We accrued 300/worth of charges in the Wynn. Room service and WiFi (which I thought was waived). Over €800 was charged by them. Cut seemed to have charged both my dinner check and my dinner cheque plus tip. So an extra €270/or so
    I have spoken to both parties and they are reversing all charges. Which in essense means I got a 300 Brucie bonus. The lack of chip and pin in the us is the cause of this.
    Was Cut good? I'm over in a couple of weeks and might try get there. Have heard it's one of the better steakhouses.

Have been to SW in Wynn and thought it wasn't great for the price. Smith & Wollensky was good but zero atmosphere. Stripsteak was decent but not much interest in going to Mandalay Bay. Prime in Bellagio was vvv expensive iirc. Jean Georges in Aria looks very expensive but haven't been. For great setting and atmosphere and steak and seafood I love Lakeside in Wynn.

Gimmeabreak, you must have done some research? Anything stand out?

Because it's home? Some people have an emotional attachment and / or preference for where they live / where they are from. I always feel the emotionless 'I am a mobile unit of labour' attitude to be strangely odd and disconnected.
      I thought that would probably be the reply! I like Ireland but I don't have any great nationalistic notions about the place simply for the fact that I was born here, if the majority of the fruits of my labour are simply being used as collateral I'd just throw in the towel, feck being a serf because your politicians cooked the books.

Saw Mr Holmes today and thought it was a lovely film. Recommended for those who haven't seen any of The Fast and the Furious franchise.

Can we stake Sam to write a book?

Valdivia for Chile has to be the best player in my era that never had a club career in Europe, he's always class whenever I see him.

For those who don't venture outside BBV, Doke is in the final 10 of event #45 of wsop.

GL, TID, etc...

Aldo/McGregor posters have been taken down in MGM and Vegas.

In the last hour reports have said the fight is still on, reported on FOX Sports.

I feel bad for the Irish who have spent up to a few grand on this. It looks like it won't happen.

mcgreggor is a bottler.

McGregor*

Was Cut good? I'm over in a couple of weeks and might try get there. Have heard it's one of the better steakhouses.

Have been to SW in Wynn and thought it wasn't great for the price. Smith & Wollensky was good but zero atmosphere. Stripsteak was decent but not much interest in going to Mandalay Bay. Prime in Bellagio was vvv expensive iirc. Jean Georges in Aria looks very expensive but haven't been. For great setting and atmosphere and steak and seafood I love Lakeside in Wynn.

Gimmeabreak, you must have done some research? Anything stand out?
                        Cut was out of it this world.
                        However, it is ridiculously pricey. I went cause honeymooning but wouldn't spend that kind of money for steak again in a hurry.

Cut was out of it this world.
                          However, it is ridiculously pricey. I went cause honeymooning but wouldn't spend that kind of money for steak again in a hurry.
                          Ah it's Vegas! You have to detach yourself from the $ somewhat before you land, makes the trip much more enjoyable

Aldo cleared to fight

Aldo is OK cause we need him to be, if we get caught by the commission come fight night we've flown in Mendes to step in.

Weird press release.

Caught in the doping sense?

aldo in mcgreggors head

McGregor*

you realise I am doing it on purpose now

You realise I am too?

i do m8

Because it's home? Some people have an emotional attachment and / or preference for where they live / where they are from. I always feel the emotionless 'I am a mobile unit of labour' attitude to be strangely odd and disconnected.

And ftr, Greece should default and be made face down the short to medium term consequences of same. It could be the best thing that ever happened their shambolic society.
                                              +1 million Ireland has a lot more to offer than some of the airless ballardian hellholes(like Dubai) where people go to shave some points off their tax bill
                                              Last edited by Guest; 25-06-15, 06:48.

So refreshingand increasingly rare these days to get served nice food without a side dish of said foods life story, life story of the farmer and lashings of twee nonsense

McDonalds?

You realise I am too?
                                                    Told you he wasn't injured

A buddy of mine who works as a sales assistant in a sports shop is heading to Vegas for the fight is now completely distraught. He took out a 3k loan to go to the fight, bought an €800 Louis Copeland suit and moved home from is rented gaff to cover the repayments. Madness.
                                                      Update from this guy's FB account:

I just want to thank everybody for all their support over the last couple of days, to my mother for lighting candles, to everybody else who said prayers. It was all appreciated!!!
                                                      According to the man himself Aldo just had period pains
                                                      Now bring on July 11 ‪#‎ANDNEW

Fair play to God for fixing it for that poor lad to go to Vegas.

Candlemaking, now there's a business that refuses to go out of fashion.

Watched '20,000 days on Earth' last night, a drama/doc on a day in the life of Nick Cave.

I thought it was incredible, he's such an interesting and intriguing guy, the psychologist scenes were mind blowing good.

Check it out, you don't need to be a fan of him to like this imo.

@Bubbleking or anyone else really. I had what I perceived as a bad experience with a medical consultation yesterday... The below is the email I sent after which explains what happens. The place is a clinic on Fitzwilliam Sq. Was I wrong to expect more from the first visit?

"I am just back from a consultation with Dr Orla and found the whole thing quite disappointing.

Let me start by telling you my expectations. I have two areas on my face that were of concern to me, an old mark on my cheek that has been starting to protrude and become an annoyance, and also, what I consider to be, a freckle over my left eye. My expectation was that I would have a consultation with a dermatologist that could tell me if either of these are of any concern and then make an appointment to have them removed if necessary.

What actually happened was quite different. I met Dr Orla (Who was lovely by the way) and she asked me my concerns. She then proceeded to look at both of the areas under a light. At this stage I was told that she cannot actually use the machines for taking off the mole or even the machine that will give a good understanding of whether there is any concern. This is strange to me, I would like to know what the consultation is for if advice cannot be given on the moles? For me a medical consultation is to investigate if there is a problem and take further action. I was advised to meet another doctor at your clinic that can have a proper look and take next steps if necessary on the mole above my eye and also remove the one on my cheek. Fine.

I went outside to the very helpful Sinead to book this appointment. I was informed that the mole removal was €180 and covered by VHI if I bring my membership number. Excellent. I was asked was I worried about the mole and said yes that is why I was there. At that stage Dr Orla came out of her room to explain that the removal of the mole on my cheek would be cosmetic only and not covered. This was not the opinion given in the consultation where it was mentioned it could cause me trouble down the line. I was confused then and said I might not bother so. At this point Dr Orla said I should come to have the other mole looked at by the expert anyway. Is the initial consultation fee of €80 not supposed to cover seeing an expert?!!

I made the appointment and left but now I would like if this can be cancelled as I don’t wish to proceed with your clinic and will proceed elsewhere with advice from my own GP. Please cancel the appointment.

As an aside maybe I am wrong but for a medical consultation I would not expect a sales pitch for sunscreen and oils that “can be bought here”. This section was probably half of the consultation time.

If this is a case of crossed wires or I am taking something wrong then that’s unfortunate but I am highly dissatisfied with my experience today and will not be recommending your clinic."

@Eoghan, my mrs was at the same place yesterday and came home with a bag of expensive creams from the place itself. I thought it was a bit off colour for the doctor to give her antibiotics and also hawk this set of creams for god knows how much.

"Doctors underpaid in Ireland, resort to selling Oil of Olay"

+1 million Ireland has a lot more to offer than some of the airless ballardian hellholes(like Dubai) where people go to shave some points off their tax bill
                                                                    Not just some points off your tax bill, all of them! On the other hand you pay for everything.
                                                                    Talking to a guy the other day who lives there and has three small children the first about to start primary school and the fees for a fairly standard non profit (most of the ex pat schools are for profit) start at €10K per school year and will be €15K by 6th class. The posh schools start at about €35K

I've known this lad for many years and its amazing how a lad can suddenly and dramatically someone can change their mind about the value of democratic socialism and wax lyrical about how great the NHS and the Comprehensive school system are. Mind you its really only that he is sick of the heat and misses the family that he is going to scarper home as soon as he can

Watched '20,000 days on Earth' last night, a drama/doc on a day in the life of Nick Cave.

I thought it was incredible, he's such an interesting and intriguing guy, the psychologist scenes were mind blowing good.

Check it out, you don't need to be a fan of him to like this imo.
                                                                      I'm a big fan of his music but I'm also fairly certain that he is a completely narcissistic prick with an unhealthy obsession with his prick.
                                                                      Don't think I could stomach a an hour of listening to him being 'intriguing'.

@Eoghan, very sorry you had a bad experience. Unfortunately private healthcare in Ireland is both the pinnacle of a doctors career and a cash cow raped merciless by the many. In most cases senior consultants build a private practice based on their work in the public sector. It is through GP and hospital referrals that they get their business so for the most part reputation is paramount and they will do a good job.

Dermatology is the most competitive sub specialty in medicine. They dont do call, they wont be called in an emergency, They rarely if ever need to make a tough decision, their treatment plans are to prescribe creams and if it doesnt work try another one. Most notably they mostly work with cosmetic conditions which means people will pay above and beyond for their services. Easy to see why it is both competitive if that's your thing and easy to take advantage of.

Anyway sorry for going off track I tend to ramble needlessly. These practices are more about the bottom line than providing good care. Yes they will provide an excellent service but if they can sell you every add on under the sun then they of course will do it.

Your situation is a bit unfortunate. You needed to see the dermatologist (referred by your GP I assume) to make sure their was nothing majorly wrong. After this you need to be seen by a surgeon as it is he / she who will be removing the moles. In terms of paying for the cheek removal you might be able to get around it if you can get your GP to write you a letter stating that the area has changed shape / colour / consistency. Then you would be having it removed for medical rather than cosmetic reasons.

Sorry bit all over the place but hopefully it helps a bit

Looking for thoughts on how to handle this..

Two days ago I was searching nfor plum slate mulch for the garden. A ton bag I was pricing.

Had various prices from 90-150 xfor the stuff. Called my local Homeland store which was the Donegal creameries and got the price of 90 plus 10 delivery. So we went down, showed the guy the exact bag, paid for it and waited for delivery.

Yesterday evening we got a call. The guy said he had under charged us by 100 and they couldn't do anything about it.

I was so disappointed. Should they honour the paid price or are we scewed?

Greece update
                                                                            EURO ZONE FINANCE MINISTERS WILL WORK WITH A PROPOSAL FROM THE CREDITOR INSTITUTIONS ON GREEK DEAL AS THERE IS NO AGREED DEAL WITH ATHENS - EURO ZONE OFFICIALS
                                                                            (courtesy of Reuters/THE CLAMPER)

not good

@Eoghan, very sorry you had a bad experience. Unfortunately private healthcare in Ireland is both the pinnacle of a doctors career and a cash cow raped merciless by the many. In most cases senior consultants build a private practice based on their work in the public sector. It is through GP and hospital referrals that they get their business so for the most part reputation is paramount and they will do a good job.

Dermatology is the most competitive sub specialty in medicine. They dont do call, they wont be called in an emergency, They rarely if ever need to make a tough decision, their treatment plans are to prescribe creams and if it doesnt work try another one. Most notably they mostly work with cosmetic conditions which means people will pay above and beyond for their services. Easy to see why it is both competitive if that's your thing and easy to take advantage of.

Anyway sorry for going off track I tend to ramble needlessly. These practices are more about the bottom line than providing good care. Yes they will provide an excellent service but if they can sell you every add on under the sun then they of course will do it.

Your situation is a bit unfortunate. You needed to see the dermatologist (referred by your GP I assume) to make sure their was nothing majorly wrong. After this you need to be seen by a surgeon as it is he / she who will be removing the moles. In terms of paying for the cheek removal you might be able to get around it if you can get your GP to write you a letter stating that the area has changed shape / colour / consistency. Then you would be having it removed for medical rather than cosmetic reasons.

Sorry bit all over the place but hopefully it helps a bit
                                                                              That's great thanks a lot.

This place was fairly slick alright and didn't seem like a normal medical centre. Maybe I went in with the wrong expectations. I just assumed that I was going in to be told a) this mole is an issue you need to have it removed or b) Its not an issue but we can have it taken off for cosmetic reasons if you wish.

What I got was "I can't really tell you if this is an issue but for another €180 you can find out. Now, have you seen our lovely range of sun block creams? by the way they should be used every day summer and winter!"

Just irked me a little. Thanks for the reply.

Actually just to follow up on father-in-law. He got a dose of sepsis when he ruptured his oesophagus and the surgeon said he wasn't confident. Few days of torturous waiting and it looks like he's coming out the other side. He's awake and getting ventilator out today. Still 2 months in hospital to come though.
                                                                                @BBK how does stuff get into your lungs from a tear in your oesophagus when they're separate systems?

Greece update

(courtesy of Reuters/THE CLAMPER)

not good
                                                                                  Juncker will ger drunker.

That's great thanks a lot.

This place was fairly slick alright and didn't seem like a normal medical centre. Maybe I went in with the wrong expectations. I just assumed that I was going in to be told a) this mole is an issue you need to have it removed or b) Its not an issue but we can have it taken off for cosmetic reasons if you wish.

What I got was "I can't really tell you if this is an issue but for another €180 you can find out. Now, have you seen our lovely range of sun block creams? by the way they should be used every day summer and winter!"

Just irked me a little. Thanks for the reply.
                                                                                    So they said they didnt know for one and they did know the other would just be cosmetic? Seems very odd.

@BBK how does stuff get into your lungs from a tear in your oesophagus when they're separate systems?
                                                                                      Depends where the tear is. I suppose it could go down the windpipe but more than likely it would go into the area surrounding the lungs, the mediastinum, and cause inflammation there?

Looking for thoughts on how to handle this..

Two days ago I was searching nfor plum slate mulch for the garden. A ton bag I was pricing.

Had various prices from 90-150 xfor the stuff. Called my local Homeland store which was the Donegal creameries and got the price of 90 plus 10 delivery. So we went down, showed the guy the exact bag, paid for it and waited for delivery.

Yesterday evening we got a call. The guy said he had under charged us by 100 and they couldn't do anything about it.

I was so disappointed. Should they honour the paid price or are we scewed?
                                                                                        Seems like a genuine mistake on their end. Most reasonable option would be for them to refund you the money and you look elsewhere to buy it at a cheaper price

Today's leaked proposal

A total cynic might suspect that yesterday's document might have been a "push overly hard on some things, in full expectation of resistance, then appear to accept said resistance and allow x,y,z to be pulled back on" type of situation.

Having the effect of painting today's and the 'final demands' as having taken some steps to meet the Greek demands.

Not a great quote!
                                                                                          Originally posted by Wolfgang Schaeuble
                                                                                          We have not made progress...Greece has moved backwards
                                                                                          Last edited by Emmet; 25-06-15, 11:30.

What are E-Sports? Are they LAN Gaming or something like that?

I see 365 are running markets on them now which is fairly progressive.

What are E-Sports? Are they LAN Gaming or something like that?

I see 365 are running markets on them now which is fairly progressive.
                                                                                              Competitive gaming, yeah. Gambling on them has been around for a while now. It's very common for fans to bet on CS:GO, Dota2, LOL and Starcraft 2. Not surprised that some of the bigger operators are experimenting on it now.

The games don't have to be on LAN it's better if it is. A player with a higher ping will be at a slight disadvantage.

There's even been a few controversies about dropped matches and bribed players.

Yeah essentially there will be matches like any sport with people tuning in to watch them online. Cool to see them being picked up. There is a ~15 million tourney coming up in Dota so would be nice to have a few bets on.

I need to Learn Dota! been putting it off for too long

Pinnacle were the only one to offer markets on them for years. The niche is growing pretty fast this year particularity.

Recent trends are showing a huge merge between skilled based gaming, social gaming and traditional gambling. Vegas got the go ahead on skill based slot machines!

I need to Learn Dota! been putting it off for too long
                                                                                                      Dota isn't hard to learn, it's being good at Dota that's hard.

Add me on Steam. I do lessons. http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197961599905

Most of them are bused these days. Either from T2 or a busing area which is kind if between both terminals. But as far as your concerned and for check in etc it's T2
                                                                                                        Flight was just behind the security screening in Terminal 1.

Just got caught up with all the BBV I missed, spent the weekend in Newquay thought it was supposed to be a surfer's paradise but the place felt a bit kippy, great weekend though was fucking excellent, hungover to bits on the Saturday and went to a place called Adrenalin Quarry to do a zipline & coasteering which was a bit of craic, that zipline kinda freaked me out a bit and then went swinmming in the quarry & just off some rocks/cliffs & then onto that inflatable blob thing that launches you into the air, skipped that as everybody seemed to be wrecking themselves on it then went up to Liverpool on the Monday for a couple days, decent bit of banter and took the Tuesday to relax and recoup and just strolled around the city for a bit not a bad place, myself & friends flew home a day early as the whole weekend was catching up on us, good times good people.

Grabbed this off Google images, I've some GoPro footage that I'm trying to edit into a little video.

Is it acceptable to email HR after an interview to ask for the timeline for feedback? I really should have asked during the interview but it somehow did not enter my mind. I am pretty sure I was the only one interviewed on the day. They obviously liked my CV as I received an email the morning after my application.

How long after the interview? I would give it a week and then it is acceptable imo.

Told you he wasn't injured
                                                                                                                He is 100% injured.

Bringing in a possible replacement is unheard of. Aldo and UFC stand to make millions off this fight so will do everything in their power to try make it happen.

They are talking up a possible interim title fight if Aldo can't fight. Interim title when the champ only has bruised ribs and will be back to 100% in no time. That is unheard of. Only reason they are doing that is to keep the PPV numbers up. Why go to all that trouble? Aldo is injured.

Aldo does not make the fight 8 times out of 10. I wouldn't be surprised if he pulls out in the next few days but he stands to make the guts of $4M. That is probably more than his career earnings and sets him up for life. He'd want to fight with broken arms.

How long after the interview? I would give it a week and then it is acceptable imo.
                                                                                                                  The interview was only yesterday. I am just kicking myself that I did not ask on the day. It is maternity cover so I assume they are in no rush to hire as they probably have plenty of time on their hands.

I am applying for an internal day job in my current company but I dont want to be completely messing them about by getting the day role and then leaving for the job I interviewed for.

What are ye stressing over, just ask for a timeline on their process. I swear people think sneezing affects their job chances. I went to Barcelona instead of my second interview and here I am

Legal types - A friend of mine had her house deeds at a solicitors who has gone out of business and her property deeds are now at the law society, and she's been told she has to get a different solicitor to get the deeds from there to give them to her bank. Is there a way she can do this without going through a costly solicitor?

Is it possible to buy prints of works by Andreas Gursky or can you only get them by stumping up six figures for one of the originals? None of the usual sites stock his stuff anyway.