post
                      There is hardly a town in Ireland that didnt have a Texas hold em game since the explosion of the game approx 10yrs ago , so would be surprised if there wasnt some sort of game in your town at some stage , this would be the first thing to look at , if there was why did it stop ?? There tends to be a hard core crew in each medium sized Town of maybe 10 that are always up for a game , after that fringe players who come and go and eventually just go when the novelty wears off . These are different times however and although players can be of all ages the Twenty somethings who imo would be the core group of any game have either NO money or emigrated . This may sound like negative advice but without players as obvious as it seems you are only wasting your time.
                      Yes I have the same reservation and found out there was one years ago and just wasn't getting the numbers. And I will try advertise to see if there is Interest where people will turn up if not then I won't be able to run it of course. Yes I can see what you mean there will be an initial buzz and then it will wear off. There are 2 big time bookmakers in this town so I would hope a chunk may play cards in a weekly tournament. I would also need a chunk to come from local villages and other towns if they hear the game is good enough to play at as well.
                      I see that point of where the 20 something crowd a lot have gone away from the country which could reduce numbers as well. I think Poker is more popular in the recession, even when people can't find jobs they want to take that risk of 30-50 on a night and see if they can turn that in to a couple of 100. I don't see this as negative at all I actually had some of these concerns in the back of my head so I actually really appreciated the input.

Originally posted by westlife View Post
                        You are misinformed. Anyone who runs any type of entertainment (that you are charging a service charge for) in a venue that you are not the proprietor ... then you should have public liability insurance......... Probably very few have this insurance but that does not change the fact that they should have!
                        I don't understand what you said in this post. The pub would have to have all these types of insurance to be open otherwise they would be shut down.

No need for mental masturbation here- if you want to start a game and have a venue, start a game. The cops are only going to raid it if it goes on after hours.

Try to start as early as possible, biggest problem is that your clueless players are going to want it to start as late as possible.

Another possible problem is scumbags. I heard of a pub game in limerick where there was fucking war 5+ years ago.

Also another problem is players who'll play the first couple of weeks then have a enough - keeping player interest is tough (poker is as boring as fuck)

Originally posted by Bodybuilder View Post
                            No need for mental masturbation here- if you want to start a game and have a venue, start a game. The cops are only going to raid it if it goes on after hours.

Try to start as early as possible, biggest problem is that your clueless players are going to want it to start as late as possible.

Another possible problem is scumbags. I heard of a pub game in limerick where there was fucking war 5+ years ago.

Also another problem is players who'll play the first couple of weeks then have a enough - keeping player interest is tough (poker is as boring as fuck)
                            Just want to have all my bases covered and not get in the shit mate. Thanks for the reply. I might have to start around 8pm ish or maybe 7pm so it will be over in time for the pub closing. And never heard about that in Limerick what exactly was the problem? Why would it be tough to keep players if the structure turn out and prizes were good. Poker is not for everyone and you have to have patience its worth it in the end because there can be good money involved.

In a pub game? you wont make a living out of that

He means from a player point of view regarding the prize pool.

ah ok was wondering lol Blonde moment

Do you run a pub game yourself?

She does indeed.

Pretty standard setup for it,
                                      Liquor in the front,
                                      Poker in the rear.

I don't understand what you said in this post. The pub would have to have all these types of insurance to be open otherwise they would be shut down.
                                        If a person goes to the toilet and slips on a wet floor.... that's the pubs problem... and their insurance. If a person trips over the leg of a poker table, projector cable, laptop cable and hurts themselves...... then that's YOUR problem (I am assuming you are charging a reg for this game and not doing it out of the goodness of your heart)

She does indeed.

Pretty standard setup for it,
                                          Liquor in the front,
                                          Poker in the rear.
                                          How do you know she runs a game do you know her?

Originally posted by westlife View Post
                                            If a person goes to the toilet and slips on a wet floor.... that's the pubs problem... and their insurance. If a person trips over the leg of a poker table, projector cable, laptop cable and hurts themselves...... then that's YOUR problem (I am assuming you are charging a reg for this game and not doing it out of the goodness of your heart)
                                            Yes obviously charging a reg. I think the insurance from the pub would cover, if something happened to someone, not 100 percent sure will have to ask a solicitor. I can't imagine people will be that clumsy. The poker tables are the table tops the actual TABLES are pub tables. Whats the projector cable and laptop about might have a laptop set for blinds but thats it.

How do you know she runs a game do you know her?
                                              Everyone knows me

Yes obviously charging a reg. I think the insurance from the pub would cover, if something happened to someone, not 100 percent sure will have to ask a solicitor. I can't imagine people will be that clumsy. The poker tables are the table tops the actual TABLES are pub tables. Whats the projector cable and laptop about might have a laptop set for blinds but thats it.
                                                Its all fun and games until somebody looses an eye from a sharp corner of a stray card. Then your in court being sued for millions. Id get the insurance sorted and have a legal team on stand by.

If you really want your poxy pub game to be a hit the key is having a dacent feed at the break. Id go with a full buffet and plenty of toasties. Also have you got the sexy dealers hired yet cos if you expect people to self deal forget about it. most might as well have hooks for hands and are too dumb to remember a burn.

Just a few tips to get you started. Also are you a big lad? you may have to throw out some pig ignorant dopes.

Originally posted by mugsy View Post
                                                  Its all fun and games until somebody looses an eye from a sharp corner of a stray card. Then your in court being sued for millions. Id get the insurance sorted and have a legal team on stand by.

If you really want your poxy pub game to be a hit the key is having a dacent feed at the break. Id go with a full buffet and plenty of toasties. Also have you got the sexy dealers hired yet cos if you expect people to self deal forget about it. most might as well have hooks for hands and are too dumb to remember a burn.

Just a few tips to get you started. Also are you a big lad? you may have to throw out some pig ignorant dopes.
                                                  I can't really see these things happening but will ask the landlord what kind of insurance is there at that would cover it IF anything bad did happen. I plan to go to a solicitor to ask a few of these questions as well. Also no need for insults calling it a poxy pub game either. I won't be having a full buffet might have sandwiches at most. I am a big enough lad, I will possible self deal at the start then look into hiring dealers down the line. I know women dealers attract men for sure to play.

Everyone knows me
                                                    Where do you run your games then, are you in pubs or have your own Casino or Card Room?

I can't really see these things happening but will ask the landlord what kind of insurance is there at that would cover it IF anything bad did happen. I plan to go to a solicitor to ask a few of these questions as well. Also no need for insults calling it a poxy pub game either. I won't be having a full buffet might have sandwiches at most. I am a big enough lad, I will possible self deal at the start then look into hiring dealers down the line. I know women dealers attract men for sure to play.
                                                      Gotta have good grub. Pub landlord should take care of that. He's making money by them drinking so should cover the food. Cocktail sausages, chicken goujons, chips and sambos. If you have 15-20 lads on the beer then they will want feeding. Standard at all pubs games I've ever been to.

Self deal won't last for long in a pub game either. If fellas are paying reg, they expect a dealer or else why would they pay reg and not just have their own game? Also a dealer can act as a referee for the inevitable complaints or disputes that will happen.

Also, try and have the game on a night when the pub is usually quiet so the lads have the full run of the place and the owner feels a benefit from it.

Female dealers is not going to make people come to the game. Self deal for a pub game is perfectly fine imo. pub games are fun , good excuse to get out and meet people and have a couple of pints. low price game with a rebuy / topup max spend 30 quid is a great night out.

Wana bet?

lucid is obviously a reg troll. if im wrong which i doubt

Lucid you cannot make any money off a pub game yourself cause you dont own the pub or can offer any other other games legally. Cash House Games etc

If you want to just have a game in your town you are going to be busy dealing/ admin chips etc/ taking money listen moaning to play. so why you want to?

Organise a house game you need a deck of cards and chips ?

And fuck your poxy sandwiches close this joke asap. Im 90% sure . chief suspect wud be walter mitty down as fav. mods can you confirm from ip?

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
                                                              Gotta have good grub. Pub landlord should take care of that. He's making money by them drinking so should cover the food. Cocktail sausages, chicken goujons, chips and sambos. If you have 15-20 lads on the beer then they will want feeding. Standard at all pubs games I've ever been to.

Self deal won't last for long in a pub game either. If fellas are paying reg, they expect a dealer or else why would they pay reg and not just have their own game? Also a dealer can act as a referee for the inevitable complaints or disputes that will happen.

Also, try and have the game on a night when the pub is usually quiet so the lads have the full run of the place and the owner feels a benefit from it.
                                                              A bit of food is fine not a buffet like the other lad was saying a few sandwiches. I played in a casino last night they weren't giving out free food. Yes food is important like but like you said just a few things like that nothing more. What is the difference me dealing and an actual dealer, I don't understand that concept. I am providing the venue, the equipment and the tournament structure. Am I not entitled to deal the cards while I make money to then get a dealer and better equipment down the line? I am getting help from friends who run games for the loan of equipment first to see if it takes off before investing money.
                                                              I was planning to have it on a night when the pub is quiet so that it would help draw in some more business for the pub like. We have a room where we can play so its quiet. I hate a place where there is too much noise to play because it can take away from concentrating on big hands. I have a friend who is willing to help me run it so he will chip in either dealing or running floor. Thanks for the comment.

Yes thats very true try and keep it cheap and cheerful where its not costing people an arm and a leg. I think what that lad was trying to say women Dealers are more attractive to look at then men dealers, and seem to have a calming effect at the table when dealing. Where do you run your games then is it in Dublin?

lucid is obviously a reg troll. if im wrong which i doubt

Lucid you cannot make any money off a pub game yourself cause you dont own the pub or can offer any other other games legally. Cash House Games etc

If you want to just have a game in your town you are going to be busy dealing/ admin chips etc/ taking money listen moaning to play. so why you want to?

Organise a house game you need a deck of cards and chips ?

And fuck your poxy sandwiches close this joke asap. Im 90% sure . chief suspect wud be walter mitty down as fav. mods can you confirm from ip?
                                                                  I am not a troll reg what ever that rubbish is and you are wrong my friend talking a load of rubbish. As I said I need to find out a bit more of the legal side of things, am I allowed to run cash games, bigger tournament buy ins etc. So I plan to go to a solicitor to ask these questions and find out more details. From people I have asked in the game they seem to think its a very Grey area with legislation, but think that it may chance soon perhaps.
                                                                  I don't want a home game, I want a place where people can come have the craic, have a nice night out and fun playing cards and make some money for the customers and also some for myself. I haven't started yet and I really don't appreciate the negativity and rubbish you are talking.

A bit of food is fine not a buffet like the other lad was saying a few sandwiches. I played in a casino last night they weren't giving out free food. Yes food is important like but like you said just a few things like that nothing more. What is the difference me dealing and an actual dealer, I don't understand that concept. I am providing the venue, the equipment and the tournament structure. Am I not entitled to deal the cards while I make money to then get a dealer and better equipment down the line? I am getting help from friends who run games for the loan of equipment first to see if it takes off before investing money.
                                                                    I was planning to have it on a night when the pub is quiet so that it would help draw in some more business for the pub like. We have a room where we can play so its quiet. I hate a place where there is too much noise to play because it can take away from concentrating on big hands. I have a friend who is willing to help me run it so he will chip in either dealing or running floor. Thanks for the comment.
                                                                    You are not providing a venue, the owner of the pub is.

You are not providing equipment, your mate is loaning it to you.

You are not providing a tournament structure, it costs nothing.

Why should I pay you a reg fee?? Cmon, sell it to me. Why would I give you any money when you have no expenses? What you describe is a home game and why would anyone charge reg on a home game?

You mention you were in a casino and there was no food. Most casinos do not serve alcohol but would have free tea, coffee and soft drinks and sometimes a lower reg fee so it balances out. But don't start comparing a pub game to a casino, that's way off.

You are not providing a venue, the owner of the pub is.

You are not providing equipment, your mate is loaning it to you.

You are not providing a tournament structure, it costs nothing.

Why should I pay you a reg fee?? Cmon, sell it to me. Why would I give you any money when you have no expenses? What you describe is a home game and why would anyone charge reg on a home game?

You mention you were in a casino and there was no food. Most casinos do not serve alcohol but would have free tea, coffee and soft drinks and sometimes a lower reg fee so it balances out. But don't start comparing a pub game to a casino, that's way off.
                                                                      What is with all the negativity really? I am getting everything sorted to have a place to play poker is that wrong in your eyes? I went to the landlord and proposed my ideas on setting up a weekly poker tournament, I just have to find more legal things up about it and advertise to see if it will generate enough interest. I ask friend to help me run it with me, I was offered the chips from the lad who is helping to run it by his mate. The table tops were offered as well, because I was going to use cloth to start with then if things went well invest.
                                                                      Well to me this is not no home game it is going to be a weekly Texas Holdem tournament with a 30 buy in Ill take 5 for reg. Might be lucky to make 50 of reg for the night because I don't know how cash table work in pub. I will be working to self deal or my mate will and run the floor if any dealing errors arise, any betting errors, controversy occurs. To deal I also need to learn the TDA and try get some tips of friends who deal tio make the process easy to get used to.
                                                                      I am sorry I don't have the funds to please you getting dealers and top notch equipment I am trying to do something to make some extra money. The structure is a solid one in my eyes and most people I have talked to seem to agree. Right so your saying Casinos don't provide food so why should I put myself out there when a more established place doesn't do that. I actually got 1 free mineral and paid for one last night. The prices were very reasonable and had very nice waiting staff on.

What is with all the negativity really? I am getting everything sorted to have a place to play poker is that wrong in your eyes? I went to the landlord and proposed my ideas on setting up a weekly poker tournament, I just have to find more legal things up about it and advertise to see if it will generate enough interest. I ask friend to help me run it with me, I was offered the chips from the lad who is helping to run it by his mate. The table tops were offered as well, because I was going to use cloth to start with then if things went well invest.
                                                                        Well to me this is not no home game it is going to be a weekly Texas Holdem tournament with a 30 buy in Ill take 5 for reg. Might be lucky to make 50 of reg for the night because I don't know how cash table work in pub. I will be working to self deal or my mate will and run the floor if any dealing errors arise, any betting errors, controversy occurs. To deal I also need to learn the TDA and try get some tips of friends who deal tio make the process easy to get used to.
                                                                        I am sorry I don't have the funds to please you getting dealers and top notch equipment I am trying to do something to make some extra money. The structure is a solid one in my eyes and most people I have talked to seem to agree. Right so your saying Casinos don't provide food so why should I put myself out there when a more established place doesn't do that. I actually got 1 free mineral and paid for one last night. The prices were very reasonable and had very nice waiting staff on.
                                                                        Ok. So with all this money making you'll be doing. Getting your mates to do floor and deal yourself when you just admitted that you don't have a clue, what are the players getting?

A couple of table tops and a few chips? That's all well and good provided it's accompanied by professional staff who know what they're at. Why should I pay a reg to a fella who doesn't know what he is doing?

You need to put yourself out there to build a good reputation. If you have a little game like that where you and your mates are looking to make a handy few quid and some other lad comes in with competent staff and a basket of sandwiches I'd be choosing the latter. At least then I'd feel like I was getting value for my reg fee besides some fella just having a game in a pub back room with shite equipment and incompetent staff.

Unless this pub has dumb wealthy people and you're comfortable over raking a cash game then don't bother.

lol if its not a troll i fear for this guy. what town you playing the game?

seems like a game of pokers that be in a father ted episode.

Dougal have you got the cards? No ted i left them back in the house

Ok. So with all this money making you'll be doing. Getting your mates to do floor and deal yourself when you just admitted that you don't have a clue, what are the players getting?

A couple of table tops and a few chips? That's all well and good provided it's accompanied by professional staff who know what they're at. Why should I pay a reg to a fella who doesn't know what he is doing?

You need to put yourself out there to build a good reputation. If you have a little game like that where you and your mates are looking to make a handy few quid and some other lad comes in with competent staff and a basket of sandwiches I'd be choosing the latter. At least then I'd feel like I was getting value for my reg fee besides some fella just having a game in a pub back room with shite equipment and incompetent staff.
                                                                              It might not make much money and might have to pack it in and when did I say I don't have a clue. I am getting advice of people who do it and learn along the way. What are you on about what are the players getting? A weekly Texas Holdem Tournament.
                                                                              Well it won't have professional staff because I am only starting it off and running it with my mate so how can we afford all these professional elements you keep referring to? I am trying to learn all the aspects Involved in setting one up I am not a complete idiot. Well of course I need to put myself out there and build a good reputation. If people enjoy playing in the pub and spread the word out that there is a good game going on, hopefully that will attract more people to play.
                                                                              I am sorry but people have to start off somewhere. Excuse me I plan to provide some food but not a tonne really we are not a restaurant now. And seeing as Casinos don't always provide food either. Why do you think I have talked to several people who are very well established to get some great advice, Im not just doing it for a laugh. There is a lot of work and effort involved to get everything right. The Equipment is 2nd hand but at the present time I don't have the funds to pay for brand new equipment if you are offering to help with funds by all means do.

Unless this pub has dumb wealthy people and you're comfortable over raking a cash game then don't bother.
                                                                                Why do you say don't bother with a cash table?

Ok whatever you think mate.

Apparently you and dobman think I can not run a a tournament then. I am guessing you 2 are sitting back in your mansion making tonnes of profit from all the games you run and make money off.

Why do you say don't bother with a cash table?
                                                                                      you cant do a cash table in a pub well unless with out a snitch which wont last long.

YOU HAVE NO PRIVATE VENUE OR A GAMBLING LICENCE. funny troll. he keeping it up wp

you cant do a cash table in a pub well unless with out a snitch which wont last long.

YOU HAVE NO PRIVATE VENUE OR A GAMBLING LICENCE. funny troll. he keeping it up wp
                                                                                        As I said I have to go to a solicitor to find out the legal aspects, I mean i don't really see much difference with a tournament and then a cash table after both are involving money, so why is one allowed and the other isn't?

It might not make much money and might have to pack it in and when did I say I don't have a clue. I am getting advice of people who do it and learn along the way. What are you on about what are the players getting? A weekly Texas Holdem Tournament.
                                                                                          Well it won't have professional staff because I am only starting it off and running it with my mate so how can we afford all these professional elements you keep referring to? I am trying to learn all the aspects Involved in setting one up I am not a complete idiot. Well of course I need to put myself out there and build a good reputation. If people enjoy playing in the pub and spread the word out that there is a good game going on, hopefully that will attract more people to play.
                                                                                          I am sorry but people have to start off somewhere. Excuse me I plan to provide some food but not a tonne really we are not a restaurant now. And seeing as Casinos don't always provide food either. Why do you think I have talked to several people who are very well established to get some great advice, Im not just doing it for a laugh. There is a lot of work and effort involved to get everything right. The Equipment is 2nd hand but at the present time I don't have the funds to pay for brand new equipment if you are offering to help with funds by all means do.
                                                                                          Sure I could have a weekly tournament at home. Why do you keep mentioning casinos? Them and pub games are worlds apart. I have a lot of experience in running pub games and all the questions I have asked you are ones that I've been asked along the way. None of which you have answered satisfactorily.

You admitted not having a clue when you said you needed to learn the tda rules. If you don't kniw the rules then you don't have a clue. Why would I want to invest or play in this game whe you can't even answer some questions.

I'm out. Best of luck with it.

Sure I could have a weekly tournament at home. Why do you keep mentioning casinos? Them and pub games are worlds apart. I have a lot of experience in running pub games and all the questions I have asked you are ones that I've been asked along the way. None of which you have answered satisfactorily.

You admitted not having a clue when you said you needed to learn the tda rules. If you don't kniw the rules then you don't have a clue. Why would I want to invest or play in this game whe you can't even answer some questions.

I'm out. Best of luck with it.
                                                                                            Yes you can have a weekly tournament at home thats your prerogative if you chose to or not. You keep saying why should people pay me for x y z. As I have already laid out the answers: to have a weekly poker tournament in a quiet place with proper tables chips and dealers who know what they are doing. A proper tournament structure that goes on until it is finished and set prizes are there for 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Some small food like sandwiches or goujons, cocktail sausages. I don't see how I have not answered your questions to your satisfaction. What I would like to know is what do you expect in a pub game then if you are paying a reg for it? As I said I am starting out and looking at all the sides, and trying to learn along the way from people who are already involved.
                                                                                            Yes I need to learn TDA rules and other things so I can run it successful. If I have limited knowledge now I could know a lot more in 3-6 months time and by that stage I hope to have a decent game running then where I could have a proper dealer or 2 involved. Well I know the rules to playing, but I know there are a lot more rules that people need to know when getting involved dealing and running them and plan to study and learn. Good luck to you as well in what ever games you run.

Yes you can have a weekly tournament at home thats your prerogative if you chose to or not. You keep saying why should people pay me for x y z. As I have already laid out the answers: to have a weekly poker tournament in a quiet place with proper tables chips and dealers who know what they are doing. A proper tournament structure that goes on until it is finished and set prizes are there for 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Some small food like sandwiches or goujons, cocktail sausages. I don't see how I have not answered your questions to your satisfaction. What I would like to know is what do you expect in a pub game then if you are paying a reg for it? As I said I am starting out and looking at all the sides, and trying to learn along the way from people who are already involved.
                                                                                              Yes I need to learn TDA rules and other things so I can run it successful. If I have limited knowledge now I could know a lot more in 3-6 months time and by that stage I hope to have a decent game running then where I could have a proper dealer or 2 involved. Well I know the rules to playing, but I know there are a lot more rules that people need to know when getting involved dealing and running them and plan to study and learn. Good luck to you as well in what ever games you run.
                                                                                              Just one more question. Is your name Liam?

Yes it is do I know you?

I will let you ponder that. G'night.

Your location says Killarney so maybe I do know you lol

Why don't you just head up to the Macau for a game besides going to the effort of setting one up in Macroom? I know a lad who tried getting a game going in Macroom and it's a dead town.

Sure I was there last night and was talking to a lad who said he set up a game here a few years ago and got dead after a few months. We must have met before what is your first name?

I'm telling you now. A game in Macroom will not work. The players aren't there to sustain it. If you do go ahead with it, best of luck but don't get your hopes up.

As for the negativity earlier, I was just bored.

I'm telling you now. A game in Macroom will not work. The players aren't there to sustain it. If you do go ahead with it, best of luck but don't get your hopes up.

As for the negativity earlier, I was just bored.
                                                                                                            Whos the lad you know off then who tried to set one up here a few years back. Look Ill try and I don't have my hopes up tbh. You must know the lad who runs the ones in Killarney then do you? And sure you can come play here its just down the road.

Cleaned up the thread a bit

Eamonhonda - cop on with your last post crap, all it does is messes up threads.

Mugsy - Leave it to us to decide if a user is a troll or not please. Report the post if you want but please dont derail a thread like that.

Cleaned up the thread a bit

Eamonhonda - cop on with your last post crap, all it does is messes up threads.

Mugsy - Leave it to us to decide if a user is a troll or not please. Report the post if you want but please dont derail a thread like that.
                                                                                                                Thanks for sorting the thread out sorry for joining along with some of rubbish talk.

What's the problem with you people- it's a poxy pub game in macroom. He needs a deck of cards and chips all purchased from the €2 store.

Buffet/sexy dealers/insurance are NOT required.

This ^^^^

As I said I have to go to a solicitor to find out the legal aspects, I mean i don't really see much difference with a tournament and then a cash table after both are involving money, so why is one allowed and the other isn't?
                                                                                                                      A tournament is where you are providing a game and charging a "service" rate. This is a grey area in law. A cash game requires a special licence http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/..._and_lotteries
                                                                                                                      and, in the eyes of the law, is the same as you taking horse bets in a pub from customers! Not so grey!

Get your venue sorted (set your date and time). Spread the word among people who you know are interested. Get someone who knows poker to come on board with you (you will need someone to act as TD for rulings and possibly deal final table) and you be the promotion behind the game. Download an online poker clock and get a cheap projector. (if the pub have a TV then connect the clock to it through a VGA cable). You can set this up very cheaply and then, if it does not work out, then all it's cost you is small money, time and effort.... Good Luck with it!

Whos the lad you know off then who tried to set one up here a few years back. Look Ill try and I don't have my hopes up tbh. You must know the lad who runs the ones in Killarney then do you? And sure you can come play here its just down the road.
                                                                                                                        There's no pub games in Killarney bar one game that used to be on upstairs in one pub ran by the owner. The only place to play here is the cue club so I think somebody has been telling you lies.