Wouldn't mind being a fly on the wall when Tsipiras presents his 'non-negotiable' demands to Reichsfuhrer Merkel today.

I wouldn't be using the good cutlery if I was her.

Must confess that any of my fave big red wines i enjoy one glass as much as a skinful. Diminishing returns after that in taste terms

Really? I kinda find that I need to drink at least 2/3 of a bottle before I know whether I really like it or not! Typical split is 2/3 for me and 1/3 for wife.

Donegal are a narrow 2nd to Tyrone for me. Fucking awful GAA people.

It's definitely not an Ulster thing - Monaghan people are fucking amazing craic at a GAA match. Never had a problem with Armagh. My measure of a GAA crowd is how they are after a win and a loss. By that measure Armagh GAA are good people frankly.
            cant agree with this I'm afraid. In my experience Armagh GAA is the worst (sorry for the generalisation). The abuse they give their own players never mind the opposition is disgraceful and its the only time at a GAA match I've felt an air of constant aggro.

Again in general;

Meath fans are a close second. Awful gobshites most of them
            Mayo are bitter but harmless
            Dublin have the best support imho
            Kerry too from what I remember but we've been bad for so long Ive forgotten what they are like.
            No real strong opinions on any other county. Girlfriend is from Donegal so Im biased into thinking they're alright.

Also thanks to whoever recommended the Saddle rooms in the Shelbourne for my Grad lunch. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Everything was done superbly and my folks really enjoyed it. Would happily go again and was very reasonably priced for the quality of food and service.

Got my intern post too. I'm off to Drogheda for the year. Gonna stay living in Dublin and commute from Drumcondra I think. See how it goes at the start anyway

Unless the landlord is doing you some unspecified favour, surely tell him that's where he should be getting the key

the 'do nothing' option also appeals as the most likely route to pissing him off. Followed by the 'I didn't think you were serious' riposte if he does track you down.
                I'm more concerned about people traipsing through my place when I'm not here. He seems to believe I have to let him in, I don't think that's the case. He recommended I seek legal advice

edit: Is this something that a solicitor would send me a advice on for >€100? Talking to the guy has tilted me enough to move me from amicable to scorched earth policy.
                Last edited by Denny Crane; 10-06-15, 10:43.

Got my intern post too. I'm off to Drogheda for the year. Gonna stay living in Dublin and commute from Drumcondra I think. See how it goes at the start anyway
                  Sensible choice

Wouldn't mind being a fly on the wall when Tsipiras presents his 'non-negotiable' demands to Reichsfuhrer Merkel today.

I wouldn't be using the good cutlery if I was her.

Penalty shootout on Eurosport between Ukraine U20s and Senegal U20s in U20 WC

Last night I booked 14 nights in Egypt. This morning I read this http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-33077862

Thats a shame, it would be a bit cheaper tonight.

I wouldn't lose sleep about it though, the hotels and resorts are well protected and they will be on higher alert after that.

This disaster happened just around the corner from where I'll be spending the next few weeks

Very shocking images of a horrible tragedy that didn't even make the news here in the video...
                          Last edited by Strewelpeter; 10-06-15, 10:55.

That youtube clip is NSFW or the faint hearted

I met a lad at a tourney out at the Green Isle a few months ago who I recognised from various games over the years but I couldn't remember his name. He was telling me he is based in Accra, Ghana setting up a Casino and he was talking also about an Irish bar that is part of the deal hes involved in. I might try and look him up next week if I have some time to spare but I'm fecked if I can remember his name or the name of the bar? I'm sure some here know who I'm talking about PM maybe if you know please.

That youtube clip is NSFW or the faint hearted
                                Indeed warning added

I wouldn't go to Egypt at all, pretty full-on Islamist insurgency in progress. Although I'm sure the government will deploy thousands of ill-trained teenage conscripts to protect westerners.

I'm more concerned about people traipsing through my place when I'm not here. He seems to believe I have to let him in, I don't think that's the case. He recommended I seek legal advice

edit: Is this something that a solicitor would send me a advice on for >€100? Talking to the guy has tilted me enough to move me from amicable to scorched earth policy.
                                    Just ignore him. Transfer the tilt.

And accidentally forget to pay your last month's rent too.

Decent short read:

What its like to play a round of Golf with Tiger Woods

@Denny:

You do not have the right to:

- Enter your tenants’ home without permission

This one is quite different, given the corporation rights it enshrines. E.g. if Ireland was to ban cigarettes - not an inconceivable idea - we'd have to pay US cig producers. Or introduce a tax on chewing gum - same thing to Wrigleys. I don't think its a good idea at all. Maybe other parts are great, but not allowing countries to change social practice without compensating international companies seems highly dodge.
                                          Yeah that part is crazy,can't see how anything else in it could compensate for it.

Just ignore him. Transfer the tilt.

And accidentally forget to pay your last month's rent too.
                                            A very common thing (from reading Boards anyhow) would be to agree to accommodate viewings at times that suit both you and the EA/landlord in exchange for a reduction in rent to compensate you for the trouble. Should be in the landlord's interests to agree. They defo can't have a viewing without your permission. It's pretty shocking that a professional EA isn't aware of all of this stuff - or knows it and is trying to pretend otherwise!

Oh it's a 100% that he's trying to bluff me, he obv made a booking to view and doesn't want to have to cancel.

Thats a shame, it would be a bit cheaper tonight.

I wouldn't lose sleep about it though, the hotels and resorts are well protected and they will be on higher alert after that.

This disaster happened just around the corner from where I'll be spending the next few weeks

Very shocking images of a horrible tragedy that didn't even make the news here in the video...
                                                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqyCKP14FYY
                                                Well the resort is in Sharm, which is pretty far from it all i guess. Day trip to Luxor may decrease in price now.

If you could choose betwen Luxor and Pyramids/sphinx day trips which would it be? Will prob do both but meh just in case.

I wouldn't go to Egypt at all, pretty full-on Islamist insurgency in progress. Although I'm sure the government will deploy thousands of ill-trained teenage conscripts to protect westerners.
                                                I guess its just something I've wanted to do since doing History in primary school. My inner Geek doesn't seem to heed any obvious warnings.

Suppose all of the above is why they are pretty much giving away the all inclusive holidays.

Any sign of Finkel?

While its unusual for someone to die. That B&B is a shithole and is constantly full of scumbags.

Feel a bit like this at the moment

My knee is too bad to do hell and back on saturday, raging.

In happier news ben and jerry's are making vegan ice cream now.

In tv news, peaky blinders is a class series.
                                                            Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 10-06-15, 13:30.

so what's the verdict here on the TTIP? Scaremongering justified? Seems so to me, the investor state dispute settlement mechanism is bananas. Id imagine there will be a few defenders here
                                                              It's a fucking terrible idea from which we would suffer long term and through which we would be fucked over consistently

Also fundamentally disagree with the idea of national policy being subject to commercial interests rather than taking them into account in determining the common good.

Well the resort is in Sharm, which is pretty far from it all i guess. Day trip to Luxor may decrease in price now.

If you could choose betwen Luxor and Pyramids/sphinx day trips which would it be? Will prob do both but meh just in case.

I guess its just something I've wanted to do since doing History in primary school. My inner Geek doesn't seem to heed any obvious warnings.

Suppose all of the above is why they are pretty much giving away the all inclusive holidays.
                                                                I haven't been to Luxor so I' deffo pick that and the Valley of the kings.

Pyramids are impressive to see but the tours are mostly a bit shit just make your own way around and don't be hiring donkeys or camels unless you really want to. You can climb up into one of the chambers.
                                                                If you are going as far as Cairo and are into the history then you will want to make a few hours to go right into downtown Cairo to visit the Egyptian Museum. Get a guided tour from one of the official guys inside the gates they do a great job of making a story out of it and will lead you through a story that leads up to the jaw dropping Tutankhamun exhibits.

Feel a bit like this at the moment
                                                                  Dont forget me

Pretty cool thing in sweden, can sign up to get text messages if somebody is having a stroke/heart attack near you. Apparently saves lots of lives by random people doing CPR before the ambulance can get there, as well as having heart-starter kits all over the country you can retrieve in public.

whereas the dutch are all over ambulance drones

Each year nearly a million people in Europe suffer from a cardiac arrest. A mere 8% survives due to slow response times of emergency services. The ambulance-...

Oh it's a 100% that he's trying to bluff me, he obv made a booking to view and doesn't want to have to cancel.

Jesus this guy is a grade A asshat. He forwarded me on this mail that he sent to his solicitor.

One tenant consulted Dr Google and said I was not correct and they could insist on being present at a time that suits them. I told them to ignore Dr Google and consult their lawyer who would confirm what I said. I'm pretty sure of my ground but would welcome your imprimatur before 18:00

Jesus this guy is a grade A asshat. He forwarded me on this mail that he sent to his solicitor.
                                                                          Is he the boss?

Jeez you need to make this stain pay, the arrogance is dripping off him.

Think you should just flat out refuse to engage with him at this point. Do you have a solicitor? At this point I'd just ask him to forward any correspondence directly to the solicitor, and watch how quickly he changes his tune!

Just ignore him.

lionelhutz@irishlawyers.ie

Wonder if he'll forward you on the reply from his solicitor telling him he's not entitled to do what he's saying he is?

I'm sorry guys, he did not ask for your imprimatur.

Treshold has this to say

Approaching the end of your tenancy your landlord or agent may seek access for viewings by potential tenants or buyers if the property is being sold. Whilst the Residential Tenancies Act does not specifically mention access for viewings usually there will be a clause in a lease to this effect. A compromise should be reached between the parties to facilitate viewings which should be arranged at reasonable intervals at a date and time agreed in advance.
                                                                                        Last edited by Zod; 10-06-15, 16:03.

Originally posted by PSV58
                                                                                          so what's the verdict here on the TTIP? Scaremongering justified? Seems so to me, the investor state dispute settlement mechanism is bananas. Id imagine there will be a few defenders here
                                                                                          It's a fucking terrible idea from which we would suffer long term and through which we would be fucked over consistently

Also fundamentally disagree with the idea of national policy being subject to commercial interests rather than taking them into account in determining the common good.
                                                                                          Don't know enough about it and the process does seem to be lacking transparency but I would expect it in the main to be as AJ sees it.

The investor settlement thing sounds crazy bad on the surface but I can see how it could be a very good thing.
                                                                                          It seems to me the typical scenario for a case that ends up in arbitration is where a public body has put out tenders and entered into a contract. Then at some point down the line they change their mind or come under political pressure to rewrite the contract. The problem is that the system is wide open for the corporations to abuse the process by tying the bureaucrats up in knots with ridic unfavourable contracts. But that can be seen the other way too, the people signing the contracts should know exactly what they are buying and make sure they have dealt with all the political consequences they made.
                                                                                          If you look at the Moorbeg case detailed here the Sweedish company did a deal that was priced and agreed - that it included a spec that meant half the fish in the river were going to die was the councils fault. Why should the guys operating the plant to contract have to take the hit?
                                                                                          Just because Shyster and Shyster are adept at abusing the system doesn't mean that it cannot be used for the public good.
                                                                                          I'm certainly open to finding out more about how it actually stretches to a situation whereby national policy becomes subject to commercial interests thats a buzzphrase I've seen a dozen times in the last week but I've yet to hear anyone actually explain how it comes about.

Wonder if he'll forward you on the reply from his solicitor telling him he's not entitled to do what he's saying he is?
                                                                                            He forwarded on the reply stating he was correct and to continue with the viewings

Treshold has this to say

Approaching the end of your tenancy your landlord or agent may seek access for viewings by potential tenants or buyers if the property is being sold. Whilst the Residential Tenancies Act does not specifically mention access for viewings usually there will be a clause in a lease to this effect. A compromise should be reached between the parties to facilitate viewings which should be arranged at reasonable intervals at a date and time agreed in advance.
                                                                                            Ah Zod, don't be hampering my sense of injustice
                                                                                            Last edited by Denny Crane; 10-06-15, 16:22.

Have you been given notice yet Denny?

Leave some very messy dumps in the toilet at minimum.
                                                                                                Presume it is being sold rather than rented again?

Nope, but only have a few months left, everything is fine other than this guy, and they're looking to sell to investors so presumably happy to keep tenants in situ.

The best bit about all of this is that he has included the owner on the emails, I made it clear I'm happy to help but this guy is completely unreasonable. That he followed up my subtlety with that email is astounding tbh.
                                                                                                  Last edited by Denny Crane; 10-06-15, 16:19.

Dont forget me
                                                                                                    Haha I did completely.
                                                                                                    Pm me shipping deets

Leave some very messy dumps in the toilet at minimum.
                                                                                                      Presume it is being sold rather than rented again?
                                                                                                      Top loading every jacks in the place seems the minimum.
                                                                                                      Or ensure you are there when he's doing the viewing and convince the tenent about the ghosts that haunt the place

Starting a new job near Ringsend and not too familiar with streets etc around there. I think driving will be the handiest, can anyone recommend where I could park all day and isn't overly expensive?

Top loading every jacks in the place seems the minimum.
                                                                                                          Or ensure you are there when he's doing the viewing and convince the tenent about the ghosts that haunt the place
                                                                                                          The ghosts that top load the jacks

Madrid releasing Casillias on a free, Adios De Gea

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C9zFQoffRTc
                                                                                                              Wants a move to a big club

Carry it with you.

Had to call the gardai due to an aul incident on the boardwalk along the quays. Three socio demographically challenged individuals who likely have an affection for H or methadone were having a spot of bother. Two females, one male.

When I walked past, I couldn't help but notice the male (man u fan, standard) laying on top of one of the women on the boardwalk, with his mouth around her face, possibly threatening to do a chewie Louie on her. Everyone else ignored it, I stopped for a gawk unsure of whether to take action or youtube it for prosperity.

The other woman came over me to, fag in hand. I was unsure whether she was going to have a go at me but she asked me to call the guards.

Civic duty done. Couldn't stick around to see how it played out. Though he had gotten off her shortly after I made the call and they were all having the chats.
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 10-06-15, 20:57.

Food in France seems to be either fantastic or terrible. Not much middle ground. The motorway food and pre-packaged sandwiches are spectacularly bad.

Their 'Quick' chain of MaccyD ripoffs makes Supermacs seem good. Think the quality of veg, meat, fish, if you get it in the market makes home cooking the way to go. Veg is just ridic good, which I know is a weird thing to get excited about.
                                                                                                                          Hitch, I need somewhere for a Sunday lunch (early enough, like 12\12.30), somewhere between Rennes and Angers. 3 kids, 2 adults so not Michelin but ideally decent cuisine. Kids eat anything.

Make it your mission to find me a good spot. Might even invite the Hitch family along!