Excellent read from The New Yorker "Where the Bodies Are Buried - Gerry Adams has long denied being a member of the I.R.A. But his former compatriots claim that he authorized murder." can be read HERE

Tis hardly breaking news? Maybe if you're a yank.

2. Who is all this costing money? Presumably its free for him as it just gets added to the bankruptcy blackhole?
            I reckon he's dumping his last remaining sheckles off to his lawyer buddies. He's rather give money to them than any actual creditors. Probably has a post-bankruptcy cashback arrangement and all.

1. How is he able to constantly delay by seemingly billions of appeals. Surely there's an endpoint after which appeals are not allowed?
              Back in the good old days he constructed a clever and extremely complex way of distancing his property from his immediate ownership while retaining control of it. At the time this was done to move the title from his control to that of his children. Anyone who heard Blake and Blaise's interview with Pat Kenny may draw some conclusions of their own from the spectacularly cringeworthy dodge attempted by them both when Pat asked about the gift tax or inheritance tax on the property transfer.

Because of this the normal procedure, which is quite straightforward, isn't quite sufficient to deal with all of the competing interests. The children, the company and the parents all have slightly different positions and legal entitlements. Keep in mind that it isn't Brian O'Donnell that has taken all the appeals and cases, some of them are taken by his children and a couple by the company that apparently owns the house.

He's probably at the limit of what he can do now through the legal process. Once the cases he has in being have been exhausted that will be that. As for the house, well that matter is pretty close to be done for as it is. The Bank own it and the O'Donnell family need to GTFO as it were.

2. Who is all this costing money? Presumably its free for him as it just gets added to the bankruptcy blackhole?
              It's mostly costing the Bank pursuing him money. The Court is going to be sitting anyway. Probably delaying some other more worthy cases but not too badly. The Bank can't back down because if they do then every time they have to do a repossession the Land League will show up and 100,000 appeals will be lodged to delay them. They can't stop now, although they also have a responsibility to their shareholders to mitigate their loss on these loans and 7 million is nothing to sneeze at.

3. How close is he to going to jail if he doesn't GTFO?
              Penal endorsement on the summons. If he isn't out by 5pm then the next step is to have him committed to prison for the breach if he refuses to comply. Court will always give him a chance to purge his contempt first by agreeing to relinquish the property but who knows if he'll avail of that chance?

Costing Bank => Costing Taxpayer aye?

Bank of Ireland so kind of but not really.

Prague bound tomorrow for 4 days any tips pubs clubs eateries ty ty

8 years since I was there so clubs and pubs have likely changed.

Found it a really great city to just walk around and explore during the day.

In particular loved the Charles Bridge over the river (long pedestrian bridge with an entire tourist industry along it) and the walk up to the castle. The Old Town Square has a weird belltower astroclock which does something every hour, cant remember what but recall looking up along with the rest of the tourists and going 'wtf'. (probably an hourly pickpockets dream so be careful).

Sad news about Fenton . RIP

Watch out for pickpockets . Icear was fun . But the john lennin wall is cool

awesome city, local food isnt great

Prague Guide

General Notes

- Beer is between 35 and 70 at the minute, so depending on the exchange, £1.20 to £2.50. Mixed drinks are about 3 quid. Food about £6 to a tenner for food and drink in a restaurant

- To get from the airport to the centre, the easiest and cheapest way is to get Bus 100 or 119 from outside of the terminal, then get off at the last stop and get the metro (Zlicin and Dejvicka respectively). You will be looking to get off at Mustek or Muzeum Probably. Costs 26kc for the full journey

- Beware the pikey looking ladies when you are walking back to your digs. They will have your wallet in seconds.

Prague on a budget

If your looking to do it on a budget, best bet for accomodation is a hostel. The larger your room, the cheaper it is. Best bet is an 8 person room (the ones I mentioned earlier are slightly over a tenner a night pp) so thats 30 quid

If you go to a supermarket and buy crap in for lunch, thats a tenner each for the full stay. Breakfast is free. A restaurant meal, decent quality is about 6 quid.

Touristy stuff you can do for free (a free walking tour, 3 quid tip) then wander about yourself the rest of the time. Arguments sake we'll say a tenner for the full 3 days.

Drinking depends what your poison is. Pub crawl one night = free shots, hour of unlimited beer/wine is a tenner - maybe another tenner on drinks in the other bars. Other nights, 30 quid will be more than enough (on the beer, that will probably be enough for both nights)

All in all, your looking at a spending of 110kc if you’re a beer drinker, 140kc if you’re a spirit person. Cigarettes are less than 3 quid a pack if you’re a smoker (2 quid for local brands)
                              Sights will be the same regardless of cost. I would still do the free tour as it covers everything in general, but you can go and look more in depth at the castle, charles bridge, old town square, the national museum (Muzeum), the national theatre (Narodni Divadlo), the dancing building, Petrin Hill, Letna Park

Accomodation

Its so cheap to stay in the centre, you should only really look at Praha 1 as somewhere to stay. No point saving a few quid which you will just spend on travel to the centre

Prague Square Hostel – Brilliant location, between old town square and Wenceslas Square. Do everything from a double up to a 10 person room

Old Prague Hostel – Same as Prague Square, except located otherside of Old Town Square

Hostel One – Also in the centre, the guys who run it are really cool. Organise their own activities like bar crawls, movie nights and BBQs

Royal Road Residence – Right next to Charles Bridge, and are apartments rather than hostels so you have privacy

Krakovska Apartments – Just off Wenceslas Square next to Muzeum metro. Good location for stag groups as close to the best
                              cabarets, KFC and Beer Factory.

HostelBookers – Hostel search engine number 1

HostelWorld - Hostel search engine number 2

Hostels.com - Hostel search engine number 3

AirBnB.com - Apartment search engine

Traditional Czech Bars/Beer Gardens

U Sudu (Vodickova 10) This is a traditional style czech drinking hall - located a stones throw from wenceslas sq. From the outside, it looks tiny, but all the action is underground in the 3 large drinking halls

Riegrovy Sady Beer Garden Get the metro to Jiriho Z Podebrad then walk down Slavikova until you see a park. Its in there. Quality huge place, popular with everyone. Its cheap as well, and they serve sausages all day

Hospudka Na Hradbách - Vyšehrad Beer Garden Get the metro to Vysehrad, and follow the signs. Build on the grounds of the original castle of prague, and has an unparalled view of the city. Everytime ive been they have a full hog on the BBQ

U Zlateho Tygra (Golden Tiger) (Husova 17) This is where President Havel took President Clinton, which kind of tells you all you need to know about its reputation. Dont expect a table anytime soon tho

U Medvidku (Na Perštýne 7) A quality czech tavern, owned by Pilsner and has some of the nicest beer ive ever had. No closing time, just til you drop.

U Flecku (Kremencova 11) A fairly legendary place, hence its now expensive. Worth going for at least one beer though, simply as you cant get it anywhere else in the city as its brewed and sold on premises. They do tours as well I believe

Restaurants

Kolkovne (V kolkovne 8 ) - traditional czech restaurant owned by Pilsner Urquell. Try the goulash served in a bread bowl, just dont plan on moving much after

Giallo Rossa (Jakubska 3) Best pizza place in Prague - size of a bin lid, but so fucking nice and cheap. Gonna go for one tomorrow me thinks

V Jame (V Jáme 7) Voted best burgers in prague for a reason. Good bar too - popular with expats. Has a cheers vibe going on as well

Ambiente Brasilian (U radnice 8 ) - Up and coming chain restaurant, and worth going for the Caiprinihas alone. Great steaks and fairly reasonable price for its location

Celnice on V Celnici (by Nameski Republiky metro) Sit outside, epic amounts of meat on offer. Had the "Old Bohemian" which had qtr duck, sausage, smoked pork, a.n.other meat (tastes the same as the pork but was a different cut) served with dumpings, potato cake and bread. I eat a lot and this was a workout eating it! (Review by Smiler)

La Casa Argentina (Dlouhá 35) – Best steak house in Prague, not heard a bad review about the food. A tiny bit more expensive than...

Crazy Cow (Dlouhá 8 ) – Just down the street. Not as good decor, but again, nothing bad heard about the place.

Bohemia Bagel (Masna 2) – Good budget option if you want to pick up a sandwich or coffee or a snack during the day. There are quite a few dotted around Prague.

Ambiente Pizza Nueva (Revolucní 1) – Next to Palladium shopping mall. Do good Pizzas, and also all you can eat for meat and seafood for about 15 quid

SaSaZu (Bubenské nábr.) – New Asian restaurant/club. Do all sorts of contemporary asian dishes as well as taster menus. Some of the stuff is absolutely outstanding. Worth the taxi ride out there as its way cheaper than you would expect for the quality of the food.

Cabarets

Just incase, you know....

Sauna (Ve Smeckách 23) - My favourite, as I know a fair few of the girls there, its the best value - about 50 girls a night, shows all night and full strip. 1000 dance, 1800 30 mins

Darlings (Ve Smeckách 16) - Most expensive, and most popular. Loads of girls, but expensive. Only place in Prague with a midget, not that that should be a selling point. Full strip and shows

Empire (Opletalova 12) - good for beer deals. Unlimited beer for 500kc (it costs 5kc for them to buy the beer, so you need to drink 20 beers for them to be out of pocket after paying out commission) not full strip and only 10-20 girls

Rio (melantrichova 8)- run of the mill strip club, nothing fancy, but you can negotiate prices. I had the blonde on that website (she works in sexy now tho)

Show Park (Bubenské nábr.) - Last I heard its 1000kc for 30 minutes, open 24 hours a day. Casino bit downstairs for when your waiting for mates. No idea on the quality of girls however.

Stag Parties

For a stag party, your best bets are Rocky o Reillys, Double Trouble (Bar/Club), U Zlate Strom (Club) and Karlovy Lazne (Club)

Your going to struggle to get into the better/classier places as there is generally a large amount of people, even if your not rowdie. Could try a pub crawl - they meet at 9 at old town square normally

Im assuming Strip clubs will be high on the agenda. Best bet overall is gogo sexy, if price is no object then darlings, and if your a cheap bastard then atlas or hot peppers or anyone offering 5 free drinks. You WILL get touted like a motherfucker so dont be suprised, and if walking the tourist area best bet is to spread out in 4 or 5 small groups to minimise the hassle

If your a small or sensible group, check the other recommended places in here

BARS

KU (Rytirska 13) – Good bar full of hot women. Same clientele, same music and same drinks give or take. Open until normally.

Chateau (Jakubská 647/2) – Best place to go and meet tourists as all the pub crawls stop here. Varied music styles, upstairs is more classic albums, downstairs is the club with music varying from DnB to Hip Hop and chart. This is the most reliable place to get illegal substances for a tourist. Quality will inevitably be shite tho. Open til 4-5.

Harleys (Dlouhá 18) – “Rock Bar” that plays pretty much all types of music. Popular with the pub crawls and expats, but gets really busy most nights. Not the classiest of venues, but its popular. Open until 4-5

Bombay (Dlouhá 13) – Classier cocktail bar that is full every night. Dont really understand how, as I don’t really like it myself, but if your stuck for a busy place you can do a lot worse than this place. Open until 5.

Red Rooms (Myslíkova 28) – Popular with expats and students. A chill out place basically, plays indie and random stuff and is really cheap. Open until 2

M1 (Masna 1)– Really busy on Wednesday and Friday, good for RnB and owned by an American magician. Open until 4-5 on busy nights.

Fancy (Dusni 16)– New place opened by a pal of mine. RnB only as far as I can tell, and seems to be really popular. Open until 4-5 on busy nights.

Nebe (Wenceslas Square)– 5-8pm 7 days a week is cocktail happy hour (59kc so less than 2 quid) - my go to place to get pissed.

Beer Factory (Václavské námestí 58) – Pretty famous bar/club where you serve your own drinks from taps on your tables. Popular with tourists due to its location. Never been, so cant comment on music or closing. Drinks about 50kc per half litre I believe.

DeJaVu (Jakubská 8 ) – Never been in, but this place is packed everytime I walk past regardless of the day of the week

James Dean (Dlouha) – 50s style american diner upstairs, club downstairs. Always busy and owned by the same people as Harleys

CLUBS

Karlovy Lazne (Smetanovo nábreží 1) – the famous 5 floor club. Full of tourists basically, can be good for a night, but on the whole its pretty crap in my opinion. If your stuck on a Tuesday night it can be a decent bet.

Mecca (U pruhonu 3) – Best House club in prague, normally have big DJs on and it is usually pretty busy. Free entry on a Wednesday and the weekend is good

SaSaZu (Bubenské nábr.) – New 2000+ venue that gets all the big acts. Worth checking out the schedule to see who is coming up. If no event listed don’t bother as its pretty crap on its own

Radost FX (Belehradská 234/120) – Most famous RnB club. Thursdays and Saturdays are the busy ones here.

Cross Club (Plynární 23) – Popular alternative club outside the centre. Smoking weed is fine here, and the decor is random. Music styles vary depending on the night.

TAXI FIRMS

AAA +420 14014
                              City Taxis +420 257 257 257

They speak English on the phone and are government regulated, only guaranteed way not to get ripped off. If they refuse you a receipt, you don’t have to pay. Never tried that out however...

Activities

Prague isn’t just about drinking. Well, its a lot about drinking but not completely. A few random activities you could do include

Paintballing

Shooting

Go Karting

Aqua Park

PLACES OUTSIDE OF PRAGUE WORTH GOING TO:

Plzen – Home of Pilsner Urquell. Takes an hour and a half by train and there are some really good bars. Girls are epic as well, and are actually eager to talk to you because your English as opposed to Prague girls who are somewhat put off.

Cesky Krumlov – 4 hours by train, but worth it as its an incredibly beautiful place. Cant take a bad picture there. Decent place to go with a partner as its very romantic, but still things to do for the single traveller

Kutna Hora – Home of the Ossuary, a church with the decor constructed from 5000 bodies. The church is nice there, but there isn’t much else to do. Takes about 2 hours to get there. Worth it for the ossuary though.

Ostrava – Home of Pav! And also a street like the Bigg Market but with hot Czech girls, cheap drinks, classy bars and late opening. I went on a midweek day, and despite the place being empty, girls were constantly coming up to us asking us to dance or buying us drinks. Loved it!

Brno – Second City. 5 hours away but a decent stop off if your looking at travelling. Some decent bars, and get some big name DJs down there

Just logged into PP there. Apparently if I wager $20,020 in the next 5 days on Casino Side Games I get a full $175 bonus. Yay.

Shur hasn't ruby cleaned dem out, dey even hav a dartbored of his face, mad craic

Can't believe the lotto guys were pulled into the dail yesterday, people getting mad that the amount of money they are only ever going to win in their dreams is getting smaller. Don't believe any of the whingers claiming to have given up either

Rich Richies wife officially owns the horses

Funny how we all give him a pass but wooh be tide any other (ex-)banker who puts stuff in the wife's name

Can't believe the lotto guys were pulled into the dail yesterday, people getting mad that the amount of money they are only ever going to win in their dreams is getting smaller. Don't believe any of the whingers claiming to have given up either
                                        What's all this bout m8?

The government privatised a state agency and almost immediately the service has become significantly worse.

RIP Sir Terry Pratchett

Sad face doesn't cut it. Am trying real hard not to cry at my desk here.

RIP Sir Terry Pratchett

Sad face doesn't cut it. Am trying real hard not to cry at my desk here.
                                                      Did he die in Switzerland?

Dunno yet. Just announced on his Facebook page.

Terry passed away in his home, with his cat sleeping on his bed surrounded by his family on 12th March 2015.

Should have given me the lotto job. Some hams.

Am switching health insurance plan, complexity of 300 odd plans is making just dying at the first sign of ill health an attractive option.

It's like 3 card Monte. My current musing is on the EV-ness of excesses, and I can't really work it out. Health insurance advisers talk about the amount of risk you are willing to accept, but you can't get close to any notional amount you are willing to accept due to the incommutable nature of it all. You would need actuary type data.

The health insurance authority's site is very good for comparisons, fair play to them. My current provider's site, VHI, is so bad.

Anyway I'm pretty sure I can knock a grand off and not have to go to the butcher's if there's something wrong with me.

The O'Donnell Roadshow will be before the Court of Appeal tomorrow morning for a special sitting to hear an appeal from the trespass ruling.

Can't wait to see the make up of the panel of judges

The O'Donnell Roadshow will be before the Court of Appeal tomorrow morning for a special sitting to hear an appeal from the trespass ruling.

Can't wait to see the make up of the panel of judges

A bit bitchy, but we'll let it slide.

A bit bitchy...?

Shit joke on reflection.

Am switching health insurance plan, complexity of 300 odd plans is making just dying at the first sign of ill health an attractive option.

It's like 3 card Monte. My current musing is on the EV-ness of excesses, and I can't really work it out. Health insurance advisers talk about the amount of risk you are willing to accept, but you can't get close to any notional amount you are willing to accept due to the incommutable nature of it all. You would need actuary type data.

The health insurance authority's site is very good for comparisons, fair play to them. My current provider's site, VHI, is so bad.

Anyway I'm pretty sure I can knock a grand off and not have to go to the butcher's if there's something wrong with me.
                                                                          Sure just get no health insurance and turn to a life of crime if needs be?
                                                                          “The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it.”

Shit joke on reflection.
                                                                            Ah not the worst

Am I right in saying if there's not enough clear cut evidence to make a decision I.e. Graham Dwyer case, the judge can take decision away from jury?

Is the restrictions on irishtimes.com only on mobile. I've been reading away on work computer without any issues

Flying in to Dublin tomorrow for the weekend. Feels like coming home.

Feeling a bit under the weather and pissed off about a whole series of things messing with my supposed weeks holiday
                                                                                    Then first Hitch cheers me up with this which I revelled in telling in the most inappropriate places all day
                                                                                    For those of you who don't have Tar's expert knowledge of vegetables, a handy guide:

Then I heard Paul Durcan on the radio reading his poems about Bankers shooting dead 57 homeless children in Dublin and his wonderful tribute to Jean Byrne.

You can listen to a surprisingly old sounding Paul here.

Ah not the worst
                                                                                      Played 5 a side tonight, doing my usual walkabout and hatching like a good ole Solskjaer, when the opposition ruled no passes over 5 yards to rule out my party trick of easy scores from 1 yard out. We agreed and so I had to run I now have two huge blisters that look like they will burst any second and cause a mini tsunami. Fk that making up rules during a game . A team of Kayroos they were too with their constant rule revisions (still the oldman scored a few)

I'm available for midweek 5 a side footie , my top speed is 10km per hour.

btw Wp Today FM , lovely tributes all day long to Tony Fenton. Entertaining too.

Absolutely fantastic from Lukaku there. Great to see that kinda play.

Heading to bed shortly as I have to be up at 5.30 for the other halfs impending arrival , its been a while

NSFW

NSFW

GTFO my boobs are bigger!

Didn't really make it out to any clubs but heard good things about a few mentioned in DP's post, while at the EPT a few players were rolling to a place called James Dean have heard great things about that Darlings place a guy I work with says it's one of the best spots he's ever visited. On the food front there was a great place right around the corner from my hotel called Butchers absolute savage food but depending on where you are staying might dictate where you go, but if you're interested you can find it HERE

this is pretty cool

Flying in to Dublin tomorrow for the weekend. Feels like coming home.
                                                                                                      There is nothing quite like arriving into the airport without even a hint of eamonhonda to be seen to make you feel like you are back in town.

Its actually disgusting that people who should know better are continuing to support Grizzly Adams as he defends Sinn Fein/IRA's covering up of child rapists.

going on Thursday. No spoilers.
                                                                                                            Did McSavage rush his lines, like a nervous child in the first scene again? Only to be perfectly fine after the interval.

You'd have to question why he bothered to pull down her top if he wasn't going to play with the boobs, but instead just jump straight into the bend-over-say-hello-to-mr-penis part of the game.
                                                                                                              I think that's supposed to be the highlight reel

Am I right in saying if there's not enough clear cut evidence to make a decision I.e. Graham Dwyer case, the judge can take decision away from jury?
                                                                                                                Yep, I think its fairly standard at 'half time' that the defence claim that the prosecution haven't made a case and ask the judge to throw it without the defence needing to make their own case. Rarely works.
                                                                                                                In this case I think theres little chance of the judge agreeing; theres absolutely oodles of circumstantial evidence and it'll be left to the jury to decide how strong it is.

Yep, I think its fairly standard at 'half time' that the defence claim that the prosecution haven't made a case and ask the judge to throw it without the defence needing to make their own case. Rarely works.
                                                                                                                    In this case I think theres little chance of the judge agreeing; theres absolutely oodles of circumstantial evidence and it'll be left to the jury to decide how strong it is.
                                                                                                                    Does Dwyer ever get questioned in court or is that just something that happens on TV?
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Wombatman; 12-03-15, 22:44.

Dropped into casual conversation with the wife over dinner today that our hotel fund for the holiday was partially expended on horses that couldn't be bothered to try hard enough at Cheltenham. Really tried to shift the blame onto the horses lack of effort. Also noted that what better way to spend the rainy day fund than to spend it on a trip away from the rain. She took it surprisingly well, perhaps won over by my clear logic. Although perhaps this morning sickness thing has sapped a bit of the fight out of her.
                                                                                                                      'Hanging with the Hitches', reality tv mini series. Maybe launch it on youtube, end up block releasing series two on Netflix.

Best programme idea since Youth Hosteling with Chris Eubank.

'Hanging with the Hitches', reality tv mini series. Maybe launch it on youtube, end up block releasing series two on Netflix.

Best programme idea since Youth Hosteling with Chris Eubank.
                                                                                                                        There seems to be quite a lot of families who do this on YouTube. Bit creepy.

Does Dwyer ever get questioned in court or is that just something that happens on TV?
                                                                                                                          If he chooses to take the stand in his own defence then he will be questioned by his own barrister first and then cross-examined by the prosecution team.
                                                                                                                          But if he decides not to say anything then he can't be questioned by the prosecution, and afaik nothing can be read into his decision not to give evidence.

Its always an interesting conundrum, on the one hand you'd expect a genuine innocent person to want to give evidence to shout their own innocence ; otoh its quite hard to defend your innocence calmly when someone is accusing you and losing your rag can make you look bad.

/bar stool lawyer, kayroo could probably pick 47 holes in the above.