u wot m8
      The Wire is the GOAT, Sopranos a close second, after that it can be debated but this is fact not opinion

that thread has already descended into a clusterfuck of droolers.
        The guy being quizzed is still top of the drooler charts right now in my books

There seems to be a pretty massive contingent of 20-somethings in this country who think they were professional poker players for the 18 months they lived at home unable to get a job after college and also played poker.

Hmm closing winning accounts doesn't happen often and they don't actively court problem gamblers, the board are 100% behind responsible gambling. The lads soft in the fucking head
            Limited does not equal closed.

You mention any sort of RG issues and your account will be closed no matter how big a VIP you are. Accounts will also be actively closed if you show RG issues in certain deposit/withdrawal patterns. Standard practice for most gambling companies interested in staying compliant I would think.

Yeah i'd say he does. There's probably only about 6 or 7 people living in Malta
              ah heyor, i'm sure everyone working in that industry more or less know one another once you've been there a couple of years, no? especially the "big ballas" like him

They tend not to actually close accounts due to trading restrictions, but instead just limit them to buttons. It’s effectively the same thing for the punter but allows the company to massage their figures.

India banned Uber after that rape - but slightly neglected to focus on the fact that the guy had previously raped someone while he was a registered taxi driver.
                  ...ffs, how the fuck could they hire him known he has already raped someone as a taxi driver...Company deserve to be fucked out of the country in that case...didn't know that at all...
                  ...yeah it is fishy how Spain are banning it, surely it's not really to do Sith the India case...I'd guess normal taxi companies putting pressure to ban internet taxi companies...

They tend not to actually close accounts due to trading restrictions, but instead just limit them to buttons. It’s effectively the same thing for the punter but allows the company to massage their figures.
                    Of course. Also lets you play non sportsbook games if you ever feel like degenning it up.

But obviously we are both droolers for claiming this..

To temper my earlier ranting here are some pretty amazing pictures. I covered a piece of silicon with about 50 atomic layers of manganese oxide which went down nice and flat, put it in sodium hydroxide and passed a current through it and this is what happened....

Last edited by Guest; 09-12-14, 16:33.

Most he ever lost in a hand of poker was $5k and it was at 200/400 so 12.5bbs. Had to stop reading there.
                        He could probably have said that he lost a $6 pot at 1c2c but probably wouldnt have read as well.

You mention any sort of RG issues and your account will be closed no matter how big a VIP you are. Accounts will also be actively closed if you show RG issues in certain deposit/withdrawal patterns. Standard practice for most gambling companies interested in staying compliant I would think.
                          Any time I hear the type of guff from gambling companies I think back to PP taking that post office manager who spunked over a million stolen euros with them to the Europa league final to show how much they valued him as a customer. His deposit and betting history showed certain "patterns" if I remember the court case details correctly
                          What exactly are these 'certain deposit\withdrawal patterns, plenty of room for creativity there.
                          Not an anti gambling zealot btw, it's just my bullshit detector fries anytime I hear anything about responsible gambling from any of these companies

dagunman should just post an average days wager record to silence that thread pretty quickly.

What exactly are these 'certain deposit\withdrawal patterns, plenty of room for creativity there.
                              Not an anti gambling zealot btw, it's just my bullshit detector fries anytime I hear anything about responsible gambling from any of these companies
                              I'm sure they could do plenty more alright but with the way compliance is going they have to have good enough procedures in place to be able to show governments in UK, Denmark, France, Italy, Hungary, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Belgium etc off the top of my head that they are doing enough.

As I say, mention anything along the lines of I can't feed my family or anything close to RG and you will be closed down. Constantly cancelling withdrawal requests would be a big one, not really my area but a lot of checks are done.

Obviously companies don't get copies of customers payslips or bank balances to know exactly if a 10k degen bet is pocket change or a years wages so can only do so much.

The Wire is the GOAT, Sopranos a close second, after that it can be debated but this is fact not opinion
                                Breaking Bad is slightly better than The Sopranos, because it is more polished and has a lot less annoying product placement. U wanna fite or wot?

Don't think BB holds up to a rewatch like the Sopranos or The Wire does.

He could probably have said that he lost a $6 pot at 1c2c but probably wouldnt have read as well.
                                    I was just pointing out how unrealistic it sounded. If he actually was dabbling in $200/$400 surely he'd have lost more than $5k in one hand. You can't even sit with $5k in that game.

Having recently rewatched, yes, it does.

I was just pointing out how unrealistic it sounded. If he actually was dabbling in $200/$400 surely he'd have lost more than $5k in one hand. You can't even sit with $5k in that game.
                                        Nah, you need 50, 60 grand to play right in that game.

Well, I had six, but I had to know.

What happened?

Played tight for an hour. I folded mostly, and then I made a score.

Microgaming back in the day, the hand happened. If you don't know the person in question you definitely have some degenerate friends in common.

Better story was another lad who got his tank up to 9.9k and decided to try to get to 10k and cash out to pay off student loans, got it all in for the lot pre with 99 v A8 and got done.

Breaking Bad is slightly better than The Sopranos, because it is more polished and has a lot less annoying product placement. U wanna fite or wot?
                                            No fitn pal. Bb was great but lacked the quality of storyline and characters of the others. It was cliffhanger tv at its finest but not much rewatch value as others said.

anything close to i cant feed my family or rg
                                              what the hell is rg?

Its pretty funny that it takes a gambling thread on a general forum we left to start a dedicated poker forum to make us talk about gambling again.

LONG LIVE THE BBV.

Originally posted by noname1255 View Post
                                                  anything close to i cant feed my family or rg
                                                  what the hell is rg?
                                                  Responsible Gaming

So, you're playing the WSOP and you look down to your first hand and it's AA, what do you do?

Thinking about making #fistpumpshove my personal brand for 2015.

I meant that most tables these days wouldn't allow you sit for less than 50bbs. Wasn't commenting on his degenerate bankroll theories.

Don't listen to these nostalgia merchants. They are both brilliant, but Sopranos is starting to show its age. A lot of the techniques that are now standard were just being explored by its creators at the time, making it particularly patchy.
                                                          What kind of techniques are you talking about out of interest?

Not sure I'm feeling the alarm implied in amber weather alerts. 130kmh winds sounds phenomenally windy, but calling it an amber alert just doesn't do it justice.
                                                          Is it not difficult to actually understand wind speed. Like there's no real point of reference. Sure, a car travelling at 130km/h is fast, but so is a car travelling at 40 km/h, but we don't need to worry about that speed of wind. What about if winds are 300 km/h, does that start blowing houses away? And then there's the bullshit that we sneeze at 100 miles per hour. If it wasn't for meteorologists saying 130 km/h is fast for winds, we'd all be clueless how fast they really are.

Having recently rewatched, yes, it does.
                                                          No fitn pal. Bb was great but lacked the quality of storyline and characters of the others. It was cliffhanger tv at its finest but not much rewatch value as others said.
                                                          BB is actually much better as a rewatch than I thought (only went through the first three seasons in rewatch though). A lot of the stuff that annoyed me first time around didn't annoy me as much second time around. That said, the very best scenes were no where near as good second time around. I remember the scene
                                                          (and the build up) to where Jessie kills Gale
                                                          first time around was unreal, classic edge of the seat stuff. Second time around, knowing what's going to happen, no where near as good.

On season 5 of The Sopranos first time watching it, definitely seems to be way more depth to the program and would say it'd be better to rewatch.

Eamonn is spot on imo. Breaking Bad was excellent cliffhanger TV, and tbf Walt and Gus in particular were excellent characters, but doesn't have the same depth in as The Sopranos from what I've seen.

Microgaming back in the day, the hand happened. If you don't know the person in question you definitely have some degenerate friends in common.

Better story was another lad who got his tank up to 9.9k and decided to try to get to 10k and cash out to pay off student loans, got it all in for the lot pre with 99 v A8 and got done.
                                                          It kinda reads to me like he might have sat down with $8k+ (I thought 20 BB was always the min buy-in before) and lost 5k of his stack in one hand. If so, that's an even shitter story, didn't even have the degeneracy to lose a full stack in one hand.

I assume the person in question is from Dublin?

Well, I had six, but I had to know.

What happened?

Played tight for an hour. I folded mostly, and then I made a score.
                                                            Sounds like a lot of effort to make €20.

So, you're playing the WSOP and you look down to your first hand and it's AA, what do you do?
                                                              Funny enough was only talking about this a couple of weeks ago. Happened to a (fairly?) well known Irish player. I think he raised, got re-popped, panicked & just shoved

OK this may be a stupid question but I cant work out the answer

I bought a Euromillion ticket for £2 but it can be bought for €2 south of border. The prizepool is advertised in both Sterling and Euro using conversion rate so value is same but initial cost , the £2 is more as no currency conversion in place. Therefore I would save 42p ( at current rates) per ticket bought if I buy them in south. Wouldn't I ?

Awaiting to be told/shown just how much an idiot I am.......................

It kinda reads to me like he might have sat down with $8k+ (I thought 20 BB was always the min buy-in before) and lost 5k of his stack in one hand. If so, that's an even shitter story, didn't even have the degeneracy to lose a full stack in one hand.

I assume the person in question is from Dublin?
                                                                  Definitely the lot, I've heard the story more than once but can't remember specifics, he's from Dublin. The hand I mentioned was a lad from Kerry.

so your man (the Dublin $5k guy) was able to sit into a game with 12.5 BBs? Or was it limit or something? Even back in poker's infancy, surely you couldn't buy-in for 12.5 BBs?

I bought a Euromillion ticket for £2 but it can be bought for €2 south of border. The prizepool is advertised in both Sterling and Euro using conversion rate so value is same but initial cost , the £2 is more as no currency conversion in place. Therefore I would save 42p ( at current rates) per ticket bought if I buy them in south. Wouldn't I ?

Do you have a UK address? I seem to remember my mum saying she wouldn't buy her euromillions ticket here as she didn't have an address or something. I don't do the lottery so don't know for sure myself.

so your man (the Dublin $5k guy) was able to sit into a game with 12.5 BBs? Or was it limit or something? Even back in poker's infancy, surely you couldn't buy-in for 12.5 BBs?
                                                                        He may have gotten blinded down slightly, then again tribeca used to have a 75bb max buyin on their 5/10 games so wouldn't second guess the min buyin either.

ah true yeah. So might've lost more than the $5k in the actual session.

Actually just asked him, that hand may have happened at 100/200. The biggest winning hand was at 200/400. I just remember the massive waiting lists the second one of the lads joined the table.

Albert Heijn in the Netherlands doesn't take credit card either.

Sopranos >> Breaking Bad IMO
                                                                              Last edited by jack90210; 09-12-14, 18:49.

Thinking about making #fistpumpshove my personal brand for 2015.
                                                                                Gap in the market there.

Go for it. #fistpumpshove

I thought they changed this policy a year or two ago?
                                                                                  Good lad V; knew coming on here wasnt a waste of time

Went to Lidl after being on here earlier
                                                                                  Have two bank cards; the old one that is to be replaced and the new one I haven't yet activated

"Sorry your card has been rejected"

OOOh right; sorry girl, can you hold these and I will go to a.... no wait, do ye now take credit cards?

"Yes we do"

oooh cool, here....

Hitch, credit cards have only one purpose nowadaysssss, build a credit history in a new country!

DING DONG

HIGH

Anybody have any idea/opinion on what Irish Banks will say to me if I enquire about Buy to let Mortgages, given I am playing poker full time so have no "stable income", but am able to put down whatever % is required? Will they look at me at all or does no salary = they arent interested ?

Any opinions on pros/cons of buying outright vs getting a buy to let mortgage in my situation?

In general, not looking at a specific property/area

MAXIMIZE THAT CAPITAL GAV.

Originally posted by Valor View Post
                                                                                          Anybody have any idea/opinion on what Irish Banks will say to me if I enquire about Buy to let Mortgages, given I am playing poker full time so have no "stable income", but am able to put down whatever % is required? Will they look at me at all or does no salary = they arent interested ?

Any opinions on pros/cons of buying outright vs getting a buy to let mortgage in my situation?

Another related question... would a bank ever give you a buy to let mortgage before giving you a normal mortgage first? Or is the best strategy in this case get a normal mortgage and start renting it or is this against the t&c's?

You are better served talking to a professional in your situation Valor. I doubt a bank would accept your income as reliable, rightly or wrongly. Appetite for risk and where you want to be in 5/10 years would help answer what to do with it.

Seems only ÂŁ1.50 of the ÂŁ2 goes towards the euromillions

(3) EuroMillions costs ÂŁ1.50 to play and UK Millionaire Maker costs 50 pence to play. However, as entry into UK Millionaire Maker is automatic when You play EuroMillions and the Games cannot be played separately, the total cost of playing is ÂŁ2.00.

What a hit son!! Get in there.

Someone post the link to Rebel Rams post in that boards thread

You are better served talking to a professional in your situation Valor. I doubt a bank would accept your income as reliable, rightly or wrongly. Appetite for risk and where you want to be in 5/10 years would help answer what to do with it.
                                                                                                      Like what,a mortgage broken or something?

Liverpool managing to make Basel look like Barcelona. Have they been this shite all season?

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 09-12-14, 20:46.

Liverpool managing to make Basel look like Barcelona. Have they been this shite all season?
                                                                                                              Yes, pure scutter all season with very little exception.

Originally posted by Valor View Post

You haven't a dogs chance in hell of getting a mortgage under any terms.

Taking off your only recognised striker when 1 down at home & must win seems like an interesting move. Time will tell i guess......

He's lost his mind...wtf are those sub's about?

You're not robbing Mick McCarthy off us.

You might actually have a better chance of buying a place outright for cash and then trying to take a loan out on it. (or at least they might be able to advise you on that option)
                                                                                                                        Not in Ireland. Not this decade.

Basel are no mugs m8, they won the Slovenian league or something last year. They spent a couple million on players in the Summer as well, hard for us to compete with these European super clubs. Moneys ruined the game.