Many here from the Dublin 3 or Dublin 9 areas? Am viewing houses in the Fairview and Marino areas, just wondering what people think of those two spots?
      Brag

Not far from town.
      Good relative value

Beat

Full of oldies
      Summerhill

Variance
      123 bus route

Yeah Fairview. Anything past the Annesley Bridge is fine
        Looking at two places, one on Windsor Ave and the other on Philipsburgh Terrace (between Philipsburgh Ave and the rest of Marino). Googled the latter road and see that some dude there was convicted of being an INLA member! Still like the house we saw there.

The Leftovers worth a watch?
          I watched the pilot and has echos of things like Lost, X Files etc. which makes it very much not my sort of thing but I found it a much more interesting concept than any of those. It seems well written though some of the leads were a bit hammy I will be coming back for more and hoping they can keep it interesting.

Saw this article on Joe.ie about Ray D'Arcy's interview with Cathal Pendred after the UFC in Dublin. Really impressive interview and responses from Pendred. I'm always a big fan when sports people conduct themselves well in these type of interviews.

There's always a big difference between general population interviewers and specialist interviewers (e.g. Tubs on the Late Late with John O'Shea would be a massively different interview than John O'Shea speaking with Iain Cheyne). D'Arcy is clearly not very educated on the subject, but reasonably so, given that his job is the ask questions based on the views of people with little knowledge of the sport. It's good to see sports people respond well to these questions, even though in their eyes, they could well be fairly stupid questions.

http://www.joe.ie/news/current-affai...-a-bit-better/
            Are there other people who do MMA? You're a bright guy, how do you feel about people paying to watch you fight? Is there gloves? Is this real, its not like WWE? Fuck me

He obv didn't have a clue who the guy is or do any reading up on the subject, absolute shite. His researchers should be fired if that's the standard of questions he was being fed.

Looking at two places, one on Windsor Ave and the other on Philipsburgh Terrace (between Philipsburgh Ave and the rest of Marino). Googled the latter road and see that some dude there was convicted of being an INLA member! Still like the house we saw there.
              Charlemont just off Griffith ave beside the institue of education was a very nice estate when I lived there. 12 years ago now. I am old.

Those questions were almost certainly written by his production team not him asking the first thing that comes to his head. Its not necessarily that he doesn't know, just that they're the questions his audience will be interested in. Hmm welcome to radio
                  When are you going back on Colemans show?

Phillipsburg is grand. Moving into Beaumont Woods, got another quote for a quarter of the price. Lol van dudes.

Born-again Christian awarded €70,000 in discrimination case

Step 1: Become a born again Christian, or learn how to act like one

Step 2: Start submitting agenda items for meetings along the lines of 'God updates, and any other business'. 'What would Jesus do about improving reinforced concrete slab sales'

Step 3: $$$$
                      My company is up before the Equality Tribunal this week. It is cases like the above that give me a shiver in the spine despite not having the slightest doubt that we acted entirely fairly at all times.

Possibly the only man on radio who doesn't talk from a script!
                          He's too busy coughing and spluttering over his guests to use a script.

I watched the pilot and has echos of things like Lost, X Files etc. which makes it very much not my sort of thing but I found it a much more interesting concept than any of those. It seems well written though some of the leads were a bit hammy I will be coming back for more and hoping they can keep it interesting.
                          Very much so
                          The first ep is pretty good, I'll stick with it. Was a good tune in the middle of it too

Music video by James Blake performing Retrograde. © 2013 Polydor Ltd. (UK)

Phillipsburg is grand. Moving into Beaumont Woods, got another quote for a quarter of the price. Lol van dudes.
                            Lived in there myself for a good while. Lovely estate but the traffic light system around the entrance is a pain!

<3 James Blake. I would have been elsewhere had I been at Glasto as he's a little somber to be finishing off the Sunday night but I thought this was pretty special watching it back. From 1hr3mins in, tells the crowd to shut up Has the entire park stage at Glastonbury completely slient for a beautiful rendition of a song called 'Measurements'. Really hope he plays somewhere decent in Dublin soon.

Where can one watch Saturdays UFC? Just interested in McGregor really.

Originally posted by JohnOB View Post
                                  He won

think its on the tv3 player

3Player has the whole main card.

Tech question: The VGA cable on my desktop became pretty damaged. It finally gave in and stopped working after the colour stopped displaying correctly for a while. I picked up a replacement today and now my screen resolution is terrible. Its a 21.5 inch monitor with recommended resolution of 1920X1080. The maximum resolution I can choose is 1600x1200 and none of the other options look great either. Is there any easy fixes for this or is it just a bad VGA cable like a quick google suggests?

Do my eyes deceive me or is ionapaul buying a house?

I got drunk and watched a bunch of chinese guys become millionaires by playing a computer game. Still not convinced Tar.Aldarion is a real person. Was great craic though.

Whatever about real or not, I've no idea whether s/he's male or female! I'd probably bet 4/6 male 6/4 female or something - recent gaming talk has seen a surge of cash on 'male', however.

before anyone asks, no, I'm not interested in bets. Asymmetric information be a killer!

Making pink cookies to watch the video games though. Let's leave it evens for now.
                                                  Was sure female until recent clothes make the man posts.

Making pink cookies to watch the video games though. Let's leave it evens for now.
                                                    Didn't get your sheep answers yet.

Do my eyes deceive me or is ionapaul buying a house?
                                                      Your eyes are working fine Deeply, deeply unsure about this move, feels very bubble-icious out there... No new supply coming anytime soon though and I now see there will be no mass repossessions, all that PPR debt will be paid by the taxpayer.

Originally posted by Walter Mitty View Post
                                                          He won
                                                          Spoiler that shit man

Currently watching the second episode of 'The Men Who Made Us Spend' which is good.

BBC I player - http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode...pend-episode-1

It's kinda like an updated Adam Curtis century of self documentary which looks at how we're manipulated to buy shit we don't need.

Many here from the Dublin 3 or Dublin 9 areas? Am viewing houses in the Fairview and Marino areas, just wondering what people think of those two spots?
                                                              Glasnevin is sound. Botanic garden's are class.

Very quiet, full of old cunts and a young gangster like me - sort of like the Gold Coast in Vegas.

In close proximity to the greatest hardware store ever: The Gnomes'

Known locally simply as Matt's, this is actually a cross between a treasure trove and a hardware store. About as far away from Woodies or B&Q as it's possible to get, avoid it at all costs if you like ordered aisles, signs, clearly displayed prices, or a lot of choice.

To be sought out if you have a general sense of curiosity and might like to witness a wily, wiry man, not in the first flush of youth but nimble as a goat, disappear into the midst of what looks like pure chaos in the form of a shelving system, and arrive back within 60 seconds with precisely what you asked for - however odd or out of sight - and present it to you without fuss, usually at a cost of around two euros. If that's ok. Because he may well ask you.

Bulbs. Paint. A colander. Electrical stuff. Wire. Rope. Pots. Plants. Trees. Keys. A laser spirit level, anyone? Lamps. Bike locks. Vacuum bags. It wouldn't surprise me to find there's a sofa in there somewhere, or a self-assembly garden shed (maybe even modest dwelling?), in fact next time I might ask.

It might better be know as the hardware Tardis of D7, as it carries much more than its exterior suggests is possible. In fact, the question may be, what's not available in Matt's shop? I've yet to find out.
                                                              2 reviews and 9 photos of PHIBSBORO HARDWARE "Every locality needs a good hardware store and Phibsboro's is Phibsboro Hardware. If you're doing even the smallest spot of DIY at home, then here's the place to get your supplies. Whether it's paint, tools or nails that you're after, it's here. The photo of the shop's exterior says it all really. They even have plants and they sell Christmas trees during the Yuletide season. Only problem is you could go in there and lose track of time purchasing stuff that you never knew you wanted or needed!"

Tara lives nearby and will likely make you housewarming cookies should you move in.

Facing the day with a hangover is tough enough without that sun.

The big takeaway from this for me (apart from how horrific it was obviously) is that commercial airliners SHOULD NOT be sanctioned to fly over war zones, 41000ft or no. The unpalatable reality is that this tragedy was the result of a mistake - an undisciplined moment of madness from forces with weaponry of destructive capabilities far in excess of their levels of competency and restraint. There is of course no direct comparison, but innocent people have always perished due to errors of judgement in warzones. If a 'no travel' warning is issued by foreign affairs departments all over the world it seems common sense to me that a 'no fly' instruction should accompany it.

In terms of the aftermath, the scene should have been cordoned off immediately with a focus on trying to find survivors (extremely unprobable but nonetheless possible) and then preserving evidence. Then technical teams with the required expertise should have been invited in and provided full access. That didn't happen, why? Because it's a fucking warzone with irregular forces operating without proper structure (the reactions should be indicative that - to some extent anyway - this is not a full on official arm of the Russian army operating in Eastern Ukraine). It is also disputed territory. Air travel regulations dictate that the state within which a crash occurs is responsible for overseeing investigations. Hence the Black Boxes are on their way to Moscow, because the territory is currently claimed as Russian.

My point here is that, as terrible a tragedy as it is, Russia or the pro Russian militia forces operating in the region won't have been the first military to mistakenly shoot down a civilian airliner. I don't think for one second that this was a deliberate, calculated action. There would certainly be no motive for them to have done it. They fucked up. People wanting Putin to go down over this or calling for really strong actions against Russia need to realise that disgraceful shit like this happens in war zones. The lasting change that could be made is a simple change to flight rules, a very minor positive.
                                                                  Fairly unconvincing article from Wired explaining why planes were still flying: http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/...kraine-flights

Seems like lunacy to fly through an area where two planes were recently shot down, and you'd have to imagine it's tough to tell the difference between a cargo and a passenger plane.

Labour court ruling here

Was sure female until recent clothes make the man posts.
                                                                      Tars's origins are unclear, with the poster herself providing different information regarding her background and keeping her birth year a secret even from her long-term girlfriend. Contested facts include her birth date and place, her birth sex, names and nationalities of her parents and the location of her upbringing. Most sources claim 18 November 1989 to be her birth date, including GEMA, but in a 2006 interview with Marc-Olivier Fogiel the poster revealed her birth year was 1986. Another recurring version is also 1988. However, in 2010, during an interview with a French newspaper Libération, Tar presented her identity card to a journalist, which read: "born 18 November 1990 in Saigon". As for her birthplace, Saigon and British Hong Kong appear to be most credible versions, but places like Singapore, Switzerland or even Transylvania have also been rumoured as the posters birthplace by different sources. Tar herself has long claimed to have British nationality. She was an only child to her parents who later divorced. Most sources claim her father was a French army officer of British origin and mother had Russo-Asiatic background. In a 2006 interview with Carmen Thomas for a German television show, Tar confirmed that her father was British and mother was Russian, and that they had already both passed away. However, she would later claim her mother had a French background.

Tar's alleged transsexual background has been commented upon in the media and in the biographies of those who knew Tar earlier in her life, including Salvador Dalí, with Ian Gibson even devoting an entire chapter to her. April Ashley, a famous transsexual entertainer, has long claimed that in the 2000s and early 2010s, she and Tar, whose real name she claimed was Alain Tapp, were working together in transvestite revues in Paris, Madame Arthur and Le Carrousel. In her book, April Ashley's Odyssey, she recalls Tar performing drag acts under the stage name Peki d'Oslo. Similar facts have been reported by Romy Haag, a transsexual artist living in Germany, who ran a popular nightclub Chez Romy in Berlin and knew Tar closely, and Bibiana Fernández, a Spanish transsexual actress and singer. Some sources even insinuate that it was Dalí himself who sponsored Tars's sex change operation in Casablanca in 2009, carried out by doctor Georges Burou. Rumours claiming that Tar was an actual man in drag or even referring to her as a hermaphrodite were circulating at the beginning of her posting career, but they cleared off after she posed nude for Playboy in the early 2010s.
                                                                      Last edited by DeadParrot; 22-07-14, 11:03.

She doesn't even know the difference between the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and the UN Convention on Human Rights (UNCHR). Also the way she lays out the facts of the case should tell you everything.

The guy was verbally warned 4 times, given 2 disciplinary hearings, three rights of appeal and then was fired with another right of appeal to be taken up within 10 days but he filed it 12 days later.

Her reasoning is shockingly bad in my opinion. I hope they appeal the damn thing.

She doesn't even know the difference between the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and the UN Convention on Human Rights (UNCHR). Also the way she lays out the facts of the case should tell you everything.

The guy was verbally warned 4 times, given 2 disciplinary hearings, three rights of appeal and then was fired with another right of appeal to be taken up within 10 days but he filed it 12 days later.

Her reasoning is shockingly bad in my opinion. I hope they appeal the damn thing.
                                                                          Yeah this is ludicrous:

4.25 It is clear from the above mentioned series of cases that the right to manifest one’s religious beliefs at work is protected as in the Eweida case, but these rights are balanced with the rights of an employer to limit these rights provided there is objective justification for doing so and any limitation must be proportionate, for example, to protect staff from undue pressure as in Larissis, in the Chaplin case toprotect the health and safety of both staff and patients, in the Ladel and Mc Farlane case, their dismissal was objectively justified for their refusal to carry out certain aspects of their jobs because of their religious beliefs. In applying the above jurisprudence to the case herein, I am not satisfied that the sanction of dismissal imposed on the complainant was warranted in the circumstances and therefore the respondent has not established objective justification for this decision. I note the complainant was dismissed for continuing to talk about his religion to members of the public during the working day which included lunch-time. It should be noted that it was accepted that the complainant did not speak to staff about his religion after he got the initial warning. The question then was it objectively justifiable to maintain a ban on the complainant speaking about his religion when there was no evidence that it had any impact on him carrying out his duties for the Council or that what he was doing was either offensive, inappropriate or it constituted harassment. For all the foregoing reasons, I find that the respondent has failed to rebut the prima facie case of indirect discrimination raised by the complainant. I find therefore that the dismissal of the complainant was for discriminatory reasons on the religion ground.
                                                                          This should be a no-brainer to appeal, right? Acting as an employee of the state, he should not be allowed to talk to members of the public about his religion, because to do so would be to create the appearance of the state sanctioning a particular religion. That's as inappropriate and "objectively justifiable" as it gets, IMO.

Fair play to him, bac and time traveller

On the 1st of February 2009 he was called to a disciplinary meeting in connection with an incident on the 13th of February 2009, when he was observed by a member of staff talking to a man outside a coffee shop. At the meeting the complainant accepted that he was talking to the man about religion.
                                                                            Nobody proof reads these things?

(To be totally fair to the guy, lunch breaks etc I can completely understand. There shouldn't be a problem with that imo.)

This, being a part of the document is nonsense though
                                                                            The complainant’s counsel submitted that the complainant is an Evangelical Christian known as Born Again Christian and at all material times the respondent knew this fact. He said that the key tenets for practitioners of this faith are

(i) The need for a personal conversion (or being born again);

(ii) A high regard for biblical authority;

(iii) an emphasis on teachings that proclaim the saving death and resurrection of Jesus Christ;

(iv) Actively expressing and sharing the Gospel.

It was submitted that the complainant’s evidence was that he sought to manifest his beliefs by sharing his faith with others and this type of practice, which is sometimes referred to as evangelism, constituted a fundamental tenet of his religious belief system. The complainant does not accept that his actions were inappropriate evangelising or that he was proselytising during working hours.
                                                                            What if my religions main tenant was that of impersonating Tourette's sufferers?

Last edited by Emmet; 22-07-14, 10:21.

Sheep closes at 2pm. All the cool kids play sheep.

Ray Darcy is a fucking moron. One of the worst people in the country. Self-righteous idiot, who panders to public opinion as much as possible.

It's like a Joe Duffy caller got given his own radio show.
                                                                                That man himself says it better than me

D'arcy is about the only person in the Irish mainstream broadcasting industry consistently willing to call the Catholic Church out on its carry on.

An indictment of the broadcast media mainly, but Ray is ok by me.

[NSFW="NSFW"][/NSFW]

Any recommendations for a good one? Thinking waterproof & fireproof is key.

Ah the final gmaes were the worst I've seen ina long time but it was so good meeting up with everybody and having 100 people cheer and boo at everything that happened, randomly. They they started throwing chocolate and popcorn and crisp and crap into the crowd

Sorry I didn't see any of your messages my internet was turned off. Bad times.
                                                                                          There were only a dozen girls anyway, should have just asked until you found me
                                                                                          I am sorry that I am the Eamonhonda of gaming.

Tars's origins are unclear, with the poster herself providing different information regarding her background and keeping her birth year a secret even from her long-term girlfriend. Contested facts include her birth date and place, her birth sex, names and nationalities of her parents and the location of her upbringing. Most sources claim 18 November 1989 to be her birth date, including GEMA, but in a 2006 interview with Marc-Olivier Fogiel the poster revealed her birth year was 1986. Another recurring version is also 1988. However, in 2010, during an interview with a French newspaper Libération, Tar presented her identity card to a journalist, which read: "born 18 November 1990 in Saigon". As for her birthplace, Saigon and British Hong Kong appear to be most credible versions, but places like Singapore, Switzerland or even Transylvania have also been rumoured as the posters birthplace by different sources. Tar herself has long claimed to have British nationality. She was an only child to her parents who later divorced. Most sources claim her father was a French army officer of British origin and mother had Russo-Asiatic background. In a 2006 interview with Carmen Thomas for a German television show, Tar confirmed that her father was British and mother was Russian, and that they had already both passed away. However, she would later claim her mother had a French background.

Tar's alleged transsexual background has been commented upon in the media and in the biographies of those who knew Tar earlier in her life, including Salvador Dalí, with Ian Gibson even devoting an entire chapter to her. April Ashley, a famous transsexual entertainer, has long claimed that in the 2000s and early 2010s, she and Tar, whose real name she claimed was Alain Tapp, were working together in transvestite revues in Paris, Madame Arthur and Le Carrousel. In her book, April Ashley's Odyssey, she recalls Tar performing drag acts under the stage name Peki d'Oslo. Similar facts have been reported by Romy Haag, a transsexual artist living in Germany, who ran a popular nightclub Chez Romy in Berlin and knew Tar closely, and Bibiana Fernández, a Spanish transsexual actress and singer. Some sources even insinuate that it was Dalí himself who sponsored Tars's sex change operation in Casablanca in 2009, carried out by doctor Georges Burou. Rumours claiming that Tar was an actual man in drag or even referring to her as a hermaphrodite were circulating at the beginning of her posting career, but they cleared off after she posed nude for Playboy in the early 2010s.
                                                                                          I know who is writing my biography, fucking hell, I was on the edge of my seat reading about my own life. You really know how to capture the magic in a way I cannot.
                                                                                          One interlude is that for a brief spell 2008 - 2011 people believed I was Tara Blaise, an Irish female pop, folk, rock singer. The eldest of six children, Blaise was born in London, but at the age of three moved with her parents to Ireland and grew up in the rambling hills of Aughrim, County Wicklow. The daughter of an architect and a speech and drama teacher, Tara was introduced to the world of drama and music at a young age, studying Speech and Drama up to grade eight in the Royal Irish Academy of Music.

Tara Blaise's singing career began at 16 when Blaise formed a band called Les Legumes with some school friends, further spurring rumours that this was the elusive vegetable eater, Tar.Aldarion, but it was her stint as a backing singer with Dublin band The Wilde Oscars that first brought her to the attention of the Irish fanbase. Despite repeated denials, many still wonder to this day.

Sorry I didn't see any of your messages my internet was turned off. Bad times.
                                                                                                There were only a dozen girls anyway, should have just asked until you found me
                                                                                                I am sorry that I am the Eamonhonda of gaming.
                                                                                                I was stunned that there were girls at it at all. I remember the biggest ever Gamecon LAN had nearly 300 people attend. The only girls were a couple of tarted-up reps from Creative, barely concealing their disdain for all these nerds while trying to get us to buy sound cards they knew nothing about. Progress is a wonderful thing.

You are still going to have to prove that you exist.

Darcy is the nut worst when it comes to anything even remotely related to current affairs. He is completely devoid of the tools required to display any inkling of rational thinking. He lacks any balance and comes from a completely myopic perspective. One such example lives long in my memory and it was the cervical cancer vaccination issue from a few years back. He got Mary Harney on the show and as she explained the decision making process and constraints associated with these. Darcys retort to seemingly every point Harney made was 'but why'. He must have said 'but why' at least a hundred times. It was the approach of an annoying schoolkid.

Paging Strewelpeter for his view on Darcy. Afaik he is a huge fan boy.
                                                                                                    Ha! he's one of ours so obviously he's beyond reproach

TBH I don't think I have really paid any attention at all to him in action as anything other than a generic TV presenter which he seems to be quite good at.
                                                                                                    I've never heard him on radio but from what I know of him he was never a real journo and should be keeping well away from current affairs.
                                                                                                    Where is doing that sort of show? has he been at it long?

I was stunned that there were girls at it at all. I remember the biggest ever Gamecon LAN had nearly 300 people attend. The only girls were a couple of tarted-up reps from Creative, barely concealing their disdain for all these nerds while trying to get us to buy sound cards they knew nothing about. Progress is a wonderful thing.

You are still going to have to prove that you exist.
                                                                                                      AH yeah a lot more play these days, makes for some nice cosplays

See you at TI5

I was told that Wetherspoon have taken over the Church. Is that not a peculiar business decision? The Church already does high volume selling overpriced food and drink, why would you take that and turn into a lower margin business?

^^^

You might see us all there !!

I was told that Wetherspoon have taken over the Church. Is that not a peculiar business decision? The Church already does high volume selling overpriced food and drink, why would you take that and turn into a lower margin business?
                                                                                                            They might turn it into a Lloyds No.1 which are their more upmarket chain

Would make sense for them to open a Lloyds this early in their Irish deployment

AH yeah a lot more play these days, makes for some nice cosplays

See you at TI5
                                                                                                              Nice horns Tar
                                                                                                              You're hot

One hour of House, Disco and Rock - Perfect for listening to on a hot day with a cold beer! Jamie xx, Four Tet, Omar S, Tame Impala, Todd Terje etc.

One hour of House, Disco and Rock - Perfect for listening to on a hot day with a cold beer! Jamie xx, Four Tet, Omar S, Kate Bush, Todd Terje etc.

http://www.mixcloud.com/daraghthomas...rden-mix-2014/

One hour of House, Disco and Rock - Perfect for listening to on a hot day with a cold beer! Jamie xx, Four Tet, Omar S, Kate Bush, Todd Terje etc.
                                                                                                                    Good start, what a genius Jamie xx is

Also LNTG is playing button factory 1st august