Impressed with the haircuts, wardrobe, settings and general production values. Pity it's so soon after Love/Hate, as it's difficult not to see the same actors in their previous roles.
    Pretty good thus far although not one of the pols has got a sympathetic portrayal yet. Pity they didn't do a Dail chamber showdown between Haughey and Fitzgerald for the 'flawed pedigree' speech. Hope they do some kind of Thatcher crushing Charlie scene too.

The crushing that lead to the Anglo-Irish Agreement which favoured the Charlie side?
        The Teapot!

Only going from 1979 until he becomes Taoiseach apparently. Covering the "how I fucked over George Colley" section of the biography.

Spoiler Alert: Colley doesn't become Taoiseach

Met a guy I probably haven't seen for 20 years this afternoon. He was at the panto with his two kids; Nelson and Otto. Heroic efforts to keep a straight face.
              Thats class tbf
              Pretty good thus far although not one of the pols has got a sympathetic portrayal yet. Pity they didn't do a Dail chamber showdown between Haughey and Fitzgerald for the 'flawed pedigree' speech. Hope they do some kind of Thatcher crushing Charlie scene too.
              I'm running 20 mins behind seems hes not so much channelling CJ as the Dermot Morgan impression of HawHee.

YouTube him. Pretty damn good imo

The Teapot!
                  LOL. there she blows.

Last time i checked CJ was a liver eating , Savile row shirt wearing cunt of the highest order, your typical Irish politician, wouldn't be wasting my time watching it tbh.

Only 35 mins into Pride and really enjoying it...took a while to realise it was Mcnulty queering it up.

YouTube him. Pretty damn good imo
                      Don't need you tube

I meant it as a complement, Its all much better than I was expecting, moving very fast .the script feels a bit cramped.

Of interest to Stan maybe lol my uncle

Bet Dom is watching.
                          Darts. If it turns out Charlie is good I'll catch up.

Have charlie recording, worth a watch or is it just fancy dress impersonations? Fictional characters loosely based on the real people are the way to do this kind of thing, at least you have some artistic license then

David Moyes masterminds a defeat of Barcelona! Opposition scores a 2nd min OG and hold on for the win. Football genius.

Charlie very enjoyable imo.

Enjoyed Haughey, better than I expected. Agree with RD3, Gillen nailed the accent.

Highlight of the night though was the girl leading in Taylor in the darts !!!!

Haven't seen as many as in previous years. Think it has been a fairly mediocre year for films. My top 10 in no particular order.

Last edited by Opr; 04-01-15, 23:19.

Have charlie recording, worth a watch or is it just fancy dress impersonations? Fictional characters loosely based on the real people are the way to do this kind of thing, at least you have some artistic license then
                                        I share your dislike for biopics and while this was all impersonations it was an entertaining romp through the highlights.

It just had to be played.

Listen to Small-town Boy Reprise 2014: http://georiot.co/SmalltownBoyListen to Jimmy Somerville - Best Of: https://ffm.to/bestof_jsSubscribe to Jimmy Somervi...

Of interest to Stan maybe lol my uncle

Nice fish but a 'stockie'. I like 'em wild .

Just worked out Darts thread is the secret bbv. Feckers for keeping it secret all this time
                                              Sssssh

Those 419 scammers are getting craftier, nearly had me on this one...

Dear Winner

I m sure this email come's to you as a surprise but this is to Inform that you are one of the lucky winner in the Swiss lotto

Please kindly open the attach file and follow the procedure to claim your prize and please note this is not a virus or spam.

Thank you

Kenneth Gram

Just on 'Gone Girl' which I think had a fairly mixed reaction on here and I thought it was fantastic. It plays like a black comedy for large parts. Fincher himself has talked about the absurdity within the film. He uses the vehicle of the Channel 5 ridiculous thriller to talk about bigger things in a fun way.

The film for me in the main is all about image and roles we play. He also has lots to say about relationships. It plays with the idea of roles throughout. How Affleck is shown in the media after his departure, how he can manipulate this. The kind of man he's to get his wife. The roles she plays. The levels within levels of her public persona also being proceeded by this fictional character, Amazing Amy and how that distorts peoples views of her. The character she makes up in order to frame the husband. An attack on media in general showing how flippantly views change to suit a narrative. How that news sways mass opinion no matter how ridiculous.

It's all about roles, stories we tell ourselves, how we portray different things to different people. At its heart I think it's asking, who are we? Are we just the lies we tell ourselves and others? Shakespeare's '"All the world's a stage, and all the men and women are merely players. They have their exits and entrances, and one man in his time will play many parts...' comes to mind. Wonderfully subversive funny line which hits all this home when Affleck's character mentions he feels like he's in the middle of a Law and Order episode

That's a pretty big fish. I've seen bigger

withdrew 600 quid from Boyles this morning , dont think I was ever as well off after xmas in my life lol!

The girl in Boyles says " jeez you were busy last night ! "

Hope the luck in this house continues for 2015. Would love to bink a ticket for IO , I would be super dooper happy then!
                                                      I like the way she must know you well enough to know you didn't grind it up!. Any self respecting bloke would be taken aback with that remark!. Male punters like to portray a resilience and discipline!. We like them to believe thats just a fraction of our balance for fun and frolics.

Some serious throat lumpage and eye leakage after watching Pride.

What an amazing film.

I recommended that two weeks ago! (and more importantly OPR had recommended it the week beforehand to less aclaim, but perhaps he lacks my gravitas).

It's such a ridiculous good movie.
                                                            On my big list of films to watch on my couple of weeks off coming up. Need to catch up, also on the list is Gone Girl, Get On Up, Imitation Game, Mr Turner,Nightcrawler, The Drop.

You snubbed Nightcrawler OPR.

Big touchdown, love the late playoff drama

I recommended that two weeks ago! (and more importantly OPR had recommended it the week beforehand to less aclaim, but perhaps he lacks my gravitas).

It's such a ridiculous good movie.
                                                                  I have had it for the last 3 weeks, only getting around now to it...

On my big list of films to watch on my couple of weeks off coming up. Need to catch up, also on the list is Gone Girl, Get On Up, Imitation Game, Mr Turner,Nightcrawler, The Drop.
                                                                  Throw The Equaliser in there, well worth it if you liked Jack Reacher.

I have had it for the last 3 weeks, only getting around now to it...

Throw The Equaliser in there, well worth it if you liked Jack Reacher.
                                                                      Not seen either, will add to list!

Ah Tom Cruise, cant bring myself to watch that cunt. Thought Denzel gave up being in good movies?

While searching for Unbroken i came across this, studio outtakes from the Darkness album as far as i can tell and unreleased stuff, 5 versions of racing in the streets can only be a good thing imo.

Downloading as i sleep, will treat my ears in the morning.

LOL at 3e showing The Hangover and not showing the night before pics at the final credits.

Fucking just watched that and was annoyed, had to look them up for closure before bedtime

still a funny film despite all the shite that went on after

While searching for Unbroken i came across this, studio outtakes from the Darkness album as far as i can tell and unreleased stuff, 5 versions of racing in the streets can only be a good thing imo.

Downloading as i sleep, will treat my ears in the morning.
                                                                              I thought you were talking about the band The Darkness till I clicked in to check.

Early bird bonus on IPB. Cheap rake in poker games and kitchens.

Good morning winners cockadoodledo.

Stolen from our own Hectorjelly: 'An argument breaks out in a body building forum about how many days are in a week: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showth...hp?t=107926751'

These lads seem primed for some lotto strat.

I have a one plus one invite if anyone wants it, looks like there are three actually

sounds like you have two there?

Depressing day ahoy! Back to the grind and all that.

ugh

*googles holidays in Feb 2015
                                                                                          Pulling the trigger on March and end of July vacations this week. Feels weird to be booking so early.

April and July for me. Flights are dirt cheap at the min. Lanzarote only 160 ish pp and tenerife for July was only 650 ish for three of us

On the early booking boredom over the weekend too

Booked Paris in Feb, Brussels and Malaga for may.

Its so bad seeing your marriage crumble. Guess I was the only one seeing it go. Its 100% not my wife but rather my beautiful daughter I feel I've failed. I know its relatively common in other countries (and indeed my own parents took advantage of the opportunity), but...
                                                                                                Regardless of what happens with your marriage, your daughter will always be your daughter. Marriage failure doesn't automatically mean failure as parent.

GL.

After almost two weeks of fulltime childcare, today is a great day!

It's funny how break ups are most often seen as sad, tragic events when so often it is clearly +EV for everybody involved to start afresh.

I think we all know a couple where both would benefit from a break up but nether have the balls to pull the trigger. What is sad and tragic is watching them suck the joy of being alive out of each other as the relationship festers on.

Yeah, merely mindset. Good times were had, cherish them for what they were. Learn from mistakes,go create more good times.

Oh yea Micknail won't be posting anymore. He said it was him or poprock.

Yeah, merely mindset. Good times were had, cherish them for what they were. Learn from mistakes,go create more good times.
                                                                                                        Chin up, Easter soon.

It's funny how break ups are most often seen as sad, tragic events when so often it is clearly +EV for everybody involved to start afresh.

I think we all know a couple where both would benefit from a break up but nether have the balls to pull the trigger. What is sad and tragic is watching them suck the joy of being alive out of each other as the relationship festers on.
                                                                                                          My sister split from her husband of 20 years a few months back. It's tough for all concerned but if people aren't happy it's really the only solution. At least her kids are older (youngest is 15) but it's never an easy process.

My PO never got processed so an extra day at hone for me.

Only 5 days to go. Don't be left on the shelf like a sad divorcee, commit yourself to the IPB Premier League Predictions Competition.

Details here.

Oh yea Micknail won't be posting anymore. He said it was him or poprock.

Chin up, Easter soon.
                                                                                                                I'm loving life right now m8, 8/8.

Mmm chocolate eggs do make things better in all cases.

Only 5 days to go. Don't be left on the shelf like a sad divorcee, commit yourself to the IPB Premier League Predictions Competition.

Details here.
                                                                                                                  http://www.irishpokerboards.com/foru...2&postcount=82
                                                                                                                  At least 4 (four) participants confirmed so far (assuming AJ plays). Any that don't play are afraid to challenge my clear superiority in the game obviously, as double reigning champion.

I might take one actually.

Battery in my HTC one is gone to shit.

At least 4 (four) participants confirmed so far (assuming AJ plays). Any that don't play are afraid to challenge my clear superiority in the game obviously, as double reigning champion.
                                                                                                                      I lost interest in the last one after a few rounds. So for that reason I'm out of this one. Congrats on your recent victory. Spend it wisely.

That Liverpool thread on boards must be the most tilting read on the internet.

I might take one actually.

Battery in my HTC one is gone to shit.
                                                                                                                          Send me your email and I'll send one on